Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Dock & Play satellite radio with vehicle kit (subscription sold separately by SiriusXM)

MFR # SXPL1V1

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Dock & Play satellite radio with vehicle kit (subscription sold separately by SiriusXM)

MFR # SXPL1V1

74 reviews
View this product

Onyx plus

Crutchfield customer from Lorton, VA on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great customer service and knowledge of items.

Pros: I have XM again. Advisor was great and really helped with purchase. Great service and shipping. Was at my front door next day.

Cons: I live in an area. (DC). Finding an unused fm station was difficult. Purchased the fm modulator and antenna adapters about a week later. You need the direct connect kit. Again, my order was here the next day.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onyx Plus on Fiat 124 Spider

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 5/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Onyx Plus was a great alternative for our Fiat 124 Spider's radio system. I went to several custom car radio installers, and none of them would even try to help. I called Crutchfield as a last resort. The person I talked to was extremely helpful and knew exactly what I needed. Installation of the Onyx Plus was easy and works well with the exception of reception. Reception is a bit spotty, but I was expecting a certain amount of that. Generally I'm very satisfied with the results.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: Spotty reception

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Kodiak, AK on 5/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit installs with ease! Crutchields has outstanding service as always.

Pros: great set up but wish they would add a 12volt option without cigarette lighter.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SXM RADIO

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 5/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, works fine

Pros: Easy to install, looks nice, works as it should

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Nanuet, NY on 4/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The antenna connection only worked once before braking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/22/2021
We're sorry you had issues with your antenna. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Blairsville, GA on 2/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Thompson, ND on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it needed a cassette adaptor for it to work, wallmart had one.

Pros: sounds great.

Cons: be nice to encloud cascette adpt.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from South Fork, CO on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great deal took a while to get XM to activate but working great now

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Newport Beach, CA on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works good, vent mount OK, display small and reflects everything, making it hard toread

Pros: price

Cons: display

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Kennesaw, GA on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and easy to use!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sirius Onyx unit

Crutchfield customer from Brunswick, OH on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a reorder for this item. Use it constantly. Can't be without it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A nice add on XM unit

Crutchfield customer from Arvada, CO on 3/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nicely made unit and I expect it to work great in my car. I have not installed it yet so I cannot comment on its function but I expect no problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

It works but

Crutchfield customer from Dummer, NH on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to replace an old Starmate that stopped working with this unit. There was interference with my phone that I didn't have with my old unit. Out of the 6 recommended channels only one worked without interference and that station has the same dead spots than my old radio but those spots are a little longer in length. There is also occasionally some static I didn't have with the old one. I believe the unit must be used with the dock and that must be used with one of the mounts and that sticks out m ore than I like, and in, I assume most cars, it uses a self adhesive backing that dosn't stick to many of the textured parts of the dash

Pros:

Cons: sticks out too far, self adhesive backing that dosn't stick to many of the textured parts of the dash. interference with my phone, Out of the 6 recommended channels only one worked, longer dead spots, some static

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onyx Plus

Les from Hamlin, WV on 1/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have been a Sirius subscriber for many years and just upgraded to the Onyx Plus. Only complaint that I have is the display not the clearest. The letters and numbers are fuzzy. With technology being where it is today seems that Sirius could add a few more pixels to their radio receivers to equal that of even a cheap cell phone at least. Other than the display I like the radio a lot. Would like to send another big Thank You to the staff at Crutchfield for the great service you provide. Keeps me coming back time after time.

Pros: Good quality product, easy to install and set up.

Cons: Display not as clear as it coud be.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onyx Plus review

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 12/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought the Onyx Plus to replace my old Lynx radio which was also purchased from Crutchfield. Very pleased with it so far.

Pros: Much simpler to work than the old SiriusXM Lynx radio.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Antenna is a constant issue

Shannon from Charlotte, NC on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've used the same radio for the last 5-6 years and I love the features. The variety of channels on this unit surpasses the factory unit that is in our 2019 Toyota. However, the issues I have had with the antenna are insurmountable. I've finally thrown in the towel until better options are available. The antenna is so sensitive and I've had to replace a dozen if I've replaced one. Sadly, the newer the antenna it seems the more frequently I have to replace it. I overlook the unsightly wires because I love the music, but the antenna issue just can't be overcome. It's far too sensitive and I'm constantly getting a message that it's disconnected. I've gone so far as to replace the entire unit and I am still dealing with antenna issues. It's such a shame, as this unit would be almost ideal otherwise.

Pros: Great variety of stations and features

Cons: The antenna issues are a deal breaker

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyn pre-review

Crutchfield customer from Warsaw, IN on 11/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't installed yet , I will return to give an more acurate review once thats done , all I can say for now is Sirus radio is smaller that expected. the only reason I'm doing this now is to enter for the Crutchfield Rewards card , If that hadnt happened I would have waited until I had installed radio ,hopefully I'll be able to come back on here and update review ,if not then change my rating to a one star

Pros: don't know yet

Cons: smaller than expected

Crutchfield response on

2 of 7 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Danese, WV on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it!

Pros: It has more features than my 2019 Buick's stock radio with SXM built in.

Cons: Have to ensure my wifes vehicle is always locked, or remove the portable unit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Unit great.Customer service needs work.

Crutchfield customer from Land O Lakes, FL on 10/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit itself is pretty good with clear reception.Getting it in service with Sirius itself was a whole other story. There was a 3month subscription till they canceled it during enabling the thing.They blamed me for canceling it,which was impossible,since during that time,I was driving to Best buy to get a needed cable to make the thing work.Nobody I talked to was of any help and disallowed that I had nothing to do with that.I tired of their BS and just bought a subscription and about 2 hours later after 3 hours of these antics,all was well.If things go this way again,when it's time to re-up,I'll just use spotify.

Pros: Good reception.Better than radio by a long shot.It's nice to not DJ CD's ,phones or memory sticks,when driving.

Cons: Set-up was a bumpy ride and slow. I was expecting 15 min to 30 minutes. That was not the case in this instance.also Sirius jacked my free trial,so I did not get one.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

portable satellite radio

Crutchfield customer from Harbor City, CA on 10/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great with any car radio and super friendly to use

Pros: everything is perfect

Cons: none :)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic product

Tony from Denver, CO on 2/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item was so easy to install. I am very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, MO on 11/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product so far it works great! Crutchfield was very good to work with!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Why didn't I do this sooner?

Dan from Cleveland, OH on 11/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We got tired while traveling to constantly trying to find a good radio station, that we wanted to update our listening habits. We researched the available options and came up with the SiriusXM Onyx Plus as the perfect choice. We can move it between cars, take it in the house with the Home Kit and enjoy it everywhere. We've had it now 2 weeks, we wonder why it took us so long! After using it, It is perfectly clear that we're mentally slow. That is the reason that it took us this long. I'm driving from Ohio to Texas this week and can't wait to really appreciate the unit and the service during the 20 hour drive, One Way!!! and really get spoiled with it coming home. Thank you Crutchfield for helping me choose the perfect unit partnered with a Great service, XM. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

Pros: It works!

Cons: Haven't found one yet. Simple Setup, Simple Usage. Perfect for me because I'm simple too!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

AJ from Panguitch, Utah on 9/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for what we needed.

Pros: Great size and value. Would recommend

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Joseph E. from Louisville, KY on 3/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's exactly what I needed to replace my express receiver. Easy installation, great graphics, amazing clarity. Fantastic product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

XM

CDRQ from Littleton, NH on 9/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a replacement for a Sportster. It came with everything I needed to install. This thing works great, is easy to read and gets better reception than the old model. I recommend this product

Pros: Easy to install, read and set up

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great

Donald from Indiana on 9/13/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Nice to be able to move it from vehicles garage and house!

Pros: Movable

Cons: Can't find a good mount

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Rich C from Charlotte, NC on 6/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the channel selection on SiriusXM. I was one of the fortunate ones who purchased lifetime subscription years a go. Only negative is losing reception when going through tree lined areas.

Pros: Number of channels available. Finding my music type and my sports teams where ever I'm traveling.

Cons: Reception can come in and out at times

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic performance at a great price!

Michael from Lindenhurst, NY on 4/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Camaro has an aftermarket radio already; I was going to buy a Double Din Touchscreen to get a nice unit with built in Sirius Tuner, But this one cant be beat for the price! My favorite feature are the Artist/Song Alerts.

Pros: Easy set up, The vent clips are much nicer than I expected

Cons: None that I see

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sirius XM Onyx Plus

Mark from North Ridgeville, Ohio on 4/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit. Works as expected. Only negative is some of the screen text is small and hard to read in bright daylight.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent produt

Gregmo from batesville, AR on 3/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Easy to install and use right out of the box. Great features.

Pros: Everything about it.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Onyx plus

JD from Scranton, PA on 2/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Does everything as described. Still figuring out how to save favorite artists/songs for alerts.

Pros: Easy install, color display, pause and rewind programs.

Cons: Screen small and hard to see artwork/graphics.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Product

Crutchfield customer from Bridgeport, CT on 2/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, the buttons are a little on the small side. It's good for the price

Pros: Fast delivery and easy to install

Cons: Screen is a little on the small side and it no longer has a clock

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

good upgrade

chuck from Texas on 1/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have had Onyx radios for a while and these new upgrade are good. They are a lot like the old one's but with some nice changes. I would recommend these to anyone.

Pros: Nice changes from old style.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great value

Sabby from Westfield, Ma on 1/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is great and easy to use!

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Signal can get choppy in some areas

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Onyx Plus

Zach from Virginia on 12/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well!

Pros: 3 different mounting options, and I enjoy the feature to rewind the live radio or start a song over.

Cons: buttons must be pressed firmly which can put some stress on the mount.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

XM Radio works as promised

BobT from Maryland on 12/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

XM Tuner added to new 2016 Mustang Base Radio via FM Adapter. Professional installation. Tuner and adapter works fine. Totally satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sirius XM Plus

Johnnie A from Philadelphia Pa on 12/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Want to upgrade the unit from the Starmate 4 to onyx plus and glad l did , great unit easy to install, l'm in heaven it sounds great. Love it.

Pros: Easy to install, display the songs and musicians on the unit for reference.

Cons: Not yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Onyx Plus

Tahiti from California on 12/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived like it shold works great either in the vehicle kit it came with or inserted into our portable boombox.

Pros: Sounds great and works out of the box. With the correct service it pickups up the NHL so my wife can listen to the Ducks.

Cons: vehicle kits are a bit of work to install but that is the nature of the beast. Would be nice if they had a hardwire kit instead of using the cigarette lighter socket.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus - great buy

CuttDad from Maryland on 9/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to add SiriusXM to my Jeep Grand Cherokee and this product was the best fit for me. I did an online chat with two different Crutchfield technicians on two different occasions in deciding exactly what I wanted to purchase. I only wanted to add SiriusXM to my existing radio. I ended up buying the Sirius Onyx XM Plus and am happy with my purchase. The only drawback I had in this whole process was that even though everything that was included in the Onyx, is all that is needed to have SiriusXM in a vehicle, the technicians I chatted with told me that I needed to buy more items. I found out that to be wrong, everything in the box was exactly what I needed, nothing else. I believe the techs were trying to suggest items to make this product a "better" install, but I wanted the absolute basic and that is what I got with the Onyx. It seemed they were trying to sell me more items than I wanted. Good idea but not what I was asking for. Absolutely love this product. Now that it is all hooked up, I am very happy.

Pros: Onyx has everything to add Sirius to your vehicle Relatively easy install Very good price to be able to add SiriusXM to a vehicle

Cons: None really, does exactly what I wanted it to. No problem whatsoever with Crutchfield, had an immense amount of trouble trying to activate the radio once I got it in my vehicle. Tried to activate it online only to find out that it wouldn't recognize my radioID. Resolved issue with two chats online and a finally a phone call which lasted almost a half hour.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus is great

Stephen from Woodstock, VA on 7/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just purchased the SiriusXM Onyx Plus and had Crutchfield install it at their Harrisonburg, VA location. The install was professional and the staff was great to work with. I have had XM radio in the past and the SiriusXM Onyx Plus has large buttons and the pause button is nice. The large color screen is easy to read and the car kit works perfect. This is a great buy for those who are in the car a long time or someone who would take their SiriusXM Onyx Plus out of the car and use at home.

Pros: The pause/rewind feature is great. I like the home options for the SiriusXM Onyx Plus system. The color screen is great.

Cons: It would be nice to have an optional wireless remote and have 30 presets instead of 20.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

mixed experance

JoelD from Alabama on 5/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Review guidelines say to rate the product and nothing else , but the service is too much a part of sat radio to ignore. I sent back the first radio I got because I couldn't get it to perform properly(major pain).I now believe I got bad support from Sirius but the second radio keeps cutting out and announcing the antenna is damaged. When the radio works, it is wonderful l .Dont buy if unsightly wires bother you.

Pros: price . portability. great to have sat radio in a 19 year old truck

Cons: must have service 60 days before you get the rebate. questionably reliability.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

My XM Radio

Carlos W from Nashville,TN on 5/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio works great in my mustang.

Pros: Compact, sounds great, easy to set up in car.

Cons: None at this time!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Radio

Rian from Illinois on 4/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio. Just what I wanted. It is awesome to be able to review what is playing on other channels without tuning to them and to be able to replay songs from other channels that I wasn't even listening to when the songs played.

Pros: See my review.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sirius onyx plus

Rod from Az on 4/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Visible display, recording of music is a plus.

Pros: Excellent build quality. Ease of install and use

Cons: I could do without the messy wiring.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

sirius xm

james p from Mechanicsville, VA on 3/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price and awesomw features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

John from South San Francisco,California on 2/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Onyx Plus is a very nice unit, Easy to follow instructions,nad it took less than 2 hours to fully install in a GMC Yukon

Pros: Simple to setup. I live in a metro area with almost all FM frequencies in use, and I can always find a usable frequency. Love the selections on SiriusXm without a lot of commercials. $50 rebate is nice too.

Cons: Can't think f any so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

GotGrits from Lexington, SC on 2/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Happy with the product!

Pros: Easy to install - easy to setup

Cons: Wish the power convertor (12V plug/5 v output) was smaller - takes up way too much space. Will be buying a hard wired version to free up the plug.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

George from Columbia, MD on 1/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice unit and provide every details that one needs into what station you are listening too.

Pros: easy of use and connect ability.

Cons: Instruction was hard to follow in the booklit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Larry from Louisiana on 1/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick shipment, easy installation. A windshield replacement facility showed me how to hide the antenna wire under a trim piece. Looks great. Works great. What more can you ask for?

Pros: FM transmitter works well (better than expected). Easy install.

Cons: Subscription is a little pricey.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Georgia on 12/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast delivery and reliable product based on other reviews. Gave this item as a giftas so I hope they like it! Crutchfield has always come through for me in the past!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not what I expected

Gary from Hampton VA on 12/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I should have done better research! I didn't realize that you had to plug the antenna outside the car in order to get a decent signal. Also the power adapter isn't usable in anything other than a cigarette lighter which makes taking the unit into the office a non-starter without purchasing additional equipment. I thought the unit would be similar to a GPS but was woefully mistaken. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: The packaging makes the unit look really slick. What you don't see is all the wiring for the unit and the antenna that has to be mounted outside because the signal is weak inside the car. Power adapter should be universal so you can use standard plug in or cigarette lighter and USB capable. Way too much money for the outdated technology.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 26 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Fz67rs from Nj on 12/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product easy installation

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sirus Onyx Plus

RMoore from Florida on 12/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little radio

Pros: Lot of music at your fingertips

Cons: Sound is less than I expected, very compressed digital sound.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Craigmont, ID on 10/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great satellite radio

Gene from Westminster, MD on 9/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Reception isn't as good compared to a standard factory installed satellite radio in newer vehicles.

Pros: Small, doesn't take up much space. Vehicle kit provides a couple options for mounting the device. Display is clear and colorful. Buttons are very responsive.

Cons: The wires are slightly cumbersome. It can be difficult to set it up and have everything look clean and organized.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

awesome

srsorrell from greenville, SC on 8/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My husband loves his new satelitte radio I got him for his truck. He is often out of town driving and his is a great way for him to keep up with all the sports. Also, I listen to the satellite connection via my tablet when I am at work. So, the cost is really great!

Pros: -easy to use -you can use the service via a tablet when you don't have access to the radio -easy to install

Cons: don't have any yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Exactly What I Was Looking For

namgew from Fairfield, OH on 8/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit has some really nice features and keeps a steady signal in my area. I had previously considered and even tested using my SmartPhone with the SiriusXM app and just having the Internet only access. However, I don't have an unlimited data plan, so going over my data limit was a concern. Also, the data signal didn't stay consistent enough. When it switched from 4G to 3G or 1G, the signal would pause or get lost all together. The app is not as feature rich as this unit. Also, it frees up my phone if I want to use it for navigation. I'm anxious to try this on an extended trip to see how it does over a long distance. I originally hooked up through the cassette play, but switched over the FM signal. I haven't had any problems with having to change FM frequencies and the sound is pretty clear with no interference. The reason for transmitting versus wire was to avoid having another wire visible.

Pros: 20 station presets, signal reliability and audio quality, set up was easy.

Cons: Channel navigation is a little cumbersome. I don't know my channel numbers yet to be able to jump right to the channel I want when I'm looking for talk, or sports channels. More of a wish list and probably more a feature from SiriusXM than the unit is to have lyrics display. Lastly, the mounting bracket must be missing something because I couldn't get it to tighten. Wen to the hardware store and got a rubber grommet to press against the base to hold it in place.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Crutchfield customer from Fullerton, CA on 7/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio allows me to have satellite radio in my Avalanche, wherever I may go. Being a person who likes to go camping, hiking and fishing, this offers me the chance to use my truck even more than before for those things. The set-up and installation were fairly easy.

Pros: Allows me to have satellite radio in my Avalanche, wherever I may go. Fairly easy to insall and set-up.

Cons: None, thus far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Onyx Plus

tiller84 from Central California on 7/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product was exactly as described. I bought it as a replacement for an older unit and was not disappointed.

Pros: Everything about this product is exceptional! I especially like the pause/play, fast forward, and rewind feature.

Cons: There aren't any.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent purchase

Nicole from Clearwater, Fl on 7/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was the first time I've ever had sirus xm and was pleasently surprised with this product. It comes with 2 different style holders. 1 for the vent and 1 that sticks to just about anywhere imaginable. Easy install and start up. All in all an excellent choice!!

Pros: There are only pros...everything is exceptional!!

Cons: Nothing bad about it

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product

Chris L. from Snaford, Fl on 7/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

System was a breeze to install and works like a champ.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

A perfect upgrade -- better than what came with the car!

BillS from Washington, DC on 7/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace an older receiver that was installed in my car. I was having problems with the one that was installed, so I decided to replace the whole thing. Turns out that it was only the antenna that was bad in my existing installation, but I was so happy with the new receiver that I decided to keep it anyway! One of my favorite features of the Audiovox was the TuneSelect feature, where the receiver alerts me if one of my favorite artists or songs is playing on another channel. The Onyx plus has this feature, but also brings it to a new level. The receiver will record the audio from several of your favorite channels simultaneously. If you put it into the T-Mix mode, you can then skip through all of the songs it's recorded, and listen to the ones you like. Similarly, if you catch the end of a song you like when you switch to a station, you just have to hit the rewind button and can start it over from the beginning. This is also capable of listening to the new 2.0 channels (up in the 300's) which adds a few more stations to the mix. My wife has a built in factory receiver in her car, and after driving in my car, she's jealous of mine! The only thing I miss about my old Audiovox receiver is that it had an AUX input on the side of it. So if I wanted to plug my phone into the stereo (either for hands free calls through the cars speakers, or to listen to audio through my phone) I would do it there. Now I have to use a cassette adapter (factory radio)

Pros: TuneSelect and T-Mix feaures are must!

Cons: - I've had the receiver lock up twice while using it. Both times have been when the tune select feature finds a song I like. Unplugging the power and then plugging it back in fixed it both times. - No AUX input

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Shawn

Shawn from Elkton, MD on 6/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, works great and is easy to navigate. Great sound quality.

Pros: Flexibility from vehicle to home use is a plus. Easy installation.

Cons: Doesn't work well in FM mode.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Joe from Colorado on 6/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup and easy use! Not complicated at all-love the portability. Shipment came as expected. The rebate was awesome. Received for Father's day gift, works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

sirius xm onyx plus

VAN from Thompson, Ohio on 5/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great - just have to get used to the real "fancy" of controls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Check what programming you want beofre purchasing

Wouldn't you like to know from Detroit, Michigan on 5/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price it is worth it. However, watch out thet this is an "XM" radio...Even though it's all one company "SiriusXM". Because its an XM radio rather than a Sirius radio means you have to purchase the premium lineup @ $14 a month to receive Howard Stern. If you buy a Sirius radio you get a cheaper premium lineup for $10. The radio itself is good. Good display. Good Sound quality. The fm transmitter is ok...they aren't as strong as a few years ago. For the price it's worth it.

Pros: Price, great display, Good sound quality, has the buffering option

Cons: No remote, antenna isn't as good as the flat wider antenna that come with other radios, forced into a premium plan for channels I want

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Onyx plus

Ron from Tucson Az on 5/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install pretty straight forward. Everything went together fine. Have had Sirius before so just added to wife's account.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Richie

Richie from Hattiesburg, MS on 5/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The portable Sirius radio and car kit work extremely well - every fit perfectly with very little effort and no tools required.

Pros: Easy to install, easily portable for in-home use as well as in the vehicle. Plus with the rebate on a decent purchase price - the value was beyond belief.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Guest from charlottesville, va on 5/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product, easy to install, but the instructions for how to use the actual unit are very lacking, lots of trial and error but it is loaded with great features just wish it had detailed info on how to use them all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

jamminjoee1 from western maryland on 4/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this and out of the box it work good, i like the album art on the display when you have music on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield rules

dlizotte from Syracuse, NY on 4/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took me many years, but I finally got sold on satellite radio. This particular unit really enhances your SiriusXM experience with this whole TuneMix feature they added. Basically from the moment you turn the radio on it begins recording up to 18 of your preset stations and jumps from song to song between them. If you don't like a song you can skip it... Pretty awesome, and allows them to compete with other services like Pandora and the like. Not that any of those other services can really compete with amount of programming SXM has. Music, comedy, talk AND sports. I dunno, I sound like a sales person but I promise I'm not! Anyway, Crutchfield is really what sold me on this. There were some sweet rebates, and they were very helpful with my various questions. Plus free fast shipping. I remember my father getting the catalog and ordering from them in the 80s. Proud to be keeping the tradition alive.

Pros: Awesome unit, great service, Crutchfield's customer service and prices

Cons: Unit doesn't sound as good as if you pay to enable it in your xm ready vehicle, but if this is your only option like me then you'll love it

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Freedom

Kevin S. from Lackawanna, N.Y. on 4/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's compact, light weight, portable and great design. I love the screen and ease of use. Works for me!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SiriusXM Onyx Plus

Ines from Portland, CT on 4/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this receiver ... Easy to install and the price was great .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP