Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Morel MPS 5.950

5-channel car amplifier — 70 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 550 watts RMS at 2 ohms

MFR # 803159-100

Morel MPS 5.950

Morel MPS 5.950

5-channel car amplifier — 70 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 550 watts RMS at 2 ohms

MFR # 803159-100

12 reviews
View this product

Amp cant hand vibrations!

Ry from Clovis, Ca on 5/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product worked wonderfully to power up my door speakers and sub. I was happy with it until I played some songs with strong bass for about 30 minutes. It overheated to +150 degrees and started smelling burnt. I contacted customer support and they looked in the specs and told me that this amplifier cannot hand strong vibrations! Now I have to return it and find a new one....

Pros: Great power!

Cons: Cannot hand strong vibrations and it overheats!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Morel MPS 5.950

Crutchfield customer from Clovis,Ca on 4/12/2021

2016 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mac is very helpful and knowledgeable, It was a joyful experience!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Morel MPS 5.950

Raymond from UNIVERSAL CITY, TX on 1/27/2021

2017 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Morel amp for my Morel components

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great amp!

Q from Alhambra, CA on 1/23/2021

2020 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amp is very clear. It's not a loud amp, but the clarity makes up for it IMO. If you're looking more towards audiophile, this amp is hard to beat. If you want loud, this probably isn't for you. Now don't mistake me saying as this amp isn't loud doesn't mean it doesn't get up there in volume when adjusted correctly, but it'll do great, and clearly while at it.

Pros: Is visually a great piece, with great performance.

Cons: Passive cooling, so the amp needs to be mounted flat or w/ fins facing up. Which somewhat limits where the amp can be mounted. The are others like this as well, so not a huge con IMO.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Morel MPS 5.950

Lambros from Staten Island, NY on 10/9/2020

2004 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier is among one of the best 5 channel amplifiers you can get anywhere at any price. The benefits of AB four channels and the 5th being class D in my opinion isn't explained as much as it should . The often utilized description of car audio products isn't always helpful or fair to say the least ...... "it's a sound quality amp but isn't that powerful " OR "its powerful so much so powerful but not clean because I blew up my speakers not being careful "...... Well from another perspective it may fo like your speakers didn't blow up from power- they blew up from the horrible clipping the amp displays by being a cheaply made amp. On the other hand the Morel amplifier is so clean you don't realize it's clipping...... see how the clean vs. powerful comparisons is not very accurate never mind helpful? The AB channels offer better sound quality, better signal to noise ratio and an overall much better listening experience then ANY class D could by fundamental design. If I had to run a system on a jet ski with a small alternator and limited space then a full class D is a life saver. The best advice is know your products and for what and why you need it. The Morel amp is an incredible sounding, clean yet powerful work of art. It is a perfect match for just about any medium sized system or you can always get TWO of them - one for left and one for right lol !!!!

Pros: Great sound quality, excellent value, reasonable footprint vs. power ratio, tight output on sub channels. A great amplifier.

Cons: Couldn't find any reasonable complaints so I'm not going to make one up. I've been in car audio for over 35+ years and seen many products trying to make everyone happy and failing to do anything right, Morel hit another home run with this amplifier.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Morel MPS 5.950

Kenton from West Bloomfield, MI on 7/20/2020

2015 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amplifier! This amp is most definitely for an audiophile person. This is not a boomy bass amplifier. The bass will be tight and controlled even in a ported box. The highs will be warm almost like a tube amplifier from back in the days or from very expensive amplifiers twice the price. The amp was paired with morel tempo 6.5 and morel virus separates 6.5., amazing sound and clarity from every music genre. However, this set up sounds best with jazz and r&b.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 5/30/2020

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amplifier the sound quality it produces is awesome extremely clean and packed with plenty of power for a complete set up. By far my favorite amplifier yet!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

If your going for sound quality this is the amp for you.

Crutchfield customer from Biloxi, MS on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I highly recommend this amp if you are shooting for sound quality. I do not recommend this amp if you are going for a lot of bass. Recommended setup using an active setup over a passive setup for your crossovers.

Pros: The amp is made up of high quality material and puts out a good amount of power if you are shooting for sound quality.

Cons: A little expensive, and the amp is very big and takes up a lot of vehicle space. Not recommended if you are going for bass.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

not very happy

domenic from Ulster Park, NY on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

not satisfied,no overall power to the amp,and the subwoofer portion is very weak for a 550 watt rating,i will be returning this and putting the money from the return towards another 5 channel amp,probably a jl or alpine,i will say for someone who is looking for a basic upgrade from a stock system it can work...

Pros: price

Cons: weak overall power,and sub portion

Crutchfield response on

3 of 24 found this helpful

Replacing a classic

David from Denver, CO on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacing a classic Soundstream Reference 405 that finally died. I haven't been in the audiophile car market for a while and didn't want to break the bank on some esoteric stuff. I wanted a bit more power to drive a Dynaudio 360 3-way system and another classic ADS 10" sub - both are power hungry. I trusted Crutchfield's great return policy and gave this Morel a shot- honestly for the price I wasn't expecting greatness but so far it's opened up the speakers dramatically and still sounds smooth and musical. The SS was a tough act to follow but I don't see another amp being this good for the money. Very satisfied customer!

Pros: Solid build quality, attractive case Plenty of power (running bridged 3 channel) Very nice sound, musical, engaging. Great value for money.

Cons: How to use the amp properly in bridged mode isn't explained very well in the manual.

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Morel 5.950 best bang 4 $$

Glenn from Pembroke Pnes, FL on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a/b power for my front (Focal 165krx2) and 500w for JLAudio 10w6. The Morel 5.950 had the right specs. but no reviews. Markers of some audiophile speakers I assume the amp would have to hold it's own. My other choice was the Audison 5.1k. The price difference was 3x. This is not a weak link in my system at all. Running an Audison bit10 with drc and driving a JLAudio 10w6v3d4 this system seems to play every genre of music very well.

Pros: 3 or 5 channel. A/B quality with D for sub. Hard to beat at this price pt.

Cons: Not anything. Maybe 19" width in some applications.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great Sound

John from Mobile, AL on 12/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amplifier for all in one purpose.

Pros: Awesome Sound and easy set-up

Cons: None Yet

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP