Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Connect a new car stereo and retain the steering wheel audio controls and aux input in 2003-up Toyota-built vehicles

MFR # CS-TJ20

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Connect a new car stereo and retain the steering wheel audio controls and aux input in 2003-up Toyota-built vehicles

MFR # CS-TJ20

53 reviews
View this product

Worked great

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 12/19/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Built nice, instruction were easy. Plugged it in and it's working fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, TX on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This almost worked flawlessly. Everything worked on my stereo, including my steering wheel controls, however there was an issue with the amp turn on function with my stock JBL amp. What is amazing is the customer support from Crutchfield. I called customer support to figure out why it wasn't working and they helped me troubleshoot and finally determined it was the amp turn on function. Not only did they get me what I needed to get things working but they covered the difference in price. In a time where customer experience seems to be a dying value these people ROCK!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2003 4Runner update

Crutchfield customer from Hampstead, NC on 10/14/2020

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely easy to install. I kept my factory steering wheel controls on my 03 4Runner. Tech support was a huge help. Very friendly and even provided additional help with the stereo

Pros: Easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

make radio like a factory radio

Crutchfield customer from Killen, AL on 10/14/2020

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great. just wire up the steering wheel controls and makes it like a factory radio. With the Tundra I just used the next to lowest gain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, NC on 10/6/2020

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great and easy to use interface

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works and does it's job!

Crutchfield customer from Berwyn, IL on 9/27/2020

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product. Just hooked it up and it works. Couldn't ask for much more.

Pros: Steering wheel controls

Cons: Not many

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 9/23/2020

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made plug and play extremely simple in my Toyota Tundra

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Morganton, NC on 9/18/2020

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty slick little gadget. Makes wiring a breeze when coupled with the harnesses. Well worth the money for it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

As advertised.

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought the pre wiring service, which I also recommend, and installed was easy. It interfaced perfectly with my JBL sound system on my 2005 Solara and maitained the street wheel controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Shoua from CONNELLY SPG, NC on 8/8/2020

2006 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great on a 2006 Sienna.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2004 Tundra

Crutchfield customer from Gastonia, NC on 8/5/2020

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit worked great with my 2004 Toyota Tundra, having Crutchfield assemble the cables for meant my install was as simple as Plug and Play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Ogden, UT on 7/21/2020

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doing the job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Great Falls, MT on 7/16/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, easy hookup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from South Royalton, VT on 7/11/2020

2005 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, IA on 7/5/2020

2006 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered all items to install . Nice to have them all listed with the radio. Wired easily and installed quickly. Works and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 5/18/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, does what it's meant too

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works for the 4th gen 4runner with JBL

PJ from ANAHEIM on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works nicely with my 2005 4runner Sport Edition with JBL 10 speaker system with RDS (non navigation). Really simple to use and doesn't take too much space.

Pros: -Easy to install -Small form factor -Works with factory steering wheel controls -Improves sound quality of the existing JBL system -Great price when bundled with a headunit

Cons: -No fade control

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definition of Plug-n-Play

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, CO on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was so easy to set up! I was able to keep my steering wheel controls to handle changing the song or volume on with the new head unit. It's is about as plug-n-play as it gets.

Pros: Easy Set Up

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Des Moines, IA on 5/12/2020

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crux interface seems to do what it was intended for. Fairly easy to wire up following the instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must have

Crutchfield customer from New Market, TN on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made install super easy and was able to use my steering wheel controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Horrible unit. Do not buy!

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 5/1/2020

2004 Toyota Camry Solara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Horrible Do not buy this unit if you want use your rear speakers!! This steering wheel control unit only works with the front speakers. There are no rear speaker connections on the wiring harness going into the unit, or coming out of the unit. Why would anyone upgrade their stereo, only to have to sacrifice the use of their rear speakers, while keeping steering wheel control functionality? I really wish Crutchfield would have mentioned that fact in the description. I had to buy another product elsewhere (a PAC Steering wheel control unit that Crutchfield used to carry) to get FULL functionality. I recommend the PAC unit, not the Crux unit. This unit was a waste of my valuable time and effort, not to mention delaying the complete installation of my new stereo by a week, until the PAC steering wheel control unit arrived. I'll definitely be returning this Crux piece of crap!!!

Pros:

Cons: You will lose the use of your rear speakers with this unit. Do you need any other reasons not to buy this?

Crutchfield response on 5/6/2020
We're sorry this interface didn't work out for you. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Superior, WI on 4/27/2020

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

seems to work well lets me have all the steering controls I had before

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I have a pile of wires and a module that is useless

Alan from PEKIN, IL on 4/11/2020

2009 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this item to put a stereo in my Toyota. I bought it because it toted the moniker "for amplified and non amplified systems." So, obviously I thought that meant that I could use it on the factory amplified system now, and then also later when I rip the OEM amp out. My first problem with this unit was when it stated that it can only use 2 of the 4 channels and to "tape up the rear channel wires, you wont need them." Huh. PAC is putting all 4 channels into THEIR module. Oh well. This worked for the week I had it in and then decided that the OEM JBL amp was garbage and my 12 year old OEM speakers are trashed. So i ordered new speakers and removed the amp, wire it all in, fire it up. Everything worked great, except the steering wheel controls. Grab my meter, and I am getting resistance values out of my analog steering wheel outputs with each button press. Email Crux with a request for a diagram, no answer. Get on Crutchfield chat for product support, was told "someone from support will call you shortly." No one ever did. Finally looked up Crux's BROKEN website, tracked down a phone number, and talked to what sounded like a very exhausted tech who didn't want to be there. He confirmed what my suspicion was, that this unit uses a "turn on" signal coming FROM the amplifier via the data lines, and there was no way to simulate that. I ripped this unit out and bought the PAC from a local shop. Now I have a pile of wires that I cant return because they are chopped up.

Pros: It works... if you don't plan on modifying anything else

Cons: 2 channel input (NOT 4 channel). Uses data lines to turn on instead of accessory power like everything else in the world. Customer / tech support is laughable. Manufacturer website is broken, doesn't even LIST this specific product (instead just lists the version it replaced with a "DISCONTINUED" label all over it). Anyone putting a stereo in a Toyota, turn and run away.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Bothell, WA on 4/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great very happy I'm able to still use Steering Wheel controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 3/29/2020

2005 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works wonderful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Greenup, IL on 3/24/2020

2006 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The first one did not work correctly. Thus, had to wait on a second one to be delivered to me. Had to redo wiring harness and replace the SWC module. Now, the steering wheel controls work like they were supposed to have. Spent a lot more time and stress on a project than I should have. The original equipment is back on its way via UPS at this very moment

Pros:

Cons: Poor quality. Just another reason why the economy is in the state that it is in

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Brookville, OH on 3/9/2020

2009 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect...&easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Havertown, PA on 3/4/2020

2006 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product. makes it for easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Newport, TN on 3/3/2020

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked just like it was supposed to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 12/10/2019

2008 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came with everything needed to wire up my new radio and keep steering wheel controls. Easy enough to understand, make sure you wire up the correct harness, otherwise, you'll extend your time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Pittsboro, NC on 11/26/2019

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as intended. Instructions regarding dip switches was a little vague and I had to call in for assistance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SUPER easy to install, no programming required.

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, WI on 11/17/2019

2012 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great - wish it would control the voice buttons on my steering wheel and retain the aux port but it doesn't (2012 Toyota Sequoia). Super easy install, no programming. Crutchfield recommended not setting the gain dip switches at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Maumee, OH on 8/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great blended into my system well

Pros: easy to install

Cons: there are none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Williams, OR on 8/13/2019

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install and works as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Only way to go

Crutchfield customer from Mchenry, IL on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made the upgrade possible simple easy install

Pros: what's not to like?

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 6/13/2019

2008 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything worked perfectly. Took some patience to connect but overall very good and no issues

Pros: Works as it should

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice interface

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 4/20/2019

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and the small design makes it easy to tuck away under dash.

Pros: Size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

David from Snowmass Vlg, CO on 2/16/2019

2006 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There were no instructions as to where the mini-plug was supposed to plug into. I had to call the helpline at Crutchfield. I spoke with Jay (Jason) and he was amazingly helpful. He answered all of my questions.

Pros: Does what is claims - Keeps steering wheel functions.

Cons: The documentation was not good enough for the newbie installer.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Rockford, IL on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

However, I was told I could continue with navigation since I have a vehicle that has it now. The radio is a DVD and navigation unit, but the Crux would not give me that benefit or at least mirror my phone. If I had known that, I would not have purchased it. It only took about 4 or 5 phones calls with tech support to find that out. Along with several frustrating hours.

Pros: It works as it was described

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Aberdeen, MS on 1/6/2019

2007 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Perris, CA on 1/1/2019

2008 Toyota Camry Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered the plug and play harness with this item and this isn't completely wired into the harness. You still have to cut and solder to the SWC wires and the instructions are not the best. Not sure why this isn't just made with a pin that plugs into the exsisting wires.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product, pretty easy to install and use

Tim from Lincolnshire, IL on 1/1/2019

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well built, not hard to use

Pros: Price, quality of product, does almost all you would want

Cons: Could have a few more features and a little easier to understand install, but works!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Solution

Paul from Pueblo West, CO on 12/28/2018

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was given a different brand twice but neither worked. Then Crutchfield sent the Crux and it worked perfect. Very happy to say the least.

Pros: Works perfect & was cheaper

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 12/9/2018

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wiring adapter works perfect. I was having some issues wiring it up to the HU but after calling tech support and them walking me threw it over the phone I got it all wired up like its suppose to be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Overall Product

Crutchfield customer from Parkton, MD on 9/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Allows me to use all steering wheel controls as intended after installing a Pioneer car stereo in a 13 year old Toyota. A very satisfied customer.

Pros: Works exactly as intended. Easy install.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Bobby from Jamaica, NY on 9/6/2018

2007 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I will like to thank Shawni for helping me very good sales rep she listen and explain very well about the product you are buying. This device worked great allowing me to keep my steering wheel controls on my 07 Sienna. Crutchfield has great technical support. I recommend anyone to purchase audio product from Crutchfield I give them a 5 star.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Denis from Reno, NV on 8/30/2018

2005 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the OEM navigation screen turn on and off every second or so, steering wheel controls were lagging and not always registering, every time the car was started the OEM screen would get stuck on the splash screen, every once in a while the sound from the headunit would be completely gone, necessitating reinstalling OEM headunit, turning it on, then reinstalling the new headunit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy

Crutchfield customer from Cpe Girardeau, MO on 8/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was so easy to plug in and set the dip switches. It worked perfectly and continues to do so!

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: One set of dip switches wasn't correctly noted in the picture. Picture shows four, but unit only has three. Figured it out easily enough though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

06 tundra aftermarket radio

Richard from Arleta, CA on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First off Sam at crutchfield was great in helping me with my order. This device worked great allowing me to keep my steering wheel controls on my 06 Tundra. Cruthfield has great technical support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Lithonia, GA on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Don from Grand Prairie, TX on 7/3/2018

2003 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great.... Only thing is that it does not support Fader function.. You cannot adjust the volume for the front and rear speakers on the JBL Synthesis system on the 4runner. I don't think this unit does any of the RS232 interpretation to control the processing module on the car.

Pros: Works great, but doesn't support the fade function on the Limited Edition Toyota 4Runner with JBL Synthesis sound system.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from South Range, WI on 4/29/2018

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CS-TJ20 Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles , CA on 4/27/2018

2010 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. Instructions are good, not great but good.

Pros: Works as expected

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP