Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Niles MSU140

Infrared repeater system hub

MFR # FG01002

Niles MSU140

Niles MSU140

Infrared repeater system hub

MFR # FG01002

10 reviews
View this product

Niles MSU140

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 4/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I built a home theater and media closet for a clean look. This niles IR hub is very high quality and works perfectly.

Pros: well made

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

More good stuff

Crutchfield customer from Lubbock, TX on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Easy setup

Pros: Easy instructions

Cons: Both mounting holes didn't line up with the electrical box that our cat6 cable was ran to.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best remote IR system

Tom from Warminster, PA on 11/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best remote IR system out there. Easy to hook up. Instructions very well explained. Cost more then some other brands but this system very reliable and looks good.

Pros: Very reliable and ease of hookup.

Cons: Cost is higher then other brands.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles MSU140

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, AL on 2/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for what I need! Excellent customer service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Niles MSU140

Chris from Indianapolis, IN on 10/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly! Very easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

NBiles MSU140

PatP from New Braunfels, TX on 10/14/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item arrived as promised and looks great! We are building a new house and will install it very soon. We can't wait to use it. This was recommended by Crutchfield and they have never let me down before, so I anticipate it will provide excellant quality.

Pros: Looks great and will know after I get it installed shortly.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Note on Multiple Verizon Fios Boxes

Ray from Philadelphia, PA on 2/3/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is 5 stars, works as designed. Just wanted to make a quick note on Verizon boxes. This purchase was made in addition another Nile hub. While there may be another solution, take note that Verizon remotes seem to all operate on the same infrared 'channel'. Because my boxes are all set up in the same closet, my solution was: order multiple Niles repeater hubs. In my first attempt, I ran multiple IR Transmitters into one of the larger multi-input Niles Hubs. Then I ran all of the IR flashers to the Set Top Boxes. Because the Verizon remotes all operate the same, each time I changed a channel in one room, it would also change the channel on other rooms. Now, I did not research too hard to find a Verizon equipment solution, but I did end up breaking the signals up using multiple Niles Hubs. In future design specs for the Niles Hubs with multiple inputs, they should add a switching mechanism under each IR flasher output. Maybe in the form of dip switches. This would serve to assign an input to a specified output, or series of outputs. FYI, the Verizon boxes that I am using are the newer Cisco boxes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Problems with Samsung and the 110 receiver

John A from LI, NY on 9/27/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a similar experience as the other reviewer where when I turn on my Samsung I have to wait 2-3 minutes for the system to settle down before I can turn on other devices as the receiver seems to get confused. I called Niles and their response was to buy the new receiver, which I had an issue with as I felt they should honor a free or pro-rated replacement with their older model that they CLAIMED was LCD and Plasma compatible but actually isn't Not good customer service and I will not use them unless I have no other choice going forward. Crutchfield was very responsive although I did not pursue the situation and am just living with it in the meantime, hoping to just move it elsewhere in the room to see if it works better. Crutchfield Excellent, Niles pitiful response.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Could Be Great

HD Cameraman from Los Angeles on 5/27/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit and put the brains box in my closet behind the wall mounted TV. The only problem is that the IR receiver does not work with my Sony monitor because of the way that Sony emits IR interference. This leaves you mashing your remote control buttons for an extended period and waving it around trying to get it to do simple functions. I called Niles technical support to get the answer that my Sony TV was the cause of the problem. Niles is scheduled to come out with a new IR receiver in June of 09 and I will get to pay approximately $120 for a Sony capable receiver. Not Cool. If Niles produced this product knowing that it didn't work with a major manufacturers line of TV's they should have let buyers know before they purchase the unit. Not offer a $120.00 fix post sale.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Works fine

Steve from Anaheim, CA on 11/25/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this product with a TS100 sensor. I'm not very impressed with the sensor. I'm going to try the TS200 to see if it is better. The hub was was easy to install if you are not color blind. Just strip 4 wires and stick them into the crimp holes. A lever holds the wires in place. Except for my issue with the sensor this does what you'd expect. The wires run between the hub, sensor, and repeaters are thin and can be easily hidden. My only other issue with this setup is the cost, but I could not find any other options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

56 of 69 found this helpful

TOP