Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Sony STR-ZA810ES

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Dolby Atmos®, and DTS:X

MFR # STRZA810ES

Sony STR-ZA810ES

Sony STR-ZA810ES

7.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi®, Bluetooth®, Dolby Atmos®, and DTS:X

MFR # STRZA810ES

35 reviews
View this product

Pretty great but old version of Chromecast

Kris from MI on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great receiver. Many options, lots of power, includes Chromecast built in. It can do pretty much everything I want. My only minus is it has an old version of Chromecast (1.21.76349). The issue is that because of this old version, it doesn't show up on my Google displays to be able to add it to a speaker group. You CAN add it in the phone app however. Also, I've written Sony twice using their own support form and they never even bother to respond. I've searched the internets and found many others complaining about this old version for the last couple of years so I'm guessing it won't be addressed. For that it gets knocked down a star. If you don't care about that then yes, highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-ZA810ES

Logan from CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from a Onkyo to this Sony & so far I'm happy with my decision. The sound is extremely crisp and has great volume. The only bad thing I've noticed is it doesn't show volume on the tv when your using external devices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wesley

Crutchfield customer from Garland, TX on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The latest technology can be confusing - worked through it. First set the FM to the station. There was no sound, non at all. After checking wiring and setting I got brave and turned the volume up. There it is. There is NO hum or noise from the amplifier, very quiet. Easily drives the Klipsch speakers. Two speaker sound is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-ZA810ES

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent AVR, video processing is outstanding. A snap to install.

Pros: Excellent sound and video

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-ZA810ES

Crutchfield customer from Boca Raton, FL on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Speakers came back to life.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sony Value and Quality

Crutchfield customer from Falling Wtrs, WV on 8/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sony products are excellent quality and a great value for money. Systems are intuitive and easy to install.

Pros: Intuitive, Flexible Great quality Great value

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome sound

Crutchfield customer from Wheaton, IL on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value, good warranty, excellent sound and features!! Easy setup

Pros: 6+ HDMI

Cons: No component video

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sony STR-ZA810ES

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, VA on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice receiver. Not a lot of sound fields to choose from. Being internet connected is overblown when you add devices that do these functions more easily. Such as Roku and Apple players. Good sound. Updated from a 20 year old Sony Db940. The clarity of sound is noticeably improved. Overall nice unit. Skip the internet connectivity....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-ZA810ES

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, MA on 12/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the STR -DA580ESD and i loved that. 130w compared to the this unit which has 90w. The 810 is 40lbs lighter and it has ATMOS which is what I was looking for and stay in the Sony brand. It foes the job quite well and the price was right especially in the Crutchfield Outlet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Fort Myers, FL on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just did

Pros:

Cons: A good FM antenna. No SW or AM or HD

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-ZA810ES

Crutchfield customer from Flint, MI on 11/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an exceptional A/V. I'm very happy with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

HDMI pass-through works well

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Background. This unit replaced a Denon AVR-4310Cl that had been intermittently failing and finally completely died. I'm no audiophile. Operating environment: cable box, receiver, Xbox, DVR, Roku, and two televisions. There are two viewing areas: living room and breakfast area. The rack holding the AV gear is located in the living room. The living room TV is mounted above the rack. Ceiling front and rear speakers, and a center speaker provide audio in the living room. My subwoofer died a few months and, and I have not yet replaced it. The breakfast area contains a television and a small Sonos speaker bar that gets its input from the digital optical port of the television. When viewing in the breakfast area, I put the receiver in stand-by thereby shutting off the living room speakers and rely on HDMI pass-through to ultimately power the Sonos speaker bar. The ability to turn off audio in the living room while viewing from the breakfast area was a critical factor in the selection of this receiver. The STR-ZA810ES works fine with my other gear. The Sony is extremely light by comparison to the old Denon.

Pros: HDMI pass-through. Light weight. Works well with my other gear.

Cons: No instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Disappointing for an ES

Christopher from NC on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had numerous problems with this purchase. The first was some misguidance from the Crutchfield advisors. I was advised that this receiver would support wireless surround speakers, only to find out that this was not the case, when I called for customer support. The next problem that i have had is with lines showing up on my TV on anything that is running through the receiver. Its not the cables, I replaced them thinking it was them. Then the on screen menus stopped working. They were there, just pixelated against the on screen image. The receiver is currently on its way back to Sony for a warranty repair. Its just a pain having to disassemble an entire home entertainment set up to have to reassemble when it returns. I probably will not buy another Sony receiver. I will say, when it was working for the first year of ownership, it was great. It did everything that was expected and I really loved the way it sounded. It made my living room an enjoyable place to watch TV.

Pros: Great Picture and Sound

Cons: Warranty Repair after multiple issues

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Nice boxpleanty

Robert from Carmel, IN on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver. Setup could be easier.

Pros: Plenty of power and connections.

Cons: Alexa would be nice. Setup can be a little awkward.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great sound, ES quality

TNC from Columbia, SC on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup, definitely an upgrade from previous high quality Yamaha. Noticeable in sound fields and sub. This is right out of box with no tweaking.

Pros: Easy setup, great sound, good price/quality ratio

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sony STR-ZA810ES

Crutchfield customer from Pawleys Island, SC on 11/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful receiver, easy to set up, now I need to upgrade my surround sound speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not as great as reviewed

Crutchfield customer from San Rafael, CA on 7/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Sony str-za810es has been a disappointment. The reviews of this product that are positive are not accurate in my opinion. It has super spotty sound on ultra HDTV channels on a Comcast 4K box on a 4K tv on high end Bose speakers using a Monster Power clean power box. HBO, Showtime, Netflix and regular hd cable all experience the same loss of sound. I've also upgraded all of my cables to the Belkin 4K hdr blah blah blah cables. It's actually a worse receiver than what I replaced (Sony str-da2800es - that didn't have this same issue).

Pros: None

Cons: The price, uneven sound that cuts in and out paired with top equipment.

Crutchfield response on 7/25/2018
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 26 found this helpful

Better, richer, fuller sound!

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 7/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit sounds AMAZING! I have been using an Onkyo for years but it got knocked out by a lightening strike on our home. Replaced it with the Sony and cannot tell you how much better, fuller and richer the sound is for both music and movies! Special thanks to the good folks at Crutchfield for the recommendation!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Surround Sound

Jeff from East Meadow, NY on 5/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although it took me 24 frustrating hours and multiple calls to Sony Support as well as Crutchfield support, we finally got the receiver to work via the ARC HDMI port. This was not the fault of the receiver, but the convulated menus in my 65 inch Sony XBR TV. The ARC port had to be enabled within one of the setup menus on the TV. That said, this receiver replaced a Yamaha RX-V675 that failed in less than 3 years. There is NO comparison to the sound. I have been disappointed in the Yamaha since new, the Sony blows it away. Surround sound is powerful, with crisp treble and excellent bass. I haven't had enough time to play with the on screen menus of the ZA810ES, but I do miss the ease of pressing buttons of the Yamaha remote to change surround sound programs. Overall I am extremely satisfied with the sound of the new Sony.

Pros: Much better and more powerful sound than my Yamaha RX-V675.

Cons: A basic remote with on screen menus

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Overall pleased, but has some Video/Audio sync issues

Mark from Dyersburg, TN on 5/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, very pleased with this receiver. I replaced a very old Onyko, (which still sounded great), I wanted features (Bluetooth, etc) found in newer units. I would have purchased the Onkyo 777, but existing shelves were not deep enough. Ultimately, after installing the Sony I modified my shelf to accommodate the depth. I have issues U-verse TV, audio/video sync that I can't resolve. The audio lags behind the video (I have updated firmware). I don't have this issues with other TVs in my house, it must be something to do with receiver processing speed. Hopefully future firmware updates will correct this issue.

Pros: Full feature set, supports all audio & video protocols (that are important to me).

Cons: Audio/Video sync issues that can't be resolved, as audio lags behind the video. Receiver lag adjustments only allow to increase the audio lag.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Features, Outstanding Value!

Bud from Pottstown, PA on 5/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An excellent unit that provides a lot of value. The price is outstanding for the many state-of-the-art features it has. Setup and integration with a SONY Bravia TV and Sony BluRay player was easy and provides seamless operation. Be sure to get the latest HDMI cables to be able to use the UHD HDR capabilities to the fullest. Crutchfield techs were great! Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sony STR-ZA810ES

Adam from Andover, MN on 3/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful receiver loaded with options. This is my third ES receiver over the years. Paired well with my Polk 350 Blackstone TL350 Speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-ZA810ES

Crutchfield customer from Biloxi, MS on 2/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Probably the 40th Sony product I have purchased since 1980...they never disappoint. This 4K receiver is paired with my Sony 4K Television and 4K disc player and it's perfect. Legendary Crutchfield service and I'm a happy camper!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Sony STR-ZA810ES

Tom from Sunnyvale, CA on 2/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Sound and quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Exceeded my expectations!

Dave from Loveland, CO on 1/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit is easy to set up and I feel it is very powerful. I went with the Sony partly because of the name and the fact that I have had lots of Sony products over the years and I can't remember one single product failure. Can't say the same for other brands. I feel that the way it sets up the speaker configuration using the microphone is extremely accurate. I am pretty impressed with this unit overall. The Crutchfield people are very helpful as well...great experience!

Pros: Solid Sony quality Lots of power Easy to set up

Cons: None so far...

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

It does it all

Steve from Fort Worth, TX on 1/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for your home theatre sound. If you have a Sony TV just sit back and this receiver will do all the work. The set up could not be any easier, so don't worry about matching your speakers to calculate as this receiver does it for you. If you have any hesitation it is nice to know that Crutchfield has great technical support to walk you thru any question. 4K pass thru is nice and clear. The sound has no distortion and it easily handles my 5.1.1 set up 2 front 1 sub 2 rear 2 Atmos speakers has all the HDMI you could need so go ahead and get this receiver, with a 5 year warranty it is almost a no brainer. Thank you Cody for the sound advice.

Pros: true 4k flow GUI is so easy Clean sound at all levels

Cons: It might be me, but if you want Dolby surround you have to always set it as it is NOT the default for sound.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Sony STR-ZA810ES

paul from MD on 1/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver at great price(1080 upgrade). Superb sound quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Great Features, Easy Sound Set-up

Brad from Cary, NC on 12/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to an LG OLED65C7P flat screen, and my older Sony "ES" receiver also needed to be replaced. I too, had ordered the STR-DN1080. Crutchfield customer service kept me informed about the slipping delivery date for the "1080". So, when they offer the STR-ZA810ES to be delivered before Christmas, I was grateful for the offer. The sound field set-up, using the provided microphone was very easy and the resulting sound from my 5.1 room speakers was terrific. The number of HDMI inputs is more than I could ask for. I have not used the ARC feature, and run all connections to the receiver, with one HDMI cable to the flat screen. I've plugged in a Roku Streaming Stick +, and it works flawlessly with the receiver. The Roku has allowed me to stream Sirius XM radio through the receiver, providing another option beyond my Sonos room speakers. I've also been AirPlay streaming my iTune library through the receiver. Easy of use and sound quality is top notch.

Pros: Works with Apple AirPlay. Easy sound field calibration. 5 year warranty.

Cons: None, that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Love my Receiver

Bert from Madison, MS on 12/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver sounds great with my Polk speakers. Replaced a sound bar for my TV. Worth every penny. The sound is orders of magnitude better. Could use a better instruction manual to help the tech impaired. As usual the Crutchfield pricing and service were the best.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Product, Great Crutchfield Customer Service!

Randy from Middleton, WI on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield has great customer service! I ordered the STR-DN1080 for Christmas and it was going to be delayed, so they offered a free upgrade to the STR-ZA810ES, which has all the same features but with higher quality build and longer 5-year warranty. So far it is working perfectly and looks and sounds great. Even if it didn't, the Crutchfield return policy allows plenty of time to try it out and return if necessary. Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Love it

Jody from Catonsville, MD on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver replaced an older Yamaha, and it is super easy to setup, sounds fantastic, has easy to use menus, and has built-in Bluetooth that can be used as a source for Zone 2 - the old Yamaha couldn't use digital inputs for the second zone.

Pros: Bluetooth, wide variety of sources for zone 2, great sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Nice Upgrade!

Joseph from Volant, PA on 12/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased the Sony STR-DN 1080 while on back order, but I was upgraded to the Sony STR-ZA810ES for no extra charge. Now that is some great customer service! The receiver has a ton of features, and it syncs well with my Sony TV and Blu-ray player. It comes with a five year warranty also.

Pros: Lots of features, lots of ins/outs, Bravia Sync, ability to biamp front speakers, five year warranty.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Well rounded Receiver

Roland from Anaconda, MT on 11/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded to a 4k x930d, so my str-da5500es (which I love) needed an upgrade. Looked at several "high end" receivers za5000es, Yamaha Aventage line, Onkyo, Denon etc. I went with the za810es primarily because of it's well rounded features and at Cyber Monday price. I don't need the Ethernet hub in my receiver but blutooth, airplay, Spotify and chromecast all built in work great, no more extras to plug in just to connect to the receiver. I do enjoy variety, the more option's on the back of the receiver the better, this one seemed pretty barren to me but really there are more connections than I needed or am using. So here's my setup; x930d ubp-x800 hopper3 xbox one x apple tv bose front and center speakers 8ohm boston acoustic surround and surround back 8ohm Yamaha active sub (yes my speakers are the next to upgrade) I connect all components using hdmi into receiver and tv into hdmi with arc (works perfectly). Easy setup, auto calibration worked incredibly well, phase matched the speakers no problem and set the crossover frequency on the first attempt. Already happy with my purchase as my older receiver never quite got the auto calibration right. Network setup was next and it was even easier of course once connected there's an update, 30 minutes later I begin checking all of my imputs and setting them to my taste. Hopper3 hd/sd looks just like they did plugged directly into tv, set audio to neural:x (which is DTS:X) all 7.1 speakers firing and the

Pros: Price DTS:X 4K HDR Dolby Atmos Dolby Vision Connect everything with HDMI ARC

Cons: None at this price for what you get

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Amazing Sony Quality!

Freddy from Oviedo, FL on 7/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use. Outstanding quality as all Sony products. Love the Wireless/Bluetooh/NFC features. Works perfectly with my Definitive Technology front and center channel speakers, in-ceiling Yamaha surrounds and Acoustech PL-200 sub.

Pros: Great features Supports Atmos

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Good stuff in a small-ish package

Dan from San Jose, CA on 6/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Atmos, check; 7.1 working on initial setup, check; size fits in the small space (IKEA cabinet) used by my old 5.1 stereo in a box, check; reasonable app, check; pass through and ARC working as designed (better than expected, check; Apple airplay, check; Whole house mode, promising but not ready to test. I sold myself on the Onkyo 767 ... then the 810 ... I learned the 767 did not advertise a whole house mode and there was no other stereo for me.... it had my whole house mode and would run my in wall, in ceiling speakers plus center and sub(s). It is intended to be a home theater OR multi room, single source party audio... THEN I measured the space and realized the Onkyos were 1-2" bigger than the cabinet before connections... Now enter the Sony 1080, everything met the criteria, for the same price, but obviously a little less than anticipated Onkyo 810 results... but it meets my needs... then enter the Sony 810ES (extra special). Longer warranty, better components, $100 more... done. The ARC when on and pass through when off works perfect for my entertainment setup. AppleTV attached to the wall mounted tv, cable pass through, blue ray and games in the stereo... not what I wanted, everything I was looking for and more... Thank you Sony for fulfilling my wants and size restrictions.

Pros: Atmos, surround, multi room, small(er) size, powerful and app enabled

Cons: None yet. Maybe price, but not really.

Crutchfield response on

21 of 24 found this helpful

TOP