Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
569 735 094 3
Connect ID #
569 735 094 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Niles SI-250

Stereo single-source power amplifier

MFR # FG01701

Niles SI-250

Niles SI-250

Stereo single-source power amplifier

MFR # FG01701

28 reviews
View this product

Nice Amp

Crutchfield customer from Holly Springs, NC on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, but my only issue with this amp is that I would have preferred that the volume control to be on the front and not on the back. Making adjustments is difficult when the unit is at the main location and you are trying to adjust the volume for the area or zone you are listening in. Great sound from the amp and it is being used as a zone amp for my outside speakers. Would rate as a 5 if it was not for the volume control being in the back on not on the front of the unit.

Pros: Great sound Size is perfect for setting in a location

Cons: Volume control located on the rear of the unit Runs a little hot

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very much enjoying the Niles SI-250 amp. Bridged to drive an older Triad sub, the price to performance ratio is outstanding. Clarity is great and music sense auto-on works beautifully.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great sound

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Never heard of the brand , but did some research and found out that the pro-installers used it and had good reviews for it . It has really great sound especially for being the lowest output model , couldn't be happier with it .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Crutchfield customer from Mountain View, CA on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amplifier sound wise, very quiet. I am using it for my surround back speakers, but there could thing that could make it better. I had a ground loop problem and I had to use a power plug with a separate ground connection. The audio channel are not ground isolated. Also the auto-on feature is not adjustable, it is fixed to 30s or 1minutes, so if you are using it on a quiet channel it will keep turning on and then off.

Pros: good sound, very quiet.

Cons: the auto-on-off is not time adjustable

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Crutchfield customer from Neenah, WI on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a few Niles products and all of them, including this one, have plenty of power with crystal clear sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Crutchfield customer from Marshfield, WI on 9/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp provides plenty of power, with amazing clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Crutchfield customer from Jersey City, NJ on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelente,tiene niveles independientes si lo quieres usar como preamplificador de un Denon AVR-X6700H lo recomiendo al 100%.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Crutchfield customer from Englishtown, NJ on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second niles amp...Bought this to power a Polk outdoor sub,both sound phenomenal!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great amplifier! perfect for my needs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Amp

Crutchfield customer from Harker Hts, TX on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp works great . It's just what I needed to upgrade to Dolby Atmos. It does everything the rep said it would. I'm very happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Power Amp and Workhouse For My Computer Workstation Needs!

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Normally, I'd wait a few months before I do a review in order to sit with something to see how it performs and look for any idiosyncrasies, but figured I'd do a review now. I've had the Niles SI-250 power amp for 2 weeks now and it's an awesome performer. I'm NOT using it in my audio / video set up, but in a computer configuration. I just bought a new Creative Sound Blaster ZxR Sound Card (internal) with a claimed 124 s/n ratio and installed it in my workstation computer. I have a pair of 3 meter RCA Monster Cables running from the sound card to the Niles SI-250 and then a pair of 12-gauge Monster Cable speaker wire running from the Niles SI-250 to a pair of CANTON Chrono 4-ohm speakers. The sound is ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL! The Niles SI-250 runs smoothly and gets very mildly warm to the touch and does NOT run warm or hot at all. At first I was using the "music-sensing" mode, but I quickly felt it wasn't working for me because it takes 5 to 7 seconds for the power amp to start delivering power again, so I changed the setting to "always on" mode. This power amp really delivers for my computer set-up without cranking it up, so I am thoroughly satisfied. I really LOVE the convenience of the amp's banana plug compatibility for easy set-up. The LED status light is great. The only weakness is the somewhat cheap plastic power button which could have been made MORE ROBUST; however, this is minor. I do like the illumination behind the power button. Overall HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Pros: Excellent Power Amp Workhorse That Delivers Power. Runs Smoothly and Gets Mildly Warm; Never Gets HOT To The Touch. Banana Plug Compatibility. LED Status Light. The Power Cord Can Disconnect From The Power Amp.

Cons: The Power Button Is A Little Cheaply Made, But Adequate. (The Next Generation Iteration Could Use a More Robust Button).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful for driving our outdoor patio speakers

Tim from Commerce City, CO on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressed with this little amplifier! I'm driving this amp with the Zone 2 preamp output of our Marantz surround receiver for our back yard speakers. Plenty of good, clean power and simply sounds great! I was leery about buying a class D amp for this purpose, but Niles has done a remarkable job with this gem. I'm using the remote trigger turn-on which works flawlessly. A great buy! And thanks, Crutchfield, for including the OnQ banana plugs. They've make the installation significantly easier.

Pros: Small profile, nice price, great sound, noiseless, plenty of power, runs cool, auto turn-on options, individual gain controls, complimentary to our other components.

Cons: Not a one!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds amazing to power outside speakers

Crutchfield customer from Gurnee, IL on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing, great detail on outside speakers. Highly recommend.

Pros: Ease of setup

Cons: None for the right use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nilesm

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for my auxiliary speakers. It is used for the outside and garage. It works well, good value.

Pros: Well built and sounds great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Crutchfield customer from Durango, CO on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice sounding unit.

Pros: Well built. Great sound. Runs cool.

Cons: Start up delay somewhat annoying.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Does the job

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 4/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using it in bridged mono mode to power a Def Tech C-1 center channel speaker. It does the job with 220 watts, replacing an ancient (c. 1993) and failing Hafler 9130 amp that provided 150 watts. I wish the gain controls were on the front, but it's not like I need frequent access to the knobs once they are set. The THD spec is way higher than with the Hafler, but apparently it's not a real-world problem when powering a center channel for movies with more limited frequencies than for full-range music channels.

Pros: Price per watt, bridgeable, sufficient power for center channel

Cons: Gain controls on rear instead of front.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Crutchfield customer from Traverse City, MI on 3/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this amplifier for close listening to the music that I am recording.It performs so well with my monitors that I'm rethinking the way to evolve this set up.

Pros: Great performance at almost any price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Crutchfield customer from Smyrna, TN on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This out performs the russounds by far. I like being able to link them together with the 12 volt trigger. They will cost you abou 100$ more but are well worth the money.

Pros: Set each channel individual. Uses banana clips for speaker inputs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

So Far So Good

Crutchfield customer from Brighton, MI on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No complaints about this amp so far. It powers a second set of speakers with ease. I like the output controls on the back, which let me get balanced sound in my listening area. It takes a bit of adjusting but nothing overwhelming. I use the auto-detect option to power the unit on. It is a bit slower to fire up than my other amp (Parasound) but the gap is maybe five seconds at most, nothing to get upset about.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

BUENA PARK

Steve from BUENA PARK on 9/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it i think you should buy ten of these amp.

Pros: Small platform lite as a paper like you're getting nothing in this tin can box, lts all ic chips. Its only ten pounds

Cons: Its all ic chips

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Crutchfield customer from Crescent City, CA on 7/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Few weeks back I put an order on a single unit amp Niles SI-250 .I've got this amp with a little footprint due to my tv console not fitting any other electronics with a depth more than 15 inch.The unit came double boxed from Crutchfield in perfect condition delivered by UPS. I'm a very picky guy examining the outside up and down left and right and find no esthetic manufacturing damage .The amp is design in engineered and designed in Petaluma Ca and made in China. A month before i received a 5 channel amp by Emotiva with a ding on the right side panel and I returned that back. This time the manufacturer in China is a good one ,solid construction , perfect inspected on the final assembly stage . In the same par with my Oppo blue ray player as quality . 2 channel by 50 watts runs very cool and I could bridge it to 225 in 4 ohm and 200 in 8 ohm speaker load .Impressive and stunning at this size .I'm using my Oppo 103 D as a pre amp and the sound is smooth thru my NHT Super One .I was so impress that I got 2 more for my home theater. For more power you could get Niles with 2 of 100w or 2 of 150w, Crutchfield has them. The Niles SI 250 as power consumption are rated at 200 watt per hour max. My rating is a total 5 stars for this little Niles amps very well and I do recommend them and they fit anywhere .

Pros: Small footprint ,bridgeable ,solid made,adjustable gain input for both channel in the back detachable power cord.

Cons: NONE.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Just as advertised

HKM from Flanders, NJ on 9/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product performed every bit as advertised. It really changed the sound of my in-wall and ceiling home music system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great Amp

Neal R from atlanta, GA on 1/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Amp! I'm using it to power my Klipsch reference bookshelf speakers and the difference is huge. The sound is significantly cleaner than my previous setup. Very easy to setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

great with Sonos Connect

rk from brooklyn on 10/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using this with a Sonos Connect to power a set of in-wall speakers. Sounds amazing (much better than my more expensive receiver that recently quit working). No heat. Turns on automatically. Very happy with this purchase

Pros: Low cost solution. Simple set up. Ample power. Sounds great

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Niles SI-250 from South Carolina on 5/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific piece of stereo equipment. I am very satisfied with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Tom from Kenosha, WI on 7/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Niles SI-250 is an excellent choice. Very easy hook-up, great power, with VERY small profile its is bridgeable if needed. It run very quite and stays cool during operations. I am using it to boost power for my zone 3 outside, and another one in my basement for a zone 2 in my shop.

Pros: Easy hook up, runs cool, and quite no buzzing

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Niles SI-250

Brady from Denver, CO on 6/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1ST class, if you are audiophile. runs cool, sharp, crisp, good base. used with 20yr old large Infinity bookshelve speakers to add to NHT towers with Peachtree Inova, integrated. I think it best to power all equipment down with the surge protector. The twist on, reusable, mini banana plugs, Crutchfield sells, are a plus. Speaker wires can pull out of plug. If power can be switched on, disaster, is possible

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Niles amp bridged for center channel speaker

jk47 from Morgantown, WV on 7/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this amp because it was bridgeable and gave 225 watts for my center channel speaker. I recently bought an emotiva upa200 for my L and R channels and wanted something for my center. This amp looks nice and runs cool. Right away I noticed my center channel had opened up. In watching movies, voices sounded very accurate and possibly and bit heavy on bass. It wasn't sloppy bass so I kind of liked it. Once I ran my auto config for reverb on my Pioneer vsx-52, which I use as a preamp, the extra bass went away and voices sounded impressingly accurate. Dynamics were amazing and rivaled, if not surpassed to upa200 (even though it's not really fair to compare, it's more of a complement to both). The mids were present and the noise floor was impressive. The amp never sounded stressed and highs were always silky and controlled, not harsh or bright at all but pretty near perfect in my opinion (and I'm picky). For music, the same was true, the soundstage was deep, interesting, dynamic and tonally accurate. I have this driving a Paradigm Center 1 Monitor series and am very satisfied for the price.

Pros: -Ample power -Audiophile worthy sound -tonally accurate and interesting (dynamic) sound -good price -sturdy build quality (always runs cool)

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

19 of 20 found this helpful

TOP