Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crux CDR-02

Rear-view camera for select 2009-up Ram trucks

MFR # CDR-02

Crux CDR-02

Crux CDR-02

Rear-view camera for select 2009-up Ram trucks

MFR # CDR-02

55 reviews
View this product

Crux CDR-02

Jim from Racine, WI on 2/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price this seems like an ok backup camera and the video quality is fine for my needs. The quality of the tailgate handle seems fairly similar to the OEM handle that came on my 2015 Ram 1500. The install is easy enough once you figure out what needs to be done, the instructions are pretty bad tho and will probably confuse most people. A video on YouTube helped some, but it was more trial and error for me to figure out the wiring. Probably best to contact Crutchfield support if it isn't clear for you. I'd rate this 3.5 to 4, mainly because of the poor instructions from Crux, otherwise the camera works fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Spartanburg, SC on 1/4/2022

2009 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and was delivered in amazing time . I received my shipment in 2 days and

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty good.

Crutchfield customer from Ringwood, NJ on 12/26/2021

2012 Dodge Truck 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits well. Pretty easy to install. Camera image quality is OK. Just ignore the wiring instructions that come with it. In one place it calls the "A" wire red. In another place it calls it green. Basically, a fourth grader could do a better job writing these instructions. Also, the back of the unit looks like a plastic extension is broken off. Don't worry. It's supposed to be like that.

Pros: Easy to install Image quality is good

Cons: Wiring instructions are terrible.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great camera

Dirk from Chesapeake, VA on 9/24/2021

2003 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added this when I upgraded the stereo. Very pleased with the purchase. Works great. Big upgrade from no camera.

Pros: Looks and acts like it came from factory. 26' wire harness, more than enough for my quad cab.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Hopedale, MA on 8/26/2021

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After having some install issues, but able to get it connected, this is a decent camera. The only real issue I have is how bright/washed out the picture is.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Pine Bluff, AR on 8/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Good quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Means, KY on 6/27/2021

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Picture quality is as expected. Would buy again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera for the price.

Crutchfield customer from Durham, CT on 6/13/2021

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera for the price. I installed this on my 2015 Ram 1500, after previously purchasing an aftermarket Alpine radio that was equipped for a backup camera. Initially I had some issues with finding a proper ground and power source for the camera and had to troubleshoot some connection issues, with some great help (as always) from Crutchfield techs. Once up and running it's been great. I especially like the position of the camera: I can see my trailer hitch ball at the bottom of the screen, making it easier to line up with my boat trailer. My only complaint is the lack of good written directions. The sheet from the manufacturer was very skimpy, and there were no vehicle specific directions from Crutchfield for the camera, leaving me to search online for tips on snaking wires and connections. Otherwise, a good buy.

Pros: Price, position and quality of image

Cons: Minimal written directions

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worth it

Crutchfield customer from Elmira , NY on 6/6/2021

2009 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a life saver. I can back my truck right to the trailer hitch perfect everytime!

Pros: Install is easy.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than license plate camera!

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, AR on 5/8/2021

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I bought my truck it had a license plate camera, and I couldn't see the bumper in the image. Problem solved! Easy to replace handle. Works great overall. Image seems a little bright though. Only reason I dropped a star was the bright image and I had to find a ground location myself.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 4/17/2021

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesnt work

Crutchfield customer from Ormond Beach, FL on 3/30/2021

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There is no RCA hookup in a stock ram 1500 with the small touch screen.. wish they didn't just jump in to tell me it fits when I can't even properly install it. Would of loved an option or something to say "hey! You might need a wiring harness." Now I'm trying to find one just to hopefully use it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/20/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him with his camera. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 3 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from New Lebanon, OH on 3/21/2021

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the money. I had zero issues with the install and had plenty of cable on my crew can sort bed truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Medford, OR on 3/6/2021

2010 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Looks factory and good quality image.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Back-up camera, not for the casual DIY though

Crutchfield customer from East Wenatchee, WA on 2/15/2021

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall very nice product, works great. The tailgate handle was a perfect fit and match. Camera is clear with good picture. Would definitely recommend for those looking to add a back-up Camera to their Ram. Requires tapping into your existing wiring either near the camera, or at the stereo. Wouldn't recommend installing yourself unless you have a good understanding of DC wiring.

Pros: Tailgate replacement handle is a perfect match, Camera is clear and comes on quickly.

Cons: Install is challenging for those who don't know how to safely tap into existing vehicle wiring systems. More detailed instructions and options for powering the camera would have been nice.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

2015 RAM 2500

Crutchfield customer from Russell , NY on 2/15/2021

2015 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased for 2015 RAM 2500. Looks and fits just like factory. Accepts factory lock and plenty of wire for install.

Pros: Factory Look. Easy Install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Working great, so far!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Fort Rucker, AL on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking and operating kit. It fit perfectly in my truck and the quality of the picture on my stereo is better than my last truck with a stick camera. Great looking picture.

Pros: Ease of installation

Cons: Can't find any as of now

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 1/7/2021

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

excellent quality camera

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 10/11/2020

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install. Perfect fit and better picture quality than some factory installed cameras. I cut the line guidance wire cause I'm using the adjustable guidance lines on my kenwood deck. I saw very similar cameras elsewhere for twice the price.

Pros: Everything

Cons: no zip ties to secure to under the truck.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, CO on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This camera works well and the picture quality is good. It's also incredibly easy to instal. The camera came with more than enough wire for my 2015 Ram 1500 Quad cab. The handle doesn't feel quite the same as the OEM but it feels sturdy. I would recommend this to any one who is looking for a backup camera.

Pros: Easy to instal Good picture

Cons: The handle does not feel as sturdy as the OEM handle.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exact replacement - nice video wuality

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 7/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was a direct replacement and the fit was exact on my 2016 Ram 1500 Tradesman. Ended up capping off the wire nearest the handle as I drew power from the harness nearest the head unit. Video quality was acceptable and makes backing up much much easier. I back in to my spots and being able to see posts, trees, bushes etc is awesome.

Pros: Great fit, good video quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 6/28/2020

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great plenty of wire to get from the tail gate to the back of the stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Video

Crutchfield customer from PA on 6/24/2020

2017 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was easy to follow once I found a YouTube video. Length was perfect for 2017 ram 1500 quad cab with about 1 ft to spare. Video is average, angle is no issue. Having power option at head unit was nice. Tied it into the accesory line.

Pros: Plug and play, option to power at front or back.

Cons: Handle is not an exact fit. There is a decent gap at the top.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Back up camera

Crutchfield customer from Florence, KY on 5/16/2020

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. Easy to install.

Pros: Affordable. Easy install.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 9 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Lombard, IL on 5/14/2020

2011 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Put this on a 2011 quad cab short bed Ram 2500 and had more than enough length of cable to run it cleanly. Camera quality is reasonable enough. The built in guidleines are useless in this tilted mounting. The quality of the handle is just fine as well. The overall install looked OEM.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great for the price

Crutchfield customer from Veedersburg, IN on 4/28/2020

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Great picture for the price and easy to set up for the most part. Directions could have been a little better but one call to Crutchfield and I was good to go.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Mccall, ID on 3/4/2020

2011 Dodge Truck 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Real easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Dara from OAK HARBOR, WA on 12/30/2019

2014 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good video quality and install were easy. Most work I put in was to route the wiring from the tailgate to the receiver. The Camera has its own preset safety color lines (Green, Yellow, Red), but I snipped the white wire because I wanted to use my receiver's safety lines. I give it 4 stars due to the fitment of the actual tailgate handle. The top portion of the tailgate handle does not sit flush with the tailgate and is noticeable. The quick fix for that was to use black RTV to fill in the gaps and seal it better. I spliced the unit's power line to the reverse light wiring on the back of the receiver. The unit actual gives you two options to wire the power line (receiver side or tailgate side).

Pros: Easy setup.

Cons: Fitment of tailgate handle not perfect, but I still would recommend, especially for the price of the unit.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

2012 ram 1500

Crutchfield customer from Hamden , CT on 8/28/2019

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good fit, quality 4 out of 5

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Red Oak, TX on 8/26/2019

2009 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera is great quality. Easy to install (with the exception of running the cable...but that has nothing to do with the product). Only negative is that there is an additional hole for key lock but it does not come with a cover if you don't have a lock.

Pros: Easy to install, high quality image

Cons: No cover for lock hole if no lock inserted

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 6/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the camera mainly for backing up to my trailer. Works great. I can see the hitch ball at the bottom of the screen. The pic is a little grainy but very good for the price.

Pros: Can turn grid on or off

Cons: The shielding could be a little longer to protect the wiring exiting the tail gate.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awsome product

Shawn from Orlando, FL on 5/21/2019

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice easy install. Grounded it straight to the chassis at the rear and hooked the positive up at the JVC head unit. Works flawlessly. I could use this thing for a security camera. More than enough cable to reach the head unit on a 2012 RAM Quad cab 6.5 foot bed. Picture does not jump at all. I installed super bright LED backup lamps so the camera works flawlessly in the dark as well. The grid that comes permanent with the camera is easily disabled by snipping the white wire at the camera. Don't know how I drove without it for so long.

Pros:

Cons: not quite enough Protective sheath for the camera lead at the tailgate.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Northampton, PA on 1/28/2019

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install and setup. I did need to visit the website for additional pics, and videos. Quality is real nice and the camera looks factory. Would have rated 5 stars other than having to look on the Crux website for additional info regarding install.

Pros: looks great, easy setup

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

No verticle adjustment.

JOHN C from Vincentown, NJ on 1/22/2019

2009 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product, easy to install but the camera is not adjustable. When activated the view is only about 7 feet from the bumper, would be nice if I could rotate the camera up a little more. As always Crutchfield shipped fast.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: No adjustment

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Charles from Moorhead, IA on 12/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great, best money spent. Every bit as good as factory, for way less money. Thanks Crutchfield

Pros: Same as factory, Cheap.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice aftermarket camera

John from Hernando, MS on 11/26/2018

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera looks great on my tailgate! I gave the camera 4 stars because the rca cable didn't have an insulation tube for extra protection. The camera works and looks good on the screen too.

Pros: Excellent crutchfield support and great screen image.

Cons: RCA cable not in a protective insulation tube.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Camera works

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 2/28/2018

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was installed on a 2012 Ram 1500 crew cab. It comes with a positive lead to the cab which ties into the head unit, this was nice. The camera has a backup grid on it at all times. This was a bit of a disappointment since I'm using the iLx-207 which allows me to move the backup guides on screen for a custom grid. The quality of the camera is fair and I felt it could be better quality for the cost. I didn't use the connectors to tie it into the reverse lamp, instead I soldered and used heatshrink for a more permanent connection.

Pros: Has positive lead with video signal

Cons: Fair quality picture Has backup grid on the camera Noticed a small gap during instillation

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Pompano Beach, FL on 12/23/2017

2009 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2009 Dodge Ram Quad-cab, connected to a Sony XAV-V630BT Digital Media Receiver i installed a few months ago. Installing the tailgate handle was a breeze, and running the wires wasn't too bad. The only problem I ran into was that the cable was about 2-3 feet short (probably not meant for full-bed length + Quad-cab distance). However, it's just an RCA connector so a simple coupler & extension cable and now it works flawlessly!

Pros: Easy install, unobtrusive and nearly invisible design.

Cons: Basically useless when the tailgate is down, but I can live with that.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Crutchfield customer from Citrus Heights, CA on 11/27/2017

2016 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera works great, and it looks just like the OEM camera. The kit was very easy to install, but the instructions could be a bit more detailed. I did have an issue getting the built in grid lines to turn off, but the support guys at Crutchfield were able to help me fix that. Overall, this is a great backup camera for the 4th Gen Ram trucks. It saved me A LOT of money over the factory option.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crisp, Works Well W/Aftermarket Stereo

Reagan D from Waco, TX on 4/3/2017

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this for my 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad cab. I had the stock stereo with the touch screen but to get kit for it is 350 and has to be reprogrammed by the dealer, so I got this one with a JVC KW-V220BT stereo for 395. Video quality is good and crisp. Decently bright even at night. I wired power to my backup lights for now and it turns on immediately. Camera was already glued in the right place. Had about 2 feet left over from wiring to front. instructions did not say what the red wire sprouting from behind the head of the yellow video port is for. Should include instructions from crutch-field detailing how to install it to specific applications but they didn't. Able to install my old lock and handle in just fine.

Pros: Good handle quality (so far), crisp video.

Cons: Wish it would come with a plastic protective hose to surround cord.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Joseph from Peru, IL on 3/26/2017

2011 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture, and installation was easy

Pros: Clear picture during daylight

Cons: Not as good of picture at night

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great fit and pic!

Eric from Concord, NC on 1/13/2017

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Handle fit my son's tailgate on his Dodge truck perfectly. Unlike other reviews, the cable is plenty long. No issues on a crewcab. Good picture as well.

Pros: Located in tailgate, not tag.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Alan from Pensacola, FL on 12/31/2016

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good back-up camera for the price. Easy installation instructions could have been a little bit better but overall good deal

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Must have...if you do not have a factory installed rear cam!

Allan from Culpeper, VA on 10/5/2016

2006 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a welcomed addition to my Tradesman that did not have a factory installed rear view camera. I had a Sport model before with the camera and it made hooking up a trailer a piece of cake. The camera was pre-installed and epoxy'd into the handle so I did not have the issue that some earlier buyer's had with the camera orientation. If you have a base RA1 headunit...you will need to upgrade to an aftermarket.

Pros: Factory quality unit.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Crux CDR-02

Sean k from Port Jefferson, NY on 7/24/2016

2009 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product.

Pros: Fit is perfect.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Looks great, easy install, OK camera

Jason B from Bethlehem, PA on 10/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly simple to install for a novice. Was helpful to research for an online video but not necessary. Nice OEM look. Camera image quality is OK but a little grainy...not bad for a backup camera. As others stated, the included video wire is about 2 feet short for Quad cab Ram (I bought a double female RCA jack and an additional 6 Ft RCA video cord.) Also it would be nice to have an indicator showing top of cam as others stated.

Pros: Nice OEM look, reasonable price, simple install

Cons: Cord a little too short, video a little grainy, top indicator missing from camera

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Back up camera

Matt from Michigan on 10/11/2015

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera works great. The only problem I saw was the video cable needs to be about 3 feet longer when installing it on a 2012 ram quad cab. Maybe some wiring diagrams. I would recommend it for sure.

Pros: Good picture

Cons: Video cable is short

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Solid Camera

Kevin D. from Tennessee on 9/25/2015

2009 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the Cruz CDR Back-up Camera for my 2009 Dodge Ram and connected it to a Kenwood 6.95 unit. The unit works as advertised, however, doesn't have the greatest picture quality. Additionally, at times when I press the brake, the picture jumps. No big deal for me as the camera does its job. I particularly like the cleanliness of the product as it is hidden well in the handle of the tailgate. Solid unit for the money.

Pros: 1. Looks like factory 2. Connects easily 3. Does the job

Cons: 1. Grainy picture quality at times

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

backup camera

Rich from Maryland on 7/18/2015

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was very easy too install picture is very good. I had know problem installing the new tail gate handle put in the camera and routed the new wires and hook up to the back of my radio.

Pros: good product

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than no camera, but not great.

Mark O. from Lansing, New York on 5/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There are no instructions included, but luckily this isn't the first backup camera I have installed. The video cable is not long enough to reach the radio location. The camera has no indicator where the top is, so it is difficult to get it straight up. The camera fits too loosely in the mounting hole and is only supposed to snap in, so it doesn't stay without hot glue. This unit was less expensive than some others I considered, so I guess you get what you pay for. If I had to do it again, I would probably just drill a hole in the factory tailgate bezel and mount a universal camera in the same spot. Also, FYI, if you connect the power and ground for this camera at the backup light bulb on a 2014 Ram pickup, it wont work at all. Apparently the geniuses at Chrysler corp. decided not to run a steady 12 volt power source to the backup lights in this truck. If you connect it at the trailer wiring harness instead, it works fine.

Pros: Price, relatively easy installation, decent picture, color guide lines

Cons: Poor mounting method of camera to bezel, too short of video cable, no top marked on camera, no instructions included.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works but poor quality

iskiharder from Minnesota on 5/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In the end it does work and has good low light capability. The rest of the story ... The camera mounts very loosely into the tailgate latch, as noted in other reviews. Absolutely poor design. I added a dab of glue to hold in place. There is no marking to show where top is, so you have to figure that out by looking at the video output. The pig tail from the camera to the connector is too short to reach out of the tailgate, which prevents you from ever easily removing the tailgate unless you add in your own connector outside of the tailgate. The overall cable length was too short to reach all the way to my stereo. I had to splice additional length of wire. The wire itself is very cheap with very thin casing. I ended up wiring it inside the corrugated tubing that came with the electric tailgate lock which I installed at the same time for protection to the wiring. And there is no option for a chrome handle. My original without the camera was chrome. If I wanted chrome I had to buy the chrome trim kit separately from a different source.

Pros: It does the job, has decent video and good low light capability.

Cons: It is very poor quality and poor design. It requires several modifications to install properly as it should be.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Does not work with factor radio

Jeff from Chambersburg, Pa on 3/26/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When order tech said will work with factory radio, but when I took the head unit out there is no video input, called tech support and they set up the return

Pros:

Cons: Doesn't work with factory radio

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Backup camera

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 2/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera is great...but the replacement latch doesn't even hold the camera right it slides right through and has a lip in it that doesn't allow the camera to seat in right.

Pros: Nice camera

Cons: Bad design on the replacement latch

Crutchfield response on 3/2/2015
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Looks like Stock

Chris from Ball, LA on 2/24/2015

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was kind of hestant on buying this item without any customer reviews and it being a new product, but I wanted to have the rear view camera look more stock than have the camera about the licence plate. First of all there are no instructions on this product. I found some pretty close to it on the company's website. I found out how to remove the tailgate handle and cover on YouTube. Once you remove the tailgate cover it is pretty self explanatory on disconnecting the old handle and swapping them out. Everything works great and I was able to use my existing Video Cable (license plate camera) so long run to the stereo. My only complaint the camera does not feel secure in the handle and you have to have two people to make sure the camera is in line to what you are seeing. The camera should have keyed slot to give you that perfect line, so you would not have to adjust. To give me a better since of security on the camera not falling out, I used a dab of silicone.

Pros: Great for that stock look. Compatiable with other aftermarket rear-view camera's Handle works great, easy change out on the lock

Cons: Camera needs to slotted for better alignment. Camera needs to proprer fitted to allow the spring clips to work properly

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound