Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Morel Maximus 602

Maximus Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # 350168-200

Morel Maximus 602

Morel Maximus 602

Maximus Series 6-1/2" component speaker system

MFR # 350168-200

13 reviews
View this product

Morel Maximus 602

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 1/11/2021

2020 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 2020 Silverado 1500 Z71 came with OEM, non Bose, speakers. They were, well, marginal at best. These Morel's made a big difference, more than I had anticipated, still using the OEM head unit. I even had to knock down the bass and treble! I am extremely pleased with this setup!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Night and day vs my last set

Leon from Ewa Beach, HI on 12/13/2020

2018 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these in today after running the Hertz DSK 170.3 for about 7 months. I always felt like midrange and mid-bass were a little thin in the DSK's, and at higher volumes would distort sooner than my rear speakers so I was forced to cross them over higher to 160/200hz to make up for it, and it really hurt sound quality. There was no working around it. After installing these I have to say, it is absolutely night and day! Mid-bass is so up front and rich, really bringing my sound stage up front beautifully. Midrange is loud, and I turned my head unit's crossover off and the Morels have no problems with distortion whatsoever. It's only crossed on the capacitor mounted to the woofer and the cap on the speaker wire for the tweeters. Oh my goodness it just sounds so lush. I had to reset my EQ with an RTA to tune it better. Highs are through the 602 are not harsh like the DSK, it sounds so natural and perfectly crisp when I played Come Together by Chris Brown, a song I love for it's high end. While listening to some soul jams, every little sound came through loud and clear, Billy Paul's Me and Mrs. Jones, every sound from the saxophone or piano just rings so beautifully. The DSK's could sound almost as well but not at full volume. With the 602's I can really open it up and every string, strum, and subtle sound just comes through and I can really appreciate all the different music I love. This sound is so divine!

Pros: Full midrange, rich mid-bass, crisp high end without being harsh even with a flat EQ

Cons: The crossover is just capacitors mounted on the woofer and inline for the tweeters. Even with the Black Friday discount these were still $50 more than the Hertz DSK set, though the cost is just so worth it, I'd definitely consider higher end Morel in the future

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Morel Maximus 602

Crutchfield customer from Edgewater, MD on 12/8/2020

2019 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JL)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really great speakers, and mellowing out with a bit of playtime.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Met Expectations

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, WI on 9/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially had some reservations in purchasing these speakers. But I wanted a simple install with integrated crossovers. I considered the JL audio C1-650, Alpine type R S65C, Focal PS 165F and Hertz Cento. Wanting a detailed, but a bit more laid back neutral sound, I decided to go with the Morels. To be fair and honest, I have not auditioned the JL's nor the Alpine's. Though I had some limited session with the Focal stand alone tweeters that sounded quite a bit forward and almost to the point of being "hissy". Perhaps if I had kept the Focal tweeters longer, it would have settled in more. But I was not too thrilled with what I have heard and considered "French" sound. My previous set up was the Hertz Energy 165 components, neutral sounding, bright but not harsh at all. But after 2 years, one of the woofers stopped working all together. So I decided against the Hertz this time. After the Maximus was installed (hired professional "squad" from a brick n mortar store), initial impressions were very good. The installers were actually floor by the sound, detail and "warmness" coming from the Morels. I allowed a week of break in period before some critical listening. The Maximus had settled well. I am very satisfied with the transparency, detail, laid back nature and musicality produced by these component kit. Could not compare to the higher end products from Morel, but overall the tonality and timber is quite satisfying. Highly recommended. Set-up: 10' JL sub, all am

Pros: Musical, detailed, nice expression of music. Price is justified, if looking for a fidelity set up without the separate crossover box.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mckinney

Rene from Mckinney on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have these in a VW Jetta and I love them. Imaging is good, midbass is good and tweeters are clean and not bright. I have focals in my other car and I love those also but for me the Morels are perfect, I feel that my vocals are more pronounce and blend well with my sub. These sound so good with and a/b amp.

Pros: Very natural sound.

Cons: If you like bright, lively speakers these are not for you.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Solid upgrade in my '16 Accord EX-L

Crutchfield customer from Spring Valley, CA on 2/5/2020

2016 Honda Accord EX-L

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These replaced the stock components in a '16 Accord EX-L and so far I am very happy. I was skeptical since I didn't have the chance to listen to any Morel speakers in my area but I've read people rave about them so I gave it a chance when they had a fantastic deal on some scratch & dent sets. The tweeters are mellow but defined and the woofers give me the mid-bass I was lacking in the stock set up. They're currently powered by the stock amp but I am planning on driving them with an aftermarket amp soon and I'm sure they'll be even better sounding at that time. I appreciate the in-line crossovers versus having to find room for a bulky external unit. These don't scream at you like some other brands, it's just solid well-defined music that are very pleasing to me. If you're looking for a solid step up from stock and a musical speaker I'd suggest giving these a chance.

Pros: Speaker quality and sound, use of in-line crossovers.

Cons: None in my use case.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hogansville

Luke from Hogansville on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were installed in a 2014 chevy cruze. Sealed and deadened inner door panels and modified outer panels so that i could take the grills on the door off. Midbasses mounted to 3/4 mdf baffles with an additional inch spacer to get the cone almost out of the door panel. The tweeters were mounted to the sails, in the a pillar behind the factory grill and with two styles of angled mounting cups. The only reason i gave them more than one star is the imaging that the system has when using time alignment. other than that these are just a pro audio set. Kinda. They have a tad more low end but not really. For 270 dollars i expected better from morel.

Pros: Easily bi amped due to simple crossovers.

Cons: Just a pro audio speaker dressed up like morel.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Morel Maximus 602

Crutchfield customer from New Cumberlnd, WV on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2019 crv-touring, changed out speakers only, not a whole lot better sound. guess they need more than factory amp. i think i overspent for the reults. not sure if I'm going down the rabbit hole of adding amp, then maybe a dsp, then maybe a sub.

Pros: so much better constructed than cheap factory speakers.

Cons: didn't make too much improvement in sound quality??

Crutchfield response on

0 of 7 found this helpful

Impressive

James from Chardon, OH on 8/31/2019

2018 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield recommended these and I'm very happy with them. I used the factory mounting location for the tweeters in the corner dash, these saved a lot of install time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Clear as glass and power hungry!

Todd from Oxford, Ohio on 1/25/2019

2011 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow, just wow! I have never heard of Morel before but after reading tons of reviews all over the internet, I gave them a try. I have a 2011 Ford F-150 supercrew and I went from Fords horrible factory speakers to infinity Kappa's. Kappa series were good speakers and leaps and bounds ahead of the stock speakers but need power to make them shine. The downside the tweeters were fairly harsh but this was running from a factory head unit and Pioneer amp. Due to an incident, I replaced the head unit with a pioneer 2440, wired it up to the Pioneer 760 4 channel amp, installed the Morrell component in the front and a set of Morrell coax for the rear. After spending some time setting them up OMG! I thought the Kappas were good but there is no comparison. The tweeters are not harsh at all, the music is crazy clear and you can here every nuance of the instruments. We even ran extra wire for a future sub but do not need it as there is PLENTY of mid bass and even low end for my truck. Will they win a bass contest, not hardly but not what I was looking for. They would sound good with just a head unit but will take all the power you throw at them! With properly set gains, you can turn them up and up and still sound awesome! My son who has the mega system in his car compares them to the quality of his Focal component speakers for a lot less.

Pros: Crisp and clear through their power range Surprising amount of bass As good or better as high end speakers! Price

Cons: Do not come with a separate crossover box with tweeter button ( don't really care). You have to solder or crimp tweeter wire to the other speaker

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Morel Maximus 602

Theodore from Midland, MI on 12/8/2017

2001 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased Good sounding system. First time Morel user and wont be the last.

Pros: Tweeters are not harsh. Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hear what you've been missing and enjoy the music

Jackson from Toronto, Canada on 10/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Owned Boston S60 components for some time now and wanted an upgrade. Put the Boston's in the rears as woofers. These Maximus 602's are "brighter" than the "warm" Boston's. I also liked the inline crossovers so the install was easier. For referencing (without sub, EQ or rear woofers, only the Morels) I used a 1995 Sheffield Labs IASCA judging disc. At first playing "Corner Pocket" by Harry James, there is some cross sticks being used and I barely heard them. After breaking in the Morel's, I can now hear those cross sticks clearer (but not perfectly, the Boston's were slightly better). For reference it's in the 2k to 2667hz range. They can handle some bass, but that's what subs and midbass speakers are for. When I dial in some bass the Morels have some nice snap. These Maximus also handled the "Unlimited SPL" (which are really heavy on bass) tracks of 'Trial of Seconds' (Danny Perry), 'Killer Quad Megamix' (Killer Quad), 'Ode to Billy Jive' (Bass Cube) and 'Transistorized' (Nightmare on Bass Street II, He's Back) really well. These are powered by a 50x4 amp and tweeked with a parametric equalizer, however I occasionally do enjoy listening to music without any EQ (but with the Boston woofers and a bit of sub - all flat). Very nice. The soundstage, vocal presence and instruments come to life. The Boston's were not pushovers, but these Maximus were.... WOW! Car is 2016 Honda Fit EX and I listen to everything. Thank you Cru

Pros: - in line crossovers! - nice soundstage - nice instrument presence - nice vocals! - good snap to bass - can handle low bass but not their specialty

Cons: - "grill" fell off one of the magnet (minor issue, easy fix)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Morel Maximus 602

Crutchfield customer from La Jolla, CA on 9/15/2017

2006 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Substantial improvement over the OEM speakers. In-line crossovers make installation simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP