Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

iFi Audio ZEN DAC

Desktop USB DAC and headphone amplifier

MFR # 311002

iFi Audio ZEN DAC

iFi Audio ZEN DAC

Desktop USB DAC and headphone amplifier

MFR # 311002

12 reviews
View this product

Amazing value

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 6/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little guy is a powerhouse: it's both a DAC and headphone amp and a really good one at both. On top of that it's extremely affordable and the material quality is top notch. Balance and unbalanced connectors were the selling points for me + it's basically the perfect DAC/Head-Amp for your desktop PC. At this price point, it can't be beat.

Pros: - Made of all metal - 1 button "Bass" push - 1 button "Gain" push - Both balance + unbalanced connections

Cons: - Only USB input

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Phenomenal DAC & Powerful headphone AMP!

Crutchfield customer from GUAM, USA on 6/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have owned a dac that cost me 1k. This dac sounds just as good! It is an excellent headphone amp too! I run power via USB only. I run the RCA outs to my NAD masters M33. Value to dollar ratio, this is the absolute best hifi purchase I have made in the last two years. Note: I spent over 8k in the last 2 years on gear.

Pros: Clean powerful headphone amp. Detailed smooth sound depth as a component DAC.

Cons: Rear RCA Output doesn't mute when headphones are plugged in. (note a real issue)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great starter DAC

Crutchfield customer from Rocky River, OH on 6/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes my simple, laptop based desktop system sound great . Tidal sounds much better than Spotify via this DAC. USB chord is way too short. nice to have an included wall wart for power. Sounds great with both small desktop speakers (they sound bigger with this DAC!) and headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great First Step

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 5/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first DAC purchase. I also bought a pair of Sennheiser 560s. The set up was very easy, on my Mac. I am using the 5v supply and the USB cable that came in the box. The USB is hooked up to my CalDigit TS3 (Thunderbolt 3) Dock. I installed firmware on it from the iFi website and it sounds great! My favorite feature so far is the Truebass feature. Instantly boosts bass for hip-hop/rap and does it cleanly with ZERO distortion. It is just one click on the front panel and boom! I do like that I could add an amp, but this feels like enough. I have not had the need to move the volume knob past 2/3s of it's range.

Pros: Easy install. Has enough power for starter headphones. TRUEBASS. Volume knob. Quality finish.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wonderful product!

Crutchfield customer from Reston, VA on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This DAC/Amp was eaty to set up a d sounds lovely with my Grado headphones. I have been using it every day and have been having a wonderful time listening to music!

Pros: - Excellent sound - Nice bass boost - Solid construction

Cons: None for this price

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Guilderland, NY on 5/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very happy with this DAC. For the price, this is quite a value. The build quality is excellent for a product in this price range. Everything about it feels premium - the metal case, volume pot, connectors etc. are surprisingly substantial and should last a long time. I am using an Android phone with an OTG cable connected to this DAC as a media server for both FLAC files converted from my cd collection, and HD streaming. Analogue RCA cables output directly from the Zen Dac to my primary system, a vintage Pioneer SA9500 integrated amp connected to a pair of Monitor Audio Silver RS6 speakers. I was researching dacs that would be detailed without being harsh, with an open and smooth sound signature as this system was recently moved to a room with wood floors and harder surfaces and now had a brighter presentation then previous. I also use this DAC for occasional headphone listening away from the main system and power it directly from the phone's usb/otg combo without issue. The sound from this DAC/Headphone Amp is astonishing. The sound stage has dimension and detail, and I listen for hours without fatigue. There is a hint of overall warmth (really just a hint), that is very pleasing. Purchase from Crutchfield was issue free, and knowing there was a 60 day return window if it didn't like it was great. This is a keeper for me. An excellent product, highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

iFi Audio ZEN DAC

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sounding DAC at a reasonable price.

Pros: Good sound. Decodes different HD files including MQA. No need for an external power supply.

Cons: No switch to turn off the light.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Wow factor

Benjamin from Mc Rae, AR on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow for an entry level this thing sounds amazing. I don't know why anyone says it isn't powerful enough, it has enough power to make my Focal Elegias distort on the balanced side. Great value also the fact is incredible

Pros: Great sound quality, perfect power for my cans, looks awesome, well built

Cons: Nothing at this price point

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

iFi Audio ZEN DAC

Crutchfield customer from Owings Mills, MD on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a desktop headphone amp/dac and after watching ZReviews decided this was the one to get. I have not been disappointed. It sounds clear, there is no discernable noise floor and my Sennheiser 58x Jubilee's sound incredible. Crutchfield got this unit to my door days before I expected it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

iFi Audio ZEN DAC

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 5/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome dac. Mediocre amplifier. Amp works great for easy to drive headphones and most IEM's. Weak for demanding headphones. I use it as my dac for my bottlehead crack and lyr3. Highly recommend.

Pros: Warm and sweet sound

Cons: None(I don't consider the weak amp a con so much as a minor bonus)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

great dac for the price

Timothy from Hagerstown, MD on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it looks stunning volume control and some kind of bass control ,great product at its price point , sound good as well problem is i ordered two of these to try the other being the dragon fly cobalt blue and that one just sings too you , so i,m probably sending this back this one is good the cobalt is great

Pros: great sound and build quality many options looks stunning

Cons: i ordered this and the dragon fly cobalt blue usb and i listened to it first so this is probable going back , this one i would of been totally fine with if i just ordered it

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Great sounding amp.

Crutchfield customer from Warwick, NY on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic upgrade and excellent quality for the price. Sound is quite good both for headphone use and played through my integrated amplifier. For anyone relying on music streaming services as a primary musical listening experience, this is a great upgrade. Highly recommended.

Pros: Good sound and logical design.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP