Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

MTX THUNDER75.4

4-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # THUNDER75.4

MTX THUNDER75.4

MTX THUNDER75.4

4-channel car amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # THUNDER75.4

55 reviews
View this product

Really nice amp

Crutchfield customer from Wellington, KS on 4/24/2021

2015 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp, powers my infinity speakers very nicely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great 4 channel amplifier

V from Tacoma, WA on 3/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great amplifier for your mids and highs. It replaced a Dual Electronics class d 4 channel amplifier. First thing I noticed was the dead silence. The prior amp had a slight hiss just turning it on. Class ab amplifiers for your front stage is much better in my opinion. Has enough power to keep up with my Kicker KXA1600.1 and 2 12" Nep Audio subwoofers in a ported enclosure tuned to 31Hz. Sounds great, always loved MTX car amplifiers.

Pros: No hiss, great power, excellent sound quality,

Cons: Bigger than your average class d 4 channel amplifier, blue power led light.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Prairieville, LA on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp at a great price! Does the advertised wattage and more!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Robert from Philadelphia, PA on 8/20/2020

2002 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The amp was good at first, it keeps cutting out when turned up a little bit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/24/2020
Robert contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

4 of 4 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Malvern, PA on 8/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Keeps clipping at higher volumes. Either defective or not that good of an amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/17/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 2 found this helpful

great sound

Hector from Bloomfield, CT on 7/28/2020

2003 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the size and its powerful. However, the sound is not as clean as my prior infinity amp.

Pros: size and price is right. connectors are well placed.

Cons: nothing stands out as a negative.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love it!

Crutchfield customer from Perrysburg, OH on 7/13/2020

2006 Chevrolet TrailBlazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a more expensive and higher wattage amplifier with this one and I couldn't be more pleased. Best fidelity of any amplifier I've ever owned. Very compact and easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Powerful Little Amp

Kenneth from HAMPTON, VA on 7/11/2020

2019 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic amp! Fits perfectly and seems pretty solid. Only thing I don't like is the allen head screws to tightin in the cables. Tighten too much and they cut the wires, don't tighten enough and they fall out.

Pros: Size and power

Cons: No line level inputs and allen head screws for wiring attachments.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Guanica, PR on 6/22/2020

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buen sonido se calienta bastante pero funciona muy bien

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Oregon City, OR on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ok good for cars not motorcycle or scooter s

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great Sound

Crutchfield customer from Manning, SC on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound across all the bass, mids, and treble frequencies. Outstanding value, well constructed, and better warranty than most other amps that I looked at. This 800 watt, 4 channel amp drives my two front and two rear 200 w Polk speakers with clear, crisp, and distortion free sound at any volumn. Liked the design where the power and speaker terminals are at one end and the tuning and volume knobs are at the other. As always, Crutchfield has never disappointed me over the years when it comes to quality, support and service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Greeneville, TN on 5/24/2020

1994 Ford Taurus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean sound,filtered alternator whine and no static.Rase of install.

Pros: Easy install,clean layout. Sounds great. Small size.

Cons: No on board fuse. But size makes up for it.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Rugby, ND on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good amp and it sounds good. Gets a little warm but it does not kick out. Really like it so far

Pros: Small and it doesn't take up much room

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Aldie, VA on 3/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Performance is great

Pros: Budget friendly

Cons: Depending on installation location, the light may be an annoyance

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, FL on 12/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what I needed it to do - run four 6.5'' 100W speakers. The wire connections so far seem sturdy. Little to no heat at medium volume and medium gain, really only has warmed up for me when it's being pushed for a bit. No complaints!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 10/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome amp always liked Mtx

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Boring, OR on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well designed compact with lots of power easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

amp

Crutchfield customer from Chambersburg, PA on 8/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this amp really lets the sound sound great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect pawer plant for my Tacoma

Edwin from Vega Baja, PR on 1/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied, more than enough power for my Tacoma. Connections are well distributed and setting controls easy to adjust.

Pros: Connection ports well distributed allow reliable connections Setting controls easy to use Size (at least to install in a Tacoma)

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Very happy customer

Tim from KS on 12/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently was shopping around for an amp to drive my Pioneer 6 by 9 speakers when I saw the Mtx thunder amp. It was affordable and met my power requirements. I have never used Mtx before but knowing that Crutchfield stands by what they sell I wasn't worried. Man I'm so happy I chose that amp. The sound quality is great and the power gain is even more than I had hoped for. If that wasn't enough, the Crutchfield team was there for me when ever I had any questions. I'll never buy anything else from another company. Crutchfield's service after the sale is a very very good thing. Try and find that anywhere else these days.

Pros: Great price, great products, great customer service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Mtx amplifier

victor from San Juan, PR on 12/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice amp and good price work very good for 4 speakers and 2 tweeters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect

Chris from Jarrell, TX on 11/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean power in a small footprint. Great match for your high end upgrade.

Pros: Very small footprint

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Brad from Orange County, CA on 10/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am running 2 speakers and a small sub with this amp. Great sound quality and power in a small package, MTX never lets me down.

Pros: Lots of power in a small package.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 9/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the person that does not want to spend lots of money on a powerful thumper system. Does a great job of increasing the existing systems potential. Mounted under back seat of 2009 DODGE RAM 2500 QUAD CAB WITH Kickers 3 /12 in dash, Kicker 6x9 in front doors and Kicker 5 1/4 in rear doors, Jenson radio. Nice sounding system with lots of highs, may have to add a subwoofer to get base and better lows? Only used power cord with kit. Wish I would have installed one sooner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boom Boom for your Vroom Vroom

Ryan from Prairie Village, KS on 4/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great power and very low distortion at high volumes! I paired this amp with 2 (front & rear) sets of Infinity Reference REF-6520cx 6-3/4" Component System (Item #108R6520CX). I've honestly never turned the volume past %30 and the amp still has plenty of room to boom! Absolutely a great amp.

Pros: Power, power, power. Low distortion at high volumes. Simple and clean

Cons: The bright blue LED on the side is quite bright! Might want to hide it if you don't want MTX "mood lighting" splashing everywhere.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

just enough power

Mark from Idaho Falls, ID on 3/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just enough power should have put 1 in years ago.

Pros: GREAT

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Superb in every way

Logan from Ogden, UT on 3/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great amplifier. I have it in my KJ Jeep Liberty. It fits perfectly under the driver's side seat. Everyone who rides in my SUV is impressed with the power of this amp attached to Infinity component and 2-way speakers. I highly recommend it for the sound enthusiast.

Pros: Size, RMS rating, ease of adjustment and use, looks, packaging

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Amazing amp

Claude from Olathe KS on 9/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp puts out clean power and at high volumes it just keeps powering away.

Pros: Looks good, clean power, ease of use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Clean POWER!

Dave from San Antonio, TX on 6/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This 4 channel amp pushes 75 watts of clean power to your speakers. You can bridge it to run 2 speakers and a sub, but I just used it for the four speakers in my truck, Focal 6x9 in the front doors and Rockford Fosgate 5.25 in the rear doors. Amp allows you to adjust the desired power and frequency rolloff to the front and rear channels independently which was great for my setup. I only had to turn the gain up around mid way to get the best response from the channels and just tweaked the low end to cut out any distortion at higher volumes. This amp will get your music up pretty loud, but don't expect a rock concert level. I don't have any noise interference from the engine so when I crank it, it's just clean power.

Pros: Easy to install Easy to adjust 5 year warranty Low profile about the size of a small shoe box Recessed adjustment dials so they won't change the settings if bumped by your cargo.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Great Amp

Joe from St. Louis, MO on 6/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A strong amp. I did not install professionally, and I tuned by ear. It sounds good, but it could sound great with some professional help... It's driving two Kicker 40CS6934 (6x9") and two Kicker 40CS654 (6.5") speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Awesome

Shane from Tacoma, WA on 6/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! Easy to install, tune and use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Keith from Hilliard, OH on 5/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this amp driving 4 JL door speakers and the setup sounds great. I like the tuning the amp provides with separate gains for front and rear and adjustable cutoffs. Plus it's not huge and it easily fit under the front passenger seat of my car. It does seem to run warm, so make sure it has room to breathe.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

great. love the sound

AL from pooler, GA on 3/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

EXCELLANT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great product

Jacob C from Pflugerville, tx on 11/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wired Amp to power two door speakers and a sub. It sounded great until I had to rearrange the wires to clean it up a bit and then the remote turn on wire came out. Stopped working after that so it must have been faulty. Contacted Crutchfield and they sent me a new one that works flawlessly. Powers my system with ease.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

2008 Tahoe

Crutchfield customer from New York on 10/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent amp. Have it paired with a Pioneer AVIC 500NEX, connected to a pair of Hertz Hi-energy at front and bridged to an enclosed Kicker sub at the rear channel.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

MTX 4 channel 75 amp/alpine HU

Farooq from Chicago on 8/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sweet 4 channel amp for your highs and mids. I got it pushing 8 4 ohm speakers on a 2 ohm load per channel. My car, a crown Vic I have installed a ten speaker system with 2 15" kicker subwoofers.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Dynamite in small pkg

Joe from Berry, Ky on 5/18/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does get warm pushing 4 two-ohm loudspeakers with 100RMS, but without a problem. I like the MTX amplifiers they are hard workers, underrated on power output. Very satisfied. high recommendation.

Pros: Power and reproduction are great. it is not big, heavy, does a very good job. Happy,

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, AR on 3/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful amp, smooth draw, and clear sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Awesome Amp for the money.

David from 33708 on 3/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Reasonably priced 4 channel amplifier with plenty of power. Driving 2 - 4Ohm 10" Subs in a band pass enclosure along with 2 - 6x9's. I'm not utilizing the built in cross over as I'm using an old Nakamichi EC200 to control frequencies & input levels

Pros: Good bump for the buck. Easy hookup & better than average warranty. I used this amp to replace an ADS PQ10 & P120. Better than anticipated results

Cons: A fan could be used in this amp when using it in subtropical environments. It runs a bit warm, almost hot to the touch when cranking it up for a while. Although it has not shut down due to thermal issues

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great amp for the price.

Chris from League city TX on 1/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for running components. Plenty of power.

Pros: Not too big. Plenty of power.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Sold unit

Dan from Elmira new york on 1/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great clean power out of a reasonably small unit. I installed it by my self in a 2007 tacoma 4 door. This was my first install and I paired it up with a set of kicker 40css component front door speakers, 40cs rear door speakers, and a pioneer head unit. It was simple to install and tune. Thanks to the folks at Crutchfield any question I had was answered completely in a timely fashion. Will continue to do business with them as long as they are in business.

Pros: Clean sound Good user Manuel Great looks Easy tuning Great build quality

Cons: None found yet!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

eace671 from Guam on 12/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Infinity 6030 component speaker sound great paired with this amp. Definitely going to buy this amp for my other vehicles. I would suggest breaking the amp in first before cranking it up. When first installed it did cut out at times.

Pros: Flexible tuning.

Cons: It gets a little hot.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

MTV Amp

Stevet from Mankato, MN on 4/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great AMP. Not much to say... MTX amps are always stable and provide great, clean power.

Pros: Clean power

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Small and powerful

Brian from Atlanta on 12/28/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This amp is pretty good at increasing the overall volume of you aftermarket stereo. It's not very detailed so any nuances that you are hearing on a decent home setup will not be revealed here with this amp, but for the money spent it sure gets my four component speakers loud enough to hear my stereo over road noise and my V8 growl.

Pros: Very small footprint considering the amps I've used in the past.

Cons: Speaker inputs are sort of crowded and require you to start with the bottom rows first of your speaker wire will be blocking the rear channel inputs.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota Fl. on 10/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great amp for the price. Plenty of power and headroom for cranking. Compact for difficult mounting locations. Enough power for doors and a small sub.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

Crutchfield customer from eastland tx on 7/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros: I have had this amp running my door speakers and my sub and it never overheated I now just have it running my kick panels and front door components and it is more than I expected well wort every penny. Never distorts with proper adnustments .

Cons: make sure you set the gains properly its very sensitive.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mtx75.4

Kram from Hawaii on 7/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a rock solid amp for its size. Powering kenwood 6.75 comp and 6.5 coaxials. Amazing sound and clarity.

Pros: Power for power Small size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Amp

low rider38 from Bethel, NY on 6/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good solid amp. It gives all the power I need to my aftermarket interior speakers. It is very versatile in the way you have a high pass filter on front channel and option for high or low pass filter on rear channels. This gives you the option to power interior speakers on front channel and subs on the rear. The only thing I dont like about that is on the rear channel it is unclear exactly were the filter is set. The dial goes from 50 to 750 hrz, with no measurments inbetween. This makes you guess about were your setting the filter. Not a big deal but it bugs me a little. The only other downside is this amp does get hot, it does have a saftey shut off at a certain temperature. I have cranked my stereo on hot days for a period of time and it didnt shut off but did get very hot. Hot enough were I could only put my hand on it for a second without getting burned. Although my sub amp gets just as hot if not a little hotter and for that reason I give the amp a decent rating.

Pros: good power, sound quality, versatility

Cons: gets hot, filters on rear channels are not exact and have to be approximated.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

MTX for the win!

Gyakusetsu from Denver, CO on 6/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little amp. Definitely provides a lot of power compared to any normal head unit. Very clean sound and super easy to install + tune. Built in HPF/LPF are very useful. This is a pretty simple piece of technology, but it is very well built and great at what it does. Bright blue LED indicator looks sweet under my seat, too! This amp gets my speakers going louder than I can stand without any distortion. My car is now the best ghettoblaster at any party! I had an issue with the front HPF knob. It came defective and was not attached so it didn't actually do anything. Rather than void the warranty by trying to open the unit and maybe fix it, I went for an RMA Replacement. Crutchfiend's support/RMA process made it so that I wasn't without my amp for a week... which would've definitely left me without music in my car for some time. This company is great and easy to deal with!

Pros: Easy to install, looks great, nice and powerful without being overkill, great service, mostly well constructed

Cons: Large; tricky to find a spot where this guy can fit without being in the way. Luckily barely fit under my driver's seat. HPF knob issue. No fuse.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Yes!!!

John H from Huntington Beach, Ca on 6/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely incredible!!!!! I recently installed the Pioneer AVH-X5500BHS with Polk DB6501 and DB651S in my 2006 Tundra DC. I initially tried to re-use the JBL amplifier. WHAT A MAJOR MISTAKE. I was soooo bummed with the quality of sound. The customer support at Crutchfield was awesome and immediately recommended this MTX 800W 4Channel amplifier. I AM ABSOLUTELY STOKED with the quality of sound. Thank you Crutchfield!!

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothig

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

MTX Thunder Review

DJSteel from Lakeland, FL on 6/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Phenomenal amp for the price. I have it driving Kenwood 6.5 in the front and 6x9 in the rear. I didn't spend very much on the overall system, but what great sound provided by the amp. Very clean and clear power. I recommend this to anyone on a budget looking for good sound quality. I have never been disappointed with or by MTX.

Pros: Easy Setup, clean power, solid adjustments for the low price

Cons: I really don't have any cons for this amp. My expectation were met by an amp of this price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

MTX THUNDER75.4

R. Williams from Las Vegas NV on 5/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first ever 4 channel amp. I am not sure what I was expecting, superior sound quality compared to the head unit's amp I guess. I have this amp running 4 new Pioneer 6.5" something or others. I don't think I like the speakers too much but the amp runs clean. There is no hiss and the speakers do come alive. So far no distortion. I do not have the gains turned up very high but the sound can get very loud. My kids don't like how loud it gets so that's good, right? I am not sure that I needed this amp but I don't know, I haven't run the speakers from the deck, ever, so I can't compare. It all sounds like a stereo system should sound, I guess, all very normal.

Pros: Good price and good dependable brand.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Reviews for the MTX THUNDER75.4

Ivan from Puerto Rico on 5/17/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

MTX never fails, small enough to put under the seat , my components never sounded better

Pros: good power, small footprint

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Bulldog Amp

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 3/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just replaced my older Sony 240W rms 4 channel amp because I wanted more intensity to match my sub amp / dual 12" sub 500W rms combo. The old Sony would totally distort before it could ever compliment my subs, so I wanted something better. Due to the price and output performance associated with this MTX, I took a gamble and tried it out without any customer reviews anywhere (new product and all). Winner winner chicken dinner! Sounds waaaay better than the old amp and goes way louder without any harshness/distortion. I currently have mine pushing two 5.25" Kickers in the front and two 6x9" Infinity reference speakers in the back, and it sounds leaps and bounds better than what I had before. I can't believe how small this is compared to my old amp, as it puts out more clean power than my old amp with maybe 1/3 the footprint. Install was easy and everything feels very solid with this amp. Two Issues: 1) the images currently on Crutchfield (as of 3/22/13) do not match what you get; that is an old MTX enclosure, and the new one looks better. I knew this before I purchased, not that it matters since it's hidden for me. 2) Now I want to update my sub amp and subs, as they now sound inferior. It's not that this amp is a superb audiophile amp or anything, but it sounds very clear to me compared to what I have owned before, and it has made me want more out of what I use to think was the heart of my system.

Pros: Good power for size and price, clean, neutral, easy install

Cons: If I find any, I will update this review

Crutchfield response on 3/26/2013
Thanks for your review. We've updated the picture.

7 of 7 found this helpful

TOP