Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

AudioControl DQ-61

Factory sound processor with equalization and time delay (Black)

MFR # 841-074-8

AudioControl DQ-61

AudioControl DQ-61

Factory sound processor with equalization and time delay (Black)

MFR # 841-074-8

21 reviews
View this product

AudioControl DQ-61

Crutchfield customer from New Castle, IN on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm still getting a little noise through the speakers. Having an issue with the thumping when I turn the unit on. I will try turning the GTO off

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it

Shawn from DELTONA, FL on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Product. Really makes a difference from my LC7i.

Pros: Cost, Easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AudioControl DQ-61

Crutchfield customer from Odenton, MD on 8/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely a game changer for me the added AccuBASS and time alignment put my sound on a different level!

Pros: All of it!

Cons: None yet!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Simeon J from BROOKLYN, NY on 1/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works really well at integrating your factory stereo with after market amps and speakers while adding levels of equalization, time alignment and accubass. My only issue so far is there is a slight hissing sound which can be heard at really low volume, will tinker with the internal jumpers to see if this solves this issue.

Pros: Factory stereo integration, equalization and time alignment in one

Cons: Hissing sound okay low volumes which may or may not be able to be tuned out

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Marcelino from San Juan, PR on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very sensitive to adjust but in my case minimum adjustment necessary almost flat. Love the upgrade on my Tacoma 2019.

Pros:

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

AudioControl DQ-61

John from Columbus, OH on 8/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product overall. Don't use the GTO feature, as it has not been entirely reliable. Wire the 12v remote instead. Sound delay really makes a difference in the listening experience.

Pros: Improves sound. You can turn processing on and off to see what you paid for, and you can hear the difference. Retorque the connections after a few days.

Cons: GTO

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Good buy

Manny from Garden City, NY on 5/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee and didn't want to change out the factory head unit - but wanted an after market setup. The DQ-61 allowed for me to connect two amps to the factory head unit and fine tune the system to my liking. Couldn't be happier.

Pros: Functionality and quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Great Expectations

John from Youngstown, OH on 5/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not installed yet but highly recommended by Crutchfield as a great analog processor for adding aftermarket components to a factory head unit. My prior history with Audiocontrol has always been positive and given me great sonic pleasure.

Pros: Clean OEM. Integration without laptops. Technology has not caught up with the human ear just yet.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

AudioControl DQ-61

Andy from San Diego, CA on 4/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Alot of tweaking to make it right. Possible ground hiss with the unit. I have to crack it open and see if there are other jumper choices help to remove the hiss. Knobs are little sensitive, when adjusting for the bands the knobs when moved slightly made a huge change from nominal position. It also brought on a bass thump because I was not using a remote because I was using their sensing feature. Since my amps were on a remote cable they turned on prior to the DQ61 and thus causing the thump according to the customer service. Customer service second to none, very professional and more than willing to take the time to talk to you. In the end I think I would have kept this but I think I'm going to step up to a new headunit instead of keeping my OEM.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Equalizer

Jason from Lexington, KY on 3/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to my factory navigation system. I have the ability now to customize my sound.

Pros: Customizing

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buy a new head unit instead

Jason from Glendale, AZ on 7/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in a 2014 Tacoma to try and and keep my factory look and was unfortunately disappointed. My stock HU sounded good with focal speakers and dynamat on the doors so I figured this would be a good way to add an amp and subs. After adding this to a JL 1000xd 5v2 and a JL stealthbox, my system sounds dull regardless of tuning the EQ on this or the HU. Can't seem to dial in the accubass either, maybe it's just me. It also adds a hiss in the tweeters that remains whether the car is on or off and it drives me crazy. If you're like me and have a good ear for high end sound, you would want to consider a new HU that amplifies good sound instead of this processor that amplifies a substandard sound.

