Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Dock & Play satellite radio with home kit (subscription sold separately by SiriusXM)

MFR # SXPL1H1

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Dock & Play satellite radio with home kit (subscription sold separately by SiriusXM)

MFR # SXPL1H1

59 reviews
View this product

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 7/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is doing its job, & I am enjoying SirisuXM. The picture of what is playing is a bit small, but the device would have to be larger to correct that complaint, so everything is a compromise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The receiver works well once it is activated but the on/off button on the unit or the remote do not work very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Subscription Mistake

Crutchfield customer from Asbury, NJ on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service from Crutchfield but never got a chance to hear the radio. Just wanted to let people know my experience with SiriusXM support. I spoke with SiriusXM support and was told I would be able to activate this home radio with my current SiriusXM All Access subscription for my car radio. Got the radio and called to have it activated only to find out that it is not possible unless you are willing to pay a $15.99 activation fee plus an additional $12.05-$15.99 cost per month depending on the current rate. They have set it up so you have to have a separate plan for each radio-no add on. Just wanted people to learn from my mistake.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Los Gatos, CA on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product. Terrible and confusing process of buying activation of the satellite service. Needs a lot of work there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Patricia from Foster City, CA on 12/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have had a Sirius radio for 14 years and only listened to Met Opera on channel 75. Imagine my surprise when I turned on the radio yesterday and got Elvis. I checked on line where Met Opera went and it was on channel 355 which I could not get. I called today to see what I should do to get Met Opera back and I was told it was only streaming on tablets. This does not do me any good as I listen to the radio in the kitchen/family room on the Sirius radio. I have cancelled my subscription. I am very unhappy to loose the Met broadcasts, I listened almost every day. I am more unhappy that I was not notified of the change. This will be a big void in my life.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

A Must Have

Robert from Chicago, IL on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The ONYX is great for music or sports at your finger tips .. I purchased because I had XM in my auto and loved it .. HOME version is nice blends in with audio equipment no notice at all. and RCA plug in to AUX or AUDIO in very easy for home system And Stereo is amazing in 5.1 or 7.1 it delivers what you want ..

Pros: Receives all channels with no signal interruption as antenna is placed in proper position

Cons: Touchy on /off button maybe heavy finger in all a good investment

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 9/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's good. I took off one star because the remote is finicky the slightest touch of the power button turns off or on the radio. Rest of the buttons work fine

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good product no rebate

Crutchfield customer from Norcross, GA on 8/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Slow or No rebate, big hassle to get rebate, been 2 months still no rebate or communication

Pros: Good radio

Cons: Says you get $50 rebate by mail...they don't tell you what a hassle it is ... fill out forms & then they say you'll receive it by mail...whenever they get around to it. Been 2 months and I still haven't received it or any communication from them.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, NY on 6/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is everything plus more than I expected. I am so enjoying it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sirius XM Onyx plus radio

Crutchfield customer from Killeen, TX on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am glad I found you and purchased my gear from you.Sirius wanted to charge me 79.00 dollars for a downgraded version of this radio. Thank you all for your prices and I am glad I made my purchase with you.

Pros: Excellent

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Upper Marlboro, MD on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For someone looking for a dual purpose unit its excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Ridgewood, NY on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

IT.S FROM SIRIUS, PERFECT.

Pros: EASY TO SET UP, GOOD PRICE AND GREAT SOUND

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Lumberton, MS on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

well worth the $$$..did buy it on sale, but works great...we love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

expired offer

Michael from PARK RIDGE, NJ on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio works but, disappointed that Crutchfield sold me this unit that is supposed to have 3 months free Sirus. The free offer expired in December 2019!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Gering, NE on 3/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked into my Boze radio, works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Union, WV on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are very pleased with this radio and especially for the reception. We live in a rural area and have to rely on satellite for radio and TV. Easy to hook-up to our Bose radio. The sales person told us what was needed, placed in our shopping cart (online). and we were on our way. Great service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great..live the display

