Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
386 833 372 3
Connect ID #
386 833 372 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

12-channel multi-room power amplifier

MFR # FG01704

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

12-channel multi-room power amplifier

MFR # FG01704

20 reviews
View this product

As described

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as advertised. Using for 5 room distributed audio with a matrix switch between sources and amp with input not in bus but using individual pairs. Bridged 9 - 10 and 11 - 12 for outdoor zone. Plenty of power for everything. Outdoors almost overpowered. Using audio sensing to turn amp on and off. No issues that others seem to have with this. Crutchfield helpful and on the spot as always.

Pros: Clean amp, easy and flexible setup

Cons: It's heavy to put up in a rack by yourself.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

Crutchfield customer from Highland Park, IL on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with the sound and the ability to drive 6 separate zones. Set up was easy. The help I got from Crutchfield's team was outstanding.

Pros: 6 zones. power

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Another rocksolid Niles product

Crutchfield customer from North Haledon, NJ on 4/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had Niles speakers and volume controls installed for quite a while but rigged with an old amplifier and a distribution block to accomplish my speaker distribution. Eventually the old amp died so I upgraded to the Niles SI-1230. The research I did on products always led me back to Crutchfield. The pricing and online reviews was the selling point. The Amp was easy to set up using the available rack mount I had it racked and hooked up in roughy an hour. Using the "free" banana plugs that came with my order took the longest. Making sure to cleanly strip and secure each plug with the correct size flathead screwdriver was the key. It's always easier with the right tools. The sound of the SI-1230 is much nicer than the old Sony I had driving the 3 zones (6 speakers) . I plan to use the remaining 3 channels summed mono to drive a pair of outdoor speakers and a sub at 80w each. Having the ability to individually adjust each Amp channel makes the SI-1230 extremely flexible and work in a variety of applications. The right price, easy and fast delivery, easy set up, solid Niles product. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

Pros: Right out of the box easy to setup and install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

Crutchfield customer from Goodyear, AZ on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great choice for 6 channels

Crutchfield customer from Saint Joseph, MI on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent output, clear sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What a Deal

Crutchfield customer from Bixby, OK on 2/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product Great price Fast delivery Crutchfield is my kind of place.

Pros: Price Speed Extras sent with purchase

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

Crutchfield customer from Sedona, AZ on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great in our new home! Our low volt guy recommended this, and set it up with Sonos. Such great sounds... I'm hearing songs I've listened to for years, but hearing more layers of music. I think it's the Niles...or maybe the Klipsch in ceiling speakers? Either way, a great way to listen to music throughout our house

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

Crutchfield customer from Tarpon Springs, FL on 12/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I a really liked the ability to use blue tooth to connect to this amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 12/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not good with technology, but it worked as soon (well, that took some doing with the banana connectors) as I plugged everything in. My last one only lasted 7 years, so I'm hoping this one is better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 12/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. This is a replacement for a 5 year old SI-1230 Series 2 (1 of two) that run the whole house. The old one only had a few hundred hours on it before it stopped working. Niles no longer repairs their own equipment. Estimates for repairs were between $250.-$350 plus shipping (unit weighs 35 lbs). Crutchfield price was the best price that I found on the net and delivery was just a few days. I am very happy with everything that I have purchased from , as far as Niles, we will have to wait and see.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't expect it to plug and play

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 12/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not very user friendly to install, actually had to hire someone to come install and had to purchase another component to make it work.

Pros: Works well

Cons: Not easy to install and need other pieces to make it work to its fullest.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great home ambient music amp.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A heavy beast of an amp. I had a choice of about 4 different 12 channel amps: Niles, Dayton, OSD, and a Internet brand that I don't remember. The Dayton and OSD had good specs and lower price, but both were spring clip terminals. Niles was the only one that had a known history of quality. Setup was easy. Sound is great. (I used it to power my main HiFi speakers --- Zu Omen DW --- to test the sound. Sounds great. Doesn't quite have the resolution as my Outlaw Audio receiver, but very close. Only warnings: 1 - it's heavy and the weight is on one side, 2 - read the manual before plugging stuff in, the dip-switch that controls the input is a bit confusing until you get it.

Pros: High Build Quality! 5-way binding posts instead of clips Built like a freaking tank.

Cons: Bro, do you even lift? It's long and wide. (may be a tight fit)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

Crutchfield customer from Key Largo, FL on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a very easy installation. The unit has been performing perfectly.

Pros: easy to install.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beware of Niles

Dirk from New Canaan on 9/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this amp new five years ago. Stopped working. Niles offered to fix it for $700. Local shop wanted $400. I would spend the money but the Niles MRC-6430 receiver that I bought at the same time failed one month later. Both we plugged into rack mounted power strip. I would never recommend Niles products or the company to anyone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

Guest from Princeton, NJ on 7/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looking for a photo of the rear of my Niles amp I came across the reviews and had to put in my two cents having seen a few negative and a few positive. I've had my 12 channel Niles (it may have been model 1210 not 1230 back then) hooked up to a decent system 2nd zone for about 13 years. Though I've heard over the years that Niles amps aren't very "musical" whatever that means, this amp has performed so admirably I bought a 2 channel Niles amp daisy chained to the 12 channel when I added another pair of speakers to another room. The amp has never clipped never died (touch wood) and I've pushed it pretty hard at times. It powers 2 pairs of outdoor Rockustics Pavoraccis, a pair of outdoor Def Techs, and and three pairs of Polk LSi in ceilings. If you need this many channels, for the solid performance and price I'm not sure you can do better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Disappointing

Bob from Mancos, CO on 2/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this power amp to use for its intended purpose - to drive 6 sets of speakers in multiple home locations. This amp has an auto on feature that uses either input audio level or a 12 vdc voltage to power on. Unfortunately, low volume music passages cause the amp to cut out, which is really annoying. For the money, this should be a much better product. I'm looking for a replacement product, and would not cosider the Niles brand again.

Pros: Drives 6 sets of speakers

Cons: Auto on feature seems to cause audio to cut out at low music volume levels

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

Crutchfield customer from Kinross, IA on 11/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a nice amplifier until it died a few months after the 2 year warranty ran out. Crutchfield was helpful, but couldn't solve the problem. They sent me to Niles Tech support, who also couldn't diagnose the issue. Now trying to decide of I should send it to Niles and have them work on it. They have a bizarre flat rate fix it model in which you pay them and you are guaranteed they fix your product or send you a working one. Seems to me that it is way overpriced for people who's problem might be a couple dollar part, even with labor.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Niles 1230

the Greek guy from Atlanta on 12/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent looking component with lots of flexibility. Unfortunately mine need to be exchanged. Crutchfield said they would take care of me on a exchange

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 9 found this helpful

Niles SI-1230 Series 2

Crutchfield customer from Idaho on 10/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this product.

Pros: It does what I wanted it to.

Cons: Deciphering the user manual was a challenge, but Crutchfield helped with that. I wish the price were lower, and it's unfortunate that it doesn't have easier volume controls for the speakers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exceptional Amplifier

Iceman from Prescott, AZ on 9/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Multi-Channel amplifier is extremely easy to connect up and operate. I elected the simpler single system set up, but multi-areas are possible with different audio over each. The unit is well constructed and heavy duty. The Crutchfield technical team found this unit for me based upon the speaker set-up situation in my new home and they did a fantastic service for me.

Pros: Well constructed unit, built to last a long time.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP