Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

MTX Thunder65

Thunder Dome Series 6-1/2" 2-way speakers

MFR # THUNDER65

MTX Thunder65

MTX Thunder65

Thunder Dome Series 6-1/2" 2-way speakers

MFR # THUNDER65

22 reviews
View this product

Not great

Dan from BILLINGS, MT on 2/21/2022

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didnt sound any better than the factory replacement, maybe worse. Didnt seal up very tight with adapter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1979 ford F150

Josh from Cape Girardeau, MO on 1/27/2022

1979 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit on my 79 ford truck, the sound is excellent!

Pros: Fit, finish and has a nice cardboard template in case you have to drill holes or cut the speaker hole out.

Cons: None that I know of yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX Thunder65

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 5/27/2021

2006 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great crisp clear sound. Good quality speakers if you don't have amp it's definitely an upgrade from the stock speakers. You pay for what you get.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX Thunder65

Crutchfield customer from Middleton, ID on 3/29/2021

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mtx thunder 65

Crutchfield customer from Ottumwa, IA on 3/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speakers sound great even full blast.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bumps

Crutchfield customer from Mountain Top, PA on 2/3/2021

2017 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed these beauts in a 2017 Subaru Legacy and used factory head unit without any upgrades. WOW! What a difference these speakers made. Got the bumps and sound I was missing. I'm sure these would shine brighter with an amp but if your looking for an inexpensive high quality factory upgrade these MTX thunder65 are perfect. (Bass lows are great)

Pros: Bass, easy install, price, quality

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX Thunder65

Crutchfield customer from Mason, MI on 1/10/2021

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, easy to install on a chevy silverrado. Called customer service she was on the money, helped me perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX Thunder65

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, NM on 9/4/2020

2005 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great for the price. No low end...good stock replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

MTX Thunder65

Crutchfield customer from Framingham, MA on 8/27/2020

2007 Pontiac G6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They are nice speakers, but I feel like they don't really get any louder than my Rockford Fosgates that costed half as much as my mtx

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Couldn't be more pleased!

Crutchfield customer from Saint George, UT on 3/24/2020

2012 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these based on other reviews. I am not disappointed. Replaced my stock speakers and couldn't be more pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Handles extra wattage and sound great doing so

Anthony from Mission Viejo, CA on 2/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Considering cost, I am happy with the results; however, I must say these are only slightly better than stock. Adding power makes a big difference, and these can handle the extra watts where stock could not, thus better than stock for little investment.

Pros: construction, performance

Cons: sound can always be better.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

they're in

wayne from Koloa, HI on 8/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

have not put thru the paces yet. but clean sound. these speakers with 10 sub behind seat should work out just fine.

Pros: they fit in my '53 chevy truck

Cons: tweeters not adjustable

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Great upgrade from my Kickers

Smhpaige from Prescott, AZ on 7/15/2016

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very surprised with the sound quality I get from these. Great upgrade from my Kickers that I purchased from Crutchfield previously. Installed in an 05 Chevy crew cab.

Pros: Great price and sound quality

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great upgrade to stock GMC speakers.

JasonB from Maine on 12/30/2015

2011 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers made a very noticeable difference once installed. Added a lot of clarity to the music. I think they have just enough bass to bring the music to life while letting the highs come through as well. I would definitely suggest these to anyone looking to upgrade the stock speakers in a GMC Sierra extended cab.

Pros: Better bass Clear sound Sound better at higher volume

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Thunder65 what

DH451 from Tennessee on 10/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fantastic high and mid range speakers, no bass from a standard wattage OEM type radio like what is in a Toyota 2015 Tacoma double cab. installed in rear doors

Pros: great highs and mid-range

Cons: no bass

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Brad M from Newburgh, Indiana on 5/25/2015

2000 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are a good upgrade from the 15 year old stock speakers that I removed from my 00 Nissan Frontier. I am not super impressed with the way the power is being handled but I think they just need an amp running to them. My head unit is only putting out about 14 watts per speaker and these can handle much more so I think that after I amplify these I will be way more impressed.

Pros: Good stock upgrade

Cons: Probably needs an amplifier

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good speakers

Brett from Tulsa, OK on 12/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are an improvement over the factory speakers. Especially in the mid and upper range. I installed in one door, and then faded between the factory and the MTX and the MTX was much clearer. 2009 Hyundai Elantra. The factory was just a paper cone. Brackets supplied were helpful for the installation, but do not try to reuse holes. I made two new holes with speed nuts, and just used two self tappers for the four holding points. Would have been easier to just use self tappers for all 4 places.

Pros: Improvement over factory.

Cons: I would probably go with components next time. The position in the door is just so low, that it is hard for the tweeters to get the sound up to your ears. I also lost some bass compared to factory speakers. But what is there is tighter. I will be adding a small amp, and that may help the bass.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Good upgrade

Mike R from Pennsylvania on 12/28/2014

2008 Saturn Outlook

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good upgrade over factory paper speakers. These have nice highs and okay bass, I think these would come to life if they werent connected to a factory radio thats under powered and connected with sub-par wire. I was just going for a speaker upgrade becase all four of the factory speakers went bad. They were recommend by the advisor and met my expectations. If you going for ear blowing sound from a factory unit you better get an amp to drive these

Pros: Large magnets, poly cones, strong frame, Price, highs

Cons: Terminals too close to the magnet/frame, wire harness too thin

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

BUYER

TRUKKER from TUCSON AZ on 8/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

REPLACED STOCK SPEAKERS WITH THESE, I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE CLARITY AND PERFORMANCE OVER THE STOCK SPEAKERS. I AM GLAD I CHOSE THESE.

Pros: PRICE, PERFORMANCE

Cons: NONE YET

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good bass

Soso from NJ, USA on 7/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speaker sound is good for its price point. The tweeter sound are clear with no harshness. I have these on a 3/4 inch MDF baffle on each of my 4 doors. I've sprayed some adhesive on some insulation padding I picked up from my local home depot. I then affixed them behind the speaker and inside the door. Caulking around the baffle and speaker also helps in separating sound waves which can distort sound integrity. I've applied sound dampening sheets to seal any openings. Another trick to getting the most out of a speaker is to glue a foam strip on the inside of the door panel opening for the speaker. All this work has improved the acoustical sound coming from this speaker. This can be done for any speaker. I recommend this speaker for its price and performance. The bass effect I'm getting is impressive and a complete upgrade from stock setup. They're powered by a Alpine KTP445U digital amp.

Pros: Good price for its performance

Cons: Sound is impressive. Can't think of any cons

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great!

Steve from Winston Salem, NC on 5/14/2014

2006 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome speakers! Had to go to best buy for brackets, but they definitely deliver all the lows missing from 5.25's!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX Thunder65

Scott O from Louisville, KY on 4/2/2014

2006 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great for just a speaker upgrade for my 2006 Pontiac Vibe. I now can listen to my factory radio all the way up with little to no distortion. They also don't sound bad at a low volume. I had them all the way down and they still sounded clear. I am very proud of them so far and they haven't even broken in yet. I just got done installing them about an hour ago. Crutchfield made the install really easy. I had to drill new holes in my door for the mount but they gave me the instructions to install them the right adapter for the factory plugs and a good bracket. I am planning on getting another pair for my rear doors soon once I have the money to spend.

Pros: Good clear sound with little to no distortion at all volume levels with a factory system. Good materials. A 5 year warranty come on.

Cons: None to report.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound