Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crux CUB-01

Universal bullet backup cam — flush-mount

MFR # CUB-01

Crux CUB-01

Crux CUB-01

Universal bullet backup cam — flush-mount

MFR # CUB-01

27 reviews
View this product

Rear view camera install

Crutchfield customer from Yorkville, IL on 6/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera works well for the price. Easy install, I mounted it into a trailer hitch cap. I don't plan on pulling anything with my Jeep. Maybe a bike rack, then I'll disconnect at plug and remove. 2 minutes tops to accomplish.

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: Finding good ground to chassis on the camera end of the hookup. Didn't know which end is up for the camera. Needed someone in Jeep to help me get aligned perfectly.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUB-01

Crutchfield customer from Murphy, NC on 3/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy hookup and decent picture for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice camera

Crutchfield customer from Allegan, MI on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works flawlessly, nice clear video. Like the parking guide lines!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Needs orientation marker

Crutchfield customer from Flint, MI on 1/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Reasonably good picture quality though not great. Nice long cable. Would be 5 stars if it had an indicator on the camera for which way is up.

Pros: Good quality construction. Very long cable.

Cons: No way to know orientation of camera until it's connected to screen.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUB-01

Crutchfield customer from Temecula, CA on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not the right camera for the purpose I needed it for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/23/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUB-01

James from WILLIAMSBURG, VA on 11/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, works as advertised. It was nice they included a hole bit to drill my bumper. Just had to get throw plastic and worked like a champ.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera

Crutchfield customer from Mint Hill, NC on 10/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great view and easy install. Need to cut hole. Use your own cutting bit, the one that comes with is too cheap, caused me some damage I had to fabricate a fix.

Pros: Good quality

Cons: Supplied cutting bit, poor quality.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great

Crutchfield customer from Ohio on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera at a great price, had no issues installing it or getting it to work. After seeing how the guide lines looked, I decided I didn't want them so I cut the white wire as instructed, but the lines didn't go away. I had already put everything back together and pulling it all apart would have been a hassle, so I just disconnected the battery for a minute, reconnected it, and problem solved. If you cut the wire to disable the lines, disconnect the camera then plug it back in to reset it. Other than that, everything was a breeze and I'm happy.

Pros: Easy installation, multiple options for supplying power, very long cord for just about any vehicle, great quality, great price

Cons: Camera needs to have power removed to reset it if cutting the wire to remove guide lines (not really a con, just a heads up for installers)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small Size Mounts Anywhere

Steven from Glen Burnie on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits anywhere! Good picture! Includes a hole saw, but the tooth pattern looked a little aggressive to me, so I used a stepped drill bit instead. Installation looks almost factory, if 90's Camaros ever came with backup cameras!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect!!!

Crutchfield customer from PHILADELPHIA, PA on 9/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like it! It looks factory made, I'm very satisfied and since my car is black, you can't really see the cam. Just be careful when making the hole. The Hole-saw bit that came with it was useless. I've to use my own. Other than that it's perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Camera

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great easy install in my 04 Avalanche

Pros: Works well

Cons: Wish was wider angle

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux CUB-01

Crutchfield customer from North Weymouth, MA on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Slightly difficult to level out once installed so make sure it's straight

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUB-01

Crutchfield customer from Hagatna, GU on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works and installs easily. I got a bit of lines on the screen while my truck was idling and vibrating. It didn't have these lines when I tested without the engine running but in reverse gear. Not sure if it was due to poor grounding or sheilding interference by my running camera wires near other wiring.

Pros: Simple installation and included a hole saw.

Cons: I had some lines on my screen maybe due to car vibrating too much. It was clear while engine off but on reverse gear.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clear video

Crutchfield customer from Valley Stream, NY on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean video. Higher quality specs for great price. Used as a front camera in my 2015 ram 1500. Easy connections to my aftermarket radio. Parking lines are accurate. Connected blue wire to reverse video to use as front camera didn't work. Image still reversed.

Pros: Clear video . Accurate parking lines

Cons: Couldn't reverse image.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't do it!

Mitchel from Salem on 5/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was super excited to get this camera to first on my 16 ram 1500. I finally got around to hooking it up. As soon as I put the truck in reverse, a large puff of smoke and a terrible electrical burning smell occured. After turning my truck off to ensure that it did not catch on fire I began investigating the source of the smoke and smell. It appears to be a factory defect at the junction point of power and video. See the attached picture.

Pros: Perfect fit.

Cons: Almost set my truck on fire.

Crutchfield response on 6/1/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Mitchel to help him further. We'll either help him get the backup cam working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.
Customer review photo

1 of 3 found this helpful

Crux CUB-01

John from OAK CREEK, WI on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install with a great picture. Was able to drill out a lock cylinder and mount inside for a oem look.

Pros: Price Camera picture

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great economy camera

Crutchfield customer from Stevensville, MI on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight forward, easy install. Great quality for the price.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

CRUX CUB-01 review

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am giving the backup camera 3 stars because of the unclear instructions sheet. The camera power(red) line only needs to be connected to the backup rear hot or the backup(pink/black) out of the fuse block ONLY ONE in order to show image on receiver . the instructions were not clear. Thanks to the support staff at Crutchfield the problem of connecting at both locations was corrected. the camera shows good picture for the price I paid. Hope this review is help for the next user. thanks JR

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Crux CUB-01

Crutchfield customer from Coolidge, AZ on 11/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item was not the right one and the plug was too small. Not able to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/19/2019
We're sorry this backup cam didn't work out for you. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

nothing fancy, but quite adequate.

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 10/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had installed a Pioneer stereo in my 2007 ford edge a few weeks back but was a little intimidated to run the wire for a b/u camera since I have a hatchback. After pondering it for a couple weeks, and my radio screen going blank whenever I put the car in reverse, I came up with an option for installation that didn't involve my hatch. I ended up installing the camera in the middle of the back bumper (see picture), using the key-hole drill bit provided, and running the wire up through the spare tire well, then along the door jambs to the front. I couldn't tell which side of the camera was supposed to be up, so I had to adjust after I got it installed, but that was no big deal. The camera doesn't appear to be adjustable so it just faces the direction allowed by the bumper, but it certainly lets you see what's behind you (see other picture). There was more than enough wire included.

Pros: Camera installs flat against surface, good quality picture, useful parking lines

Cons: Not adjustable

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUB-01

Crutchfield customer from Coshocton, OH on 9/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera at a good price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Discrete and easy to install!

Crutchfield customer from Eatontown, NJ on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife loved my Jeep Wrangler so much she begged me to install a backup camera. This was easy to do with all the instructions. Installed it in the rear bumper and you can barely tell theres a camera installed on my wrangler!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crux CUB-01

Andrew from Kernersville, NC on 8/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera. Very easy to install. The provided hole drill worked well with the plastic bumper, and the camera was a snug fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Back up camera cub-01

Crutchfield customer from Linden, NJ on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality. Easy to install. Helps a lot when backing up

Pros: Right price. Good quality

Cons: Take efforts to put in place. Hole saw from provided with the set didn't work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Ider, AL on 5/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera

Pros: Product works good

Cons: The install drill bit sucked

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

happy with quality

Crutchfield customer from Gretna, LA on 4/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed on my fj cruiser, right between the back up sensors on the rear bumper, IF you get to noticed it you'll think it's factory. plenty of view, awesome quality and not hesitation when put on reverse... this little camera exceeded my expectations. no complaints at all

Pros: clear view with good resolution. really small and easy to install.

Cons: none!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Backup Camera

Marc from Tonto Basin, AZ on 3/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered a Crux RVC with a factory plug. It didn't work so the Tech I spoke with took it back for exchange and sent this Crux Cub. Perfect fit and installation was a breeze. Thank You

Pros: Easy hookup

Cons: No T-Crimp squeeze clamps included

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP