Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
475 264 722 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
475 264 722 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XMS400D

Compact 4-channel car amplifier — 45 watts RMS x 4

MFR # XMS400D

Sony XMS400D

Sony XMS400D

Compact 4-channel car amplifier — 45 watts RMS x 4

MFR # XMS400D

46 reviews
View this product

Highly recommended

Crutchfield customer from Fort Benning, GA on 5/28/2020

1995 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice, simple little amp that drives my front components and my rear coaxials. Made a significant difference in sound quality verses driving them off of just head unit power. 10/10

Pros: Simple, small package which is easy to hide

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just get a regular amp.

Steven from GASTONIA, NC on 5/22/2020

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just buy a regular amp unless this is absolutely the only option. Not a big improvement for the effort. I feel like I threw away the money that should have went towards something better. Live and learn.

Pros: None

Cons: Reward not worth the effort.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, AL on 5/18/2020

2015 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was not able to install this amplifier in my truck as it was not compatible with my truck's system. This is not Sony's fault however and I think this is a great little amp that packs a punch and is easy to install

Pros: Compact Easy to install

Cons: High and low pass filters don't work on all 4 channels

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

A must have upgrade to a motorcycle stereo.

Crutchfield customer from La Vergne, TN on 5/18/2020

2011 Kawasaki Vaquero

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this amp in my 2011 Kawasaki Vaquero. The amp came with enough input, output, power, and ground wire so that I didn't have to buy any additional wires. You cannot fine tune the amp in terms of setting low/high pass filters or crossover, but there is a high pass filter for the front speakers and a low pass filter for the rear that you can opt to turn on or off independently. Also, there is no gain adjustment. The amp is small and light. All of the input and output wires come in a harness you just plug into the amp. This really brought my factory stereo setup (head unit and speakers) to life.

Pros: Works great, easy to install, small size, light weight.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Sound Quality & Compact

Philip from REDWOOD CITY, CA on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality and compact. Installed in the glove compartment, 2011 Honda Accord. Connected the audio wiring and power through an existing slot to a Kenwood DDX9906XR PreAmp outputs using the RCA cables.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Little amp, little power

Jerry from BATAVIA, NY on 5/7/2020

2010 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Ultra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this amp to power 4 polk marine speakers in my Harley Davidson Ultra. To get any volume the head unit was maxed outld barely hear the radio over the bike itself. I called Crutchfield and replaced it with a Kenwood m3004 mini amp. Night and day difference.

Pros: Size

Cons: Output volume, no controls

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

2019 Subaru Forester easy install.

Crutchfield customer from Big Island, VA on 5/3/2020

2019 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super compact to fit anywhere. Installed behind behind the factory radio of a 2019 Subaru Forster with the stock 6 speaker system. Ran 4-way to aftermarket speakers. No wiring kit available so all speaker wires had to be spliced, but anyone with some experience, and the A+ Crutchfield support team, can install this amp. Definite upgrade.

Pros: Size, 2 or 4 channel option, power for size

Cons: No plug and play wiring kit

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

impressive

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 5/2/2020

2013 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product. Alot of power and so compact!

Pros: good power and compact

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

compact!

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing how compact this amp really is. Easy install under the dash of my 1983 Toyota Pickup

Pros: size, performance

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Ocala, FL on 4/23/2020

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp. Fills the cab of my truck with powerful clear sound

Pros: Easy to install. Fit inside the dash of my 03 Silverado next to my double din receiver

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome easy to install upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Lake Stevens, WA on 4/16/2020

2008 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little unit packs a punch! My original amp had failed, so I shopped around and this was recommended by Crutchfield. I'm glad I listened and purchased this guy. Installation is easy, it doesn't take much space, and the sound is better than the factory unit (before it died, of course).

Pros: compact, mounted to original amp mount in original location. Easy to wire up, sounds great without breaking the bank

Cons: The only con for me was this is a 4 channel amp. My car had 8 channels. I'm thinking of getting another to hook up to the other 4 channels.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from San Jacinto, CA on 4/16/2020

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to mount and perfect for my setup!

Pros: Size, cost, installation

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice little amp

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 4/16/2020

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using it with my stock head unit in a Toyota RAV4. Big improvement on sound. I have JBL club 6 1/2" speakers I put in and this little amp makes them sound so much better. It fit in the dash and was pretty easily installed after the Crutchfield tech answered a couple questions. Exactly the little power and sound boost I needed.

Pros: Great improvement for my system. Easy install. Great price. Very compact.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great for efficient low power systems

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 4/15/2020

2018 Hyundai Elantra GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power for an efficient factory system upgrade. Currently I am feeding the head unit outputs into this amp and the outputs I'm feeding back into the factory wiring which is now set up with Infinity reference speakers. The amp is currently sitting in my glove box and the power is pretty good for something that takes so little space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great install, easy install.

Crutchfield customer from Avenel, NJ on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my Grandson's car. The improvement to the aftermarket radio sound was far beyond what I expected. I've never installed an AMP before.The install was very straight forward and easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Chantilly, VA on 4/5/2020

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

More than enough power for my Kickers in my 2019 Tacoma. Sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Look at front and rear LPF/HPF features

Kenneth from HAMPTON, VA on 3/18/2020

2018 Jeep Wrangler (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a powerhouse amp but knew that when I bought it. Ended up returning the amp because the rear and front channels did not both have a LPF and I needed to turn off the bass to all speakers. Replaced with the Kenwood KAC-M1814, which offers those features.

Pros: Small

Cons: Front and rear channel filters

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Glad I bought it.

Crutchfield customer from New Gloucester, ME on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for it's size. Minimal settings,good for an amateur like myself. Instructions are never made as clear as they should be. I had to call Crutchfield to speak with a tech,even then the instructions weren't as good as they should have been. This is a nice amp for my Mazda MX-5 Miata as there is very little room for an amp. Nice bump in output from my Kenwood Excelon head unit.

Pros: Compact,no gain adjustments to fiddle with.

Cons: None in my opinion.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Covington, KY on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Noticeable difference between my stock unit output and this unit. The audio is much clearer. Easy set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, FL on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little amp. Fits just about anywhere. Great improvement to a stock head unit. Not super powerful but definitely a great upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle, MS on 3/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp to power front and rear speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Havelock, NC on 12/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, was able to install behind stereo in dash. Sounds great and provides a big power difference for price and dimensions.

Pros: Easy install, can fit just about anywhere.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Elkton, MD on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Artesia, CA on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with a Sony XAV-AX100 and Focal Integration ISC-165 co-axials, front doors and rear deck of a Honda Civic sedan. Compact enough to mount beneath the single din, and behind the display, creating a very clean installation without yards of cable. 45W was powerful enough to provide a noticeable difference over the 20W RMS the head unit powered.

Pros: Compact, budget friendly, easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Haslet, TX on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice upgrade easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

F150 FX4

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 11/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade for an F150

Pros: Sounds great with upgraded speakers.

Cons: Should have ordered better speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Solid product

Crutchfield customer from Warminster, PA on 10/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Sounds great with my 6 1/2 Kickers. Installation was very easy (1st time I ever attempted a electrical install on a car). I am not electrically inclined at all but I did it! Highly recommended for a modest upgrade to a factory system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Stewartstown, PA on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great and was easy to install with an aftermarket head unit, made my 01 Silverado non Bose sound better than the Bose trucks.

Pros: Very small, removed an old tape deck and put it there

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Grande, CA on 10/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a small but powerful amp making installation location easy.The Crutchfield team guided me through all my questions during installation, right from my phone in real time. Best feature is you can wire the power directly to your head unit without going to your battery if you choose.

Pros: Small, fits anywhere. Clean powerful amp. Able to bypass battery if you choose.Great price. Awesome Crutchfield support

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great value

Jonathan from EXCELSIOR SPG, MO on 9/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great little amp. Easy to install with a generous amount of wire included. The fact that it is so small makes it easy to install in the dash.

Pros: Small, Affordable, Reliable.

Cons: My Kicker speakers that are supposed to be able to handle 60W RMS can't handle this amp.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed a Kenwood/Polk Audio system in a 1963 Ford Fairlane and thought it sounded pretty good although the sound distorted beyond volume level 24. I then installed this Sony amplifier at the recommendation of a Crutchfield rep. Holy cow! Best sounding stereo system I've had in any car I've owned. Bass is deep and clean. Mid-range and highs are crisp and bright. Spent a total of about $450. Excellent value and quality. Very happy.

Pros: Great value and outstanding performance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice and Clean Power

Crutchfield customer from Tucker, GA on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and clean power. Absolutely, no issues. Now, I am upgrading to Kicker 6.5" in the front and rear. Should be perfect for football season

Pros: Nice and Clean Power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, FL on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good little amp, mounted in my glove box. Drives my aftermarket Hertz speakers well but also brought my stock speakers to life.

Pros: Compact size makes it easy to mount. Good power considering the size.

Cons: Lack of adjustments.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 6/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice jump in power to my stereo. It still sounds clean even when I increase the column.

Pros: Easy install and compact size.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Edgewater, FL on 5/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very compact and fit well into the limited space available in my 1966 VW bus. Easy to wire and set up. Connected to a Retrosound head set this unit does provide some much needed body to the overall sound coming out of the four speaker system.

Pros: Compact design, easily installed.

Cons: Good sound quality but not ground shaking.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

ANDREW REY from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this small amp. Able to appreciate my aftermarket speakers now.

Pros: Small Noise free

Cons: No gain adjustment

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great little amp

Bryce from Katy, TX on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp! Running speaker level in my 17' f250 and has 0 noise. Wire it up and forget it. Pulls power off of my harness, so no need to make a run to the battery, and that folks is priceless. Livened up my OEM ford speakers in my F-250.

Pros: Sounds clean and runs cool. Powers off of my oem harness. Super small and mounts behind the dash. No gains to jack with. Signal sensing remote turn on works flawlessly.

Cons: Rear channels non bridgeable.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great performance for size

Kerry from Fair Oaks, CA on 1/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great little amplifier for confined spaces. Includes bridging features etc. usually found in more expensive amps.

Pros: Great little amp if you have confined space

Cons: None considering size and cost

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Crutchfield customer from Colchester, CT on 12/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits in the spacecgreat

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

stanley from Schenectady, NY on 8/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great mini amp. Drives my 5x7's and 6.5's with ease. Fits in dash behind deck and works as intended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Brian from Flowood, MS on 7/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small in size but powerful in output. It fit extremely well in the 4 din enclosure and makes my Sony AX sound so good. I would highly recommend this Sony amp. It is smaller than an old school blackboard eraser.

Pros: Price, good output, small size, great price.

Cons: Do not forget the remote power connection.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sony XMS400D

Charles from South Boston, VA on 6/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice amp. Its has 0 amp noise and gives quality sound . I would have given it 5 stars however I also own the alpine mini amp in another vehicle and the alpine is louder and is also a clean sounding mini amp. I purchased the sony along with the ax200 head unit and 4 jl audio c2 coax speakers. I havnt purchased the w6v3 10 yet but once i do im sure this will be one nice system. The little sony mini amp is doing a great job.

Pros: Easy mount and hook up. Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great, compact size!

Bernard from Tully, NY on 4/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! I had installed Sony Speakers in my doors a few months ago, but They didn't seem to add the kick I was looking for. My car, 2014 Mazda 3, doesn't allow for deck upgrades so I thought that this was the perfect little upgrade. This really makes the speakers bump and compliments the highs and lows. I used to play my stereo on about 20-25 for average listening and now I only go to about 12 for the same volume. It's way better than I could have imagined. This is a great investment if you are looking for something loud, but not too intense.

Pros: Small, Quiet (Amp noise), LOUD! sound to speakers, easy install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Nice little high quality amp

Victor from Livermore, CA on 4/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little high quality amp. I use it to drive 4 high frequency speakers in my car. Sony used high quality wires on the set of connectors that came with the amplifier. I was surprised to see a thick conductor under a thin layer of the isolation, usually it's the other way around.

Pros: High quality amp Really low noise Does rated 4x45W - it's CEA-2006 certified. High efficiency digital design.

Cons: Doesn't have sensitivity adjustments, but If you use it with a DSP or an active crossover it doesn't matter.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Made a cheap stereo sound good!

Roman from Hernando, MS on 1/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice little amp! Perfect for my space! Would purchase again.

Pros: Small size. Good sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice little amp

Robert from Delray Beach, FL on 6/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're not looking for overpowering your system to bust out the eardrums of the person in the car next to you, this is a nice little amp. I used it to replace a Boss CE-102 to give me an additional channel of amplification. I was a bit apprehensive about buying it because it doesn't have it's own volume control, but the integrated pass filters provide enough control over the sound that you don't really need it.

Pros: sounds great price versatility stability

Cons: no volume control

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP