Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Niles RCA-SM2

Infrared repeater system

MFR # FG01585

Niles RCA-SM2

Niles RCA-SM2

Infrared repeater system

MFR # FG01585

15 reviews
View this product

Niles RCA-SM2

Crutchfield customer from Kennett Square, PA on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works one minute and then stop working the next. Very frustrating.....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/9/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your repeater. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality and Reliability

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 9/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I rarely ever review products. I am writing this one for Niles, I have bought 4 units so far and they were spaced over several years. I installed them for friends of mine and not one has complained about it. I replaced units installed by professional AV installers and found in most instances the build quality of other similar products is lacking. From how the main infrared sensor connects to the controller unit to the sticky padding for the sensors themselves Niles seems to care about the details. Quality of the product and reliability matter. Given that in over 6-7 years of having deployed these units and not getting any issues reported leads me to recommend this over others. Maybe pricy but if quality and reliability matter then go for it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles RCA-SM2

Crutchfield customer from Aulander, NC on 8/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

++

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles RCA-SM2

Crutchfield customer from Mchenry, IL on 6/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like a charm! All the components are in a closet and the only thing on the wall is the TV. Everything works perfectly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles RCA-SM2

Crutchfield customer from NC on 5/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to setup. Works great. Highly recommended. Special thanks to Crutchfield associate for helping me out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mr.

David T from Kentucky on 12/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is easy to install, easy to use and has no problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Great

Crutchfield customer from New York on 10/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for the man cave when my original plan of bouncing the remote signals off of the tv screen didn't work. In hindsight, that was probably a bad plan. Easy to install, very straight forward. Would recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works for me!

TLeager from Raleigh, North Carolina on 3/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well for my application. Relatively easy to set up, although the installation instructions are lacking with regards to extending the sensor past the 10' length wire already integrated. You have to use the 50' coax cable to extend it, but the instructions have no mention of it. All good though! Learned how to solder stranded wire as a result!

Pros: Product seems very reliable and well built. The base unit is heavy, which is a good thing to me.

Cons: Instructions seemingly hard to follow.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Janne from Denver on 1/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, works excellent with harmony remote, a bit pricy but worth the buck compared to my old IR repeater

Pros: Quality, good manual and work excellent with all devices

Cons: A bit pricy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles RCA-SM2

scott from acworth , ga on 3/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked just like advertised, with my harmony remote.

Pros: easy set up

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Quality

Michael from Ada,OK on 2/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This repeater is worth the price tag. That was my fear and my reservation. Installation was easy. I used the supplied 50' cat5 cable to extend the signal back to my audio cabinet which is in the back of my theater room. The eye picks up the signals effortlessly and transmit the signal in a powerful way. I really wish I would have bought this years ago. It is leagues better than the radioshack RF repeater I have been using.

Pros: Exceptional quality, easy installation.

Cons: A little pricey, but may just be worth it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

Archer from Newbury Park, Ca on 2/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To start I have this ir repeater controling my Onkyo 709, Samsung Blue Ray, and Verizon HD DVR and have a Harmon 1100 remote and a Samsung P 59 D8000 plasma. I tried to control everything with my Harmon remote through the Logitech RF Extender, but for what ever reason could not get it to work very well. I was very frustrated, but the silver lining was that the Crutchfield customer support was amazing! Absolutely the best I have ever seen and is the benchmark for other companies to follow. They sent me a new remote and RF Extender (even though I was sure it was just the extender with problems)to trouble shoot the control problems. After this didn't work. I went with the Niles RCA SM2. They sent it to me in two days, it was easy to set up, and bottom line, it works perfectly! The components are high quality and the the overview/details of the performance by Crutchfield are exactly correct. It works seemlessly with my Harmony remote....or any other of my remotes for that matter. It has allowed me to save face with my wife after a month of trouble shooting with the RF Extender with no luck. For that reason alone it was worth every penny!!!!

Pros: Works as advertised. High quality

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

EXCELLENT option for IR Repeater- Don't look elsewhere!

GK1Impulse from Long Island, NY on 9/29/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't say enough about this product. Harmony One Remote, Samsung plasma, Onkyo 608 receiver, Samsung Blu-Ray and Directv HD box are in play here. I had tried out the "cheaper" Sanus option before- no luck- I've heard that the Plasma can throw things out of whack on lower end repeater components. Went to Niles as a result and am so happy that I did. From the time when it was removed from the box to install, less than 30 minutes. Flashers are EXTREMELY responsive and the receive has great range. You will not regret picking up this unit. The one thing to note- Crutchfield says that it controls 3 units- not true. You only get 3 flashers in the bundle but it has the ability to control 4 units via 4 flasher inputs. Also, you can add "double" flashers to each input which means that if you ever wanted to, you could control 8 units. IR Receiver is very small, about the size of your thumb and easy to conceal. You will never regret purchasing this unit - a quality product! Go for it! [Editor's Note: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have updated our database, and added additional flashers under our "Accessories" tab.]

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles MSU140

JeffK from Sacramento, CA on 5/28/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to remotely control both my TV set top box and my DVD player so that I could watch them on the TV on my deck outside. I attempted to use a RF remote control at first but the IR signals did not work with my newer equipment. I bought the Niles remote extender and it works perfectly! Very easy to install and the 50' of Cat 5 cable was just the right length for my installation. It has been working flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Ammon B

AmmonB from Wake Forest , NC on 8/27/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Niles IR Receiver works great. I prewired my house with CAT5 at ea tv location so setting it up was easy. Only wish they'd package with connectors to splice the small wires together. Other that that very satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

TOP