Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

AudioControl LCQ-1

6-channel line output converter with equalizer — add amps to your factory system (Black)

MFR # 841-063-8

AudioControl LCQ-1

AudioControl LCQ-1

6-channel line output converter with equalizer — add amps to your factory system (Black)

MFR # 841-063-8

29 reviews
View this product

Westover

Tommy from Westover on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in '17 honda crv and works as expected, first try. I use the auto turn-on GTO feature and it works like a charm. Turns on and off perfectly without any noise or pops and works every time. I connected the remote-out wire to 2 seperate amps and powers them on perfectly. The EQ is crucial on this thing since we're working with a stock head unit. The EQ works well - but i wish it had even a couple more bands. An extra couple bands between 1k - 5k range would do wonders for my setup (like my last after-market head unit had) but it works well enough. Very small and tucks away nicely under my passenger seat. Overall fantastic unit, does exactly what i needed it too.

Pros: - Size and construction - Everything works as advertised

Cons: - Give us a few more bands on the EQ and it would be perfect

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

love this piece

Crutchfield customer from Massillon, OH on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! I have had enhanced stereos in my vehicles for years. This is the first time I stepped it up and went with a signal processor vs an aftermarket head unit or regular LOC. Worth every penny. The clarity and control offer a brand new experience and i am rediscovering my favorite songs!

Pros: Easy install. Great control of front, rear and sub channels.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

AudioControl LCQ-1

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

AudioControl LCQ-1

Crutchfield customer from Frederiksted, VI on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This control works very well, but did not create the bass channel that was indicated for the the four channel factory CD/Radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very diverse EQ.

Crutchfield customer from Tracy, CA on 7/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked out great. I replaced a LC7i which worked well to interface to my 2017 Tacoma Entune radio. I found the need for a little EQ capability. With some minor EQ adjustments on this. My front Rockford Fostgate Separates run a little bright on the the higher mid frequencies and the back 3 way RF's need a little kick in the mids and highs so this was able to tone the front down and bost the back a bit so they now sound a bit more natural. Very clean sound. Also using a 5 Channels Rockford amp with a Rockkford 10" sealed Sub. I love it. Take a while to EQ but not so bad in a truck since its right behind you. Also don't buy from Amazon. A little cheaper but I got 2 defective units from them and Audio Control will not warranty their products bought from them. Crutchfield will always be there for you! Take note of the GTO circuit. If you dont have a remote wire as most factory radios do not, i found it is best to just connect the remote to the ACC power and disable the GTO circuit. It work but you may get a little pop sound after turning your vehicle off.

Pros: Clean sound and good EQ options

Cons: GTO circuit may give a little pop sound when powering off.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

AudioControl LCQ-1

Harrison from Humble, TX on 1/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love Audiocontrol products. Amazing equalization and tuning.

Pros: Excellent for higher end systems, but affordable to use with factory stereo.

Cons: Only comes in 2 colors

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

AudioControl LCQ-1

Noel from Hackensack NJ on 11/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

really good product! Has helped me achieve the missing sound i needed with stock head unit and factory amp. This sits between my factory amp and aftermarket amplifier.

Pros: Great sound! A definite need

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

AudioControl LCQ-1

Crutchfield customer from Mililani, HI on 9/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is amazing. I have my pionner 4 channel and alpine mrvm500 amp for my sub hooked up to the lcq1 and it made a huge difference with my bass roll off. Made my sub sound 1000 times better at higher volumes was easy to install and I recommend this to anyone thats wants to add amps and use a factory head unit. Which makes this product stand out is the built in equalizer. Made my rocksford 6x9s sounds ridiculous crisp. Thanks crunchfield

Pros: Everything is amazing

Cons: Nothing at all

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

AudioControl LCQ-1

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 7/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added to my 2017 Hellcat charger Great product for EQ your factory radio system when upgrading amp and speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

AudioControl LCQ-1

Crutchfield customer from Mission, TX on 3/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product greatly improved my stereo system in my truck like night and day. Highly recommend this product if you want to keep your factory head unit but want to improve the sound from your aftermarket stereo speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Product

De Boss from St Thomas VI on 1/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Night and Day with the sound quality since I've installed the Audio Control LCQ-1. When using a factory radio its basically HEAVEN.

Pros: Sounds great. I now have bass at all volume I have a real equalizer now. Makes your factory unit sound like aftermarket.

Cons: I Wish the the high frequency for the front and rear channel was higher than 12k for the EQ.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

The hisser............

Crutchfield customer from Ft Worth, TX on 8/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a disappoint and I will be returning it. I installed it in a 2015 Silverado Non-Bose system and it hisses like crazy, and drives me nuts! So after research, once my installation was complete, and was absolutely disappointed that I had to sacrifice power to remove the hissing (but not completely, even still, mind you), and even paying a second shop to redo the wiring, because of the hissing, I discovered this is very common for this overrated unit, when it comes to installing it with factory head unit. The only other option would be to replace it with an aftermarket head unit, which would be a step down in head unit unless I wanted to spend an additional 1,000's more to maintain onstar, navigation, and backup camera. All I can say is Crutchfield needs to make note of this. Audison audio Bit Ten D is going to be replacing my LCQ1. I have learned it's the best in the business.

Pros: Lots of tuneability, obviously, that's all I got for pros.

Cons: Major hissing from the moment you turn in the key even with the head unit powered off - annoying!! Have to immediately turn on music to drown out that noise even when trying to have a conversation - my friends and loved ones who have ridden with me since install were like what's that noise, as soon as I turn on the key.......I am like "really? It has to go!" Nothing Crutchfield tech support nor two audio shops could offer, can make this noise go away. It's simply not for a factory head unit.

Crutchfield response on

20 of 30 found this helpful

AudioControl LCQ-1

John from aurora, IL on 2/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The LCQ-1 made the transition from a stock stereo to a couple of amps painless. With the built in EQ, you can make the sound that much better. Just make sure to use a 5v - 12v converter to stop the popping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simply Put, No Good

Scott from Plainfield, IL on 1/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Eq has No Effect on sound, Remote unit has blue led that pulses with music (annoying as heck while driving) Called the company I purchased this from with concerns, tech told me my cars factory HU didn't have the power to accommodate the LCQ 1. What is the point of saying it is for use with :factory HU's"? Returning this...

Pros: Small, nice idea to "think" you'll have EQ ability, it does have the capability to hook factory HU to aftermarket amps, speakers, subs... But Without the ability to custom tune with EQ..

Cons: See above

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly What I Needed

Daniel from Texas on 8/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is exactly what was missing from my setup. I have a 2015 Ford Fusion with the 8 Inch MYTouch. With the climate control and various other features integrated into the stock headunit, there was simply NO option to replace it. I currently have an Alpine 4 channel amp powering infinity component door speakers in all 4 doors, and I couldn't turn it all the way up due to distortion in the high end (due to lack of EQ in the head unit). The LCQ1 fixed everything. Now that it's fine tuned, I can crank the volume all the way up with no distortion!!!

Pros: Easy to install Added full range equalization to my stock head unit which only had "Low, Mid, High" Preamp made my speakers even louder

Cons: NONE!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

great product

happy customer from maryland on 6/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound really improved. Does it job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

works exactly as advertised.

Nedthafed from winter springs, fl on 11/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I must say, as an audiophile who is typically skeptical of the hype, i was plesantly suprised after putting this together. This item works exactly as advertised. No hype, no over rating its capabilities. It is a tough job to do by yourself but i am an electrician by trade so it was a breeze for me. Time consuming but elementary wiring. I own a 2013 Malibu with the "My Link" touch screen so replacing the head unit was not an option. I wanted the equalizer capability so i went with the LCQ1 as opposed to the other options available. I am running 2 amps, a 2 channel Rockford 250.2 for the front 2 Alpine R series components and a kicker 600.1 amp pushing a 12" compR. The equalizer allows me to perfectly tune my music as the head unit only allows for bass, mid and high tone adjustments. As these newer cars come out with better head units this item will become more popular than ever. I highly recommend it if changing out your head unit is not an option.

Pros: Does exactly what it advertised...what else can you ask for?

Cons: Timely install. Requires a decent amount of time and experience.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

My New LCQ-1

BigTom from Vandalia, OH on 9/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just bought the new LCQ-1 and installed into my 2013 Kia Forte... I must say, it's done one heck of a job! Before the LCQ-1, I had a Scoche line converter installed, which ran RCA's out to my 4-channel amp (for door speakers) and Class-D mono-block amp for the 12" Woofer. It sounded muffled and "crackly", but now with the LCQ-1, all the crisp, highs and lows come out and my car thumps like crazy! The factory door speakers actually hold up pretty good about half-way on the volume, but start to break up with alot of power, so they will need to eventually be upgraded, however, the 12" (Sony X-Plode 1200W) subwoofer pounds all day long...The AccuBass setting on the LCQ-1 really drives the lows deep and gives the factory stereo a whole new sound. I still need to make a few changes here and there, such as upgrading the door speakers, but for now, I am glad I spent the money on a quality product. Thanks Audio Control! r/ Tom

Pros: Plenty of gain on all filters, easily connected, directions are simplified, If you have a factory stereo sharing ground on all speakers, this unit will sum the channels needed; Unit has a built in ground-loop isolator

Cons: Unit did not come w/ remote gain control (sold separately)

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

save your dash

MattS from Richmond,VA on 8/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In my current Mazda 3i I simply did not want to modify the dash, in comes the AudioControlLCQ-1. It sits in my glove box, where I can fine adjust it at will. It sums my speaker wires into 6 RCA lines that feed into 2 alpine amps one being a four channel and the other a mono. They rest under the front seats. I believe the ' Rux wired gain knob ' is well worth the money ! W/ it I can adjust my systems base extremely well. The Audio ControlLCQ-1 cost about a bit to have installed, so I can't make any comments on struggling w/ wires or instructions ! I am EXTREMELY happy with it, and I do not feel it sounds that much different than my older Kenwood Kac-889. If you are looking to keep your dash look/factory deck/steering wheel controls,etc.. W/o adding tons of add ons' look this up. Post script- if you do go cheaper, say w/ just a line converter? BEWARE you won't get an EQ!

Pros: Takes a four channel factory head unit( in my case ) and sums FR.,RR., and sub, RCA lines. Has a 6 way EQ, w/ optional wired bass gain knob, can be installed in most locations

Cons: taking the cover off can to be hard to get back on, POSSIBLY POSSIBLY you may need to replace your factory speaker wires, other than that none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

LCQ-1

Ryan from Peoria, AZ on 5/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product for factory integration and the equalization feature is even better, however I remain unhappy with it. My stereo can't be swapped, otherwise I would go with a new head unit in a heartbeat. If possible, go with a new head unit b/c this costs as much as one without nearly the amount of control. I installed the system I had in a different car and with this a part of the system, the speakers sound great but the sub doesn't. I know this because my sub hit maybe 3 times harder in my old car attached to a head unit. This may be due to the fact that my factory stereo doesn't have a subwoofer output but who know, either way, I'm not terribly happy with the results even with hours of fiddling with the controls.

Pros: Equalization, integration

Cons: Reconstruction of the sub channel from front/rear output from factory radio is sub-par

Crutchfield response on

4 of 13 found this helpful

Best option for integrated factory systems

Ben from Fairborn, OH on 4/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This LOC was perfect for my new vehicle. The factory stereo lacked any actual power to the speakers. I added new speakers and amps to the factory stereo. The EQ sound control was amazing. It allows you to tune it in to your liking. The factory Bass Mid Treble gave no real tuning capabilities. I was absolutely amazed at the sound this unit produced. The factory sound was lacking, but this brought the system to life. I usually get new aftermarket head units for my cars, but this is a much better option for newer vehicles with integrated controls and other amenities. The factory unit had built in Bluetooth, a USB port for mp3 media. This unit kept all of this working. And with XM built in the factory, there is no separate external antenna as with an aftermarket head unit. It was exactly what I needed. The Crutchfield support was great as well. They gave me the info on my car and the wires I needed to tie into.

Pros: Great sound shaping and control utilizing factory stereo.

Cons: None for my set up.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Works great...mostly.

Tony from S. Florida on 3/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The LCQ-1 installed fairly simply in my 2013 Tacoma PreRunner Double Cab (behind the rear passenger-side, seat, along with the compact powered sub). The unit's quality is very good, and hookup was a snap. The sound improvement with the factory head unit was very noticable, especially with the ACR-2, which allows instant a/b comparison (unit in-circuit/out of circuit). The only problem I had was the GTO circuit (auto turn on by sensing input signals) is apparently too sensitive - like many newer vehicles, there is a slight ripple on the speaker leads, whether the stereo is on or off. This is not audible, but it fools the GTO into keeping the LCQ-1 (and the powered sub 4-channel pwer amp, which are both activated by the LCQ-1's remote out) on whenever the truck's ignition is on. Further, when turning the truck off, ther was a loud transient "pop" in all speakers (including the sub) a few seconds after turning the truck off. I finally had to defeat the GTO via the internal jumper, and connect the remote line to the truck's switched 12 volt supply at the fusebox. All works fine now, but Had I known, I'd have skipped the GTO circuit in the first place, saving a few hours extra work running the remote line.

Pros: Excellent improvement in sound quality, while retaining the factory head unit's functionality and features (steering wheel controls, BlueTooth, and Hands-Free phone).

Cons: The GTO gave me fits; AudioSource's Tech support was great, but there's only so much that can be done with a modern vehicle, and all the digital funk flying around its electrical system.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Truly great!

Bob from Buford , ga on 3/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 12 Honda si coupe. Love it! It really opened up the mods and now my iPod sounds great through the factory head unit. Open box unit looked new, like it was opened and closed, crutchfield was great as usual, double boxes and 2 days. Not enough space to put all the pluses after the A.

Pros: Everything!

Cons: Wasn't free

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Nice idea but...

DaleyDriver from Palm Beach FL on 9/17/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device works very well - it provides a way to CLEANLY interface with a factory head unit. And the basic eq functions is a welcome addition to smoothing out the frequency response of the cabin. All in all, a great value for the money and a very strong performer. So what's the problem? It comes down to the manual and marketing materials. Both would have you believe that you can take a few as 2 channels of input and turn that into 6 channels of output (front, rear and sub) and you'd waste 2 hours on a rainy Sunday night trying in vain to troubleshoot your sub amp, woofers, interconnects... well you get the picture. In order to get sub out, you must use 4 channels of input, forget what the Summed feature would lead you to think. Once past that hurdle, sonic integration bliss awaits.

Pros: Works well, good price, flexible features that work.

Cons: Documentation is vague with regards to those of us with only 2 channels of input. Putting the cover back on after moving internal jumpers is an exercise in patience. Get it wrong and you will break an LED or a rotary tuning knob. Cannot sum front main channel input to provide front, mid and sub outs.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 13 found this helpful

Works Great!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Clovis,CA on 8/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this for my 08 Acura TL with Navigation works great. I still have all my factory functions of my head unit and steering wheel controls.

Pros: Does what it says

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Not worth the cost

Luke R. from Raleigh, NC on 5/1/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit appeared to be exactly what I needed to retain my stock head unit and add an aftermarket amplifier. However, the unit does not fully work as advertised. My head unit has no amplifier turn-on lead, meaning that when the ignition switch is on, the LCQ-1 and amp are always on. But wait, the LCQ-1 has the ability to turn itself on by sensing an incoming signal from its speaker inputs. Great idea. Too bad it doesn't work. I tried two of these units and neither would recognize the source signal and power up. The Audio Control technical support was great but none of their suggestions to get it working the way I wanted succeeded. I wound up installing a switch in my dash to turn the loc off when I am not listening to my stereo. My other gripe about this unit is that it is noisy. I thought my amp was generating transistor hiss during idle. Turns out it is the LCQ-1. With the car off, the head unit off, and just the loc and amp turned on, there is considerable idle hiss present. Disconnecting the low level cables from the LCQ-1 proved this, as the hiss totally disappeared. I'll work on this issue to see if I can eliminate it.