Pros: Time alignment is easy to use. Unit is generally easy to use. Keeps stock look

Cons: Poor sound quality. Constant tweeter hiss

Crutchfield response on

12 of 24 found this helpful

Great piece

Timothy R from Manhattan, KS on 4/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AudioControl DQ-61 does what it claims. I have always had separate head units and amps, my new vehicle's computer-tied-to-the-radio setup does not allow for aftermarket head units. The DQ-61 does a great job trying to make up for the de-tuning the factories do to the audio systems. I have been an audiophile for 30+ years, and have assembled many systems in cars and homes. Once the system is de-tuned, no piece can completely recreate what has been removed, especially starting with the source head unit, this goes for cars and home systems. That being said, the DQ-61 does a commendable job at least trying to make up for the factory radio's shortcomings, that last bit of snap and detail is a bit missing (thanks factory radio!!) The DQ-61 in the audio chain makes the factory radio much more enjoyable, and 90% of the sound that I have always had. My previous systems have always had good head units, crossovers, amps, subs, speakers, and especially high quality cabling, usually silver in my rca signal cables for better clarity. Music quality has always been my thing, it's gotta sound right, as close to studio as possible, within reason, and wallet size. This sound processor is highly recommended, in light of improving the factor system without having engine/computer issues that my factory radio is tied to. I would buy again if I had to. Current system includes JL sub, factory head unit and DQ-61, 2 JL Audio amps, Alpine and Hertz speakers, silver and OFC wiring.

Pros: Great sound overall, does what it is designed to.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Awesome product!

Bryan from Ocean, NJ on 9/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've owned many different AudioControl pieces....I have a bunch in other stereos....this piece continues my awesome relationship with them. It does everything you expect of it, just like any AudioControl product. Seamless integration of a modern factory car stereo so that I can add aftermarket amplifiers, subs, and speakers. So great! And Crutchfield provides the best service...can't beat that combination!

Pros: AudioControl quality and ingenuity

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Awesome product, and has yet to be installed

Mark from Bellingham, WA on 9/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered the Audiocontrol DQ-61 from Crutchfiled two weeks ago. I am having it installed into a 2015 Subaru that I am leaving the factory deck in.a week. I am stoked. I wanted the hands free electronics that came with the car (and OEM deck) so I am using this to add on a sub amp and a pair of vacuum tube drivers (Planet Audio, 1998). I am replacing the stock speakers with a pair of Hertz/Elecromedia 6.5" two ways (and adding a 10" sub, Morel Ultimo 10SC driven by JL HD750). The shop employs my 'old guy' that quit where I used to go when management changed. Knowing the installer and his skill level, I am very anxious to have the 'perfect' sound for my car. I'll post more later though I have no doubt it will be short of amazing. I have spoke with the parent company Audiocontrol (Seattle based) and have very pleasant chats with their techs. Would recommend,

Pros: Very nicely designed product. Looks easy to use. The remote sub/setup control is sleek and can be mounted flush, if room. The DQA-61 is small enough to go under front seats, glove box, etc. I am having it professionally installed by an authorized dealer to validate the amazing 5yr warranty that comes with their products. More after install. Peace

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 14 found this helpful

This might of been overkill

William B from Falls Church on 5/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The original shop that the installernet cards worked with really were bad. Installernet told me to go back to them but only an idiot would allow the same shop to mess their truck up twice. The new shop I went to fixed ALL the problems that the other shop made and told me that this handy device would help me get the sound I want w/o changing my head unit

Pros: It finally sounds great

Cons: Wish Crutchfield and/or installernet would of initially done things right. Would of saved me lots of money and time

Crutchfield response on

3 of 28 found this helpful

AudioControl DQ-61 Rocks!!!!

Mike K. from Illinois on 11/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2010 Ford F-150 FX4 Supercab and had to get rid of the putrid speaker system in that truck! I decided to keep the head unit which was a standard sync model. I started out by swapping the front stage with Alpine SPR 60C comps in the front and Alpine SPR 60 coaxials in the rear. These are being powered by a Alpine PDX F-4 amp putting 100 rms out to the speakers. I also have a Kicker Hideaway powered sub under the back seat. The build sounded good but i needed a little bass boost so i went with the Audiocontrol LC7i. That unit worked GREAT! After awhile i wanted to add some time alignment and a little processing. I did some research and decided on the Audiocontrol DQ-61. This unit also had accubass so i was able to swap the LC7i out. My head unit only had front and rear inputs so the Audiocontrol DQ-61 worked great! Since i did not have a Sub input the Audiocontrol took the front and rear inputs and through automode in created a sub channel! Awsome! Setting up TA was easy! Just use the Arc 3 knob and follow the easy instructions and presto! The front stage sounds like it should with the music coming from the windshield in front of you instead of from the sides. You can also bring your sub " upfront" with the TA function for the sub. This unit has speaker level inputs so it is great for OEM integration if you need to keep your stock head unit. This is another GREAT product from Audiocontrol! Try It!

Pros: Has speaker level inputs for OEM head unit integration.

Cons: I do not want to leave my truck now! Is that really ha Con???

Crutchfield response on

20 of 21 found this helpful

Keep factory look with aftermarket sound

Christina H from Florida on 11/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to keep the look of my factory stereo as I think all aftermarket stereo decks cheapen the look of the car, but without compromising the sound quality. I use the DQ-61 with an Infinity 10" sub, front/rear Kicker speakers, 5 channel Soundstream amp to power all speakers and the sub. This does exactly what I expect it to do. Sound is as good as if I had put in a new stereo deck. Very small so I was able to mount it under the drivers seat. Comes with a full EQ and separate bass knob (which is handier than you would think as you don't realize how often you adjust the sub levels). There is also the time delay, which is nice. One reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because there is a very light white noise/buzz at all times, even when the radio is off. I've tried everything to get rid of it. I was told that that's just how it is when you leave the factory radio in. Maybe I'll try noise filters, but it's not too bad.

Pros: Allows you to keep factory radio, full EQ, time delay, easy to use, separate bass knob

Cons: Low white noise/buzz sound at all times

Crutchfield response on

10 of 12 found this helpful

AudioControl DQ-61

oZker from Chula Vista Ca. on 11/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing piece! I Purchased the AudioControl DQ-61 to use on my 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 4dr. My vehicle came equipped with a factory stock double din touch screen head unit and with a factory amplifer. I bought this piece with the intentions to delete the factory amplifer and upgrading all speakers and adding some bass. The DQ-61 works flawlessly with the stock head unit! I'm currently running the DQ-61 with a Kicker 4-channel amplifer(KX400.4) to power Infinty Kappa components in front & Infinity Kappa 62.11i in rear. As for the bass I have the DQ wired up to a JL AUDIO Mono subwoofer amplifer(600/1v3) & a JL AUDIO Ported H.O. Wedge enclosure with one 10" W6v3 subwoofer. Awesome sound! I would strongly recommend this piece if your looking to build a sound system with your stock factory head unit which are getting more & more hard or impossible to replace due to features like fuel consumption, climate controls, Bluetooth that are attached to factory head units as it is with mine.

Pros: Dash control Bass remote. 7-band EQ for front,rear, & subwoofer which allows you to adjust and fine tune.

Cons: Zero.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

best piece I have purchased

glf2 from Birmingham, AL on 10/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this because I wanted to keep my factory head unit and controls, plus audio control has a proven name in quality audio products. I've been planning this setup for a while and this piece really knocked it out of the park. With some set up of the time delays, it moved the sound from the kappa coaxials (door install) to the top of the dash and pulled the bass from the trunk to the front of the car. Now to get an RTA to set up the eq. A must purchase if you are using a stock radio/controls.

Pros: Versatile, clean, audiophile worthy

Cons: Not sure if this is a con, but to take advantage off all the features...take time to read the owner's manual and do a proper setup. This is worth the time.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pretty slick piece of equipment

jadedtundra from Plano TX on 4/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have tried the 3.sixty and thought about going with a bit one but this device in my opinion was the perfect fit for what I wanted. Concept K.I.S.S. just works out better sometimes.

Pros: Very easy installation. It can handle wattage from a factory amplifier. No laptop needed for turning. Most importantly you control your volume via your factory controls.

Cons: I wish it had more inputs and outputs. Like 12 outputs and 8 inputs. With high and low pass filters on each channel.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great OEM integration piece.

Juan from San Diego, CA on 12/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This processor is very easy to use, connect, and setup. I wanted to use a processor that would intergrate into my OEM system. I wanted to keep the OEM DVD/Navigation unit in my 2010 Nissam Maxima as several of the car's functions are connected to this setup. I replaced the car's tweeters in the dash & the front door speakers with a set of components & I added an aftermarket subwoofer. I have a 2ch amp for the components & another 2ch amp bridged to the sub. I used the DQ-61 between the headunit & the amplifiers. Once I dialed the gains in, I started with the time alignment of the front speakers & the sub. This process was very easy to do. You basically turn the knob until you get the image where you want it, then push the knob to do the same for the front speakers to sub delay. I was able to get the image right in the center, with the up front bass as well. I them made some adjustments to the EQ section to tame some of the frequencies bouncing off the windshield. This processor allowed me to get exactly what I wanted out of my system without a lot of fuss I highly recommend this unit to anyone looking to upgrade their OEM sound system.

Pros: Ease of use. OEM intergration, line driver, EQ, and time alignment all in one small package.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

22 of 22 found this helpful

TOP