Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Niles SSVC-4

4-pair speaker selector with volume control

MFR # FG01043

Niles SSVC-4

Niles SSVC-4

4-pair speaker selector with volume control

MFR # FG01043

24 reviews
View this product

Niles SSVC-4

Crutchfield customer from Trinity , FL on 7/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great quality second time I purchased this device, left my last one with my previous home.

Pros: Gets the job done love the individual selector and volume controls

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

Crutchfield customer from Orient, NY on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker selector replaced an older version. Installation was simple especially with my Crutchfield rep on speaker phone ready to help. My Crutchfield advisor also helped me reconnect a Bose outdoor speaker that had become disconnected and angled incorrectly. The Niles comes with labeled tabs for every imaginable room or outdoor space in your home. On my application I used the pool, deck, porch, and garage tabs. It fits neatly with my NAD amp with both being 17" long. I reckon always reviewing the dimensions of components if they are going to be stacked or stored in a cabinet of limited siz.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, OH on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked great was exactly what I needed to fix a problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well Worth the Money

Relaxed from Telford, PA on 3/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am pleased with the Niles SSVC-4 Selector. Works Great! As Advertised! We have speakers with low power draw so we now have speakers every where, inside and outside. We Love It!

Pros: All Good!

Cons: No Complaints

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

David K from Cary, NC on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very pleased with the quality of every Niles product I've ever purchased, and this is no exception. Works very well and does what I needed it to do - Run multiiple outside speakers off the 2nd channel of my home theater receiver. All their stuff is pricey, but works exceptionally well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid unit and does the job.

Bernie from Hubert, NC on 8/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well put together piece of equipment. There is a loss of power/volume (expected) with multiple pairs of speakers connected so it works best with maximum rated power of 100 watts. As others have said the incremental volume controls takes a little getting use to but works. The removable wire connectors are great just wish they were larger and excepted larger gauge wire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

Perry from Tulare, CA on 8/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The adjustable volume control is great even though the dials are click in lieu of a full potentiometer. Personally I like the fact tha the speaker wiring terminals can come off making it much easier to attach all the wires.

Pros: Removable wiring terminals, looks and performance.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 7/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used it with a Rotel amp for Niles Rock speakers, it installed easily and works perfectly for my application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Perfect Solution

Jack from Jackson, MS on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Niles SSVC-4 works perfectly for my application. I have it paired with an Onkyo amplifier that powers the auxiliary speakers around my home. It feels very well made and looks good with my other components. If you need individual room volume control, don't hesitate to buy one for yourself.

Pros: Works exactly as described. Very well made. Looks sharp.

Cons: Not inexpensive ... but worth the price considering the quality.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Recommend!

Jose from Greenville, SC on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Easy set up a bonus! I definitely recommend it!

Pros: It's simple all around.

Cons: Nothing yet!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

Crutchfield customer from Crystal Lake, IL on 4/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just like it says. Easy to setup!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Totally solved my issues

Herb from Jackson, MI on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect solution. When acquiring two new Peachtree integrated amps I was dumbfounded to learn they each had only a single set of speaker posts. After trying to decipher the mambo-jumbo about how to bi-wire speakers I thought the Niles was a simple and flexible solution. Set up easy and I cannot detect any sound losses. I can tune the two sets of towers for the type of music I'm playing. With rock, I prefer more volume to the Kef'sand with softer music to the Martin Logan's. Very happy with the Niles unit.

Pros: Classic answer to modern dilemma of only one set of speaker posts.

Cons: Happy to report no negatives!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

Crutchfield customer from Courtland, MS on 1/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well this is my second unit(zone expander) First was a 2 zone, this time a 4 zone. Enables you to put speakers where you want! My garage now has 4 pair, with volume control I can balance the sound. AWESOME!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great simple units which works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

Andrew from Portland, OR on 10/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! It gives my sound system a lot more flexibility for a reasonable price. I read reviews prior to purchasing and consistently Niles came up with the highest reviews, after getting the unit I wholeheartedly agree with all of the feedback I looked at. I would highly recommend purchasing this unit or any other product made by Niles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Simple setup, works well for my system

Gerry from Westminster, CO on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Simple setup. Using it to control three sets of speakers on Zone 2 of my receiver. It replaces a Selector box that did not have individual volume control. I just set it up this weekend and so far works as expected.

Pros: easy setup individual volume control for each speaker set

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

REC from Florida on 4/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Behaves as expected.

Pros: speaker cable attachment system

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

KrisK from Los Angeles on 12/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it works what can I say. There is something "not elegant" about splitting up my power amps output between 4 sets of speakers. But that's the way my house is built and this unit couldn't do it any better. There is no change in sound quality running everything through the SSVC-4. It works perfect and balancing volumes in all the rooms is a breeze for me because of the layout of the house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

mrhlynnu from Forest Hill, MD on 8/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic product! Allows me to control 4 separate pairs of speakers and independently adjust on/off and volume level. Love having music throughout my whole first floor. (Front porch, kitchen, living room, and rear deck). Hint....it you are hooking up to the "main speakers" of an existing home theater system, you will have to recalibrate or adjust the sound level, it will be lower than before. Price seems high, but as they say, you get what you pay for!

Pros: Well constructed

Cons: Terminal Blocks are small and challenging to work with 12 gauge speaker wire.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

Debbie L from Lafayette, LA on 8/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for ... separate volume controls for 4 separate zones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works like a champ

Larry from Austin, TX on 11/30/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Niles unit was recommended solution to attach outdoor speakers to a home theater unit by the Crutchfield advisor. Extremely happy and glad I went ahead and got the 4 speaker unit... I can finally add a set to the kitchen which I would have done years ago had I only known how easy it was. Almost wish I had gotten the SSVC-6 although I need the extra capacity right now. I really like wire connector/harness on the back. I am working in a tight space and it is difficult to hold a light and get the wires through the connector clips on the amp. With the removeable rail I was able to wireup each speaker/amp input where I could see and then just slide in the rail and screw it tight at a 90 degree angle to the back of the unit... nice engineering!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect Solution

Frank from Palm Springs, CA on 4/3/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We bought a new property which is very open. It is a beautiful post modern glass house where all the rooms flow into one another and into two outside areas, one a pool area and one a side garden/orchard/BBQ area. We have five pair of speakers: pool, great room, BBQ area, Master Bedroom and Guest Bedroom. Putting the two bedrooms on one circuit with this speaker selector allows us to fill the property with music. Being able to control the volume in each of the areas allows a blend of sound that is very balanced. Without the individual speaker controls, we would have to have speaker controls in each area. This allows us to balance the sound from the central source. This device can handle the power, never blowing the amp. We used the Airport Express to connect our iTUNES library to our amplifier so we can fill the house with great music for our many parties. A perfect LOW COST solution which performs just as the Crutchfield advisor said it would. I am going to buy the 6 pair NILES for my primary home in Northern CA. Thank you Crutchfield! Easy set up and perfect performance!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Great Product

Bill from Ponte Vedra Beach,FL on 7/3/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this product and it does exactly as advertised. It was very easy to hook up, great selection of labels, and the ability to independently control the volume for each set of speakers is very easy. I'm using this with speakers in the living room, master bedroom, and outside deck and each is set at different volume levels. I highly recommend this for those looking for a simple yet effective device to control Zone 2 speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Niles SSVC-4

Eileen from in VA on 9/6/2005

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy setup, though I balked a bit at the price. I love the wire connections. My dream of multi-room volume control is now a reality. Initially I wished the volume controls turned smoothly instead of in set increments, but after using it I find that I do like the incremental adjustment. Trust Niles -- and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

151 of 160 found this helpful

TOP