Pros: the equalizer and bass threshold control

Cons: auto signal sensing turn-on ability does not work the cover plate is very difficult to reinstall if you change any of the jumpers on the circuit board (poor design) most of the circuit board jumpers are not labeled according to the documentation's labels (they just have J16 or J10 instead of what they are for)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Not for 2012 Tacoma

Todd from New York on 4/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After purchase of my new 2012 Double Cab Tacoma, I wanted better sound quality. The factory head unit has all the features I want; Bluetooth phone and audio, Sat radio, USB and aux inputs all with steering wheel controls, but the factory speakers were lacking a LOT. This unit was necessary to keep the factory head unit and add a 4 ch. amp, all new speakers and a powered sub. Plus, I was excited to get teh EQ to fine tune the stereo with. Well, apparently this unit doesn't like the signal from the 2012 Toyota radio. I was on the phone with Crutchfield tech support three times on a Sunday afternoon. (Amazing that a company even HAS tech support on a Sunday!) We tested my speaker wires, my power and ground connections and all my RCA outs. Everything into the unit was fine and everything out of the unit was fine. Tech support determines that this unit must be defective, so they immediately ship me a new one. Second unit, same as the first. Frustrated, I call Audio Controls directly. We recheck everything and they even had their engineers try to figure it out. No one can figure out why this doesn't work. So, I get back with Crutchfield and they are very apologetic and we agree to try the JL Cleensweep unit. This is on it's way to me now (fingers crossed that the Toyota head works with it) and I am even getting a discount. Crutchfield is amazing to deal with.

Pros:

Cons: Doesn't seem to work with the Toyota Tacoma 2012 factory radio.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 11 found this helpful

Just what I needed!

Fanch from TX on 3/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my 2011 F-150 with the stock factory radio (non-Sony, non-Nav) along with speaker upgrades, amps and subs. I wanted to keep the factory look but fix the horrible factory sound. I was skeptical at first, but now I can honestly say the LCQ-1 is amazing! It works as advertised. The equalizer allowed me to fill the frequency gaps in the factory radio an correct for the bass roll-off at higher volumes. The features if this unit really let you customize the sound the way you want it. It took some trial and error to dial in the EQ but now it sounds perfect. If great sound quality is your goal, you need this unit just as much as the amps and speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

AudioControl LCQ-1

BobK from Kentucky on 2/8/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to integrate with the factory system in my Lexus because the factory sound system was severely lacking. It is a great one piece integration device with several features that are necessary to achieve the quality that an aftermarket system can deliver. My factory system has the HVAC controls, navigation, radio and Bluetooth all built into the one unit so replacing it with an aftermarket head unit is out of the question. I took the factory signal after the amp in the trunk into the LCQ-1 for the front left and right speakers and sub and ran RCA's to my aftermarket amplifiers. I left the factory amplifier hooked up to the center channel and rear speakers because amplifying those was not necessary to achieve a realistic soundstage in my car. The LCQ-1 is 100% noise free and delivers a strong and clean signal to my aftermarket amplifiers. The sound quality is excellent and It is as nice as a top notch aftermarket head unit. The equalizer has enough bands and they are at the right frequencies to address problem areas found in most cars. The EQ is what makes a good system sound great. During this process I also upgraded the factory front speakers to Focal 165 V30 and put some decent power to the factory 10" sub. I plan on installing an aftermarket sub in the near future as well. I used an RTA and my ears to dial things in and achieved a very wide and dynamic sound with properly placed instruments and vocals. It even has an optional sub level control.

Pros: High quality processor with typical solid AudioControl electronics and build quality. Compact, easy to use and is a great one piece solution for OEM integration with just enough bells and whistles to satisfy an audiophile.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP