Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
535 116 105 3
Connect ID #
535 116 105 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Morel CCWR254

Wide Range Series 2-1/2" midrange speakers

MFR # 325092-325

Morel CCWR254

Morel CCWR254

Wide Range Series 2-1/2" midrange speakers

MFR # 325092-325

11 reviews
View this product

2 thumbs up!

Crutchfield customer from Skokie, IL on 12/12/2020

2018 Infiniti Q50

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing has a lot of output for its size. Detailed and smooth. Guitar sounds lifelike. Can't go wrong. Cost effective and small enough to fit in factory locations.

Pros: Detailed and smooth. Warm.

Cons: Can't cross too low

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I rarely review a product but these wide bands deserve a review. They are incredible as both a wideband or dedicated midrange. I'm running them active next to my tempo ultra 6.5 in the doors in my f-150 with tweeters in the a pillar. They are incredible on 75 watts crossed from 500 to 5000.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great as a dedicated midrange or wideband in active systems

Crutchfield customer from Grants Pass, OR on 9/5/2020

2019 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying I'm using these in a full active system with a MiniDSP 8x12. I have them each running off of their own dedicated amplifier channel. I'm running them from 500hz LR4 to 5000hz LR4 in sealed aluminum Valicar brand pods. They are on my dash facing me, so on axis. When i first started using them I really enjoyed the sound, but as they are getting broken in its just getting better. I have some more tuning to do which i know will really bring these guys to life but they are very warm, detailed, and smooth.Exactly how others have described and exactly why I bought them. That and they are also quite small. You cannot cross these lower than 400hz @24/db if you're like me and like to listen at high volume levels, but TBH 500hz is perfectly fine for me. My mid woofers are in my doors so I actually like having my woofers play up to 500-600hz because it lowers my stage a little bit so everything is not so in my face right from my dash which you would think is nice but too high and its not good IMO. I was hesitant buying these due to their size wondering if they would produce the higher volume levels i like while still maintaining good SQ. They do both of those. These play so high my tweeters are not doing much nowadays.... You could easily run these without tweeters or do what Im doing which is using them as a dedicated midrange. I think they play up to 10k or so but not quite up to 20k like a tweet.

Pros: Detailed, smooth, small, gets loud

Cons: Some larger mid/wide range can play down to 250hz

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 8 found this helpful

excellent mids

Crutchfield customer from North Windham, CT on 6/13/2020

2007 Honda Element LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

really good mids, i have them crossed from 500hz to 5000 hz. with 65 watts.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing small speakers

Crutchfield customer from MILTON, VT on 5/10/2020

1997 BMW Z3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The performance of these speakers give the front component speakers in my Z3 a run for their money, the fronts are being powered by an amp while these are being powerd just by the aftermarket head unit. After adjusting the fader to increase the bais to the fronts these speakers are doing a great job of filling out the sound in the cabin. I choose these after reviewing technical specfications and dimensions for several mid-range speakers, the Morel CCWR254 seemed to be the best choice for the job. With a slight modfication I was able to mount them in the small rear factory speaker enclosures located behind the seats in a 1997 BMW Z3. The manufactures installation sheet lacked all the necessary details for the installing the capacitors to the speakers, however Crutchfield Tech support was able to provide the missing details, thanks. The only other issue is that the installion sheet provided by Crutchfield only provides information for the larger rear speaker installation in the later model Z3's, not for the smaller enclosures in the early models.

Pros: Great replacement for factory rear mid-range speakers, Amazing performance for the size.

Cons: Factory in stallation instructions

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Morel CCWR254

Crutchfield customer from Jarrell, TX on 3/8/2020

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really helped clean up the sound from OEM JBL.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Morel CCWR254

Crutchfield customer from Athens, TN on 8/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Smaller than I thought wished they handled more power. I am gonna use them in an active three way system. My windshield is laid back so far that a three inch wouldn't fit in the location I chose in order to get the right imagining.

Pros: Compact, nice basket.

Cons: Low power handling.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Morel CCWR254

Guest from Nsl ut on 12/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got these with the 602 max components, super crisp sound with the mid sounds combined , perfect sound, powering with a morel 4 channel

Pros: Morel

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Casper

kevin from Casper on 10/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

5 of 5 stars, these seriously exceeded my expectations. I tried Focal tweeters, way too bright for what I wanted. I tried Hertz DCX 87.3 and again way too bright for what I wanted although better, I am running audiofrog 6x9s in front doors and rear deck JBL GTO stadium 6x9s (both 3 way), I have a Pioneer DEH80PRS head, PIONEER GM-D9605 5 ch amp. 75w x 4 RMS nominal + 350 w for sub all @ 4 ohms. I realize I am running mismatched speakers but I had the JBLs laying around but wanted to see what all the hype was about with Audiofrog speakers. The JBLs in the rear with the +3DB switch really sound good, can easily be tamed down with speaker switch set to flat I am breaking them in with +3 db on and starting to settle down 1 month in. The Morel CCWR254 full range dash speakers came with bass blockers and have the small + & - tabs. Morels sound amazing and its refreshing. I clearly hear the Audiofrogs at neutral balance with rears and the Morel CCWR254 complement them well, they play nice together. I am amazed at how accurate and clear but not bright they are. I really was needing a speaker not a tweeter or 2 way. For reference I made it less than 10 minutes last week with the Hertz 3.5s, had to flatten the EQ and move the balance to 75% rear 25% front approximately. On their own the Hertz could have been paired with 6x9 mid bass and subs for Bass and easily could have been adjusted to suit. My ears prefer the Audiofrogs as I hear every little musical detail at full volume !!!

Pros: Silky smooth crystal clear vocals and guitar ! Appear well made and included bass blockers. Do not hurt my ears at full listenable volume sustained. Pair well and sound similar to Audiofrogs (in my car) !!!

Cons: Price a little on the high side but I finally have a dash speaker I can live with. Mounting depth a little deep with high pass filter directly mounted on & underneath magnet, I did get it all in the dash of my 2006 Toyota although its tight.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Nice little gems

Brian F. from New Kensingtn, PA on 7/10/2018

2014 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers replaced the factory BOSE dash speakers in my 2014 Chevy Silverado. They are very musical and detailed. They are able to keep up with the 6x9's in the door, as they get pretty loud. These are a big improvement over the factory speakers. I am using these as part of an active 3-way front stage. They could, however, be used in a 2-way system because he treble sounds almost as good as some tweeters.

Pros: Can be used for a sound quality system or as replacement speakers

Cons: Treble response is not totally there if used for two way. I personally found they sound best paired with a tweeter.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Morel CCWR254

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NC on 4/15/2018

2015 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They fit the dash location of 2015 GMC Canyon if you make an adapter. These replaced the 1" silk dome tweeters in a component set. I feel that the included capacitor is intended as a protective device more than a crossover. After playing them on the 150 uF caps, I used an 80 uF capacitor. I expect excellent results with these in an active system, as they sound great with the passive "just for now" setup that I have them in currently. They would likely be superb in an active 3-way system, as well. Very happy with these!

Pros: Versatile Smooth

Cons: None noted in my application

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP