Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Niles VCS100K

Stereo volume control with impedance magnification

MFR # FG01652

Niles VCS100K

Niles VCS100K

Stereo volume control with impedance magnification

MFR # FG01652

42 reviews
View this product

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. I had to split a signal from my receiver to two rooms. The impedance matching feature allowed me to do that and control each room separately. Crutchfield helped me to select the right components and one call to Technical Support helped the installation go smoothly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Stillwater, MN on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a little trouble routing wires around the device to achieve clearance but by my 2nd volume control install, I had it figured out. Performance is excellent as I had hoped.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These work fine as advertised and are likely very useful for certain applications such as legacy receivers (no WiFi or Bluetooth). If you have a WiFi receiver and typically modulate your volume with your phone or iPad, etc, but you just have to keep the knobs in your system (you don't want to patch drywall or install blank plates), I highly recommend leaving the volume knob at its MAX or near max volume setting. Not knowing, I used to run my music with the knobs at medium and if I wanted to crank the music for a party, would dial it up on my phone only. This caused my receiver to work extra hard and burned up one of the amps after about 2 years. I might not have needed to swap out the builder-installed knobs but did so just to be safe. The music in my kitchen sounds the best with the niles knobs left at max and volume control done exclusively on my phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great volume control

Crutchfield customer from Cave Creek, AZ on 9/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, super easy to install, would recommend. Now only if it could control the volume for the rest of my family!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Quality !

Crutchfield customer from Marysville, MI on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Rock Solid Product ! Spot on right down to the packaging !

Pros: Straight forward installation and little to know volume loss. Also four different color options all included in the box.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, PA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking ad strong performance, love the screwless front cover

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

effortless to install and amazing surprise to find various color choices

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Warner, NH on 3/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product, have had a few others of these and they still work ate15 years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Windham, NY on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Waterford, MI on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great volume controller. The only issue is that it is a little difficult putting in the receiver and amplifier wires by yourself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple design, easy to use, and comes with a variety of faceplate and knob colors. Note it has a 100W max. Plenty for my case.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Swanville, ME on 8/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Show Low, AZ on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well designed and made produce. Hoping for many years of trouble free service...

Pros: Clear directions to help install, regardless of technical background.

Cons: Non experienced

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Folsom, PA on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with multiple color options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 4/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, however with 14 gauge wire it was a tight fit. Nice that it comes with 4 different colors for the face plates. Has worked perfectly to allow us to listen to our Zone 2 music source while working outside or sitting around the firepit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy install and well-made

William from Wallingford, PA on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is just what I was looking for. I have speakers in n nearby room and needed to control the volume in that room otherwise it take two people to set the volume and turning it down quickly would mean running to the other room. It was easy to install. It was heavier than expect so the quality surprised me in todays cheap components. I with that the control was a slider more than 10 clicks. I just installed but I am sure there will be times when I want it set between click 5 and 6. Having the optional colors for the faceplate was a surprise as well. I called Crutchfield for a recommendation stating what I needed to do and this was recommended. Only installed yesterday but works great.

Pros: solid construction, 4 optional color faceplate

Cons: just wish the volume control was variable

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Quality

Ken from Burlington, IA on 2/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good and very reliable control.

Pros: Reliable

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great Service!

Crutchfield customer from Tioga, TX on 2/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and excellent customer service! The lady I spoke to was extremely knowledgeable and understood my needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Superb audio control

Neil from Bend, OR on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality item, received quickly at a fair price.

Pros: Quality Built well Works great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

John from La Crosse, WI on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Rock solid construction. It's my go to control for multi room audio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

james from Longwood, FL on 4/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product, works well, looks great, includes a choice of cover colors in the box and installs easily and securely. Fast service and delivery.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Alto, MI on 1/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installs easily and comes with multiple color combinations for the wall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Donna from Hewlett, NY on 12/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful product and customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Eden Prairie, MN on 11/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works handsomely

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Paul from Elkins Park, PA on 11/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed 3 way speakers in my kitchen, opting for excellent sound quality. With that came a higher volume that those speakers provide (matching another set in another room). This device is fantastic, allowing me to lower the volume easily in that room, without affecting the volume coming out of the main speakers that supply the other rooms (I'm hard wired: old historic house, thick walls, some are stone). The sound quality and volume potential were not compromised with adding this in.

Pros: Excellent convenience to be able to control speaker volume on one set of speakers, while not affecting the others.

Cons: Difficult to figure out! The installation instructions from the manufacturer of this product are absolutely awful! They show that a part should be removed to more easily do the wiring, but don't tell you that you think you are going to break the entire thing off in doing so, nor do they give advice on how best to remove the part. After struggling for 20 min I called crutchfield and that was not useful despite them being attentive (and there! And in the U.S. to boot!!!).

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Trenton, TN on 11/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to order. On time, and the right part!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles has perfected the in-wall volume control

Jason from Alexandria, VA on 10/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After purchasing multiple in-home volume controls, Niles has nailed the perfect volume control with ease of installation and performance boost. In days of past with in-wall volume controllers having tiny pin adapters to connect the wires, which either never hold or strip, Niles has perfected this with cam locks that make wire installation a snap. Going one step further, Niles has also incorporated variable amplification to further tune-in your sound. I would give this product 6 stars but I suppose 5 will have to do.

Pros: Installation ease and amplification control.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice product...works well

Matt from San Francisco, CA on 8/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems well constructed and installation is straightforward enough. Nice that is correct.es with a number of face plates.

Pros: Easy set up...well built

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Gilroy, CA on 8/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from Maria Stein, Oh on 7/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent, easy to hook up and come with 3 different color face plates

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Ron from Center Point, IA on 7/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work as expected. Well constructed and consistent quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Multi-Room Must Have!

Sean from Oregon on 6/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first I was concerned it would have some distortion or wouldn't keep my outdoor in-ceiling speakers as loud as I wanted. But after instal (which is very simple) they sound great through this volume control!

Pros: Convieniant Easy instal Multiple color options Sleek design

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great "Detent" Type Volume Control

Anonymous from Nokomis, FL on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this switch on the interior side of the wall to control a pair of Polk RC80i speakers installed in an exterior Lanai is Southern Florida. The switch works great, and I can tell no distortion in the sound. The only "thing" I experienced is, the music source needs to be set at its Highest volumn to get a high volume out of the speakers. I made sure the switch's adjustable ohm setting matched the speakers (8 ohm), but it still might be due to something I did during installation! It really isn't that big if a deal though due to my receiver/speaker set-up. Was just a little surprising, that's all! The switch fits perfectly in either an "old-work" drywall ring or box, as long as the wall is thick enough. Mine went into a cut CMU block wall, but 2 x 4 framed wall should be deep enough! It also comes with a variety of different color wall plates and control knobs! One thing to maybe note is note that the switch is a Rotary "Detent" type switch, meaning it's various volume settings are "pre-set" by Eleven specific click positions (12 positions of you include "off"). That might be important to some folks.

Pros: Easy Install, Adjustable Impedance matching switch.

Cons: Not really a con, but this switch has eleven pre-set volume positions, which might not be sensitive enough depending on the usage of the control!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

John W. from Denver, CO on 3/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, easy to use and easy to install. Comes with multiple wall plates to match your existing plates or paint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Crutchfield customer from West Richland, WA on 11/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just at advertised. Easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Volume control

Todd from River falls wi on 12/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect came with four color options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Below Average at Best

swell36 from Denver, CO on 11/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The potentiometer in this device must be a $2.00 part. Stay with me and I'll explain. SETUP: I'm driving 4 pairs of in wall speakers rated at +/- 100 watts each with a Mark Levinson 27.5 amp through an ADCOM six speaker switch box. Each pair of speakers has a stereo Hi Fidelity Motronics volume control at the speaker locations. My sources include a tuner, CD player and MacBook Pro iTunes with Apple Lossless files I recorded. PROBLEM: This Niles volume control has almost no volume or volume control between the 7 and 12 o'clock position. The 6 o'clock position is off. (yes, I've tried all the impedance positions) That means you cannot listen at lower db volumes with any discernible Hi Fi information because there is nothing to hear. By the way my Hi Fidelity Motronics volume control devices resolve excellent Hi Fi sound from the 7 o'clock position around to the 5 o'clock max. CONCLUSION: If you intend to use this device in a location where you will be playing the music above the 12 o'clock position it will do the job but don't expect Hi Fi sound quality and if you want to play your music at high db levels look elsewhere. This is a seriously poor product considering the price point. Good Luck.

Pros: It installed easily and looks nice.

Cons: It doesn't work at low to medium low volumes.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 13 found this helpful

well made at a fair price

js from wilmington nc on 8/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect for the job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Niles VCS100K

Todd from Peachtree City, GA on 5/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an improvement over the builder grade contollers I replaced. Night and Day. So glad I spent the extra dollrs on these.

Pros: Incredibly easy installation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

plug

Trickyt from Cypress, TX on 3/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Niles VCS100i

ray from North Potomac, MD on 5/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchase, delivery and functionality all were and are excellent. Never have used any other in-wall volume control system, so I have not comparison to make. Having the ability to impedance match seems like a good idea, but I have no experience with not doing so, therefore cannot comment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP