Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Niles SS-6

6-pair speaker selector

MFR # FG01040

Niles SS-6

Niles SS-6

6-pair speaker selector

MFR # FG01040

16 reviews
View this product

Niles SS-6

Crutchfield customer from Stockbridge, GA on 6/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great oroduct and works great. Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Product

Jeffrey from Hollywood,s.c. on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product could not be easier to install nor operate. Built well and small enough to take up little space. Great piece.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to set-up & easy to use - great product.

William J. from Stevensville, MD on 10/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set-up and easy to use! I had no issues with the speaker connections - they work as you would expect and provide a good, firm contact. Great product.

Pros: Easy to set-up and to operate. Wide variety of labels. Nice small size.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles SS-6

Crutchfield customer from Massillon, OH on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice unit. Took a little while to hook up but is worth it when you are finished. Is working great and we are using all 6 lines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SS-6

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent channel selection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wonderful product!

Alex from Casa Grande, AZ on 7/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple to install and use with great benefits .

Pros: Easy and simple to use product that works wonders for my home theater system!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SS-6

Ed B from North Carolina on 7/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you have elected wired technology for your home sound system, this component is required. It allows you to connect multiple speakers to a single amplifier. Without it you will burn up the amplifier.

Pros: It works well

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Niles SS-6 Speaker Selector

Henry from Florida on 6/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not know this type of product exhisted in today's market, but after speaking to Hunter who is the Crutchfield rep who answered all my questions. I'm glad I purchased the product!

Pros: Ease of use and made in America!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Niles SS-6

Crutchfield customer from Titusville. Fl on 7/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as promised. Easy to install. No fuss no muss. Sound quality is if it is not even there and original equipment is at optimum. Very happy with purchase.

Pros: Works flawlessly

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Niles SS-6

MikeS from Chicago, IL on 1/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently moved into a home with a whole-house audio system installed. This switch was exactly what we needed. I have five zones (this has six) so it couldn't have been more tailored for my needs. (I've noticed Niles has other models available, so there should be something for just about any in-home system). I especially like the protection feature...this is engaged when you're pushing output to three or more zones, to avoid frying the amp. (Not needed when using only one or two zones, but I leave it on anyway). If you read the other reviews you'll notice a lot of comments about the speaker connections being difficult to open/close. This wasn't a big negative for me, but when I was setting it up I could easily see why those comments were made. Opening and closing them IS a bit hard on the fingertips, but I figured you only set it up once in a great while so not a big deal. Overall very solid product--good sound, reasonably simle setup, attractive case, and the preprinted labels for the output zones are a nice touch (beats having to hand write all those). Would definitely recommend this as a low-cost way to feed your whole house audio system.

Pros: Price, amp protection logic, appearance

Cons: Balky speaker connections

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Niles SS-6

Jim from New York on 3/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using it in a whole house application. Does the job well for what I'm using it for. The connections for the individual speaker wires are difficult to close. Once connected it's fine but initial set up is for folks with tiny fingers.

Pros: Does the job.

Cons: Wire connections are difficult to lock.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Works great - speaker connections could be a little easier

efd from NJ on 1/16/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently moved into a home that has ceiling-mounted speakers throughout, with volume controls in the various rooms/zones. This was my first experience with a multiple-zone speaker system, and my receiver didn't have built-in multi-zone support, so I purchased this unit to control the five zones. I opted for the Niles SS-6 over some less expensive units primarily for aesthetic reasons, and this controller does look great. It also works perfectly in controlling the audio to the different zones, as you'd expect. My one complaint -- and I would have taken off just a half-star for this, if that were an option -- is that I found the speaker connections on the back of the unit to be extremely difficult to open and close. It always felt like I was going to force them to a breaking point, although none of them broke. By the time I was done making the 20 connections (10 speakers, right and left for each) my hands and fingers were pretty sore. I also tried using a screwdriver to flip up the connectors but even that seemed more difficult than it should have. Obviously once the speakers are connected you don't have to go through that again, so it's not a huge issue overall but something to be prepared for.

Pros: Easy operation, controls speakers, looks good, included zone-name stickers are helpful.

Cons: Stiff speaker connectors.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Niles SS-6

Jeff from Greeneville,TN on 9/9/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Option at a great price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Niles SS-6

Mike from Los Angeles, CA on 3/17/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Niles SS-6 worked perfectly for my needs. It's very easy to hook up. It connected my speakers in several different rooms (which can be played separately or simultaneously). A great solution for my system since I didn't want to add a separate powered amplifier (someone in a store tried to convince me I needed an expensive one). I don't have a super high-end receiver, but the sound is still great. This model is good if you have volume controls in each room (otherwise, get the model with volume controls on the unit itself). The customer service rep from Crutchfield was very helpful in selecting this. Great price, delivery, and service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Works Great!

Joseph from Scranton, PA on 2/4/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Niles SS-6 works as advertised. I was able to safely and easily hook up 5 pairs of in-ceiling speakers throughout the downstairs of my house (I'm saving the 6th speaker hook up for outside on the deck this Spring!). It's great to have the option of turning speakers on/off in each room without having to worry about overloading my amplifier. One last thing, since this is Crutchfield, a customer representative was able to look up the specs on my older receiver to ensure compatibility and give me the recommended setup within minutes. Crutchfield is top-notch when it comes to service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Niles SS-6

Jim from Southern Cal. on 6/25/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small, compact size. Easy set-up, "plug & play" that I use every day. I have 6 wired speakers to the outside of the house, it adds another dimension to entertaining around the pool.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

TOP