Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Niles WVC100E

Weatherproof stereo volume control with impedance magnification

MFR # FG00965

Niles WVC100E

Niles WVC100E

Weatherproof stereo volume control with impedance magnification

MFR # FG00965

34 reviews
View this product

Niles WVC100E

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 8/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it's been working very well neighbor likes it too I can turn it up or down it's great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to Install

Crutchfield customer from Jersey City, NJ on 7/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Good quality. Works perfectly.

Pros: Sturdy, easy installation, color matches siding.

Cons: Not enough room for thicker cable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Crutchfield customer from Rockville, MD on 6/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Crutchfield customer from Milwaukee, WI on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was fairly simple and straightforward using 16 gauge wire. I could see having problems with smaller gauge (thicker) speaker wire. Working perfectly as described. So nice not having to run from the patio to the basement to adjust volume.

Pros: Quality unit.

Cons: Would be nice in white or other colors.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great but tight fit for wires

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, TX on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The volume control arrived in great shape, after two previous defective units were received from another supplier. Thanks, Crutchfield! My only complaint about the unit is that it was a tedious process getting speaker wires (I used 14 AWG) into the enclosure and then snapped into place with the connector blocks. However, once done, the control works as advertised: minimal damping, no clicking, etc.

Pros: Works great for outdoor (poolside) application. Reasonable price.

Cons: Tight fit for wires, making installation somewhat difficult. Also, two previous units from another supplier (I.e., NOT Crutchfield) arrived with a defective/split volume stem membrane (see photos). This appeared to be due to due to poor OEM packaging. The broken membrane could have allowed water into the enclosure.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Crutchfield customer from Ten Mile, TN on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent. About the 5th one i bought

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 7/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, durable, and weatherproof. Niles has some great outdoor products, and this is one of them. Thank crutchfield for the expert assistance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, PA on 6/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

PERFECT!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 5/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly. This is replacing a lower cost control that only lasted 2 months. This control is noticeably better made that the "cheap" one I am replacing. You get what you pay for.

Pros: Well made.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Crutchfield customer from Guaynabo, PR on 4/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great adittion to my exterior system!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

David from Carthage, MO on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacement for existing outdoor control, which had not stood up to time and weather. Nice that it comes with a properly sized exterior rated box. Always difficult to find a deep enough box from local suppliers. Wiring was a breeze with spring loaded terminals compared to using wire nuts with prior cheap control.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, IL on 8/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordering was easy, delivery was fast and product retrofitted perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, CA on 7/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surpasses expectations! This replacement unit I purchased replaces my previous unit that still works. My old unit sustained rust from a leakage that occurred twice over the last seven years. I could not believe despite water being held in the volume selector box over a period of several months that it still works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Ronald from Hamilton, OH on 7/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have only had for a couple weeks and works perfect. Only complaint is that I wish it came in more color options.

Pros:

Cons: Doesn't come in black

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Crutchfield customer from Fife Lake, MI on 7/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not enough room in box for the wires; should be designed to accept 14 gauge wire. Would be nice if it came in white.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, GA on 6/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality, easy to install, Works perfectly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

Michael from Clearwater, KS on 5/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, high quality component. The 4 star rating is because it is a bit difficult to get the volume control and all of the wiring into the box. It is possible though. I was installing 4 16/2 outdoor speaker cables (L and R in and L and R out). This will not fit. I found that if you strip the outer casing of the cables, exposing the speaker wires only, they will fit. Still very snug, but will work. My other issue was that one of the gaskets had a tear in it, but Crutchfield was quick to send a replacement...great job.

Pros: High quality component.

Cons: Difficult to fit control and wiring into box (it is doable...see tip in body of review).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Dennis E. from Texas on 5/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had trouble with this controller from the beginning. I have never had issues with wiring speaker in my life. That is, until met up with the Niles volume control. I purchase the controller to go out in a new outdoor kitchen. Had issues from the beginning. Physically unwired and re-wired, double checking polarity, three times. I finally removed the controller and wire the speakers up directly. My Polk Audio MC80 came to life. I now have a unusable volume control built into one of my rocked post on the new patio. Big disappointment! Very exspensive for a non-working controller.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/1/2015
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our customer service or tech support teams right away. In this case we would either get this working properly or send out a replacement free of charge.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not to bad..watch your wattage

mark from waterloo sc on 4/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had two and now need a third due to blowing out the right side. Now first I must say it is a good product but the failure is probably my fault since.i was.running my atrium 5 polks thru the Niles control pushed by a adcom 5500 amp. May have been too much....but sounded awesome until it failed

Pros: Sturdy built

Cons: Box may need to be a tad bigger for wiring. Should have a fuse so idiots like me would stop blowing them up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product, if a bit expensive

JSL from Forstdale, MA on 9/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product. Installation was reasonably easy, although there is not a lot of room in the unit and the instructions could have been a little clearer on removal of the internal connector plugs. NOTE: the instructions with the Niles recommend that you shouldn't use wire larger than 16 gauge. Very good advice and should be stated in the product information on line. I managed to use 14-gauge, but it was very close.

Pros: Good product, easy to use

Cons: A bit expensive. Be careful what gauge wire you use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice volume control

RickG from CT on 8/25/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty easy to install. Product seems to be fairly well made. Used to control volume to a pair of pool side speakers.

Pros: Easy installation, good quality.

Cons: Same as other comments, there isn't a lot of room left inside the box for wires.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wcv

Wags from Aurora,il on 7/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hook up. Easy control knob

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Niles

Mike from Clearwater Fl on 4/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield calls this item old school in the magazine, but works great for me. I installed one inside the screened patio and one on the outside patio deck. Installation was easy enough. Niles makes good stuff.

Pros: Volume control outside when you need it.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

LMH from McDaniels, KY on 4/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little pricey but you get what you pay for. It's an excellent product!

Pros: Performs well.

Cons: Difficult to fit into enclosure using heavy gauge wires.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Needs a bigger box

Ted S from Austin TX on 7/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performance seems fine, but installation is made harder than necessary because the control occupies almost the entire volume of the box - it is difficult to accommodate the wires. I used 14 gauge wire; it would have been almost impossible with 12 gauge. And why so expensive?

Pros: Like the convenient switch for impedance magnfication

Cons: Box should be larger. Seems pretty expensive for what it is.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Product

Eric from cicero, ny on 6/25/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works great. Super easy installation. Space in the box is just fine to wire the speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Nick from Manalapan, NJ on 4/8/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to install. A must for outdoor speaker system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Niles - outdoor weatherproof volume control

M from Raleigh, NC on 4/7/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a ton of research and found this to be the best. Again it is good quality and does not feel or look "cheap". I have outdoor BOSE speakers connected to it via 16 Gauge wire and they work great. ONLY issue as others have pointed out is the box is too small for the wires without the risk of getting pinched there is no way to put them all in that tiny box. Got a bigger box from HomeDepot with a closeing lid and mounted this box inside the bigger one to allow the wires to be safely and securely be housed and protected from the elements. Been working over a year now!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice Unit

Jeff from Richmond, VA on 9/19/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this over the weekend and it works as advertised. As the other reviewers noted, if you are using sheathed speaker cables you will have to remove the outer sheath for the unit to fit in the box. I found no issues connecting my 16 gauge wire to this unit. Painted it and some accompanying PVC pipe white for a clean look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice quality product

jbs from Franklin, MA on 8/17/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased two of these to control two zones outside. The moment you pick them up you know they are a quality controller by the weight. I agree with the other reviews that getting the speaker wires into the unit is tough and that is the one big downside. I used a 18 gauge in-wall wire and stripped only 1/8 of an inch of shielding off. This seemed to be the best way to get the wire into the switch while using my fingernail to hold the lever back. One plus with these is that when you turn the knob all the way to the left the music is completely off. I did paint mine white to match the house, if you paint them make sure to use a fine sandpaper on the switch first to help the paint stick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works Great

Richard from Charlotte, NC on 5/13/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this for my screened in porch. I searched a long time to try to find a white outdoor volume control with box without luck. Finally, I read the details on Crutchfield and saw the box was paintable. So, I ordered, painted and installed without issue. Only comment I would have is that the wiring does get tight in the box, so you need to be somewhat experienced in wiring gang boxes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Highly Recommended

James from Lebanon, IN on 9/7/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second Niles product and was used to install speakers for our patio. It works exactly as advertised. The construction/feel of the unit is top notch. The removable connector plugs allow for easy/secure connections. I did not have use for the Impedance Magnification feature. Two comments on design. First, one entrance/exit port to the box is not optimal, since the terminals are on opposite sides of the control and the single port is to one side of the bottom of the box. I had to strip the outside protective cover off the cables off so that none of it was actually inside the box to allow the control unit to actually fit into the box. It is a really tight fit. A better design might be separate incoming and outgoing ports to separate the wires on their respective sides. Second, a waterproof seal for the port if not mounting on conduit would be appreciated. Silicone caulk worked but was not elegant.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Niles WVC100E

Ed from Raleigh, NC on 6/20/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed two pair of outdoor speakers when we built our new house in 2006. Each pair has its own outdoor volume control. The masons set the weatherproof enclosures into the brick and I later connected the control. When I first tried the system, the right side of one of the Niles controls did not work. I called Crutchfield's technical support, and they said to return it for a new one. Since its enclosure was built into the brick wall, they said to just return the control itself which they immediately replaced. It works great, and the outdoor speakers above my grill deck and over the hot tub are used frequently. I've already recommended these to a coworker who is building a new house.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Good item

no from Philadelphia on 3/31/2007

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good item for outdoor speakers, works well, only compaint I have is that the enclosure is a bit too small, try using 16 gauge speaker wire if you can, volume level is great, I would recommend this product to others.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 18 found this helpful

TOP