Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

AudioControl DM-810

Digital signal processor — 8 inputs, 10 outputs

MFR # 841-080-8

AudioControl DM-810

AudioControl DM-810

Digital signal processor — 8 inputs, 10 outputs

MFR # 841-080-8

13 reviews
View this product

Flawed but sufficient!

Tony from Hillsboro on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

IF you can tolerate an oftentimes infuriating software experience, then you'll be pleased with this unit. On the flip side, pretty much every time I've called Audio Control for support I've gotten someone extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Seriously, this is a HUGE pro to owning any Audio Control product IMO. This product would likely earn 3 stars from me if it weren't for this. For the most part, this device delivers on its promise. However, the software has continuously given me pause for concern. Reinstalling sometimes fixes the problem I was trying to solve, but replaces it with another. For example the 80 Hz EQ frequency doesn't like to move, or it doesn't remember where I put it. This started after reinstalling for other issues but the 80 Hz problem is the lesser of two evils. Other gripes are the fact that when you change crossover frequencies it saves these across ALL memories, so A/B comparisons are impossible. Also, if you're using the knob to control subwoofer levels, it doesn't remember the last setting and the knob rotates freely so you can't put the knob it the right "position" for anything. Another knob issue is that it doesn't always change memories like it was designed, which makes it pretty much worthless. Overall, it's a decent unit with phenomenal customer service. I can't compare it to other DSPs because this is the first I've owned. I'm using Arc Audio Signature Edition amps and Dynaudio separates. MTX subs

Pros: Excellent sound customization. Low noise floor. Small size. Good, solid power and audio connections.

Cons: Software. Software! And glitchy software!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioControl DM-810

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this processor, the software is easy to use

Pros: Software is easy to use which makes tuning easier.

Cons: Compared to other DSP'S it is somewhat limited in it's tuning abilities.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Vinton, LA on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my Second one in a month and the Sound Quality is great but neither will remote Turn Off. Best answer given was Switch The Jumper inside. I feel after spending that much money it should work automatic without me opening any covers. Had no problems with my Audio Control 608 hopefully they fix this issue soon so no one else goes through this.

Pros: Great Sound Quality

Cons: Remote Turn Off didn't work without Removing Cover and changing jumpers around

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Outstanding Control and Tuning

Crutchfield customer from Millwood, NY on 6/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded the audio in my 200 series Landcruiser with the JBL premium factory system (14 speakers) and kept factory headunit and controls. This unit was the critical component I needed to get this done - grabbed the high level signal post factory amp and fed all 8 channels of the DSP. From there, was able to send low level signals out to two 4 channel amps and a mono sub amp. Currently powering all speakers except for the tailgate speakers that are running off the factory amp. Built in RTA, time delay, EQ controls and input/output level controls are all crucial in making the system sound good. Had previous success with AudioControl's LC2i in other cars and was confident this component would do the trick.

Pros: Flexibility, functions and controls Ease of installation Size

Cons: Software was a bit confusing to install - instructions had some conflicting directions

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing control

Richard from Maine on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Um amazing is the best word to describe it. This bad boy was used in a 9 channel system in my 2011 bmw x5. Integration to my factory system was seamless. Program has a learning curve, plus you need to learn a bit about dsp tuning. Not an issue though I did my research. My channels go like this: 1-2 front speakers/center channel speaker, 3-4 rear door speakers, 5-6 d-pillar speakers, 7-8 underseat 8" woofers, 9-10 (mono) subwoofer in trunk. Final product? A big big smile. It sounds incredible, and this processor is the glue to the entire system. Believe me, with the amount of fine tuning this allows you to do to your system, you literally squeeze every bit of performance from every speaker and amp. Country and Rock music sound like they're live, vocals aren't piecing, instruments are realistic sounding. Rap is tight, powerful, and clear. EDM is immersive, but not muddy, piercing, or bass heavy. Of course the sound is produced by the speakers, but that's all they do, this processor does everything else and ties the entire system together as one. The price is steep, but I promise if you put the time in to learn how to use this processor you will be rewarded with an amazing system.

Pros: Control over just about everything in your system EQ, frequency range, Accubass, etc.

Cons: Program takes time to learn how to use.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Software is Brutal

Patric from Davenport on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This review is separated by the performance of the processor once configured and the software itself. Performance: There are no glaring defect from my end but I'm just a hobbyist and lack the ability to truly rate the system It's performed just fine for me and has ultimate flexibility. The gains issue on power up and the pink noise experienced by others has not been a problem. Software: The software is laughably awful, and I'm not the best one to judge software either. I understand it from a user experience and enough to be dangerous on the development side, and still have enough wherewithal to see how bad it is. This is the kind of experience we used to have in the 90's. Immediately I assumed we had an issue when learning that the software is downloaded directly from the AudioControl website. In the Mac world this sets off alarm bells as Apple requires software to be registered through their site for download. Registration is either free or really inexpensive so the only reason that a developer wouldn't do this is if the software won't pass Apple testing and therefore wouldn't be permitted to be downloaded. As soon as the software is launched it's immediately apparent how bad this software. It's DOS software with a windows dressing.The pull-downs are hardcoded and don't take advantage of the windows tool. Software crashes often, it taxes the processor and drains the battery, etc. C'mon AudioControl, you can do better than this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 14 found this helpful

AudioControl DM-810

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, WI on 2/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great engine to build a system around. Ultimately flexible. I'm driving 8 speakers plus sub. Tuning is easy - software is fairly intuitive. Very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

AudioControl DM-810

Guest from Elizabeth, NJ on 9/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a very old audison bit one with this and it was such a mistake. The AudioControl DM-810 software is pretty terrible and lacks so many features and functions. The unit itself gives off a horrible static pink noise. I swapped all amps and speakers and narrowed it down to this thing. I set it up on its own battery in my test bench to see if it was a ground issue in the car, nope it's this unit it's causing the pink noise no matter the jumper setting. Lastly the most infuriating thing is does is to turn the gains to maximum volume when it turns on regardless of how you may have initially set it prior to turning off the car. The Audison Bit One software was miles better and the gain settings stayed where you left it period. I'm returning this AudioControl DM-810 and replacing it with a Helix DSP.2 which should be the best in the industry hardware, sound, and software wise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

20 of 30 found this helpful

AudioControl DM-810

Dermot from Sprngfld Gdns, NY on 6/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very compact and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Needed to return due to floor noise

Aaron from Birmingham, MI on 12/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice features, but the unit I received had floor noise. Aside from all of the time spent installing it, it took me and the installer over an hour on the phone with AudioControl tech support to tinker with unit and convince him the DM-810 was in fact the culprit of the floor noise (regardless of it's settings or amp gain levels). I sent the unit to AC to inspect and potentially replace (which is probably gonna take weeks, then more hours to reinstall - all on my dime, of course). But something tells me this is a design issue, not a defect, so in the mean time, I'm looking at the JL and Rockford options. Also very disappointing there is not Bluetooth connectivity via Android app ... why should I have to bust out a USB wire and laptop to configure my digital processor in 2018?

Pros: Nice features and configurability

Cons: Floor noise (suspect this is design issue, not defect) No Bluetooth / Mobile App

Crutchfield response on

24 of 29 found this helpful

AudioControl DM-810 is Impressive

Mario from Vail, AZ on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is replacing AudioControl DQL-8 in a 2009 Nissan 370Z with Bose/Navigation. I couldn't be more happy with the upgrade. I was able to bypass the factory amps and run the headunit directly to the DM-810. Audiocontrol's support is awesome as well. I emailed them about some hiss and within 1 day they emailed me back directions on switching the grounding jumper which cleared up the signal completely. The sound has never sounded so clear and loud without any noise at all at any volume. Great job Audiocontrol! The unit is easy to install and the software is easy and intuitive to work in and make adjustments. The only negative i have is waiting for the bluetooth module. Sitting in a small car with a full size laptop is not fun. I'd rather be making adjustments with a tablet.

Pros: AudioControl has great Customer Support and developed a project that has fit all my needs with room to build on.

Cons: I wish Bluetooth control was available already

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

OEM tuning made easier

Jim from Allen Park, MI on 4/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this unit installed for about 6 months and it definitely made an improvement over what it had replaced. The unit itself is great although the product description is very misleading. I was replacing LCQ-1 with the DM-810 and at the time did it only because I was under the impression that I'd be able to do my tuning from an iOS/Android device since it was supposed to have Bluetooth. I then discovered there is an add-on Bluetooth module that isn't even available yet so now that requires more money into an already pricey purchase.

Pros: Plenty of options to adjust, sum inputs, and have full control of your system.

Cons: Bluetooth, which should have been integrated in the first place, is an extra add-on option.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

AudioControl DM-810

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento , ca on 11/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It took some work and the help from Audiocontrol but I got it ! It sounds great. Audio control support was great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

TOP