Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Niles SS-4

4-pair speaker selector

MFR # FG01039

Niles SS-4

Niles SS-4

4-pair speaker selector

MFR # FG01039

50 reviews
View this product

Just what I needed...

Steve from Bonita Springs, FL on 2/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a condo with ceiling speakers in multiple rooms with each room having its own wall-mounted volume control. I knew I didn't want a super expensive four zone AVR, but I didn't understand how to connect three rooms of speakers into the second zone of my existing AVR. After some research on Crutchfield and elsewhere, I learned that I needed a speaker selector (assuming I was satisfied with having all the speakers on Zone 2 playing the same source material). That worked fine for me, and I liked the idea of being able to turn a room on/off from a central location. The Niles SS-4 was exactly what I needed. I like its construction. The removable connectors at the back made installation a little easier, and I had no trouble getting the speaker wires connected securely. My only complaint (and it is a minor one) is that the user has to enable/disable the "protection" circuit manually depending on the number of speakers being used and their stated impedance. I would like it a lot better if "protection" kicked in automatically, but it's a not a big deal. Other than that, I think the SS-4 is a fine piece of hardware that does exactly what it was built to do -- nothing more and nothing less.

Pros: solid construction ease of installation easy to use

Cons: Protection circuit has to be enabled manually, as needed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well built, pleased with the product Note: all niles products have very small holes for speaker wire connections, so if you use a large gauge wire it won't take banana plugs, and you need to skinny down the wire. This is the only reason I didn't give it a 5 star.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality piece of equipment that provides a good slution.

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a Niles SS4 unit that allowed me to split my SONOS speakers and provide control of where I wanted to hear my music. This unit is well made, very portable and has easy connections that are secure. It took 45 minutes to complete the conenctions and my speakers can now be heard in different rooms at the same time or in any combination that I desire. This is a really good product offered by Crutchfield that provides a solution and allows easy distibution of sound...

Pros: Easy to install, simple sleek look and well made ...

Cons: None to mention ..

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Crutchfield customer from Flower Mound, TX on 8/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what it should. Small inputs.

Crutchfield customer from Willseyville, NY on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does just what it should. The inputs for the speaker wire are a bit small and hard to use. Once connected, it is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Crutchfield customer from Rock Hill, SC on 5/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The SS-4 is doing exactly what I need with my 3 pairs of outdoor speakers. It was quick and easy to setup.

Pros: Great price point and compact size

Cons: None as of today

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small but powerful

Crutchfield customer from North Canton, OH on 3/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performs as advertised. Ingenious wire connection system. I run 4 sets of speakers simultaneously, a mix of Yamaha and Bose. Works very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality product. Switches have a good feel with no extra noise.

Pros: No noise, good quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Crutchfield customer from Amarillo, TX on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly like advertised! Quick, and simple to install. Works great!

Pros: Simple to install, works perfect for multiple rooms!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Crutchfield customer from Manteca, CA on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as promised, was easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Don from Lexington, SC on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had no problem hooking up the speaker wires to the unit. Works great for what I need. Easy to follow instructions.

Pros: Works as advertised.

Cons: None that I can see.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

There is a learning curve

Paul from Lutz, FL on 1/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good product but at a high price. You have to hope you are getting something better than the lower price competition. The connections on the back are very clever once you figure them out. They allow you to put the fittings on the speaker wire first, then plug the fittings into the switch. The rocker switch that releases the fitting is very tiny and takes alot of force to open. At first I was afraid to exert so much force for fear of breaking it. A simple instruction sheet with this information would solve the problem. Print the instruction sheet in BRIGHT ORANGE and say "Read This First".

Pros: Looks and feels like high quality

Cons: High Price. Complicated connectors

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Jack from Dunn, NC on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well but the wire clips could be improved

Pros: Works good

Cons: Speaker wire clips should accommodate #12 wire

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great value.

Walter from San Juan, PR on 8/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great finish, easy installation. Had one for 12 years without problems.

Pros: Excellent finish. Easy to install. Compact. Solid onstruction.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good way to setup sound to 4 sets of speakers

Anjum from Arlington, VA on 7/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performs well. Solid construction.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

joseph from LOUISIANA on 6/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doing what I wanted ,better than my old one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Crutchfield customer from Winston Salem, NC on 3/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All good as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Crutchfield customer from Winter park, fl on 3/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Solid product.

Douglas from Cabot, AR on 2/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality product at a fair price. I plan to utilize this to expand sound throughout the main floor of our home.

Pros: Simple; easy to hook up.

Cons: None for my current use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent piece

Craig from Chicago, IL on 1/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Monster 4 way speaker selector that went bad and which led me to purchase this Niles selector. I don't care for the flip up, speaker wire connection slots. They seem flimsy, as if they could be easily broken. I preferred the rotating connections like the ones on most receivers and speakers. Other wise it's doing it's job. Where most receivers today are designed to connect anywhere from 5.1 to 11.2 sets of speakers with more than enough power to handle each channel, I still needed a speaker selector to supply equal power to (2) centers channel speakers. No problems yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Crutchfield customer from Rockport, TX on 1/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great equipment. No sound distortion and easy to install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound with 3 sets of speakers

Dan from Farmington, CT on 12/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once you figure out the speaker connector tab snaps all the way up into a locking position, connecting the speaker wire is a breeze. You can use a small flat head screwdriver to lift the locking tab. Box is solid and push buttons pop in & out. Sound does not appear to change with protection on.

Pros: Crutchfield!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

God switch box

brian M from Connecticut on 1/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although Niles is a little more expensive than some others like Pyle and Monoprice, this switch is solid, in a sturdy box, and never fails. I've used a lot of these for my client installs, lately to drive multiple rooms using a single Sonos amp.

Pros: Compact, sturdy package, reliable.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sound splitting

Rich from Bellaire, Texas on 11/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent piece of equipment to slit sounds to different speakers. Easy to use and far better than the Realistic splitter I replaced. I would highly recommend it

Pros: Easy to set up. Directions very clear

Cons: The tabs are a little hard to pull up to insert wires

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Crutchfield customer from New Jersey on 7/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

FAIR PRICE , GOOD PRODUCT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Niles SS - 4

Robert from Orlando on 7/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does just fine. My only wish would be that you can't shut off zones wirelessly.

Pros: fair price

Cons: not able to turn zones on/off wirelessly

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Works as advertised

More Monkey from Maine on 2/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The magic box works just like it is supposed to. I do not understand the issue people have with the wire connectors. They are easy and quick to use. The buttons work well. The box is black like every other piece of hifi equipment. It is all just ducky.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

nice

Doug from Maryland on 10/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It woks well. I used this to replace some switches I had installed to send the signal to speakers in different rooms, but this is better because it allows multiple speakers to play simultaneously. I am using it with the Onkyo 929 receiver driving all three zones.

Pros: simple to set up and use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

niles ss-4

Brett from Bloomsburg, pa on 8/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The niles ss-4 works like it should. I have it paired with the Yamaha rn-500 and it allows me to listen to music in any area of the house. My only gripe is the connectors on the back are a bit small and I had to trim the 14 gauge wire to make it fit. 16 gage would fit without any trimming.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SS-4

JerryO from Clayton, CA on 5/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great simple product; performed well after troubleshooting issue with the receiver shutting off after10 seconds of power; wire strippers are a "must" for this simple project

Pros: simple and easy to install

Cons: after installing speaker wires, receiver kept shutting off; checked and rechecked wiring with no success; sent Niles(mfr) very detailed email with receiver/speaker specs to see if the combination may be culprit; while waiting for a response, I researched on line possible solutions; a source suggested that too much speaker wire was left bare in the back of the ss4; purchased a wire stripper, restripped wires, and everything worked;never received a response from Niles;poor service on their part

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Works as expected

Alan S. from Boulder, CO on 5/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. Very easy to install. Switching 4 sets of speakers, no problems.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Could not have been easier!!!

JK from Huntsville, AL on 4/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was easier than I thought. Could not have been simpler to hook up or use. .

Pros: Easy Hook up, once I had micro srewdriver. Easy to use.

Cons: Pins are a little hard to get open for wire insertion, but micro screwdriver solved that issue.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple and Effective

JulieT from Las Vegas, NV on 12/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We needed a low cost solution to connect existing in-wall speakers in 4 rooms to our home theatre stereo. The Niles SS-4 was perfect fit. I'm no AV expert, but I was able to figure out how to get it hooked up and am now enjoying music throughout my entire home without having to by a multi-room amplifier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 2/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Paired with the Yamaha rxv673.

Pros: Push of a button to activate each room.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Positive ending

PeterD from Buffalo, NY on 2/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A follow up to my earlier review: I contacted Niles about the switch problems I was having , and after returning the defective unit to them, i received a brand new SS-4. Great customer service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Switches Fail

PeterD from Buiffalo, NY on 1/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had this unit for about 16 months. Within six months after purchase two of the switches began to stick. It became necessary to pull them in and out instead of having them "snap" in and out. Within another few months, one of the switches began to short out, so it is now necessary to jiggle it to get both speakers to work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Just what I needed

Grayhouse13 from Mulberry Florida. on 11/10/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is exactly what I was looking for, tried another from a local chain store, but it was cheap and it would loose a lot of sound, this one was perfect and I love it.thanks crutch field, this was my first order from them and it was perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

crutchfield still doing it well

jhop from brookshire,tx on 6/9/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fast delivery product was as advertised simple hook-up detachable connector plugs made for easy set-up ++

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent product from Niles!

Rodgers from Cincinnati OH on 2/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Niles switch worked perfectly!

Pros: Well made and easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

RobertM from Kansas City, MO on 6/19/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a sleek well-designed product. The detachable connector plugs are also really helpful--allows you to make each speaker's connections easily in the comfort of your hands in good light, and then plug the whole little assembly into the speaker selector.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Protects my reciever but...

Mike F. from Otwell, IN on 12/3/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This box does what I want it to but it does have it's flaws. It doesnt give you much room to work on the back as far as hooking the speaker wire, 14 gauge is about the biggest it will accept which is mostly all that any guy needs but if you wanted to have bigger wire it won't fit. The thing I dislike the most about it, I have a 100 watt high-current receiver and want to power my Advent Legacy 2's. My speakers are 6ohms, so if I run the speakers without the Niles box it's drops my receiver to an unsafe 3ohm load. I purchased this box to protect the receiver. When I run all 4 speakers it cuts my sound down, my sound is better just running 2 speakers without the box. If you want to purchase this box for speakers in separate rooms this would be perfect. I'm a stickler for perfection when it comes to sound but also can't afford Mono Blocks.haha If you are running into a situation as I have had on an unsafe load, I wouldnt purchase this, it's not worth the money to have 2 extra speakers sound like they are in a concrete building.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Does what it's supposed to

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 7/23/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not much to say really. I set up 8 in-wall speakers in 4 pre-wired rooms and power them all through this box from the extra set of outputs from my receiver. Works great! Does what it's supposed to do, and the speakers sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Curtis from Portage, MI on 7/17/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this little guy! I have all 4 sets of speakers hooked up and they all sound great! The speakers sound great no matter how many I turn on. I would recommend this to anyone. Please realize that if you have an amp that has an A and B front speaker set, you can not run the B set off of your amp they must go through the Niles unit so pay attention to how many speakers sets you need in total.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

could they make the connectors any smaller?

Bear from boston, ma on 6/10/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1st off I got an ALMOST DOA unit. hook up 1 set of speakers, it works. hook up 2nd... problems, volume dropped, amp shut down, etc. I tore all the wiring apart 3 times, thinking I made a mistake. Every time, it's flipping those little connectors. Then checking connectors, and hooking them into the amp, and it works. make it a little bigger, and give it a real connector. I e-mailied Niles this past week and received no reply. I will try calling them in the morning. Either that, or I'll just add a 2nd power amp to dirve the 3rd set of speakers (not hooked up... couldn't get 2 to work right thru the unit). Most people seem to love it, so, I didn't give it a 1 star, but, I couldn't give it any more than 2.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

Rob from Eagle, WI on 3/3/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the Niles ss-4 for about a month and it works great. With my amp at about 1/4 volume I get plenty of power to three rooms. Haven't installed fourth set of speakers yet, but don't anticipate any problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Device

Baiju from Anaheim, CA on 12/30/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device works great. It was recommended by the Cruchfield staff. I use it with eight speakers and the sound is great if I have two on or eight. Highly recommended for multiroom setups.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't Gamble your Receiver

Scott from University Place, WA on 10/6/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want multiple speakers around your house...or even outside on the deck, etc... this is really going to tax your receiver. Advice- add up the load...the total ohms and see what your receiver can handle... then get a top rated speaker switch with a protector built in. The protector in most recievers will function well for a while...but keep pushing it..and it will fail. Double the back up. The speaker switch I had before is in the garbage. Get the Niles and give your reciever a break!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

niles ss-4

craig from Manhattan,KS. on 2/14/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and very well design!Crutchfield also answered all my questions before i purchased the product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great!

James from Chicago, IL on 2/4/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We just purchased a Condo with ceiling speakers throughout. This little box works perfectly for distributing our music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Niles SS-4

stuart from DOVER,DE on 11/18/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

THIS THE SECOND NILES UNIT I HAVE BOUGHT. MY FIRST ONE STILL WORKS PERFECT AFTER 12 YEARS. I JUST NEEDED A THINNER UNIT TO FIT MY NEW SETUP. I AM SURE IT WILL PERFORM JUST AS GREAT.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

42 of 49 found this helpful

TOP