Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
840 657 789 3
Connect ID #
840 657 789 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony XS-AW8

Compact powered under-seat subwoofer enclosure: 75 watts and an 8" sub

MFR # XS-AW8

Sony XS-AW8

Sony XS-AW8

Compact powered under-seat subwoofer enclosure: 75 watts and an 8" sub

MFR # XS-AW8

9 reviews
View this product

Sony XS-AW8

Ricky from Florence, SD on 3/18/2022

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect addition to my truck. Nothing crazy but definitely adds what was missing from my music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sony XS-AW8

John from Healdsburg, CA on 3/1/2022

1966 Ford Fairlane

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. I added this to my Retro Sound Redondo head unit and dual voice coil in dash speaker and I am very pleased with result. This sub isn't going to shake the earth but it will add depth to my classic without taking up trunk space.

Pros: Great sound in a small package.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Just buy it you wont regret it.

Crutchfield customer from Lake Bluff, IL on 10/7/2021

2017 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Omg, this tiny Sony subwoofer can do really amazing bass.. control is also amazing. I wouldn't buy anything else but this subwoofer.. I'm matching these with the new Sony mobile ES speakers. Oh god you guys have no idea, how clear and how amazing it sounds.. people tell me, it sounds better than most night clubs.. bass u can feel it in your chest and stomach from anywhere you sit. Crutchfield made the experience more great by giving me all the wires and knowledge I needed to install. Everything went like melting butter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony XS-AW8

Crutchfield customer from Spencer, OK on 7/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ease to install and sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Satisfied with purchase

Crutchfield customer from Newport, DE on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds really good and love the control knob.

Pros: Sound and design

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Rio rancho

Dale from Rio rancho on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I gives you just enough bass, almost surround soundish. ITS BUILT well and is convenient for sure and for the price not a bad add on . Ive bought several now looking for the one kicker "8 sony "8 alpine 10 so far the best has been the "10 jbl.

Pros: Crisp bass just enough to add to factory sound

Cons: Just want more bass.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Sony XS-AW8

Crutchfield customer from Artesia, CA on 1/31/2021

2007 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Integrates well with a Sony XAV-AX100 (discontinued) when using the FL/FR RCA outputs per instructions. Since my Focal coaxial speakers were powered by a Sony XMS400D 4-channel amp, opted to use a sub y splitter using the single sub out to control the sub volume instead of the supplied volume rotary dial. No problems with this connection s olution, and I prefer the GUI of the head unit to control everything. Simple install, connect RCA, power, ground, remote trigger, set crossover and the subwoofer was ready to go. Unit doesn't provide sub-bass, but does provide a very tight low end that doesn't over power, and integrates well with a simple system. Lastly, the metal chassis is quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sony XS-AW8

Crutchfield customer from Sevierville, TN on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great under seat of my gator could have a little more punch

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

It's built better than I expected

Alexander from STAFFORD, VA on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Apparently these are so new that I got a sub 200 serial on mine. So this review is on the only real world individual hands on information out there for this unit. So bare with the details 4 stars is only becuase its such a new item and low production number (new mfg products can have some early bugs sony is no exception). These were not supposed to go out until the end of the month. Kudos to Crutchfield for doing some predeployment deals to make this project happen early. Onto the actual unit its fairly simple when you use an rca cable method as described in the pdf/manual. Took about 4 hours, ( at a leisurely pace) removing the seat is the best method for installation and wire routing under the carpet. 3m high end Velcro instead of following the manuals recommendation of compromising your cars floor pan with the supplied screws for the primary install method also for sub failure. With a sony xav-ax1000 head unit this feels more like a 150 watt unit in terms of feel, very sharp and deep resonance with minimal changes needed with the phase shift. The head unit cannot recognize the subwoofer unit until you have it in a music mode and playing. Hit the volume knob with the head unit access the EQ to turn the subwoofer on, its not in the subwoofer Manuel. So you might think the head unit was not working once you get that squared away, the head unit will recognize the sub from memory. Until you pull the battery and have to reset the units time date,(remember this above

Pros: -Sounds excellent -Very low distortion -Works with xav-ax1000 head unit ( RCA Y Splitter) -Fits perfectly under a 1998-1999 Subaru Forester passenger seat -Simple packaging -lightweight (9.8 lbs for the amp'd sub unit) -Simple RCA wiring (you can cut and tape off the purple and green lines if your doing the the rca method which I recommend) -Appears very monolithic and Strudy - It's not made in china -it's made in Taiwan (may change with larger production seria

Cons: -I do not know if this unit drains the battery if left connected properly over time. -Requires a 15 amp waterproof fuse holder to be purchased separately of proper gauge to be routed/ spliced through the yellow 12 volt wire to your battery (Littelfuse Mini Inline fuseholder worked perfect) -It's so new there are not many reviews or photos even -no spare parts available at this time do not over cut the wires or break mounting parts or lose screws!

Crutchfield response on

8 of 13 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound