Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
635 936 272 3
Connect ID #
635 936 272 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Custom-fit powered subwoofer for select 2014-up Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab pickups

MFR # SSICRE14

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Custom-fit powered subwoofer for select 2014-up Chevrolet Silverado and GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab pickups

MFR # SSICRE14

29 reviews
View this product

Not Impressed!

Fernando from Cusseta, GA on 5/17/2020

2018 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Way too expensive for the outcome! I installed this sub in about 3 hours! Easy instructions if your are a technician. If not, you will be lost. Worse part is wiring the positive wire through the fire wall. But I am not impressed with the sound. I was expecting a WOW for the price! Thinking about returning it!

Pros: compact!

Cons: Not worth the price!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Crutchfield customer from Rapid City, SD on 4/27/2020

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For a smaller sub, all in one sub, the punch that it delivers is impressive. My last system i had a 10" JL with a seperate amp, this competes with it, and being able to keep the current deck is a bonus. Really livens up the Bose system. I gave it 4 starts instead of 5 because the instructions havent been updated. I first installed it and it wouldnt work. I decided to switch the wires around and finally started working. Rechecked the instructions to make sure i didnt read them wrong, but no, the instructions were wrong. Other than that, awesome product for the price.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: Install instructions

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Crutchfield customer from Waterloo, IA on 4/8/2020

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds decent. Needs to have a remote to control gain. Installation was simple enough.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 3/8/2020

2015 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pleased with purchase. Added the bass I was looking for.

Pros: Sound

Cons: Installation

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sounds good

Crutchfield customer from Glencoe, MN on 8/23/2019

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Easy install and sounds great with my stock system (non-Bose). Just what I was looking for.

Pros: Easy install, good directions, good sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome addition to stock system

Nick from Indianapolis on 7/28/2019

2018 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was unsure at first when researching this product. I wanted something that would give the stock system a small bump in bass to better round out the bass in the music I listen to. The install was fairly simple but also slightly challenging. I would recommend using something to help fish the power harness through the firewall. Having a selection of regular and deep sockets helps too. Make sure you follow the directions carefully and you shouldn't have a problem. It only took me about 3 hours to install this system. It gives you more bass without going too overboard. You can control the sub easily with the stock radio EQ. Fit and finish is nice. I would recommend this to someone who wants to keep their vehicle stock but likes a little more bass in their music. I would also highly recommend buying it through Crutchfield as their customer service is unparalleled. Shipping from Kicker took 5 days. Good luck.

Pros: Easy-ish install. Good fit and finish. Can control sub with stock radio EQ. Isn't overbearing but still kicks.

Cons: Controlling with stock radio EQ also turns the bass out of the door speakers. Running power harness through firewall demanded use of a fish tape or coat hanger.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2017 GMC Sierra 1500 Denali with Bose system

Crutchfield customer from Bayou La Batre, AL on 5/12/2019

2017 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sub sound perfect for wat I want it. Good bass n sound enough inside the truck cab. The only one thing that hard to install this set up is running the power line through fire wall. But everything it's simple to hookup. Love it its amazing sound to add on for factory look n to the Bose system.

Pros: Sound amazing for factory look. Plug n play no cutting wire

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Do not recommend

Christopher from great fall on 2/25/2019

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this subwoofer for my 2014 Chevy Silverado with Bose. I have owned kicker subwoofers before in other cars and the subs are great. Pro: Fit great under the seat and look factory. Wiring is simple, just the splicing is a bit of a challenge to do. Cons: Does not improve the bass as expected. I was excited after getting everything installed to see how the bass would be. Every review makes it out to seem like this big improvement, which after installing it and hearing it I am not impressed. This is sad as kicker is a great company with great products. For the cost I cannot recommend spending the money on this set up as there is no way to adjust the power and the amp does not seem to have the power to actually push the subwoofer. For the money you are better off getting a shop to put something in that can be adjusted and maybe has some more bass.

Pros: great fit, easy install.

Cons: Not a noticeable difference.

Crutchfield response on 2/26/2019
Christopher, we're sorry you're disappointed with your sub. If you purchased this sub from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 8 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Crutchfield customer from Kaplan, LA on 1/16/2019

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is wonderful! I am happy i Decided to install this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Todd from Eau Claire, WI on 12/18/2018

2017 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and high quality! I installed in my 2017 GMC 2500 HD Denali. Awesome sound and thorough step by step instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Crutchfield customer from Port Republic, MD on 11/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits well sounds good harness to speaker could a little longer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Crutchfield customer from San Dimas, CA on 8/7/2018

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the factory look. The sound is amazing. Easy to install. Great product all around.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

The sound I was looking for

Ron from Port Huron Michigan on 4/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound system upgrade is worth every penny. The install was fairly easy and everything fit perfectly and works even better.

Pros: Everything fit and the wiring harness that came with it fit perfect.

Cons: Sorry. No cons for me

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, In on 8/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not being able to control the power of the sub, like you can on the mtx one like this is not as good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Chad from Lebanon, SD on 3/26/2017

2016 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Balances out the factory Bose system nicely.

Pros: Looks factory

Cons: A little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Guest from Baton Rouge La on 3/15/2017

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To all..... If you have the BOSE system the dealer will tune your radio to eliminate the low bass in the current speakers and it will crossover to control the sub. You can install it by your self but you should let a dealer do it to upgrade the radio controls. Mine sounds awesome.....You will overwhelm bass if dealer does not reprogram your head unit........

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 17 found this helpful

Awesome compliment to the BOSE factory system

Ed from Abbeville, LA on 3/1/2017

2016 GMC Sierra 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I highly recommend this sub from Kicker! What an awesome add on to the Bose system in my Denali HD!

Pros: Great sound Neat install Doesn't take up much of the under seat storage area

Cons: Very difficult to fish the power wire through the firewall Directions should be a little more clear on what bunch of wires are needed for this install.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Blends in with the factory system well

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, TX on 2/20/2017

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are looking for a way to add better than factory subwoofer bass to your truck this is the ticket. It will not pound down the street but will fill the cab very well. You will need to zero the bass on the radio or it will be too much. The advantage of having the radio bass set to zero is the door speakers never get overwhelmed.

Pros: Easy install and factory look.

Cons: Can get a little boomy on certain notes.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Not happy

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA on 2/6/2017

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this and installed it almost a year ago and maybe I'm just used to a separate amp and sub but this just doesn't sound right or hit very hard,and there is no adjustment to it

Pros: Fairly easy to install,all in one unit

Cons: All in one unit No adjustments

Crutchfield response on 2/7/2017
Steve, if you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can see if there may be a fix. Our toll-free Tech Support number is printed on your invoice, and is also available under the "My Orders" tab in the "My Account" section of our website. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker VSS SubStage SSICRE14

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NY on 12/1/2016

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bass improved a lot in the stock system with this unit! Not able to control the base without taking this unit apart a small drawback but it was set well from factory - just noting. Not bad on the install. Little bit of a pain fishing the wires back under the door guards, there's a ton of wires and not much space left. I stuck a fish through the firewall from the inside, tapped my wires and pulled through - this made it easier. This isn't going to compare to a custom sub and amp but it is very nice, just a bit pricey for the convenience. I did not have any problems with my bluetooth or sounds and I do have a diesel. It would get 5 stars with a maybe a 100 or 150 less in price, slight better and clear base and adjustable - I feel that what I paid was a little high but I like the base and it was 2hr install taking ur time.

Pros: easy thumps hopefully doesn't void warranty - you only tap into an existing speaker wire

Cons: little rattle when you go nuts and crank it way, way up, but does give you solid bass which I wanted. no control for amp output little pricey

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

worth the money

Dominik from Boca Raton, FL on 9/28/2016

2015 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good full package deal, plenty of bass for one 10 inch sub with 200 watts. I added this to my Denali with the Bose system. if you are wondering what the Ohms are on this (since the specs don't say) it is a dual 1- Ohm setup. Also the worst part of the install was simply getting the power wire through the firewall, i would HIGHLY suggest you remove the protective wire sheath from the power cable before trying to feed it through the rubber grommet. it makes it impossible to feed through. Also, the speaker wire that you need to tap into comes out of the driver side door speaker, so just follow the wire bundle that comes out of the door, then cut open the tape wrapping all the wires together CAREFULLY.

Pros: sounds great, clean installation, doesn't take a genius to install, and works with factory system.

Cons: No controls on the amp, or bass knob input. so the bass can only be adjusted from the factory head unit. this can make it a pain to adjust on the fly. Also the worst part of the install was simply getting the power wire through the firewall, i would HIGHLY suggest you remove the protective wire sheath from the power cable before trying to feed it through the rubber grommet. it makes it impossible to feed through.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

M.T from Twentynine Palms, CA on 7/17/2016

2016 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This system enhance my truck stereo system performance.

Pros: Easy to install. Great addition to my system.

Cons: Brochure needs to be in color. Hard to figure out the right wite location to hook up the speakers wire.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

chief engineer

Tom from Auburn Hills,MI on 6/15/2016

2016 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Highly do not recommend, extremely poor quality boomy bass with no volume / output control

Pros: None

Cons: Extremely poor quality boomy bass like a cheap stereo, no volume controls - to make it tolerable, bass had to be turned to lowest setting on tone which eliminates any base coming out of existing speakers - had to pull fuse to even drive vehicle - If your 16, want boomy low quality sound that shakes door panels - Fine. You spend money on a new truck - either live with what it came with or go high end. I should have known better, the box is plastic.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 23 found this helpful

Very happy

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA on 4/11/2016

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Over all I'm very happy with the install and sound of this product,however there were a couple of things that need to be mentioned,first there was a wire connector missing not really a big deal since I could go down to the local auto parts store and get one,second the directions should be updated as when we installed the sub we found a much better way to run the wires and hook it up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2016 Silverado

Zack from Va beach va on 3/28/2016

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product does work on a 2016 Silverado with Bose system the same as the model years before.Excellent complement to the Bose system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 10/3/2015

2015 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good if you aren't wanting a whole lot of hard hitting bass. Better at lower volume.

Pros: size and fit

Cons: strains a bit at higher volume

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Adds great sound to your truck!

Jason D from Idaho on 8/4/2015

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The factory Bose system is really good but this sub adds the bass that the truck has been missing. My music of choice is Hip Hop so I appreciate having some low end. For regular radio, the improvement was good. It was considerably better for satellite radio. But, the real wow moment for me was playing songs off a usb drive and on my iPhone through the aux in. Feed it a clean signal and this thing really hits. I agree with the previous review that the two challenging parts of the install are feeding the wire through from the engine compartment and finding the wires to tap for the sub signal. What isn't clear from the directions is that there is a grommet on both the engine side and cab side. The grommet on the inside of the cab has a slit at the 12 o'clock position. It is easy to feed the wire through from the engine side only to have it bunch up in the fire wall. If you remove the cover on the wire distribution block under the dash, it makes it easier to reach the 12 o'clock position on the internal grommet. In terms of finding the signal wires for the wire tap, the image in the directions makes it look like they are in the big wire bundle attached to the big clip on the side wall. Facing that clip, it's actually in the small bundle behind the big clip on the right side. The two wires are literally twisted together in the loom. They are clearly brown and blue as described in the instructions. If you are thinking you have something close, you haven't found them.

Pros: Kicker has done a really good job on the fit and finish of this product. The sub enclosure feels very solid and fits perfectly under the rear seat. My wife didn't even notice it was in there until I pointed it out. The brackets that mount the sub to the seat posts lined up perfectly. The wires were a perfect length and had some nice touches like the power wire has a mesh loom on it for the run in the engine compartment. I am very happy with the quality and Kicker included all parts needed.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Awesome product

Otis from Oklahoma on 4/13/2015

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product give the bass the trucks has been missing. once you install it, your be happy you spend the money. Install is very easy if you take your time, i find two problems when installing this first not easy getting the wire from the engine bay into the cab just take your time i used a old wire hanger as a guide it worked great, Second when you find the speaker wire to tab into for the Sub again take your time all the speaker wires are tie together and cover in strong cloth warpping becareful to cutting to the warp not to cut a wire. like i did, lol!! those are the 2 big problems i had installing it,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Kicker VSS™ SubStage™ SSICRE14

Crutchfield customer from Winfield alabama on 2/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good Product, very good Sound and looks so clean!

Pros: Easy install, clean look, great sound!!

Cons: none really

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

TOP