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Flushing, NY on 12/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good Radio. Great sound. Fast Delivery .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great product

Tom from Rising Sun, MD on 11/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the new radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Paicines, CA on 11/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and great service from Crutchfield, thanks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Garbage, don't buy this

Crutchfield customer from Orefield, PA on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not work! Had to return it for a refund. Then canceled all 3 of our XM radio accounts over XM's terrible customer service. The docking station was even worse. Returned that too. No bass control and the built in sub woofer can power a nightclub. All you heard was the bass if the tuner could ever find reception. Total garbage. Stay away. With Pandora and other free radio la out there, why blow all your money on this garbage

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, CT on 6/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great thanks. Was delivered quickly too. I hooked it up to an old Bose radio and it works wonderfully. We listen to it on our boat.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Mike from Oakridge, OR on 6/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. My first experience with Sirius not built into the car. A welcome addition to my mountain home where broadcast reception is very poor.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Coraopolis, PA on 4/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic reception and sound quality for a small device. We love Sirius Radio and were not sure which product to buy, but Rocky guided us thru products and which would work best for us. Being 75, I am not a techie but I will be Talking to Rocky shortly to get his recommendation on which speaker I can use to listen to Sirius while enjoying a martini or two with my wife on the back porch. Thank you to Crutchfield and Rocky. Jim and Karen K, Moon Twp. Pa.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 3/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it!! Easy to install...Using it with my Bose System. Had to by a male to male cable, instead of the one that came with it. The Bose Aux outlet couldn't use it. The cost was minimal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Sumner, WA on 12/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sleek, low profile unit with great features. Set up was simple!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, GA on 11/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm loving it!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Beatles and Grateful Dead.What else do you need?

Dean from :: County :: on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is good as long as the clouds are not too thick

Pros: Simple

Cons: Reception

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Joe from New York on 2/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small display, but still a nice piece of gear.

Pros: Ability to mix favorite channels together.

Cons: Display a little small.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Dalton from Lake Anna, VA on 2/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small size. Great sound. Easy hookup. Love it.

Pros: All good

Cons: None bad

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love It!!

Shannon from Lima, Ohio on 1/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Vey Nice to use... I love the fact I can listen to the music I want when I want!!

Pros: Can take it anywhere!! Nice Screen display!!

Cons: Needs a better antenna!!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Guest from Harrisonburg on 1/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield sales team was very helpful. This new unit replaced our old unit that had failed. Works like new and has more features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onyx plus

David from Phoenixville, Pa. on 12/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio works great, like the display & use of the remote a lot.

Pros: Display & use of remote

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 12/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace a failed 13 year-old Delphi satellite tuner that was hooked up to my home stereo. The new one works great, the only caveat being (as many have mentioned) that display cannot be read from a distance of more than a few feet. The old tuner was better in this regard, though it didn't have a fancy full-color display. Sound quality of the new unit is pretty much the same as the old one, that is to say acceptable but not great. When i called Sirius XM support to activate the unit, they seemed unaware of the length of time it might take. In my case, even with a strong indicated signal, it took well over an hour for everything to load.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Rockford, IL on 12/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to replace my very old Pioneer unit. After reviewing what this really has to offer I'll keep my very old unit. There is a memory on the older unit to do infinite number of plays. Glad I didn't send that much for it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/6/2016
Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 4 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Michael from Harrisonburg, Va on 11/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice! Let's me take my music home.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Old One Better

Antonia from York, PA on 7/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When my old transmitter died I purchased this one. With the old one I could sit across the room and see what was playing as it scrolled. This new one does not have that capability, and I miss it. Otherwise things are the same great sound.

Pros:

Cons: Does not scroll so that I cannot see what is playing across the room.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

sirius xm onyx plus

retired from columbia,sc on 3/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product.

Pros: works as it should

Cons: subscription fees and extra add on fees too much. base price for 80 mostly music subscription does not work. I had to get the premium package with more add ons just to get 4 channels I can listen to. I am sending this back.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Major frustration at first

David from Washington on 1/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this unit to replace a nine year old Sportster model that was starting to get tired and act up, the Onyx plus does work great , but not at first, the reason I don't rate it higher. Hook up was simple for me as I already had the infrastructure in place, outdoor antenna,etc. So I plugged in the new base and radio, turned it on (as per the instruction sheet) demo mode/channel 1 came up automatically . Next step said call Sirius to activate, they asked if I was on Channel one, since I was already a customer the set up was pretty quick , all the channels on my package started streaming in They verified my signal was 3 bars , and said I was good to go, and so we ended the call. I was a happy customer until a few hours later and the radio stopped playing music and went to different weird channels I had never heard of, and seemed to be stuck back in "demo mode"..no keys worked , remote didn't worked , wouldn't even shut off until I pulled the power plug after waiting a minute or two, I plugged it back in (hoping to reboot it) It came back on working fine like nothing had happened. Then about 2 hours later same thing, then 1 hour later the same crap...hmmm. I called Sirius , and they did a reactivation, worked fine until a couple hours later , same thing. So my next call was to Crutchfield thinking I had a bad radio. Guy I spoke to had never heard of this problem, but was happy and quick to send out a replacement . 3 days later activated new radio, and same problem.

Pros: Wow running out of space here , Love the radio now, As usual ,Crutchfield gets 5 stars ( I've never done a return before) , but shame on Sirius for not being able to help me with their radio on the phone , not having any info on their website, or including a real/detailed instruction manual included , and designing software that keeps returning/defaulting to demo/activation mode every hour or two with no workable keys or buttons ...well until you unplug/replug , hope my rant helps someone else.

Cons: Sirius tech help was worthless , told me to read the manual on their site (this radios manual was not on their site!) So I looked through Crutchfields site ,bingo found a long/real manual (that doesn't come with unit of course) After a long time searching to find something about my problem, on page 73+74 was info about this stupid "demo mode" mine keeps going to . On the radio I was able to scroll down and select demo mode on the screen , and deselect it ( but only when it's on and no lockdown)

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Onyx Plus

Matthew S from aurora, CO on 1/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this when there was a fifty dollar rebate available so I figured I'd only be out $50 if I didn't end up using it much. Well, I have to say it's on all the time now that I paid for 6 months of service. Great variety of stations and all are crystal clear. Features are easy to use and I ended up buying the vehicle kit for it also.

Pros: Easy to use. Great music variety.

Cons: After an inexpensive initial 6 month contract the price will double.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

nice upgrade

chuck from Texas on 1/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have had Onyx radios for a while and these new upgrade are good. They are a lot like the old one's but with some nice changes. I would recomend these to anyone.

Pros: Nice changes from old style.

Cons: Nice changes from old style.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sirius XM Receiver (radio)

dukesmi from Arkansas on 11/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product works as advertised. easy to set up and use

Pros: ease of use - holds 20 preset favorites

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great little receiver

AFurryBear from Massachusetts on 9/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This tiny little receiver works extremely well. I connected the output to my home theatre stereo system and it belts out the tunes. The antenna picks up the signal well through a south facing window. I have built in Sirius XM receivers in 3 vehicles as well. The Sirius sales department was able to bundle all these into one account which provides significant savings over separate accounts.

Pros: Informative color channel display, compact size, good sound quality. Clear instructions. Easy to use

Cons: Small display can be hard to read. The only available output is RCA (no HDMI, coaxial digital or digital optical). Thus, no surround-sound capability (unlike the receivers in my cars). The phone call for the initial service set up is time consuming. Sirius sales department tries very hard to up-sell features, so be sure you know what you want going in and stick to your guns.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Awesome device!

TS from North Carolina on 9/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had an XM radio in my new truck, loved it and wanted one for my shop. Called the Pros at Crutchfield's, told them what I was hoping to get and they made a perfect recommendation. Bought it, rec'd in 2 days, activated it, and works great. Simple

Pros: Purchasing it from Crutchfield's; easy and simple to use. Enough said!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mine was a scratch and dent item

Bill from Oklahoma on 9/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It came neatly wrapped , but , That was the best thing I can say about this unit , except when it works ! When it works , it works well , I think . I don't have use of all of the functions on either the unit itself , and of course , the remote . I am in the process of returning it now . Surely , I can't get two bad units in a row .

Pros: none

Cons: n/a

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Satellite satisfaction

Childofthe60s from Bismarck, ND on 8/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've always wanted satellite radio but for unknown reasons kept putting it off. And now that I live in an apartment without a South facing window, I figured reception would be difficult at best. The SiriusXM OnyX Plus unit arrived on time as promised and the first thing that struck me as I unpacked the box was the small size of the radio. Given that size disadvantage, one of my few gripes is that the display is difficult to see from any distance at all, so if you have less than 20/20 vision, you won't be able to make out the display from across the room. Making the connections was easy...antenna, power, and audio out. I connected the unit to a pair of AudioEngine A5 powered speakers (also purchased from Crutchfield) and the sound is good, but certainly less than exceptional. As for the antenna issue mentioned previously, when I read the instructions included with the radio, it became evident that reception might very well be a problem since an unobstructed view of the Southern sky was ideal, if not a South facing window at the very least. Since I have no South facing window and mounting the antenna outdoors would have been risky, I just started carrying the antenna around my apartment (there is 20 feet of antenna cable supplied with the radio) and much to my astonishment, I got excellent reception by placing the clamshell antenna in a North facing window! I got the best results with the clamshell in the full open position. Overall, I'm quite pleased with this radio.

Pros: An awesome variety of programming options available from SiriusXM (I went with the "Mostly Music" option). Setup is easy and quick. Antenna placement is apparently not as critical as one might be led to believe.

Cons: Sound quality is good but short of awesome. I suspect that the quality of the source material from SiriusXM is to blame rather than my AudioEngine A5 speakers since I have had excellent sound from other sources with the A5s. The screen display is difficult to see from any reasonable distance unless you have superb vision.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Fred from Virginia on 8/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit works well and as advertised.

Pros:

Cons: I do wish the screen fonts could be a little larger so they would be easier to read. Probably more of an issue with me that other folks though.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

SiriusXM Radio snafus

JM from North Carolina on 5/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio but confusing about how to order it. The website description was not adequate to the task. Let me explain. I wanted the version for my car. The radio is the same for both car and home use, but the accessories are different. Because of their proximity on the Crutchfield website, I wound up ordering the home version. Unfortunately, the order confirmation did not say which one I ordered. Crutchfield offered a return, but I decided I would go ahead and use the radio in both my home and car. So I ordered the car accessory kit. The website said it included a suction cup adapter. It did not - only a stick-on adapter. Crutchfield admitted its mistake and said it would fix their website, and I could return the kit. They said they could not provide me with the adapter I needed. I found the suction cup adapter on the SiriusXM website and ordered it from them. It is a reconditioned adapter, which may mean they are no longer providing it in their kits. A stck-on adapter would mess up your dashboard. What could SiriusXM be thinking? Or its a way to get more revenue. Caveat Emptor!

Pros: Nice small XM radio Good instructions

Cons: Ordering process Lots of upsell

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Great Unit

Roneb from Indiana on 3/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT LITTLE UNIT, i LIKE, AND AS THE COLOR SCREEN, AND ALBUM ART DISPLAYED,

Pros: Does everything it is supposed to do.

Cons: Display could be a little bigger, IE: artist in, song titles. Also realized after purchase, this unit will not mate to my current, Sirius boom box.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

NOT good for vehicle use

Terri from North Carolina on 1/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought an Onyx Plus to replace a 3-year old XM radio. Although the added features probably work well for home use, they are difficult to access when you're driving down the road. No tuning knob - you have to hold down and/or toggle station by station, or if you know all the station numbers you can direct tune. It may be okay for home use, but as a vehicle (with professional mount) radio, it isn't suitable. I don't care for the interface (hard to read) and overall operation.

Pros: none

Cons: no tuning knob, small display, poor menu design.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Best XM Yet

CarlsbadPapa from California on 12/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Being a very long term XM subscriber, I was pleasantly surprised with the spooling capability of this model. From the moment you hit the on button, it starts caching up to one half hour on each of 18 presents. You can then scan or skip to the beginning of each song, all from your favorite stations. This is caching at its best at a very low cost.

Pros: Unparalleled spooling capabilities coupled with affordability.

Cons: Sirius XM - Just like the cable companies with their deceptive ads and changing price structure. Consumer beware!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

GREAT PRODUCT !!!

KrisBCR from Bandon OR on 11/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product !!! Has a very nice, clean, compact design. I made this purchase for my vehicle and realized you can take it ANYWHERE !!! It's super easy to set up. You get GREAT programming and absolutely NO commercials !!! YEAH !!!!

Pros: Light, compact design. Commercial free radio ANYWHERE.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Little Receiver

Jerry from Denver, CO on 8/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with the home doc in the mountains. It provides plenty of radio selections where there isn't anything else to listen to.

Pros: Works well, Channel hopping (T-Mix) feature is great

Cons: Display is pretty small, it's hard to see the channel name or album art. Antenna needs to be outside, doesn't work thru a window.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Sirius XM Onyx Plus

Rich from Ocala, Florida on 8/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is great Color screen is awesome glad I went to this model.

Pros: Easy to use no problem with installation, or programming

Cons: only good comments

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Helmutf from Staunton, VA on 7/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently I looked for a replacement of my Stiletto 2, which I owned for several years. After looking at available options I decided to chose the Onyx Plus. I like the Onyx better than the Stiletto 2 since it is easier to operate (without reading the manual), has a nice color display and clear button layout. I do miss, however, the recording capability of the Stiletto (practically unlimited time, the longest I recorded was 14 hrs due to a programming mistake) since I can't always listen when the "good stuff" is on. I bought it from Crutchfield since I needed advice after looking at many radios on the internet. As always, got excellent advice. I highly recommend this player.

Pros: Nice color display. Very good button layout. Operation by intuition easy (we engineers don't like to read manuals).

Cons: No recording capability (apparently, none of the new radios have it).

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Best XM Radio

BWK from Fort Myers, FL on 5/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been listening to XM since its beginning and have owned many radios over the years. This is by far the most impressive unit that I have used. The best feature is that it will automatically beginning recording up to 18 of your favorite channels as soon as it is powered on. The manual says that it records about the past 45 minutes, but it seems closer to an hours worth. The screen is very bright and clear and the UI is easy to understand. As long as you have a clear shot of the southern sky, this radio is a winner.

Pros: Channel recording, screen display, remote, extra XM channels, many more.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Savannah GA on 5/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. I wasn't sure that I needed the color screen, but I don't regret getting it. I travel a lot and use this constantly. I highly recommend.

Pros: Large display; forward and rewind songs; very easy to navigate

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

JayK from East Peoria, IL on 5/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Terrific. Much better than the first generation Onyx.

Pros: Too many to mention in a full review. Color screen is outstanding. Controls are easier to see and use.

Cons: None that I can think of. It is beautiful.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus radio

Richard from Granger,Tx on 3/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio and ordering experience from Crutchfield as usual. Everything just as I expected.Been ordering from Crutchfield for years knowing that they will back up any thing I order. Could have ordered elsewhere but feel more confident from Crutchfield.

Pros: The radio has a nice bright display and the remote will work across the room if needed.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

TOP