Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth® Interface

Stream music through the factory radio in select 2002-12 Volkswagen and Audi vehicles

MFR # BTS-VW2

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth® Interface

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth® Interface

Stream music through the factory radio in select 2002-12 Volkswagen and Audi vehicles

MFR # BTS-VW2

38 reviews
View this product

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, OR on 11/14/2019

2009 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poinciana

Scott from Poinciana on 9/13/2019

2009 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If I had known that installing this unit it would not allow me to use my satellite radio I would never have bothered with it. No where in the directions from the manufacturer or Crutchfield mentioned this. Pulled unit out two days later. Waste of money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/17/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Nicole, reached out to Scott to help him further. We'll either help him get the interface working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Wenonah, NJ on 6/2/2019

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent device if you don't want change your factory radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Roosevelt, NY

Crutchfield customer from Roosevelt, NY on 5/5/2019

2006 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Plug and play

Cons: Can't use for phone calls

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Valley View, OH on 3/13/2019

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install works as it should

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Brett from Northridge, CA on 2/21/2019

2002 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All honestly, It's the best way to go if you want to keep the OEM look of the interior of your car. But personally, I set my expectations so high (as far as sound quality), that could only be fulfilled by replacing my head unit altogether. The install was a breeze. When it's all set up and installed, you can still play CD's but to get to the device you have to hit the CD button twice. (I don't believe that was in the instructions) Took me longer then I'll admit to figure that out. The device automatically goes to Bluetooth. Which is good and bad. Good for convenience, bad if you have your AUX/USB connected. You will have to disconnect and reconnect the AUX/USB to get it back to playing those. I will also say I heard a slight humming only when I used my AUX. It is possible It was the cheap quality cable. Hope this helps!

Pros: Great device to keep the OEM look.

Cons: Bad if you set expectations through the roof (As I did, haha)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Elizabethtown, KY on 1/5/2019

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit and connection was simple and easy. My daughter is thrilled!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great

Vincent from Sabina, OH on 11/11/2018

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Install was easy besides finding a good ground. 06 Jetta. Had to lengthen the ground wire to make it fit properly.

Pros: Easy plug and play install.

Cons: The ground wire is very short. Disables CD changer. 06 Jetta

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 10/1/2018

1995 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great item for a car that does not have Bluetooth and no need to replace the OEM stereo. Installed quickly and had a tech attach to underside of passenger side. Out of the way and no ugly wires showing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Boulder,CO on 9/13/2018

2007 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely easy to set up. Gives your car insta Bluetooth mp3 capability. Definitely you recommend for anyone looking to upgrade factory audio on a budget!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My wife uses it no problems

Jeffrey from Westminster, MD on 9/9/2018

2007 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, does what it's suppose to do. Low tech, my wife uses it with no problems ??. Installed on 2007 VW Passat wagon.

Pros: Easy installation Everything else works.

Cons: Doesn't work with phone

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice unit

Chandler from Monterey, CA on 8/31/2018

2007 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for a 2007 Passat. My first attempt would not register on my system so Crutchfield nicely sent a second unit. In the end, I am not sure if the first one not working was a hardware issue or my fault. Here's my takeaway: You can set the Crux unit in the CD shelf in the glove box and push the wire up through the back left side hole, aimed to the left. By pushing it "over the side" of the CD shelf, with the head unit removed you can grasp it without taking out the glove box. The important part is reconnecting the quad lock. It is not fully in unless you hear the click. This is important. Push on it. No connection until you get the click. Ground it to a screw on the head unit. The LED light does not come on until paired. Do not look at the light for setup feedback. The CD button should produce a CD screen like shown. If it says "no CD" it is not connected. Once hooked up correctly, very nice, yso good to be able to hear my music this way in the car. Thank you!

Pros: Works as specified

Cons: Have to take out the head unit. Can not plug into CD cable on CD shelf.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Langley BC on 7/30/2018

2006 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought 3 , 2 for my kids and 1 for myself , easy install and have worked flawlessly in all 3 VW Jettas 2 MK IV and 1 MK V

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Bryce from Johnstown, PA on 7/19/2018

2007 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to connect but it unexpectedly disabled the steering wheel controls in our 2007 Audi A4.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very frustrating...

Nancy from Coventry, RI on 7/18/2018

2007 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit started out pretty good...very easy to install. After about two months, unit started giving me problems. It will pair right away with IPhone, and use CD #7 as stated, but lately if I decide to switch back to my radio, Crux is connected to my iPhone, and then if I switch back to play my music, it will not pay through my radio. Song is playing on my phone but will not go through radio. I almost have to turn everything off, restart my car, go back to downloaded music on my phone, and it will hopefully play...??? I don't get it...??? Very frustrating

Pros: Worked great for about two months...

Cons: Cannot go from listening to downloaded music, to radio, and back to downloads... Will not work after you switch...??? Blue indicator light does not work anymore!!!

Crutchfield response on 7/18/2018
Nancy, we're sorry you're having issues with your interface. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

2008 Audi A4

Trent from Prosperity, SC on 7/17/2018

2008 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a used 2008 A4. Loved the car and was happy with everything except the fact that the old iPod dock is now obsolete. This device was easy to install and works perfectly. I still use the car's factory Bluetooth to make phone calls through the radio but now I can listen to Pandora, Audible, Podcasts, Waze or anything else from my iPhone via Bluetooth through the Crux BTS-VW2. One word of warning. The ground connector wire is very short. Use a small star bit to loosen up a screw on the radio head unit and attach it there. Without this ground wire properly attached, the Crux Interface will not work. I placed the unit in my glove box. The sound is great. I have never used the USB or Aux ports.

Pros: Works seamlessly. Great Sound. Keep Factory Unit. Hides away nicely.

Cons: Ground wire is short. Connect it to the head unit. Will need a small star (torx) bit to loosen a screw. The only other con would be that the Radio display says Disc 7 Track 1 all the time. You use your phone to control channels, etc.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Cutler Bay, FL on 6/10/2018

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect sound, and very easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 5/27/2018

2009 Volkswagen Touareg 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation of the bluetooth module was straightforward. Hardest part is removing the head unit! Connection to devices also very easy and the sound quality is excellent. Very impressive and recommend this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Hadley, MA on 3/25/2018

2008 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as intended just wish that it automatically had calls go through the phone. There was also a little bit of static when the car was in accessory but not running when you start it however it goes away

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Hickory, NC on 2/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well in 2008 VW Touareg

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Frank from Gloucester, VA on 1/20/2018

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been wanting a way to play my music in my 2005 MK4 Jetta from my phone that sounded good in my car for a long time . The tape adapter was very inadequate . I now have the best sound from my speakers ever . The indicator light is very bright , but I used the hole over the ash tray the ALDL connecter is sometimes in (had to open a little) to mount it , so its blocked from direct sight . just wish 1st - It would play the phone calls , I don't understand why not , it comes through the ear buds . and 2nd- there w as one that works with my '02 chevy truck . Only trouble I have now is , when we ride in my car , my wife tries to beat me to the car so her phone connects to the Bluetooth first .

Pros: Works great Three inputs

Cons: No sound from phone call Bright indicator light

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 BT Audio

Crutchfield customer from Congers, NY on 12/19/2017

2003 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product. Works much better than FM modulator and have additional inputs. As it was stated it is only for streaming music, you won't hear any phone conversation over your OEM radio. If you planning to use AUX audio port, then plan to locate Crux where you can access the input port, if you try to plug extension into AUX audio port it automatically goes into auxiliary mode, but plugging extension into USB port does not trigger USB mode. But if you planning just to use bluetooth and USB than you can easily hide it behind the dash and have USB port extension placed somewhere on the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 12/18/2017

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great in my 2004 Jetta with a single CD slot. Plugged it in to the slot in the wire harness and attached the ground. Turned it on and it worked great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for streaming music

