Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
681 722 472 3
Connect ID #
681 722 472 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

MTX THUNDER500.1

Mono subwoofer amplifier — 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # THUNDER500.1

MTX THUNDER500.1

MTX THUNDER500.1

Mono subwoofer amplifier — 500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

MFR # THUNDER500.1

57 reviews
View this product

Great choice

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NC on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Great quality. Small and compact.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MI on 7/9/2020

2009 Audi A5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX Amp ????

Crutchfield customer from Rainelle, WV on 7/6/2020

2017 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchase this amp because my JBL went out powering my JL W6. Was very much surprised in the punch this amp gave my sub. I would highly recommend this amp to anyone looking.

Pros: Fast shipping, small, packs a punch.

Cons: Don't have one yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big power in a small package

Crutchfield customer from Leander, TX on 4/16/2020

2019 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first MTX amplifier I've purchased since a Thunder 2300 back in the late 90's. That amp is still in use and is a monster, so I went with another MTX when it came time to install a sub into my wife's Mustang GT. It's a great little mono amplifier.

Pros: big power in a small package. 4 gauge power/ground connection.

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It has been years since I needed to buy an amp. I did my research and for I needed this seemed to be the best one for me and it is. Size, price quality of sound. All round a perfect purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

Crutchfield customer from Berlin, WI on 6/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The MTX amp worked perfectly. More than enough power for two 10" mtx subs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

Crutchfield customer from Mission Viejo, CA on 1/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm a loyal MTX fan. I just purchased a complete MTX system for my 2018. Was disappointed when I tried to hook up the amp and found only RCA inputs, back to the store for a converter. In addition manual was not as in-depth as I would like.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

Crutchfield customer from Parkersburg, WV on 12/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered to pair up with two 10", MTX Terminators. Have note hooked up yet , but sure will fit the bill for some added clear bass. Will be in daughters car, 2010 Impreza. She just wants some added bass, but nothing that will blow her out of the car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

James from Albuquerque, NM on 2/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp small size, powers 2 10' kicker dual vc great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

Camille from Dadeville, AL on 1/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

Crutchfield customer from San Saba, TX on 1/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound in a small concealable box

Pros: Lots of punch, clear sound, small housing, seems to run cool.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

Crutchfield customer from Asheboro, NC on 1/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Powerful, good sounding amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

Crutchfield customer from Bartow, FL on 11/14/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean and powerful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Good so far

BB33 from Idaho Falls, ID on 5/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far this sub has treated me well. It's mounting points are easy to get to. All of the terminals are good quality. And the sound clarity is realllllyyy good.

Pros: Good sound Sleak design Lots of watts Slot for remote bass knob Good terminals A lot of sound adjustment

Cons: Gets a little warm after extensive use

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Outstanding Amp.

R. Upshur from Hampton, VA on 5/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Amp, Works Great With My Subs.

Pros: Great Sound.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

awesome product

Kenny from Texas on 12/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better then what I was expecting

Pros: Very good bass

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Phil S from Michigan on 11/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit under second row seat in Jeep Commander. Good install and support when I asked a question. Sounds great.

Pros: Compact size. Looks and sounds great.

Cons: No high level input.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome Amplifier

JoelB from Indiana on 8/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amplifier I have it hooked up to MTX RTL 12X2D and the bass is extreme!

Pros: Easy installation and setup. Worked immediately and perfect pair fore MTX RTL 12X2D

Cons: Not any that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great amp!

Jwinter from 84075 on 6/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp! Great power out of such a small amp! Powering two Rockford fosgate 10's! Sounds awesome!

Pros: Small and compact fits in small spaces!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

very good amp

Wrench from Maryland on 5/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install and has great sound with the speakers choosen

Pros: easy to install and had easy to understand instructions

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Chance from Oklahoma City on 3/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, pushes my MTX shallow mount 10 very nicely.

Pros: Easy install with easy to understand instructions. Small footprint and easily mountable in my FRS.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

mtx thunder500

Reggie from dallas tx on 1/13/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little amp is just enough if not more than what I needed. I am very satisfied and with the sound quality this little amp definitely backs up the brand!

Pros: It's small so you have an advantage if you have limited space. It pushes my 2 kicker cvt's with no problem. The amp hasn't gotten hot any. Overall this thing deserve 5 stars

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Great amp / hard punch to sub

Greg from Middletown on 12/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compact size with clarity & lots of power

Pros: Clarity , power, built in sub cross over

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very good Amp

scottrr from Miwaukee, WI on 9/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good mono amp, Small, cool, and takes alot of vibration-at least so far.

Pros: Small, Doesn't get Hot

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Good amp, good price

SteveR from Dayton, OH on 5/22/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp, drives my Rockford Fosgate 15" sub very nicely. Amp stays cool, small footprint made for easy install under the seat. Good value for the price, good sound.

Pros: compact & easy to mount, good sound and power, good price.

Cons: haven't found any yet!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great little amp

LMLHD from APO Germany on 5/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp for a great price. I have it powering a JL Audio 10w6v3 and the amp does just fine. I set the gain with an oscilloscope and after calculating the voltage with the speaker ohm level, the amp is putting out 548 watts RMS with no clipping.

Pros: Excellent value. Powerful.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX Rocks

Russ from South Dakota on 3/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

MTX Thunder 500, Audio control LC2 shallow mount 10" DVC 2 ohm is just what my 2011 F 150 SC needed. This amp has is amazing more than I would need. The gains turned down and still pounds. Crystal clear sound from both. Thank you Crutchfield

Pros: Small size , very we'll made, lots of power, 2 ohm stable.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The little amp that could...

RubenN from Los Angeles, CA on 3/4/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My MTX 500.1 mono amp is paired with a 10'' Alpine Type S in a ported box at 2 ohms and it POUNDS. The amp is as small as they could possible make these things which was the main reason (along with the price point) for choosing this amp. Having owned an Alpine mono amp of the same wattage, this one seems to hit a little harder. Having to turn up my system for over an hour of bass-heavy tunes, this amp was warm and didn't break a sweat.

Pros: - Small size - value in power output

Cons: - No remote bass controls (hardly a CON)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

great sub amp

hotrod from central, AL on 2/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using this to power a 10" Polk sub in a sealed enclosure.... Plenty of power and I really like the small size - able to mount just about anywhere...

Pros: powerful small footprint

Cons: none yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small price, big punch

Stan from Baton Rouge, LA on 1/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this mated with a JL Audio 13" TW5-3 3-ohm sub in one of their StealthBoxes and a Pioneer AVH-X1500DVD head unit. The speaker handles up to 600W RMS and this beast of an amplifier slams it with the gain set at about 1/3 of maximum and the bass boost (has settings for 0db, 6db, 12db) at 0db! The bass response is tight and fairly flat all the way down to the lower registers. It is rated at 300W for a 4-ohm load and 500W with a 2-ohm load, so I'm guessing it's rated at about 400W with a 3-ohm load (Manual doesn't specify output for 3-ohm load). But it seems like this amp may be underrated on power. Small footprint and unbelievable price tag for an amp this good. I've heard (never owned) other MTX Thunder amps in the past and they've always impressed me, but the price tag of this one raised a flag. I read the mostly positive reviews and decided to take a chance, and I'm 100% convinced I made a great buy. Runs cool, even at pretty loud volume. If you need solid, clean power at a very reasonable price, this is the amp for you.

Pros: Small footprint, clean sound, powerful!

Cons: It wasn't free

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

hearing goodbye hello mad neighbors

james from reedsburg wi on 12/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

clean bass

Pros: small,powerfull

Cons: angle of wire bolts speaker + both next to each other same for the - speaker wire ports

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

TNT

Baha from Athens Ga on 12/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only thing that I can compare it to is dynamite. They are both small, very powerful, and way under rated! Running one JL 10" sub rated at 300 watts rms and have to turn the gain way down and bass boost off. Could very easily run another one. Sound quality is great and lots of tuning capabilities. Would purchase again in a heartbeat!

Pros: Small strong and clean sounding

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great amp regardless of the price

MPohio from Central, Ohio on 12/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp really surprised me!! I paired this up with my alpine Type R 8" sub. A little more power than my amps require, but that is a good thing and it works darn near perfectly together!! Stays cool, easy to install and doesn't take up too much space.

Pros: Has subsonic filtering, stays cool, price compared to others. Plenty of controls to help you hit the sweet spot.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Mtx Amo

Crutchfield customer from Germany on 11/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A small amount with big sound I'm satisfied. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great little amp

DaveP from kansas on 10/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the price.It is very well built produces good bass even though it is paired with some older subs.It was installed in my nephews car so I haven't got to listen to it much.But it sure put a smile on his face.

Pros: very good input and output terminals,compact size,amp adjustments,and build quality

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Amp!

Doug from Lodi, CA on 10/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed to power an MTX Sub in a 2001 Dodge Dakota Quad-Cab. Easy installation, small and compact, excellent power and really drives the Sub!

Pros: Great power for the money. Small and compact for installation almost anywhere. Clean clear power.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid build, compact, good power

Scott from Nashville, TN on 8/23/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is even smaller than you expect once getting it in your hands. However, while the footprint is small, it still is over 2 inches high and is quite heavy. Connections are all solid and the look is very clean. Appears very well built, for the price it is massively overbuilt. Power output is as advertised and it seems to run well under continuous load - doesn't get too hot. I initially hooked it up to a shallow sub with very low sensitivity and it was underwhelming. However, substituting a pair of more traditional 10's it proved the limitation was the sub, not the amp. It pounded the 10's! Looks like if I stick with my current, self-imposed space restrictions I will need to either add a second shallow 12 or switch to a couple traditional 8 inchers that will make much better use of this amp's power. Bottom line - an incredible deal for the price and just a very nice amp overall.

Pros: Size, build quality, power and installation flexibility

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big Power Small Package

Nathanial from Plant City, FL on 8/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got two Alpine Type E's and chose the Thunder500.1 to power them. This amp packs a big punch even with the bass turned down. The amp have an amazingly clean exterior that against a light grey background just pops.

Pros: Big Power. Compact design. Easy to install.

Cons: Non yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great value

telekaster from San Diego, CA on 7/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm using it to drive a JL CP108LG-w3v3 subwoofer/enclosure. It's a great match. This is one of the best values on the market when you shop for comparable amps.

Pros: Great price. Small size. Good power.

Cons: The optional accessory external bass control (EBC) is no good at all. All the adjustment is within the first 10% of knob travel, then it's FULL BLAST past that point. I purchased and returned it to MTX after testing it out. I went with an RCA-based gain control. The full range of the knob is usable with that unit. The amplifier itself is great.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big wattage in a tiny package

BlakeY from Madisonville, Ky on 7/5/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought many many amps in the past and this thing should be put up next to the best. The price is deceiving and the pictures even more. This amp is tiny, but the footprint it leaves is huge. Currently pushing a 12" pioneer premier spl 3000 in the bass bunker sub box thats also here on crutchfield and man does it pound. Only thing it needs is a bass remote included.

Pros: Small size, price, wattage output, sound

Cons: No bass remote

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sleeper

David g from Tn on 7/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small but packs a good punch

Pros: Size,power

Cons: No fuse

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

small amp but does it's job!!

truc from orange county, ca` on 6/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i was surprise how small this amp was. i hook the amp to my (2) kickers cvr 800 total rms and it slaps! this amp produce clean bass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

So far so good

Crutchfield customer from Farley, ia on 6/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice power for the price

Pros: Small, powerful , reasonably priced

Cons: Speaker terminals could use a better connector

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

big power small package

Ed from Washington coast on 6/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bang for the buck for sure.. Amp is compact but still cranks out the power. I am pleasantly surprised, great deal.

Pros: compact size fits under seat, clean power. less connectors needed, wires plug right into amp.

Cons: can't see any seems i got more than what I paid for.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Powerfull little amp

1badawg from Akron Oh on 6/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered this for a friend who wanted me to put a system in his Jeep Wrangler that " is loud enough to hear with the top down and clear enough to enjoy". And oh ya, take as little space as possible. Was able to mount this under the steering column and wow. Great power to pair of Boston Acoustic 10's in a custom box behind back seat.

Pros: Small size, great power.

Cons: Wired remote not included

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GREAT!

Seajdilla from Edmonds, WA on 6/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed it about two weeks ago and I've had nothing but great sound.. My last amp would get to hot and cut out ALL THE TIME, this MTX stays cool and pumpin that bass!!

Pros: Price, Size, Power,

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Big sound in a small package

Brant C from Woodstock Ga on 6/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this amp to a polk audio 10 and wow.It shakes the whole car with the gains turned down.I would recommend is amp to anybody looking for a lot bang for the dollar.

Pros: Small,doesn't take up a lot of room.powerful

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

GeorgeE from Mobile, AL on 5/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small, easy to mount, but a powerhouse... pushing one 15" sub, it hits Hard! not using near the potential of this amp yet. no worries about upgrading with this little powerhouse.

Pros: Small... Lots of Boom... Runs Cool...

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX Thunder500.1

Williams from Las Vegas NV on 5/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good little amp. Currently running two 10" Kenwood KFC-XW10's. Granted, the subs are rated for more than the amp can produce but it makes the subs pound hard. I have the new Kenwood KDC-X797 head unit and they both pair up pretty good. The amp is strong. It gets pretty warm on me when I have the music turned up and may have shut off on me once but I am not sure if that is what happened cuz it hasn't happened since then. I have done the Big 3 upgrade on my Honda Civic with 4 awg cables and with the volume up loud I do get the headlights to flicker a little bit on my 80 amp alternator. So... it's not drawing a terrible amount of power. Just got the EBC bass control to control the bass with a remote knob rather than through the head unit (that's annoying) but haven't hooked it up yet. Just adding this in to let you know that it offers this feature. You may be able to find a better price for the amp than from Crutchfield, but that is not to knock Crutchfield, they stand behind their products 110% and the Customer Service is worth the extra $. For a low cost bang for your buck subwoofer amp for your small stereo system I would definitely recommend this amp for sure.

Pros: small, good power, loud, good price. It's MTX and I have always liked MTX amps.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lil Beast

Reginald from Texas on 5/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lil giant

Pros: Small and full of power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

RFaber from Montana on 5/14/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice amp, so far it stays cool while pushing a 12" sub woofer at 2ohms. Hits hard!!!!

Pros: easy install, small size fits under seat

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX Thunder500.1

Boscorilious from Laveen, AZ on 4/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed an mono amp to power a 12 inch Kicker subwoofer. This amp did just that. It was incredibly reasonable and easy to use/install. As a Class D amp it runs well in closed spaces within little air circulation. It's been hard at work for 2 days now and so far no complaints.

Pros: Everything about the amp is great. At this price point, not all amps give you the ability to manage bass boost, gain, LPF, or subsonic. Great power at 500W, peak 1000W, it's an amp that's hard to beat.

Cons: Instruction manual is not easy to use. Since this was my first amp/sub install, I relied heavily on youtube videos in order to tune my amp.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't shy away from this amp because of $$$

DougB from Nashville, TN on 4/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So Im relatively new to Crutchfield but a friend recommended. I upgraded my daughter's vehicle factory sound system (2000 Ford Expedition). I installed a new head unit (Kenwood, awesome), 2 Polk Audio 12's, and to push the 12's I purchased this amp. OMG.....this thing absolutely pounds. I was so shocked when I installed this unit that I actually had to make sure they sent me the right amp. I wired the 12's down to 2ohm and this amp just pounds them. ITs a very clear sound, no distortion at all, and I haven't even begun to push them. I have the amp boost to 6db and likely will turn it down, I have the gain about quarter of the way up and it will blow your mind. Im telling you, if you want a setup with 10's or 12's and you dont want to spend a ton of money, you need to buy this amp.

Pros: Sound Quality Power Easy Installation Small, will fit anywhere

Cons: No fuse, but this is not a big deal. My amp wiring kit came with an inline fuse so its no big deal at all...Infact, I'm embarrased to put it as a con.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small but powerful

mroy006 from Saco,ME on 4/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is physically small so I was a bit concerned when I unboxed it. Installed it to power my Kicker CompVR 10" wired for 2ohms. Sounds just as good as my previous Kenwood 8105d amp that died on me. Also I dont notice it getting very hot at all when making it work hard.

Pros: Should fit it any application Runs Cool for small size Allen head screw type terminals

Cons: Might have been nice to have an indication light on front of unit but the one on the side is really bright so its easy to see

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not what I expected

J. Acevedo from Puerto Rico on 4/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this "little thing" to complement my setup. My audio shop told me that this things are loud.....I didn't believe them until i felt this amp moving an audiopipe 12" DVC. My little tercel was shaking!

Pros: Way too much power!!!!!!

Cons: ..............................none so far!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER500.1

JW from Ft Worth Tx on 4/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp and good price, Very small for the power. Works great on my Kenwood 10's. 4 gauge connections. Gives you connections for 2 subs so you don't have to daisy chain them or try to stuff 2 sets of speaker wires in the same hole. Very pleased with amp will be buying another for my 12's. Just remember to buy a fuse block for it does not come fused.

Pros: Super small, plenty of power, great connections

Cons: not fused.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big Punch - Small Package

Jim K. from Blues Bros. Hometown on 4/2/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great size! Mounted it right to sub box. End pieces come off, I painted them to red match sub grills. Nice touch! Just make sure you sand them real good so paint sticks.

Pros: Compact

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP