Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
358 024 281 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
358 024 281 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crux CFD-03E Emblem Camera

Backup camera for select 2004-up Ford trucks

MFR # CFD-03E

Crux CFD-03E Emblem Camera

Crux CFD-03E Emblem Camera

Backup camera for select 2004-up Ford trucks

MFR # CFD-03E

21 reviews
View this product

4-year review: Decent video if you can live with offset image

Adam from SAN ANTONIO, TX on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Note: I bought this in 2016 and have had it installed since then on my 2010 F150, so there's a possibility the item has been updated since then. This is a 4-year use review. My truck came with an OEM camera in the oval which fed to a screen in my rearview, but after 6 years it stopped working and warranty wouldn't replace it. I already had an aftermarket h/u that could take a camera signal, and the OEM cameras were very expensive, so I went with this instead of replacing with an OEM unit. The swap itself was not difficult to make. I did have to run the new video cable along the frame and up to behind the h/u. After install, the biggest glaring issue is that the video is off-center: the camera used in this unit appears as if it's calibrated for mounting to the side of the tailgate handle (off-set and higher than the oval); since this is a center-mounted application, the resulting image is offset. The image centerline doesn't line up with the center of the vehicle and it's annoying, but not unusable to I've dealt with it. Also, there's little to no adjustment on the camera itself. Again, the camera was designed for a higher and offset mounting location; because this is centered and lower, I had to disassemble the unit and creatively bend the camera mount until the Y axis showed more than just my bumper/tailgate. Since making those initial adjustments during install, I've had no other troubles and it's going on 4 years now. 2 stars though due to the alignment issues.

Pros: Works well enough, decent image quality, durable

Cons: Offset image, unusable without disassembling and manually bending parts.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CFD-03E Emblem Camera

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are looking for a back-up camera that will be well-protected, and out of harm's way, this one will fill the need. It has a factory-installed look, and the emblem looks just like the one that Ford installs in the factory.

Pros: Factory-installed look.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice camera but could be better

Crutchfield customer from Havelock, NC on 1/3/2020

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great product and fairly easy to install. Only issue I had was it doesn't not come with any thing to attach emblem to the vehicle and it's not listed in items you need to complete install. So make sure you have some double stick tape or adhesive on hand. Once I attached it to the truck the sliver outer ring that houses the camera was loose had to use adhesive there as well. 12 volt tap wire could be a bigger gauge it's so small it's hard to strip.

Pros: Camera works great and gives good picture

Cons: Install items you need should be listed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Straight forward install.

Crutchfield customer from San Bruno, CA on 1/3/2020

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very straight forward install. Works great, although I wish the camera was higher resolution (then again, it could be my head unit). I didn't give it 5 stars because I wish they included the adhesive/sealant.

Pros: Straight forward install. Works well.

Cons: The camera could be higher resolution.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CFD-03E Emblem Camera

Crutchfield customer from Albemarle, NC on 10/28/2019

2011 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CFD-03E Emblem Camera

Crutchfield customer from New Haven, MI on 2/16/2019

2005 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Perfectly replaces the OEM emblem. Provides just enough of the rear bumper in the view along with a good amount of the area behind my truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CFD-03E Emblem Camera

Crutchfield customer from Tiffin, OH on 1/3/2019

2014 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Narrow field of view

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 3/30/2018

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Narrow field of view on both the X and Y axis. Also, night vision is horrible. It would have been nice to see the cable in a protective jacket. Otherwise... Easy install and it does look good on the back of the truck. I was just expecting a much higher quality image.

Pros: The emblem looks good. Let's see if it lasts through the harsh outdoor elements.

Cons: Narrow field of view on both the X and Y axis. Also, night vision is horrible.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CFD-03E Emblem Camera

Cory from Spring, TX on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, even though you do not get the mounting hardware that is needed to attach it to the tailgate. I suggest not buying this camera there are better ones out there. This one has a piece of foam holding the camera in place. I had two bad out of the box and returned to get my money back.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Missing Parts needed to Mount camera. Uses a piece of Foam to hold camera in place.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Back up cam

Ross from Covington, VA on 2/27/2018

2011 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, didn't come with hardware to mount it correctly, picture quality not so hot.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: No hardware to properly install, camera quality not so hot

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

decent aftermarket camera

Crutchfield customer from Florence, SC on 1/15/2018

2015 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The camera looks factory once mounted and the angle is great for backing to hitch a trailer, it would be nice if the back angle were greater, but it is sufficient. The only other note is the clarity is just so so at night its a bit grainy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2012 F250

Billy from Clayton, NC on 5/5/2017

2012 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great picture and helps with trailer hook up. Great Product

Pros: Easy to Install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux CFD-03E Emblem Camera

Jade from Plover WI on 3/1/2017

2015 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good. Works good. wiring is light gauge. No mounting hardware.

Pros: Nice fit

Cons: No hardware, light wiring, instructions could be better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CFD-03E Emblem Camera

james from pelham, nh on 2/5/2017

2002 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

had a bad one out of the box. return and replacement was great . but 6 months in the new camera stopped working.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CFD-03E Emblem Camera

Crutchfield customer from Hardy, Va on 1/16/2017

2008 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Looks like OEM.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great OEM looking option

Adam from Antioch, TN on 1/9/2017

2012 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mark from Loveland nailed it on the parts needed to do the install. Wish it had come with them but once I figured out the part numbers, they were easy to get ordered. The camera is more geared for trailer connections, but does give a wide enough view to see where you are backing if you arent at too much of an angle. You cannot quite see the corner of your bumpers but if you look at the Ford factory camera it is about the same angle of view.Picture is clear and plenty bright. Love the fact that it looks exactly like the factory camera. The two piece cable was a great surprise as I expected it to be the one piece previous posters showed. I was able to cut the nipple in the wiring harness grommet and push the RCA connector through without drilling additional holes in the firewall.

Pros: Perfect fit. Clear and bright image Clean OEM Look

Cons: Mounting hardware required Could be a bit wider view

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Install. Missing Parts. Not adjustable (?)

Mark from Loveland, CO on 1/6/2017

2014 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First things first. You will need ford parts W714711-S439 (bag of four inserts) and N805949-S439 (bag of our screws). You'll only need need two from each. These should have been included from CRUX from the start if you ask me. I doubt anyone needs the included hole saw, any true Ford truck you are installing this in should already have the holes in place. I Would like a grommet to video cable. Install is very easy then. I had no problem running the wires from the cab to the back of the truck. I drilled a 1/2 hole in the firewall to pass the wire from the inside of my cab through the firewall and then routed the wire right up against the wiring harness that already went to the back of the pickup. The cable did indeed come in two pieces and can be unplugged conveniently by the spare tire if you have to remove the tail gate. The picture is clear and bright however not centered in any fashion of the word. I see mostly the left side of the truck and it's angled down which I can certainly understand as some will want to use this when backing up to a trailer, but come on now, this is ridiculous. It makes just simple backing up in a grocery store unnerving. There has Got to be some way to adjust where the camera is pointing. Instructions are clear however do not mention the additional required part numbers or the anything on camera adjustments. Looks just like a factory installed backup camera, I just wish I could adjust the thing to make it u

Pros: Easy to install, two part cable, clear bright picture.

Cons: Missing parts, does not appear to be adjustable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux cod-03e emblem

Jim from Oviedo, FL on 8/26/2016

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The emblem camera is very clear and works well at night. My only complaint is that the backup lines are angled downward and are too close to the truck. My hitch is positioned on the yellow line. The camera red area would crush my bumper.

Pros: Excellent clarity, good side range, and very good night vision. Looks 100% factory stock

Cons: Backup lines are not calibrated correctly

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Almost perfect!

Richard from Minnesota on 1/16/2016

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a factory Ford piece with an aftermarket camera. What would really have helped is if the mounting hardware (available at Ford) was included. IN addition, the image is not how the item was sent. There is no break in the video cable. So once wired to the head unit, tailgate removal is impossible without either cutting the wire or uninstalling from the behind the dash and pulling the wire all the way back to the tailgate.

Pros: Factory Ford piece

Cons: Unable to remove tailgate......

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Emblem Camera

Mark from Texas on 7/15/2015

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Part arrived with part (plastic) of the camera mount broken. Returned.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

It's okay.

Greg from Texas on 6/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First of all, I have to say the Crutchfield customer support is first rate. They honor their product, and sent me a new camera on demand. Now, about the product. I have a 2015 F250 Crew Cab short bed truck; the camera wire was too short. I wired it from inside the cab out, so I didn't discover this until I had run it through the cab. There are no mounting brackets included w/ the camera, so you have to purchase your own. The ones that CS recommended were loose fitting, and didn't support it very well. The install instructions are very vague, but customer support walked me through it pretty well. The guidelines to the camera are imbedded, so if the camera isn't perfectly aligned, the guidelines aren't centered appropriately w/ the hitch/truck. , The hole saw bit breaks before it drilled through the bottom of my truck; fortunately, it is hidden under the tailgate. Needless to say, I have to purchase some touch up paint for the scratches. All of that being said, Crutchfield sent me a new camera w/ an additional wiring extension to run it to the back of my tailgate. They are very friendly, and worked to make it as good as they could, and honored their product w/ service.

Pros: It works, that's about it. Customer Support is great.

Cons: No mounting brackets included; vague install instructions; hole saw is cheap/worthless; wire too short; parking guidelines aren't centered w/ my hitch/truck.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

TOP