Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
607 357 822 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
607 357 822 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Kicker KEY180.4

Compact 4-channel car amplifier with automatic tuning DSP — 45 watts RMS x 4

MFR # Kicker KEY180.4

Kicker KEY180.4

Kicker KEY180.4

Compact 4-channel car amplifier with automatic tuning DSP — 45 watts RMS x 4

MFR # Kicker KEY180.4

68 reviews
View this product

Great little amp!

Mike from San Antonio, TX on 5/27/2020

2019 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great little amp! This thing provides plenty of power and really dialed in the sound. I couldn't believe the sounds stage after setting it up, lifts the sounds to an impressive level. Set up was somewhat easy, just time consuming. I installed this in a 2019 Escape, kept the factory radio and functions. Kicker Key did exactly what I was hoping it would do. Very impressed, would buy again and recommend to my friends.

Pros: Small Great Eq Powerful all in one package, can't be it

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 5/25/2020

2019 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really impressed by this amp it makes the system come together like magic the doors use to rattle now they don't ! It makes my power sub sound awesome!! It was a little difficult to hook up in my 2019 Ram so make sure you program it to the tuning of vehicle specific but other then that it's pretty awesome

Pros: Tuning fixs rattle of the doors

Cons: Programming install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Papillion, NE on 5/6/2020

2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful product! Did exactly what was expected it. Really brought the speakers to life.

Pros: Did exactly what it said it would do.

Cons: Wish the eq mic was just a little bit longer to work with.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Sound!

David from GILBERTS, IL on 5/4/2020

2012 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Sound! Installed into 2012 Honda Accord along with Kicker 46CSS674 6.75 inch component speakers in front doors and rear shelf. After plugging in the microphone and running through the automatic setup, I have to say the sound is awesome. I placed the microphone between the front seat headrests since I was looking for balanced sound across the front. The improvement in imaging is excellent. The sound stage is raised up and seems to come from the door tweeters even though the woofers are lower down in the doors. I really enjoy the flat frequency response and makes my car sound a lot like my home system with tall floor standing speakers.

Pros: Raised stereo imaging. Flat frequency response.

Cons: Does not install itself.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Thomas P from Clarksville, MD on 4/18/2020

2013 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very small and works very well compared to factory amp(there wasn't even one in my vehicle to begin with). The first amp I recieved worked for a little but ended up faulty. Crutchfield sent out a replacement immediately.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Substantial upgrade but not a plug and play install.

Crutchfield customer from Conway, SC on 4/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using as speaker level interfaced with factory head unit. The wires on the harness could be longer; if this was a simple brick it would be okay, but because it has lots of controls and indicators you want to mount it somewhere accessible. The DSP built-in is nice since I don't have a smart phone and many aftermarket EQ/interfaces are in this price range without the power. It is a substantial upgrade to the factory system in my 2007 Chevy Impala and coaxes out subtantially more bass from the Polk dBx 6 x 9's on the rear deck. The auto turn-on feature saved some exporation of the factory harness.

Pros: Compact and almost fit behind the factory install. More power than factory by a significant margin. Included set-up mike is a bargain.

Cons: Short leads on harnesses made for tight work. You want to be able to get to all the controls, and included leads did not let me locate where I can access them. Ended up clamping it to plastic trim panel instead of screwing it in so I can pull it down to adjust settings. The microphone strap for calibration was not long enough to secure to my headreast but it laid in place long enough to do the pink noise test. Manual does not explain which tones are EQ'd vs straight when toggling settings.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Gives a much needed boost to stock Tacoma Entune

Crutchfield customer from Londonderry, NH on 1/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this in my 2017 Toyota Tacoma. I had wanted to change out the head unit, but decided to see if I could improve the sound itself instead. I added some Kicker speakers and they were better than stock for sure, but it still lacked some oomph and clarity, which this Kicker Key adds. I barely got it in with the wiring behind the stereo, but it's a nice addition. The main difficulty is that it's not an amateur wiring job. Had it not been for some VERY detailed posts and contributions on the Tacoma message boards, I'd have been utterly lost in installation. I'm fairly adept at this stuff, but if you're going to self install, you need to be on your game. That being said, the auto adjust feature is rad, and it sounds great, and I'm happy I did it.

Pros: inexpensive, small, easy adjustment

Cons: not an amateur wiring job.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Worth a look if you want to keep your factory look.

Crutchfield customer from Cottage Grove, MN on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little disappointed with the wire lengths. I needed to extend the input wires to get enough room to work with, even though I mounted this directly behind the factory head unit. That said, it does improve the factory system quite dramatically. Just a bit bass heavy, which I was able to tone down with the head unit's bass control. Maybe some aftermarket speakers would help clean that up. Someday... Overall, I'd say this is a nice upgrade to the factory system.

Pros: Good sound Cleans up factory equalization, especially the midrange. Time alignment is terrific for the driver seat. Nice compact size

Cons: Short hookup wires may need extending.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Royse City, TX on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lived up to all its expectations. It did, in my application, add a lot of low mid range. In order to balance out the sound I dialed some of that back with the eq on the head unit. The sound stage did change significantly from the center of the car to the center of the drivers head which is a pretty impressive improvement.

Pros: Put the sound stage right where it should be.

Cons: Auto eq isn't perfect

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Complete Transformation

Neil from Mechanicsburg, PA on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to run the calibration a number of times before I found the sweet spot for the microphone. Once I found the right spot, which for me was above my right shoulder rather than the middle of the headrest, it completely transformed the sound in my 2nd gen Chevy Colorado. I also had an issue with the polarity of one of my dash speakers, which I figured out using a Polarity Checker app on my phone. If it doesn't sound right after doing the initial calibration it's definitely worth your time to tinker with it and see if different microphone placement makes it sound better to you. The actual install was a piece of cake. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who's looking to enhance their factory radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 12/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After professional installation and some new speakers, my new Ranger has a great stereo! Can't be beat for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Cordova, TN on 12/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this amp in my 3rd gen tacoma and it really makes the aftermarket speakers come alive with the factory head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Factory Equipment Upgrade beyond simple belief

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First word...AMAZING. So much technology in such a small layout. After purchasing Kicker Key 180.4 unit, I was more concerned about where it was going to fit when installed. Once unpacked and out of the box, I felt immensely relieved. Improving performance on factory headunit without sacrificing any of the built-in features and making it affordable should be two of the most significant factors on buying one of these Kicker DSP amplifier units.

Pros: Affordable, versatile, easy to install and impressive performance by using DSP technology and output amplification at once.

Cons: Wish it would do more than 45 watt amplification per channel.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice Amp!

Crutchfield customer from Royal, AR on 11/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced all the factory speakers in my 2018 F150 but I still wasn't getting the sound I wanted so I did some research and decided to add this amp. It drastically changed my sound for the better. It's simple to set up and gives plenty of power to drive typical door and dash speakers. I would buy it again.

Pros: Small Simple to setup Nice features Good amount of power

Cons: Input and output connection points could be better

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Land O Lakes, FL on 11/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great thing. Music sound great and much louder. Thanks to Bear and Corey from crutchfield for helping me the whole time!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Makes your stock radio what it should have been!

Matthew from Little Elm, TX on 10/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2015 Ford Focus with Factory Sync 1 stereo with a "FOR-11CK- NO CUTTING FACTORY HARNESS". Compact. Sounds great and enhances your factory radio. The DSP is good, but it took me about 6 tries before I got it to sound good. Make sure that you position the mic UP towards the ceiling. I suggest that you place the button on the mic in a convenient location so that you can switch DSP on and off as you are listening to music. Some songs sound better with it off. The DSP seems to decrease the upper treble, increase the bass, and balance the audio so that the left side, closest to the driver, level is decreased. DSP mode sounds like the singer in the song is singing towards you instead of the entire crowd. It brings out sounds that you did not hear before in the music, which is sometimes static. The DC off-set option allows you to install the amp without the "blue wire" to control when the amp turns on and off, and it works. Kicker should include a wiring harness that is longer than 12 inches or offer an extension to purchase. I had to install it behind the radio, but would like to mount it under the glove box. I haven't installed an amp since the 1990's but was able to with this configuration.

Pros: Compact.

Cons: 12 inch cables.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Like Magic

Crutchfield customer from Menlo Park on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think of myself as an audiophile and an unofficial DJ (haha). I listen to many genres of music including acoustic styles and especially EDM. So my standards are higher than most people especially since i know how the songs are supposed to sound. Easy install. Difficulty depends on your car and ease of access to factory wires. The unit is compact so you have lots of options of where you can put it. The front outputs power my Focal tweeters and woofers, which are wired in parallel, with inline crossovers. Im not using the rear outputs, but if i were my tweeters and front woofers would be powered separately. I just didn't want to deal with running new wires in my 2019 Honda Ridgeline. Either way, i'm extremely happy with the sound quality. The Kicker EQ is amazing. It really makes my Focal tweeters and woofers shine. The mids and highs in the music i listen to sounds the way they were intended to sound. Actually as good as my Audiotechnica studio headphones. Maybe even better... I love the "compression" feature which limits the amp's output as you increase your headunit's volume, basically protecting your speakers from distortion. This hasn't really come into play though, since I get distortion at around 32/40 volume, but with this amp I get plenty of volume at 20/40. Overall, this amp in conjunction with my 10" ported subwoofer powered by 330 w rms provides me with amazing sound quality with plenty of volume to spare and damage your ears...

Pros: Does its job as advertised

Cons: Can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Latham, NY on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is exactly what I was looking forward to make my factory system sound better!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker Key is the key!

Crutchfield customer from Temecula, CA on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I cannot believe the difference this little amp made in my otherwise stock stereo system. Wow. Just wow. Took a bit of wiring to get it installed, but it fit perfectly behind the deck in the dash. Looks perfectly stock, but sounds incredible. The built in DSP makes the system for sure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great little amp

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the amp installed a couple weeks ago and it sounds great. The built in DSP really does a good job with the sound stage. I would definitely recommend it. Fast shipping and great customer service.

Pros: Power, sound quality, built in DSP, size, cost.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Baytown, TX on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

made a great improvement over stock radio. easy to install

Pros: built in eq, small

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Linden, NJ on 8/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wery good amplifier, works grate with my 4 kicker speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Ted from Lenexa, KS on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought two of these for my F-150 and my wife's Fusion and they are great. Really easy to install and set up and make the factory systems sound amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Well-Built Powerhouse With Options

Eric from Toano, VA on 7/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Right off, let me say that I ended up replacing this Key180.4 with the Alpine KTP-445U unit. Reason being, the auto-calibrated "DSP" mode with 40-band EQ actually made my system sound tinnier and more like in a tin can. That said, it was fabulous with the DSP bypassed, I just didn't see the need to pay for something I wasn't going to use. In apparent build quality and design the Kicker looks superior to the Alpine (heavier gauge wiring, better mounting, adjustments on the ends, etc. if not for the disappointing one-size-fits-all DSP I would have given it five stars. The build quality, reasonable price, and serious 24dB/octave high pass filters moved it to 4-star status in my book. I will note that I had this connected in a 2015 Accord Sport with base radio but I have Polk dB1001 tweets in the RV mirror panels so that might've caused the disappointing "corrected" sound quality vs. just bypassing it.

Pros: Great quality, s/n ratio seems better than the spec, very clean sound, 24 dB/octave hi-pass filters.

Cons: One side fits all DSP, didn't do much for me. A little pricey if you don't need or use the DSP, but worth a shot if you're on the fence due to Crutchfield's excellent return policy.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Excellent Factory Upgrade Option

Crutchfield customer from Hooks, TX on 7/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't sure what to expect from this amp, but it has surpassed my expectations. If you are looking for a quick, easy, and fairly inexpensive way to increase the performance of your factory system I highly suggest the Kicker Key 180.4 smart amp. I replaced the factory 6x9's in my truck with Rockford's P1692's & P1694's and powered them with the Kicker 180.4. The new system sounded great after installation and after I ran the built-in DSP setup I was amazed by the difference. Before adding the amp I listened to my system around volume 18, but now it shakes my rear view mirror with the volume only at 14. Be advised I did have to deactivate the Active Noise Cancellation (ANC) system to prevent feedback; however, from my research this is required with the installation of any aftermarket amp. If you're trying to power more than 4 speakers be careful of the ohm values. This little guy is only rated for a minimum of 4-ohms per channel. If you're only wanting to upgrade factory, this will do it; however, if you have bigger plans you want to consider something else.

Pros: PRICE, COMPACT, EASY INSTALL/SETUP

Cons: MINIMUM OF 4-OHMS PER CHANNEL

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Burlington, WI on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple to install and setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from S Bound Brook, NJ on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product I asked the team what to choose I had two items I wanted he directed me that the keysmart would do the job of both items I picked and half the price! Quick response and quick delivery!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

G-Body goodness

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pleasant, WI on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is awesome! I especially like that it allows me to keep the stock radio in my classic car, but have nice sound . Te small size makes it easy to place where it is not seen.

Pros: Effective, Small, Value for the money

Cons: None (so far)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Well worth every penny

Crutchfield customer from Bellerose, NY on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best decision ever. Great product very well designed compliments to kicker for creating such an outstanding all in one device(amp and dsp). The improvement s after installtion are mind blowing. And step by step tech support by crutchfield is also applauded. Installed in 2016 accord lx with factory stereo but has turned my world upside down. Must get for those who wants to keep factory setup and still enjoy great musical output with details and clarity well balanced staging.

Pros: Works well with factory stereo. Great improvement .

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 5 found this helpful

Great Sound!!

Darrell from Edmond, OK on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow!! I installed a Kicker KEY 180.4 into my 2001 BMW M5, replacing the 20 y/o factory DSP system. I was skeptical that such a small amp would yield the results I was after, but I'm very, very impressed. Combined with a Focal Integration series 5.25" component set in the doors and a Kicker 5.25" coaxial set in the rear deck, the sound was initially good, but not great. However, after running the Auto-Tune routine the system sounds incredible. The sound stage is lifted and thanks to the time alignment it gives the illusion that the sound is coming from the dash rather than the doors. Installation was fairly straightforward as I was able to use the power/ground from my stock amp. I hope Kicker uses this technology in future products (a larger 5ch amp with Key technology would be perfect!)

Pros: Small size Sound quality

Cons: Limited power No manual adjustment of Auto-EQ settings

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Make your factory sound great

Jon from Yuma, AZ on 4/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used it on a Toyota Sienna which had awful sound. Instead of spending megabucks, bought this amp. Installed by a professional. Now it sounds very high end. It has built in filters which bring out the complexity of the music and voices. But you must, repeat must play the "pink noise" provided by Kicker into the included microphone to calibrate the unit, otherwise it will just be amplified, louder bad sound. I know this to be a fact because the installer did not calibrate the amp on the first try, and only did calibrate it when I brought the car back to try to improve the sound. BUY IT!

Pros: Built in filters create a clarity and depth of sound found in high end equipment at a low cost

Cons: Requires calibration using "pink noise" downloaded from manufacturer to attain the great sound quality

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Mount Airy, MD on 4/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and compact. I was able to install this behind the factory radio and tap-in to the factory wiring harness in my 2014 Mustang. Do NOT use the factory speakers with this amp, it will sound terrible. You need to upgrade the factory speakers (I'm using Focal ICU 570 in factory locations). Be mindful of the gain (not a volume control). I have mine set to about 1/3rd the way and this is plenty of power for my set-up. I also like the "clipping" LED to provide some reference point.

Pros: Compact size, easy to hide inside the dash, plenty of power.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

amchev from Sylacauga, AL on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The built in signal processor is outstanding. It's very helpful that you can press the microphone button to compare the sound with and without the SP.

Pros: Signal processor. Bypass button, easy to install.

Cons: Not much.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

You wont be dissappointed!!!

Crutchfield customer from Hayward, CA on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this thing hooked up for about two days and maybe logged 10 miles of driving, but I must say "WOW," this little thing has got some punch! The difference is night and day. I went for about a month with a new head unit and Focal 5x& speakers. The sound was good. I had to really play with the EQ on the head unit to get a sound that I liked and I felt satisfied with the money that was spent on everything!!!! THEN CAME THIS LITTLE POWER HOUSE!!!! After hooking it up...running it through it's Auto Tune function...."WOW!!!!" My EQ is flat...all the extra sound enhancing stuff is off....and man, everything sounds like money well spent!!! And this unit is tucked away in my dash of all places. This little unit showed me why my Focal speakers cost the amount that they did!!! No longer just satisfied with the sound....I'm extremely HAPPY with it!

Pros: Small, powerful, auto tuning! Leaves you with plenty of room to make other adjustments on your sound.

Cons: I haven't had it long enough to find any. Although, because of it being so small, you tend to hide this in the tiniest of spots...not sure how that is going to play out for me when heat becomes a factor.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Powell, OH on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp. Setup is easy and the auto EQ and time alignment works. Note to Ford owners. Make sure you have your center speaker disconnected during the auto setup or else the end result will be poor.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Make my factory receiver great again

Crutchfield customer from Dubuque, IA on 3/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for a little more power and clarity in my factory receiver. The Kicker KEY180.4 amp did not disappoint. I installed this along with a pair of Infinity Reference REF-6532ex speakers, also from Crutchfield, in my front and rear doors. The Kicker Key180.4 was an easy decision after watching a video review on Crutchfield. It has just enough power for me, but the real deal is in the DSP. It makes my factory receiver sound magnificent. Thank you Crutchfield for all the advice.

Pros: DSP Does not take up much space

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Buy this amp!

Crutchfield customer from Portsmouth, NH on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp has surpassed all expectations. I originally planned on also adding subwoofers to my Tacoma, but this amp has totally eliminated any need for that. My door speakers are pumping out tons of bass. The highs and mids are crystal clear. This is the single greatest modification I've made to my truck since owning it.

Pros: Totally transforms the sound of your already-existing system Works with stock head unit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Roy from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kicker key180.4installed easy enough but setting it up via Bluetooth was another story. Without the DSP engaged it is a very good amp. It has ample volume and very clean sound. As far as it's performance as an amplifier, it's a very good one,but I still have not been able to get the DSP to work. That's a shame really because that was the main reason I bought it.

Pros: Ease of installation and very clean sound.

Cons: Getting the DSP set up and working.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Fix the F-150 Stock system without breaking the bank.

JW from Bountiful, UT on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you have a 2017 F150 with the stock SYNC system and want to keep the factory head with sync this is a great solution for you! I wanted to get some better sound out of my stock (Not Sony) system. I like to feel the base and have clear sound that fills the cabin. I started by adding some kicker speakers. I installed a set of components up front that fit right in with the stock tweeter position and a set of two ways for the back position. Item #206CSS694, and Item #206DSC6704. The new speakers helped but the sound was just flat and no punch at all. My Stock head unit was definitely holding these new speakers back. After adding the KEY180. the system is great! I didn't even have to disable the auto start stop in the truck as others have had to with a large amp install. The sound is rich and full. You can now feel the base but not to the point of the truck being a thumper. My only complaint would be that I wish I could have more control over the sound i.e. a little EQ or some different presets to use. With the older head setups I always liked the "Loud" mode it sounds best to me. This is almost perfect with very easy setup. I used a factory connector from amazon, the FOR-11CK-No Cutting Factory Harness. Sadly Crutchfield does not have a harness kit for this truck. The little amp installed tucked up in the dash perfectly too. Great sound and near simple install. I highly recommend to those that are looking to bring the factory blah system to life!

Pros: Great sound from a small package. Easily hidden. Auto set up. Keep factory head unit. No need to disable auto start stop.

Cons: Would like some more settings, presets or EQ.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Dustin from Las Vegas, NV on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you're looking to upgrade your factory stereo, do not look any further. This thing is amazing. For the price, it can't be beat. You will not be disappointed with the sound quality.

Pros: Small size, easy set up, sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

J from Williamsburg, VA on 10/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp was a easy install. I took the time to wire in connectors so that it plugged into the factory harness with no cutting of wires. I tried the auto setup and at first thought that it sounded good, standing still. But, after driving the car I realized that it pushed the sound stage to the front and made the rear deck speakers sound muddy. I have 3 way JL's in the rear and JL components in the front. The auto tuning removed all the mid and a good portion of the highs and as I said made the base muddy in the rear. I bypassed the tuning, set the gain front to rear, and worked with the tone controls on the factory head in my 2014 Camry and now have much better overall sound. I wish the sound processor had some flexibility in tuning profiles.

Pros: Good size

Cons: One size fits all auto tuning.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Sounds very nice.

MICHAEL from Muncie, IN on 10/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely a noticeable improvement over stock even with after market speakers. I also use a the Bazooka BTd8024DVC and a small 300 watt amp to power it. It blended perfectly without any further adjustment with tight accurate bass matching up with the front mid bass drivers very well. I didn't have to adjust the gain from minimum on the Kicker amp and it was already louder than before I installed it. Previously I used to have a JL XD 3 channel amp that had 75 watts RMS per channel and as far as volume goes, the 45 watts per channel of the Kicker gets just as loud while staying crisp and detailed. I have a HU that has built in DSP with 13 band EQ and I can definitely tell the Kicker's built in 40 band EQ added more clarity to the mid range over what my HU was capable of.

Pros: Does exactly what it's advertised to do. It fit well underneath my dash in my Honda Fit. Sounds very clean and clear. Gets very loud.

Cons: Manual mentioned nothing about adjusting the gain other than to do it after setup but fortunately I didn't need to. Usually when you adjust the gain you have to play a test tone and measure the output or crank your volume up 75% and adjust but the manual says nothing about what they recommend since it has some LED clip indicators. Harness wires could stand to be a little longer when you're connecting to factory speaker wires behind your radio if you want to mount the amp more than 12 inches a

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exactly what my speakers needed.

Everette from Mililani, HI on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the results. After lots of research on how to wire it, I was able to make a plug and play harness. I am enjoying the louder, clearer, crisp sound. I would recommend anyone on the fence to go and get it. You won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Amazing sound for such a small amp

Steve from Grosse Pt Pk, MI on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded my tweeters and door speakers in my 2017 Toyota Tacoma access cab based on a write up on a forum I am on and then moved on to adding a Kicker Hideaway powered sub. Nice sound and the Hideaway added the bass the OEM head unit was unable to provide. My only complaint was it lacked volume. After yet another forum write up I went with the Kicker Key 180.4. Now it has tons of volume and even better sound overall. I am not a super high end audio snob but I like my music to sound good whether it be heavy metal, classical, rockabilly or electronica. With a little tuning the CS series speakers, Key amp and Hideaway powered sub sound great no matter what music I am playing.

Pros: Small and easy to fit behind head unit.

Cons: May not satisfy the highest end audio snobs (but that isn't me I think it sounds awesome).

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker Key 180.4

Dennis from Minot, ND on 10/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OMG!!!! I put this along with Rockford Fosgate speakers, and it was well worth the price. If you own a 18 F150 A302 pkg get this amp! The only part that I did not get from here was a Carav 12-240 wiring harness. Crutchfield did me right. The Kicker Key 180.4 is the real deal. Paired it with Rockford Fosgate Prime R165x3 rears and R169x3 Fronts... phenominal sound .

Pros: It works as advertised and even better

Cons: It doesnt install itself.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Ryan from Indianapolis, IN on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very cool product and a nice way to add some more advanced processing features to your car. Auto Key Setup is the equivalent of the auto eq systems built into modern home theater receivers, just for your car. I'm running this amp in Bi-amp mode to a set of Morel Maximo 6 components without using the passive crossovers. The ability to independently adjust gain is nice especially if your tweeters are on the overly bright side. The Auto Key Setup is the big reason to buy this over other compact ~4x50w/channel amps. The time delay really lifts the stage out of my door panels and moves it out to the center of the dash which sounds nice. I'm not a fan of the EQ settings it choose. It seemed to lack a little in the mid/midbass region, so I turned the EQ off and adjusted with my HU instead. The Bi-amp mode uses a fixed tweeter/mid crossover at 3200hz, i believe at 24db/octave. This works well for the Morels and is probably a better crossover than most component sets come with.

Pros: Adds some nice sound processing features to a basic 4 channel amp to give your front stage a lift. Auto calibration does the work for you.

Cons: Lacks the adjust-ability of a true DSP.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Rick from Cedar Grove, TN on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pain too install under dash of 2007 Miata! Wanted to keep factory radio and not pull door panels back off since I had up graded door speakers to Focal's last summer. Mounted under steering column. Made up harness to look factory and well pleased with sound although I have got to drive it yet due to other projects not complete. Herb Albert and Tijuana Brass sounds great with motor running with a bit of rumble of performance exhaust system! Tatum thanks for help!

Pros: Size and auto set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Easy way to get quality sound

Jake from Marriottsville, MD on 9/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install and did fit behind my dash. Noticeable power increase over just an aftermarket head unit and speakers. It really does make the most out of your system with it's automatic tuning program. Very accurate and reminds me of very expensive factory systems I've heard. Picture perfect tuning with ease!

Pros: Inexpensive for the results it achieves.

Cons: technology not offered in higher powered amps

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just the ticket

Matt from Platteville, WI on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An outstanding little amp. I was hesitant at 1st as the Auto Set Up seemed like a marketing ploy. After watching the video and hearing the A/B difference on my computer speakers I decided to give it a go. I am so glad I did. I have a Pioneer AVH-4201NEX head unit in my 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan with stock speakers. After running the Key Auto Set Up everything I listen to from Metallica to Pink to Harry Potter audio books for the kids, sounds better. I also no longer have to switch to different EQ presets based on what is playing. Talk about a breath of fresh air!! The Sound Ordnance sub is much more dynamic as well. I couldn't be happier with this amp. Great job Kicker!!

Pros: Key Auto Set Up, great sound from stock speakers, price

Cons: none for me

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice little amp for the money.

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 8/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sounding amp for the money. I especially like the way it automatically adjusts the sound for the best results.

Pros: Great sounding little amp for the money.

Cons: Can't think of any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WORK IN PROGRESS

mike from Miami, FL on 7/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sorry about the 3 star but I have-not been able to get my system running yet. I have a 2017 Challenger W/Alpine 6 speaker 276w. I upgraded the speakers to Infinitys and was so happy I decided to add a Kicker Key180.4, Sound Ordinance 2channel amp and Polk audio sub for the rear deck. And while I'm at it add a bunch of Dynamat to help with exhaust drone also. I later got an AudioControl LC6i processor to give me a channel for the sub. It wasn't until I was on AudioControl's website that I found out what might be happening, my head unit does not recognize the amp as speakers so it won't sent a signal. Of course AudioControl has the resistors necessary to correct this problem, they are on order as of my writing. They didn't cost that much and they're plug and play with their processor. I love Crutchfield but maybe my do it myself shopping is not the way to go. Next time I will try an inside rep. Might save me money too!

Pros: I'll get back to you

Cons: I'll get back to you

Crutchfield response on

1 of 25 found this helpful

Haven't installed the Kicker, yet. . .

John from Manchester, NH on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always, Crutchfield delivered my order quickly, and extremely well-packaged. I love these folks! I haven't installed the KEY180.4, yet, but I've received some very helpful tips from their customer service representatives.

Pros: Crutchfield customer service is amazing!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 21 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Perris, CA on 7/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

as advertised. awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Leon from Burbank, CA on 7/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I stumbled upon this amp by accident, and I'm so glad I did! I wanted to keep a stock look, but desperately needed to correct the poor EQ and get a little more power in my SUV. I ready great reviews of this product, and figured it was worth a try. After a pretty easy install, with no splicing (I ordered the input and output harnesses for seamless factory radio integration), I was running the tuning setup and ready to go. The tuning process was about 3 minutes, followed by the "happy tune" and it was done. The results were outstanding! I have aftermarket speakers, but no sub, however, the tune made the system shine. The power is just what I need, and Kicker really did an fantastic job with the tuning and staging algorithms. I've never had Kicker products, but am a fan now. I look forward to seeing how this compact amp does over the long haul. Thanks Crutchfield and Kicker!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

My stereo.

Rick from Bentonville, AR on 7/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like your product, it really makes a Differants to my stereo.

Pros: Sounds really good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 9 found this helpful

Problem solver!

Stevie from Austin, TX on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what my 2017 Silverado needed! I already had JBL speakers in the doors and a Kicker sub, but the EQ and power of the factory system was way inadequate. This Kicker amp took care of all that! In fact, the JBL door speakers now put out enough bass to where I probably don't need a sub. But I love the sub, so I ended up using the 60hz dip switch on the Kicker amp to cut the lows on the door speakers and now have a perfect blend between the Kicker sub and the JBLs. Also have plenty of power and high frequencies to spare. I had to cut the gain back on the Kicker amp after the initial setup though, because the chimes and other sound effects of the Silverado (turn signals, etc.) come through the speakers and were a little too loud.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Steven from Colorado Spgs, CO on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the amp on my 2016 Tacoma along with Kicker speakers nice high soundstage after calibration great addition to the factory head unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

some trouble intalling but great amp overall

michael from Greer, SC on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this paired up with a factory head unit and alpine type s components in the front and coaxials in the back doors. It is amazing how much power comes out of this tiny amp, I had some trouble intalling since my car is newer and there isnt much information on it yet (17 nissan rogue sv without bose). All in all a great little amp although sometimes distortion comes through even though the gains are set super low. Also I am having to reset my sub amp because i am running the signal through the back speakers to the sub amp.

Pros: power, the dsp, and the size of it can fit anywhere.

Cons: It was hard to install because of my lack of expertise and because my car is very new. It distorts sometimes even with the gains set low. difficult to use with subwoofer as well

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

John from Mckenna, WA on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has really improved my factory system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Vineland, NJ on 6/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install! It made a big difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Woah!!!

Charlie from Gainesville, FL on 6/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome!! Had previously replaced all factory speakers in my 2012 F150 with Kenwoods and it sounded much better than the factory but this little amp brought it to life! Great sound now with the Kicker....Install was a piece of cake (after Jason sent me the wiring diagram for my truck). Plenty of bass for this old man! It thumps! As usual top notch service from Crutchfield!!!!

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Finally!!! The sound I wanted

Scott from Findlay, IL on 5/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My factory stereo had to be turned up almost 3/4 of the way to hear it if I was on the highway. First I tried new speakers (from Crutchfield), which I love, but that did not solve my problem. I purchased this Kicker amp. Problem solved. Volume is good and the sound/clarity is way better now that I am properly driving my speakers. I used the auto set up which was very easy. I would recommend this amp. Especially if you want to upgrade your factory sound system.

Pros: Small in size. Very easy to install. Sound is great

Cons: I drove 19,000 miles before taking the plunge and buying this amp. No cons.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Highly recommended

James from Colorado Springs, CO on 4/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I highly recommend this product for factory systems because of it's simplicity and high quality sound it produces. I am very pleased with this product because I didn't have to buy extra hardware or cables and I was able to install it in the dashboard of my 2017 Tacoma. I paired this with Acces Focal speakers. Great combo!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Get this is you want crisp Highs, tight Mids and a great sound stage!

Danan from Saint Johns, FL on 4/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always replaced the factory head unit in my vehicles, but its just not worth doing in my 2017 f-150 because I have the Sync 3 system with all the bells and whistles. The sound however in my truck was absolutely horrible. First I replaced all the factory speakers, which rewarded my ears with a noticeable improvement over the factory sound, but I still wasn't satisfied. Then I added the Kicker Hideaway and finally I was getting the low end that I was missing. But something still needed improvement! The highs and the mids were muddy, I like tight mids and crisp highs and I wasn't getting that even with the EQ maxed out in the head unit. I was eyeballing the Alpine ktp-445u, but then I stumbled upon the Kicker KEY 180.4 and man am I glad I purchased the Kicker Key! Installation took about 2 hours. Auto Key failed the first time with 4 beeps (my volume was too low). I increased my volume and started the process over and a few minutes later I was greeted with the jingle of success. I re-attached to the center channel speaker and sub (neither are attached to the Key) then dialed in the gains according to the directions and popped in my favorite CD. Man this sounds good, I thought to myself. I hit the button to hear the before and after. Oh My God. Its like night and day. The mids and highs are right where I wanted them, lows are still there too. Sound Stage? Perfect! Highly recommend. 5/5. I installed mine in the glove box. It fits nicely there.

Pros: Auto Key!!!

Cons: The inputs are on the opposite side from the power and ground input (which are included in the harness for the output side), kinda weird how the mixed the power and ground inputs and outputs on one side.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

31 of 31 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Crutchfield customer from Manteo, NC on 4/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not good sound quality. Highs are cracklely and over all poor quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 56 found this helpful

Kicker KEY180.4

Jonathan from Miramar Beach, FL on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound over all from the factory radio...even better with an aftermarket radio...highly recommend, easy setup, good price, and awesome results.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

UNREAL improvement!

Bill from Orlando, FL on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me tell you.... I've been installing professionally for about 12 years, and never once have I been blown away by such an inexpensive piece of car audio. The install was exactly the same as with any other mini 4-channel amp. I stashed it behind the factory radio and used the factory power/ground. I plugged in the included mic, played pink noise through the head unit, hit the button and came back 3 minutes later to an entirely different car! WOW! I sound corny saying this, but I was all-out shocked by the improvement it made. And for the price and 45 mins of install time?!?! Better cleaner bass. More defined and crisp top-end. And a soundstage that's now high and centered. Phenomenal. The best part is that it includes a button to toggle between before/after, so you can demo for the customer (or yourself). I wouldn't hesitate recommending this amp to more customers/friends.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

55 of 57 found this helpful

TOP