Jason from Orlando, FL on 12/17/2017

2003 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I made the mistake of assuming that Bluetooth audio streaming meant all audio could be routed to my car speakers. At least for my iPhone this is not the case. Just streams audio, text alerts, etc. does not stream phone calls. A bit disheartening but otherwise serves its intended purpose AND the description never explicitly says that it streams phone call audio, so my mistake for not clarifying. Also, in my 2003 VW GTI w/monsoon stereo, I must be the only dummy that had extreme difficulty finding a grounding point. The wire is short. Had to crimp on additional wire and rout it to my glove compartment and use a bolt back there (yes the glove compartment and radio are right next to each other, no the cord was not long enough to reach). It says radio buttons interface with your device to switch tracks. I have yet to figure out which buttons do this. For me, audio streams cleanly with no hiss or other noise, even at high volume, streams music and navigation instructions, and connects to my phone soon after the car is turned on. Retain your original stereo look with added Bluetooth functionality. It is an ok product at an ok price, even with all my gripes I prefer this option over any aftermarket stereo. ***It's stuffed behind my dash, I cannot attest to the use of the headphone jack or USB port.

Pros: Fairly easy install Retain original stereo Connects quickly to device Music audio quality is great

Cons: No phone call streaming Ground wire is short

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

great product for VW Jetta

Jose from Miami, FL on 11/26/2017

2009 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product, easy installation and instructions from Crutchfield.

Pros: easy physical installation, Bluetooth connection.

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great device

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 11/19/2017

2009 Volkswagen Touareg 2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased it for my 2009 VW Touareg that has the standard radio with CD changer in the trunk. Install was super easy and the device works perfectly! It pairs very quickly with iPhones and audio quality is crystal clear. Now I just get in the car, power the radio, switch to CD Changer mode and it automatically pairs with my phone. Once it pairs, there is an audio message indicating it's connected. It's stowed in the glove compartment: I cut a hole through a pre-marked area at the top of the compartment and ran the cable through it. The cable is about 45 centimeters long, so long enough to run the device somewhere close. So far, I'm happy with it! I haven't tested the 3.5mm or USB features yet. The only tiny negative I can think of is that the power light is this very bright blue, which would be annoying if it was visible all the time inside the car.

Pros: easy install, quick bluetooth pairing, high quality audio in your car with the OEM system

Cons: bright power light

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound. Easy install. Very happy.

Michael from Salem, OR on 11/4/2017

2007 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everybody is right... this thing is super easy to install. Pop out your stereo, plug this bad boy in, and you're good to go. Bluetooth audio quality is very good. I'm pretty picky about fidelity - and this is totally fine. If your car is compatible and you want cheap (in price, not quality), direct-to-stereo Bluetooth... this is the thing you want. I get really tired of the poor audio quality of $20-30 Bluetooth fm transmitters. Just spend another $40-50 and buy this bad boy.

Pros: Extremely easy to install. Bluetooth pairing is fast & consistent. Audio quality is very good.

Cons: The USB port does NOT play phone audio :/ it charges your phone and I believe it would play audio files from a little usb flash drive (who actually does this, though?)... but I wish it would be recognized as a "USB audio accessory" and play audio. This a very small con, though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Oneonta, NY on 10/25/2017

2010 Volkswagen Touareg

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like it should

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Pooler, GA on 9/12/2017

2003 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great in my 2003 Passat. Much more convenient than the aux cord I had previously. There is room inside the dash to hide it and have a usb cord plugged in to charge your phone with. Easy to install and worked perfect after I remembered to attach the ground wire. It's an excellent upgrade for the stock head unit.

Pros: easy to use easy to install great sound quality

Cons: cant use the 6 disc cd changer this kit doesn't come with radio removal tools

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Bluetooth Plug In!

Brett from MN on 8/15/2017

2003 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing works fantastic! It literally took 5 minutes to install as long as you have the tools and know how to slide out your radio. Factory Monsoon stereo - now with Bluetooth!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dramatic improvement

MICHAEL from North Hollywood, CA on 7/17/2017

2007 Audi A4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dramatic improvement to my Audi Symphony stereo. CDs sounded good, FM sounded ok, factory XM radio sounded horrible. This Bluetooth brought my factory stereo and speakers to life! The factory stereo actually has great potential. If you're unhappy with sound quality from other sources, get this Bluetooth adapter. It's very easy to install even for a novice, and will knock your socks off! You don't need a new head unit, speakers or signal processor. TRY THIS FIRST!

Pros: plug and play, dramatic improvement, low cost

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Chris from Philadelphia, PA on 5/4/2017

2005 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works exactly as advertised, connection was simple and easy. Couldn't be happier with this solution, maintaining my factory radio and adding Bluetooth capability. VW prewires the CD changer even if you don't have one so you will need to switch out the blue CD changer plug for the whit Crux one on the wiring harness. Its plug and play so just snap it in.

Pros: Simple and quick install to add bluetooth streaming to the factory Monsoon Radio.

Cons: would be better if it could utilize the CD changer function to access the different interfaces on the device, (track/disk 1, BT, track/disk 2, usb, track/disk 3, aux) that way all interfaces could be connected at once instead of one at a time.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product if you want to keep your factory head unit...

Doug from Tehachapi, CA on 4/30/2017

2005 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in a 2005 VW GTI with the Monsoon factory radio (I did not have a CD changer in the car). Unplugged the factory BLUE 12 pin connector on the back of the head unit and plugged in the WHITE 12 pin that is on the Crux into the same spot. Hooked up the ground wire to one of the chassis screws on the head unit just above the factory connectors and the Crux unit came to life and worked perfectly. Wanted to keep the factory radio system but was missing music via Bluetooth (and didn't need phone functionality), so this was a nice simple solution.

Pros: great price simple install

Cons: Crutchfield's Mark IV Golf data sheet did not discuss the CD changer connector, so I had a false start on the first install attempt. Once I did my research, it was a snap to install.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

dain from waterbury, CT on 3/10/2017

2005 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit perfect and was really easy to install the instructions were very clear and it works amazing signal is strong aswell i can walk around car while im working on it and my music will still play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 3/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as promised. Easy to use and reasonably installed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crux BTS-VW2 Bluetooth Interface

Philipp from MN on 12/1/2016

2005 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best deal i could find for a Bluetooth unit for these radios, especially with the added aux + USB. The unit was out of stock when i ordered, but it shipped a few weeks before their estimate, which was awesome. Installation was very easy, plug and play, sound quality is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent Quality!

Jack from Troy, MO on 11/11/2016

2004 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this unit. My vehicle is a 2004 Jetta with the Monsoon. Installation was extremely easy. Crutchfield said that the VW1 would fit, however I pulled the head unit and found that I had a twelve pin plug instead of the eight, so I would recommend looking at the back of your radio before you order. So I exchanged that unit for this one. The twelve pin plugged in great and paired with my phone, but I didn't get any audio so I exchanged it and it is working perfectly. Sound quality is great, and an huge step up from the old tape adapter I had been using. Highly recommend. Easily 5 stars.

Pros: Easy installation, Great sound

Cons: Had to exchange to get the right plug, and first unit was faulty.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great bluetooth ad-on to a factory VW Monsoon radio

Mike from Dayton, OH on 9/28/2016

2003 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Crux BTS-VW2 solved my bluetooth problems. The factory Monsoon system in my 2003 Passat didn't have bluetooth, so what do you do if you want to listen to music from your smart phone? Get this awesome device! It took 1.5 hours for me to remove the factory radio and route the wires. Quick pairing and I was listening to my favorite music from my bluetooth phone. It sounds great and the price is right. You can't buy a bluetooth radio and all the gizmo's needed for the price of this little box.

Pros: Easy to install, easy bluetooth pairing, simple to use, sounds great!

Cons: None that I know of.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP