Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Compact 4-channel car amplifier with automatic tuning DSP — 50 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 47KEY2004

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Compact 4-channel car amplifier with automatic tuning DSP — 50 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 47KEY2004

58 reviews
View this product

2021 Subaru Outback non HK

Mark from Medina on 5/22/2021

2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great option to upgrade the anemic sound system in my 2021 Subaru Onyx XT. Soldered the unit's wiring harnesses together an aftermarket wiring harness to make a nice T harness for install along with Infinity reference component and coaxial speakers. Had kind of a weird sound profile until I turned on the time delay and EQ, and ran the dsp sound optimization with the provided microphone and pink noise file I downloaded from Kicker's website. After that this system sounded very nice, at which point I turned my spare tire subwoofer back on to fill in the bottom octaves that 6.5/6.75/6x9 speakers just can't reproduce. Tearing apart the interior of a brand new car is always a bit of a stressful experience, but Crutchfield's vehicle installation guides and support helpline helps take the edge off the process. One piece of advice: Do not power this unit up without the radio detect button enabled or your OEM headunit will do weird stuff and not allow proper audio operation until you disconnect your battery again. Other thing I will mention is that it takes up to 3 minutes to complete the DSP tuning process.

Pros: DSP, adequate power and compact size

Cons: Head unit does weird stuff if you don't enable radio detect, but this is an easy enough fix.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Incredible product! A rare and much needed shortcut.

Brandon from Reno, NV on 5/20/2021

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over the years I have learned there really are not a ton of shortcuts to great, well balanced sound in a car. You must have the knowledge and put in the time, money, and work. This is a shortcut, and it works great. Most of my head units over the years have had features like an advanced EQ, time alignment, etc. But I could and have spent HOURS trying to get close to the results this little amp provides in minutes with no work. Right out of the box the amp already sounded good. Much better than the cheap amp it was replaced. Then I tried the Key auto setup. It failed the first time, but I turned up the volume a bit and tried again and it worked fine. The soundstage was immediately drastically improved, and the EQ did a fantastic job of smoothing out the response. My system always sounded like it was way to harsh in the high end, and too subdued in the mids and bass, and I was never able to get it to my liking with the head unit Eq. Its much improved now. I feel like I can actually hear my music now. It's a bit spendier than its competition in this mini 4 channel amp space, but I really think the features it has are more than worth the money. It's the most significant and useful piece of car audio tech I think I've ever seen, and in a tiny package. This is very close to a miracle. It's also worth mentioning that this amp makes setting your gains very easy with the limiter lights. I wish they'd make headunits with this sort of amplification and dsp

Pros: KEY auto setup Plenty of power Small size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pleasantly Surprised

trenton from APPLE GROVE, WV on 5/13/2021

2015 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was lusting after a JL Audio VXI amp but decided to try this first. I'm glad I did. Saved over a grand and a lot of time. I just wish it had a sub pre-out. Still in the middle of upgrading speakers and sound deadening, but I'm already off to a satisfying start.

Pros: Saves time and money. Sounds very good.

Cons: No RCA pre-outs.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great at what it does...

Brandon from Palatka, fl on 5/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality and easy install.my main complaint would be that you're limited by the 4ohm min on all channels. I have 2 of the key 200.4s bought with the intentions of running components front and rear and it would be nice to have the flexibility of bridging and utilizing 100w x2 if your set up (like many) requires unbalanced power distribution. There's not many quality aftermarket 6.5 or 6x9 speakers that will reach full potential on 50w rms and I for one wouldn't be able to justify spending the $ on a quality amp without upgrading my speakers as well (just my opinion). However, It's definitely a neat and easy upgrade and even though a bit underpowered, the sq and sound imaging is def unbeatable for the price. I've had the same speakers on the alpine 445u power pack, kicker pxa 300.4, and audiocontrol ACM 4.300 and unless you plan on adding a DSP and sacrificing the additional time (and space) to set it up it's the kicker key hands down for sound quality and bang for your buck!

Pros: Super clean sound Very simple install Fits nearly anywhere All inclusive little package that can't be beat without stepping WAY outside of its price range and adding other equipment.

Cons: Hard to find speakers that will truly compliment what this amps capable of without sacrificing the full capabilities of your speakers. A more flexible (bridgable) configuration for multi amp systems would be more subwoofer system friendly. The option of 100w x2 for front stage and additional amp pushing 50w x4 to tweeters and rear soundstage would be amazing with the time alignment and auto eq features and wouldn't be so easily overpowered by the addition of a modest sub with dedicated amp.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker Key brought my Ford van alive

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, OH on 5/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We decided to upgrade our Ford Transit with the Kicker Key 200.4, and Morel speakers running fully active, and a Dsp harness. I couldn't be more satisfied. The auto tuning functionality is spot on, it sounds unbelievable. A completely hidden system, that sounds unbelieveable with the factory radio.

Pros: Factory Integration Auto tuning Fully Active Front Stage

Cons: None Except maybe they dont make a 5 channel Key

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 5/3/2021

2021 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and great power for the price

Pros: Size and performance

Cons: Settings are a little small

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lithia

Jacob from Lithia on 4/26/2021

2017 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a 2017 base model Mustang GT two years ago... I dropped in CerwinVega 12" spare tire sub two months after... next upgraded the 4" sync to 8" sync 3 a year later... the radio improved but it was not really good... two weeks ago I installed JBL GTO629 for all four speakers... sound was more clear but turning up the volume induced terrible frequency ranges from head units EQ... the bass roll off was definitely more noticeable... searching for amps and what I needed a DSP I came across this all in one small package Kicker key 200w sub... used a AX-DSP-FD2 harness and Crutchfield's 12ga mini amp install kit... took 6 hours, mostly soldering speaker wires from harness to AMP and back to harness... mounted the AMP with velcro strip ties under and behind the glove box... I used forscan to change high level speaker output to variable line level out by the head unit... covered the stock tweeters with foam and electric tape and painters tape over all to mute them... ran the key set up with the sub RCA disconnected and head unit volume at 25 for the pink noise with EQ flat... after set up the gain was adjusted for 1st and 2nd where the line is straight up and down not even a quarter turn... adjusted the sub AMP exactly how Crutchfield instructs to in this site... the result is AMAZING CLEAR FULL RANGE SOUND ALL THE WAY UP TO MAX 30 VOLUME! using the toggle switch for before and after demo is unreal... definitely leaving the key AMP DSP magic on! At last love my stereo!!

Pros: Awesome features and power in such a small package. Front stage sound with coaxial speakers was acheived!

Cons: The input and output speaker leads are short; but so where the ones on the harness as well. Use good speaker wires, solder, and always shrink wrap and tesa tap... you only want to tear your car apart once!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Wow, wow, wow

Crutchfield customer from Durango, CO on 4/26/2021

2019 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Oh, wow, wow, wow this amp totally made my Ford F150 audio sound as good as my home theater system. Of course, not with the factory speakers but upgraded Focal speakers plus a sub-woofer. The DSP adjustment to correct the OEM head unit frequency curve Ford created to correct the shortcomings of the factory speakers is a huge time saver. The before and after was like night and day on the clarity of sound in the cabin. The small size, easy setup and power provided is just enough to make the sub-par audio of my F150 into a beautiful sounding system now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2019 Ranger non-B&O

John from Itasca, IL on 4/20/2021

2019 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic little amp! It fits just about anywhere you want to put it. The wiring & setup are simple and it really woke up my factory head unit and Hertz speakers. Along with my Kicker Hideaway sub behind the back seat, I'm really satisfied with my setup.

Pros: Really small- fits anywhere, Good power and DSP quality.

Cons: Just for the newer Ford people... you need to use Forscan to disable the factory DSP in order to get the most out of the Kicker DSP.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing little amp

Crutchfield customer from Rosamond, CA on 4/10/2021

2020 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very happy with this little amplifier. When I bought my car, I chose to opt for the base sound system which included Android Auto and Apple Car Play. I ran speaker level inputs to this amp and it sounds great. The automatic tuning feature with the included microphone is easy to understand and complete. Now for the amazing part, this amplifier fixed my Android Auto / Apple Car Play problems. From the beginning, with the stock speakers installed, I had problems with Android Auto and Apple Car Play disconnecting from my factory sound system frequently. On some days, the sound system would just refuse to connect at all. These problems continued when I replaced the factory 4 ohm speakers with upgraded 4 ohms speakers. But when I ran my speaker level inputs to this amp and enabled the speaker loading option, my phone hasn't disconnected from the sound system once! I never thought this amp would make my sound system usable and reliable. That alone was worth the small price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Adrian from Chicago, IL on 4/7/2021

2019 Honda Accord Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great value for a 50 watter rms amp with dsp, has lots of settings. powering 4 morel speakers, when properly tuned sounds great!

Pros: compact, powerful,best bang for the buck

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Franklin Park, NJ on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product!!! My system really sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Winter Haven, FL on 4/3/2021

2010 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp and a lot of features for such a low price. It greatly improved the sound of my system. The included mic allows you to tune the system as well as adjust the timing of the sound coming from the speakers. There are indicator lights that allow you to adjust the gain to the proper level so that it won't distort when you turn up the volume. When you consider the cost of most DSP amps, this amp does quite a lot for a lower price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Jose from Tulare on 4/2/2021

2012 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for complicated systems and stock systems .....great product I recommend it.

Pros: Easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it!

Crutchfield customer from Vilonia, AR on 4/1/2021

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for running front and rear door speakers. Amp is easy to tune with the built-in DSP and small enough to fit just about anywhere. Don't let the size of this amplifier fool you. 50 watts RMS to each speaker when properly tuned will surprise you. You can even run in bi-amp mode for your front components without the need of passive crossovers.

Pros: Small and capable.

Cons: Wish kicker made a 6 channel like this

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Preston, MD on 3/31/2021

1996 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well my Hope's were up to receive this amp.i have all kicker products in my car.BUT!I have been working on hooking it up with zero success. A week later and I'm wishing I had got one that wasn't so tricky to install. It says they recommend a professional. Well I live a long way from one.So tonight when I get off work I'm going to call kicker for some help.Oh yeah they close at 5 pm.Anyway in sure it's amazing when its installed.just haven't made it that far yea.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/19/2021
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 4 found this helpful

Mighty Mouse.

Crutchfield customer from Stephenson, VA on 3/22/2021

2016 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful little amp! I put this in my wife's Highlander to run the Infinity door speakers that I upgraded. She wanted to keep the stock head unit which is extremely "EQ'ed" to protect the original crappy factory speakers from low frequencies and distortion. So an amp with DSP is critical for fixing much of the signal from the HU. The "auto tune" DSP works effortless and only took about 7 minutes to tune. If your looking for a small 4 channel amp with "DSP" this is your best affordable option. Also, the Infinity's come to life when sending them 50 watts RMS compared to 12 watts rms from the factory HU. The amp is about the size of a small brick and will fit just about anywhere. I mounted mine under the dash. I also added a Kicker Hideaway 10" sub under the passage seat. Now she won't win any sound offs, but it is plenty of stereo for the family wagon.... Sound quality is not audiophile grade but 110% better than the factory junk.

Pros: Sound Quality Price Size Easy install

Cons: Slight hiss sound if gains are not adjusted right. I have them set about 35% on each side and the hiss went away. Still has plenty of volume there and sounds much better now.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Arcadia, CA on 3/20/2021

2011 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So much power and it's the size of a brick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Best amp for the price, hands down.

Seth from Fulton on 3/17/2021

2006 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely amazing amp for the money. I Installed this in my stepmothers XJ because where factory wiring only played the rear channels. After the self tuning even cheap 5 inch coaxial speakers sound is crystal clear and gets loud enough that it's hard to talk over. She absolutely loves it and thanks me constantly. I just wish they offered this technology in their bigger amps. But I guess you could use them to bi amp 2 sets of components if you wanted more power.

Pros: Small, powerful, feature rich.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Magical little box

Johnny from Apollo Beach, FL on 3/15/2021

2008 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're looking for an amp to add to a mild/budget system, give this amp a serious look. Its tiny size/price let's this amp fit anywhere, and in almost any budget. It fit behind the radio in my 08 4Runner. The T4R has a strange speaker arrangement, with a 2.75" driver in the door (replaced w/ Kenwood Exc) paired w/ 6x9's & 6.5's in the rear (replaced w/ $20 Pioneer G series). With no amp, this setup was tinny, lacked bass depth, and the stage was very low. Just amping them alone brought the bass out, but the dipswitches had to be completely changed after it was installed. I couldnt easily find this information, but for aftermarket everything, you want most everything turned OFF. Unintuitively, the switches are not oriented the same way; for some settings, up is off, others, off is down. This would be easy to figure out with a manual, but none exists; it's hard to figure out what each setting does. "Fader" rolls the bass off at high volume, "compression" makes older produced songs sound newer and bright, and "Kicker EQ" boosts the midrange and low end at low volumes - none of these things were useful to me. "Time alignment"is the one thing you do want to leave on, as well as any crossovers you want. Now, the tuning I found it works best with volume at 3/4, all accessories turned off, all EQ and processors OFF, sub OFF, mic on driver's headrest. The hurdles are worth it! The DSP makes MAGIC happen, balancing the frequency response & brings your music to life!

Pros: Very small footprint, DSP processing at an affordable price point. Makes cheap speakers sound expensive!

Cons: Confusing dip switch settings, lack of a concise and clearly written manual

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

IMPRESSIVE

Vincent from Central California on 3/9/2021

2005 Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these 4 Kicker 47KSC6504 coaxial 6-1/2 in. speakers in my car. (Kenwood DNR476S Head Unit and Infinity BassLink Mini powered subwoofer under my passenger seat) I tried for a very long time and I was unable to get the sound I wanted from the speakers. Somehow they always seemed harsh sounding until I tried this amp. I put it in my glove box for easy access. Finally I got the sound I was looking for and all under 7 minutes. The auto setup procedure was easy. Amazing!!! WOW!!! The "Low Rider" song and the Doobies never sounded better.

Pros: Auto Setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2020 Ford Ranger

James from YPSILANTI, MI on 3/9/2021

2020 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is awesome! Installed in my 2020 Ford Ranger along with Kicker speakers and tweeters. Ran the dsp, sounds like a pair of very good headphones. Notes: The FOR-11CK harness works for the 2020 Ranger. Key setup button is on the microphone cord. Amp power light stays on for a few minutes after head unit is shut off. Amp will fit on bracket above glove box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Stroudsburg, PA on 3/5/2021

2017 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect amp for my 2017 wrangler. Fits in space under the steering wheel. Excellent sound. Great amp.

Pros: Perfect size for vehicle that doesn't have a lot of space. Great sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

kicks butt!

Crutchfield customer from Anaheim, CA on 3/3/2021

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this myself on a 2018 Tacoma stock head unit. I also upgraded all the speakers to the KS series. Changing the speakers alone yielded great results. But after hearing how great it sounded I figured I would go one more step. Installed the kicker key 200.4 with the stock speaker wire configuration and now i can hear the rear speakers just fine and it sounds really good. The system sounds tight with good bass response and plenty of headroom. Overall I'm really happy with the upgrades and it wasn't too bad on the pocket book. now I'm eyeing a new sexy head unit. Crutchfield's customer service is awesome and I will be a longtime customer.

Pros: Enjoying my drive now.

Cons: If it sounds this good now should I just just throw 5 sheets to the wind and go to hog heaven? It's only money.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Punta Gorda, FL on 3/1/2021

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Harrodsburg, KY on 2/13/2021

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Time correction on this thing is awesome. It did in a few minutes what would take me hours and probably still would not sound as good as this thing . It is small and takes up very little space .

Pros:

Cons: Only lasted 4 days before it quit working.

Crutchfield response on 2/16/2021
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Kim, reached out to this customer and set up a return. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

It does what it says it will!

Crutchfield customer from Spring Valley, WI on 1/10/2021

2013 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using this amp in a Sprinter van running Morel Virtus 502 components in front and Morel Ultra Coax 602s in the back door. The head unit is a Kenwood 577s. First, the digital processing is amazing, and saved an amature hours of time. This combination, along with a Bose Mini Link powered sub, is absolutely amazing in the quality of sound produced. If there was a critique, it would be that with the huge volume of air and the speakers, I could use a few more watts. But this is not the amps fault but my application. Still plenty of clean power for normal and above volume listening. A great amp for those who don't want to or don't know how to set up a soundstage.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 12/24/2020

2020 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Little powerhouse of an amp really woke up the stock system, but the auto EQ is the real star of the show. ????????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Just OK

Crutchfield customer from Fishers, IN on 12/22/2020

2020 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is Ok. I had higher hopes for it but not really impressed.

Pros: Small size. Low power need.

Cons: Mediocre power

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Tifton, GA on 12/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So for so good, it really enhanced my sound gotta invest in better speakers,tweeters an a sub woofer now

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple solution to anemic factory audio

James from GREENSBORO, NC on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Kicker Key is a brilliant product. I've heard better from more expensive brands but at $249.00 there's little that can compete against the sub $300 priced point for a DSP and amplifier in one. Directions were clear and install was as expected. Setup and Auto-EQ was easy breezy. Gain Matching less easy - had a noticeable hiss with increased gain and the volume stepping was too much. Dialed the gains back and it still sounded big and full of soundstage so I kept them at zero. My only critique is that the digital amp looses accuracy and detail as you push the volume levels as high as a Class A/B equivalent. Small sacrifice in the end though given the price point. In the end, the feature I unexpectedly enjoyed the most was the Kicker EQ equalizer setting. It increased the bottom end and made the whole cabin feel more vibrant. I'm usually a Tone Defeat/Signal Flat kinda listener but the Kicker EQ setting worked really well for my vehicle. Paired with Morel Maximo 6 Components front and Maximo Coaxials rear. Full Soundskins treatment on all doors. Running 4 channel, Kicker EQ enabled, Compression OFF, Gains set to zero.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Eunice, LA on 12/13/2020

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amount of power out of such a small amplifier definitely amazed me. Small enough to fit behind my head unit inside the dash and also perfect sound. Live the key automatic setup and eq process.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome little amp

Ben from MARKESAN, WI on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this in my 2020 F150 and am using it in 4 channel mode to power morel maximo speakers. Install was relatively easy. I have never amped door speakers before so I wasn't sure what to expect, but the end result is absolutely amazing over stock. The auto tune feature was extremely easy and that alone cleaned the sound up tremendously. I cant believe the technology they can pack into such a tiny unit. Theres alot of little adjustments you can do to get the sound just right which is noce. The only con i can think of is there were no instructions included, no prob, i just went online and downloaded them.

Pros: Extremely small size, easy install, lots of adjustment options, auto tune is pure genius

Cons: No instructions

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wow

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 12/6/2020

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm not an audiophile, but it adds great clean sound to the kicker speakers that I upgraded from the stock Tacoma speakers. Easy to install and incredibly small.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Superb Amplifier in a small package. Built in DSP

Bryan from TEMECULA, CA on 12/3/2020

2010 Nissan Frontier SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier is superb. Small Size. More than adequate power and built-in DSP. I purchased and installed this Amp on a recommendation of a fellow forum member for its low cost, size, and built-in DSP feature. Installation of this AMP requires a little more work, especially if using it in the Bi-Amp mode but well worth it. The KEY feature is a great and easy to setup system for optimal sound. Now my system sounds great.

Pros: Small Size Power Built-in DSP

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Sachse, TX on 11/30/2020

2020 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great soind for such a compact amp. Don't let the size fool you, it's awesome! Installed in my F150 and it produces great sound for my truck!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Ladson, SC on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing little amp package.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

As advertised- amazing sound and value!

Mark from Leawood on 11/25/2020

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised! The Kicker 47KEY200.4 is technically advanced, small and sounds amazing using a variety of sources. Installed in a 2016 Toyota 4Runner with Entune Plus running Kenwood eXcelon KFC-XP6902c in the front doors and dash. KFC-X174 in the rear doors and hatch. The front two channels are running the front doors and dash. The rear two channels are running the rear doors and hatch which is how a 4Runner is wired. I used the Metra brackets and plugs provided by Crutchfield. I also added Dynamat in the lower doors and Stinger RoadKill Fast Rings all the way around. My system sounds as good at lower volume as it does up loud. The sound stage is now front and center with good separation of vocals and instruments. Bass is improved and more accurate.

Pros: Small and powerful with DSP

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

"Radio detect" does not work on newer chrysler vehicles

Ryan from Orlando, FL on 11/24/2020

2020 Jeep Gladiator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok so this amp would absolutely get 5 stars if the "radio detect" actually worked on my gladiator. My headunit would not send out audio signal. This feature is what made me choose this amp so that was a let down. I can say I have used the alpine power pack and this kicker key and wow!!! The kicker blows it out of the water. The dsp is phenomenal! If running on a jl or jt you can solder in 47 ohm 5 w resistors between positive and negative wires on each channel

Pros: Price Sound quality Dsp Eq

Cons: Radio detect didn't work for me

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great product.

Crutchfield customer from Pinellas Park, FL on 11/17/2020

2009 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced my factory amp with this unit and what an amazing difference. My factory head unit went bad and the after market Sony didn't work well with the factory amp but now everything is right with the world again. Took a bit of work to wire into the factory speaker harness but well worth the effort. The DSP was easy to set up and balanced out the speakers perfectly. A+ I also love the small footprint. It fit perfectly under the seat where the factory amp had been. It's plenty loud enough but I was more interested in the quality of sound. Even my friends who are really into audio were impressed with how good it sounds.

Pros: Size, quality, ease of use, features

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Cory from SPRINGFIELD, OR on 11/8/2020

2020 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to add a couple pair of Kicker CS 6.5's. The technology these pack is amazing considering their size. I'll include a pic of when I was building the amp rack, this and the Key 500.1 are mounted side by side. That distribution block is mini-ANL, not ANL to give you an idea how compact these are. These amps compensate for any factory crossovers your vehicle might have then they tune the output for an amazing sound on a factory radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing Amp for my 2021 Jeep Wrangler Sport S

Crutchfield customer from AMITYVILLE, NY on 10/26/2020

2020 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is awesome! If you want to keep your stock head unit and upgrade your speakers, you HAVE to try this. This tiny amp can fit anywhere, it eliminates the need for a line out converter and adds DSP (digital signal processing) capabilities. It uses an auto setup process and microphone to equalize the speakers and apply time alignment. It makes a near perfect sound stage! It brings the sound stage from the sides and floor of the vehicle up above the dash and to the center of the vehicle. Amazing!

Pros: Incredible sound quality for the money! Saves countless dollars, wiring, and installation time for the equipment usually required to produce these results.

Cons: Not a problem for me but this product is not suited for anyone who likes full control of their equalization and sound quality. The magic is in the auto setup. If you you like to tinker and fix the sound to exactly how YOU want it, this may not be for you. If you are like me and prefer a "set it and forget it" solution, THIS IS IT!

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing sound in an itty-bitty living space.

Crutchfield customer from Everett, WA on 10/19/2020

2020 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a solution for the muddy underwhelming sound in a 2020 Subaru Outback Onyx XT. With the factory head being almost impossible to replace, and the built in DSP, the Kicker Key became a stand up solution. Installation was very straightforward, and set up and tuning was a breeze - push the button and go. Clear separation of left and right sound channels, factory fade and timing are maintained, and the sound stage came to life. I did run the set up twice, the first time the microphone was pointed straight up(as recommended) but found it allowed too much high end and sounded tinny. When I ran it the second time, I angled the mic just a little forward, and found the perfect sweet spot. Powerful mids, great vocals, and sharp highs came to life. It was a night and day difference. Overall I highly recommend this amp for the ease of installation, the simplicity of tuning, and the great sound stage it reconstructs. I combined the 200.4 with Kicker DS 6x9s and Kicker 6-3/4s.

Pros: Ease of wiring, easy tuning, DSP repair, Bi-ampable, Hi-level input, Start/stop engine compatibility, tiny form factor(can hide it almost anywhere). Most factory wiring can handle it without running new wires to the dash, or door speakers.

Cons: Sadly only 50w RMS per channel. Would love for Kicker to come out with a Key with 75-100w per channel. But even at 50w it still shines.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Las Cruces, NM on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ram upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Hesperia, CA on 10/13/2020

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of best items I have purchased from Crutchfield sounds like I installed 600 watts and it's only 200

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Boulder City, NV on 10/3/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great small amp, I was able to tuck this in above the glove box on my Tacoma. I have it set in Biamp mode to drive a set of Morel separates. The only hiccup I ran into was during setup, as it turns out you do not want to turn up your head unit output to full, better to set it at 3/4 to full. once I did that, the auto setup procedure completed successfully.

Pros: Small, auto setup procedure

Cons: Make sure there is plenty of airspace as this gets hot.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Crutchfield customer from Jupiter, FL on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding amp for the size. You have to see how small this is to believe it. The auto dsp is great too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

If you have a Jeep, buy this amp.

Crutchfield customer from Cortez, CO on 9/16/2020

2018 Jeep Wrangler (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is clean, powerful, and auto DSP makes it shine. For the price, this gets 95% of the way to separate DSP's, software and amps costing 3-4 times this in total. This amp is now in a Jeep JK Wrangler, driving Kicker 6.5 and 3.5 inch KS speakers, and is orders of magnitude better than stock even when driven from low end factory head unit. With DSP on, I can actually understand vocals with windows down at 65MPH. I am also using KEY500.1 with two 8 inch Kicker subs, high pass on KEY200.4 at 60Hz. Very solid satisfying bass.

Pros: See review. nuff sed.

Cons: Unit would be so much easier to setup with subs if it had a line level subwoofer out that got frequencies that high pass does not send to other 4 speakers. Kicker, are you listening?

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing DSP features and plenty of clean power!

Robert from Buford on 8/29/2020

2017 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this amp in my 2017 Tacoma with a factory head unit. I was skeptical on the DSP tuning features but after installing it I cannot believe how good it is! The Tacoma has full sound deadening on the doors and floor. I'm running Kicker CX Speakers in the doors, Kicker tweeters in the dash, and a Kicker Comp R 10" ported 1.4 cu ft enclosure tuned at 36 hz with a Kicker CX800.1 pushing 300 watts to the sub at 4 ohms. The auto tuning on this amp is really amazing especially if your running a stock head unit, it completely changed the sound stage and made a mid level system sound so enjoyable that I cannot justify upgrading to higher end gear, it's that good!

Pros: Auto Setup DSP features are excellent Excellent power and clarity Excellent Integration with a factory head unit Does not run hot Easy Installation Versatile, set head unit flat run auto tune, don't be afraid to bump bass or treble up or down a little and re tune, experiment and listen to various types of music to personalize it for your listening tastes.

Cons: The auto setup process itself can be a little confusing at first but it's not bad.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

8 of 10 found this helpful

Kicker 47KEY200.4

Anthony from ARLINGTON, TX on 8/25/2020

2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing little amp and the AI auto tune is almost spot on pushes just a little to much treble but easy to fix with adjustment on stereo

Pros: Small sounds really good

Cons: Highs can be a little over powering but easily fixed with adjustments on head unit

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

kicker key amp

Crutchfield customer from Irvine, CA on 8/24/2020

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic small amp, i am blown away by this product. Easy to install, compact enough to store behind the factory head unit. Need to drive and listen to my stereo a little more to enjoy the new sound

Pros: compact size, powerful, great sounds, fairly simple installation and good value

Cons: the auto key set up is tricky. I have to redo it a few times to get it right.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Tiny Powerhouse

Mark from CINCINNATI, OH on 8/23/2020

2006 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You're gonna love this little brute. Auto EQ and time alignment is great. Soundstage is noticeably improved and does not sound processed. If you're skeptical about this amp, don't be. This small unit packs a serious punch and provides enough volume to four speakers to drive you out of the car (ask my wife). Setup is dead simple and connections are easy to make thanks to the removable wiring harnesses on both ends. Key setup takes about 3-4 minutes. Download the pink noise tones from Kicker's website and have them ready on your source. Roll all the windows up and turn off noisemaking accessories (AC for example). Position the included microphone on the driver's headrest. Turn the volume up to about 3/4, then press play on your pink noise source. Squeeze the inline button on the mic's cable, then shut your doors when the beeping starts and wait for the tones at the end. Four descending tones indicate an error, success is indicated by "charge" in beeps. A few suggestions: don't enable the bandpass filter unless you have a need to, it's very effective and will starve your speakers of low end. If you have a pair of 6.5 or larger this amp will drive them hard and produce plenty of low end. Also try avoid the compression setting; this squashes the signal. If you find you need compression, consider speakers that can handle what you're dishing out instead. Your ears will thank you. This amp drives my power-hungry JL Audio C2s with volume to spare. Highly recommended!

Pros:  Simple setup  Small size, fits almost anywhere  Auto-EQ and time alignment features work very well  Removable/Modular wiring harnesses

Cons:  Manual was not included  Online manual is not well written

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 7 found this helpful

Perfect amp!!

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 7/15/2020

2013 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp!! Perfect little amp and it does so much!! Matched perfect with my Kicker interior speakers!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

High Tech Excellence

Crutchfield customer from Hawthorne, CA on 7/7/2020

2004 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is amazing and has dialed in my cars radio sound perfectly. I'm very impressed with it.

Pros: Small and great for hiding in tight spots out of view, easily adjustable, self tuning. Trouble shooting and adjustment videos are extremely easy to understand.

Cons: None. This is my first time using an amp like this and it's still too soon for me to give an honest critique.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Rocks no little to none tuning

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 6/23/2020

1996 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small and the dsp rocks hardly no tuning needed Love it !!!

Pros: No pros

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Naples

Seth from Naples on 6/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is TINY! I'm using this to push Audiofrog g60s componenets front and rear and it sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small but mighty

Crutchfield customer from Ozark, AL on 5/26/2020

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first DSP controlled amp and it really does a great job . The overall imaging and clarity compared to my old amp is amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Improved sound

Crutchfield customer from Lake Worth, FL on 4/28/2020

2020 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very powerful amplifier, 50watts rms x4 high output delivers. Sound quality has changed with improvements in midrange clarity and bass output. I placed this into a 2020 honda civic hatchback sport, JL Audio C1 components on all doors, JL Audio TW1 powered subwoofer connected with high level inputs from the amp with bass knob. Everything melds perfectly. I cut out insulation under carpet where the glove compartment is and placed this there near the head unit.

Pros: Improved sound

Cons: Read directions. I had the input and output crossed at first. The amp went into protection mode. I read directions and found my mistake as I thought all inputs were on the side which included the power and ground. I rewired and worked perfectly without damage to the amp.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP