Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crux CUL-06

Lip-mount backup camera

MFR # CUL-06

Crux CUL-06

Crux CUL-06

Lip-mount backup camera

MFR # CUL-06

19 reviews
View this product

Crux CUL-06

Crutchfield customer from Lyndhurst, NJ on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They charge you hundreds of dollars for these cameras. You will get it much cheaper here. it is very easy to install it if you are just a bit good with cables. Quality is very good. Night vision is very high quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good image

Crutchfield customer from Pompton Plains, NJ on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well but does not let you flip the image top to bottom, only right to left. I ended up uninstalling and using a different style camera

Pros: Image quality and sturdy design.

Cons: No vertical flip option.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good for the price!!!

Crutchfield customer from Catonsville, MD on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, the quality is really good! I was looking for something relatively discreet and cheap, with parking lines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUL-06

A from Walnut Creek, CA on 1/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great when it works, but acts up during cold and wet weather and goes out completely, eventually. Nit reliable. I've had a couple of warranty replacements and after one year it's acting up- picture is blurry for a while when you first start the car and it gets a little better after a while (I have a switch to keep it on). That is what happened last year then it goes out completely. Warranty is from Crux and they won't send U another one until you send in the bad camera. Then they verify the issue and send a replacement. So, you have to open up and close up all the parts that need removal twice. I had the issue a couple of times. Now I'm out of warranty. Looking for a more reliable brand.

Pros: Good when it works

Cons: Does not last long rendering it unreliable.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Crux CUL-06

Crutchfield customer from Mchenry, IL on 11/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera I just wish it had some built in angle adjustment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUL-06

Crutchfield customer from Clayton, NC on 9/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my install. Chose 3m automotive two sided tape mount instead of included screws. I filed away a small amount of plastic on the lip for wire figment to gain a stock appearance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUL-06

Crutchfield customer from Bogart, GA on 7/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were kind of lacking but after a few calls to tech support we got it figured out! Good definition and clarity. Automatically compensates for shady areas. Overall pleased with this camera!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUL-06

Bob from Spokane county on 7/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used as a lip mount on a spoiler. The video cable has ground and power input wires near the camera but only a power input wire at the video plug. Having a ground wire at the video plug as well would have been convenient. I cannot get 170 degree horizonal viewing angle - more like 130 degrees. I've tried all of the aspect ratios for the receiver. I have very little experience with back up cameras but clarity and brightness for the image is not very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great!

Douglas from Cincinnati, OH on 2/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

sharp picture and the guide lines are helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUL-06

Crutchfield customer from Westfield, IN on 11/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 10 year old base model Nissan Sentra did not have a backup camera and I've become surprisingly dependent on them over the years. This one was easy to install and works great. Image is clear and the 170 degree field of view is excellent without distortion. As ever, Crutchfield was great with excellent product choices, a well developed web site that makes it easy to indentify the perfect item and amazing shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUL-06

Crutchfield customer from Cottageville, SC on 11/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great buy. Great low light camer. The wide angle makes it easy to podition the car.

Pros: Easy to install Great low light Nice wide angle Clear picture

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUL-06

Crutchfield customer from Canton, OH on 9/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Camera is what you would expect. I had issues with two different crux cameras with the horizontal image and back up line wires being mis labeled. Wasn't a huge deal I just found out after I had taped, covered and hid all of the wires causing me to rework it. Overall I am pleased with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Decent camera for the price. Would buy again.

Ezra from Plano, TX on 9/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have this connected to a Sony XAV-602BT receiver on a Nissan Altima. The video quality is good during the day, but a bit grainy in lower light conditions. However, at night I'm able to see more than I expected. I don't have any experience with other cameras to compare it to, but it's acceptable quality for a backup camera displayed on a small screen. The view angle is perfect when mounted to a typical car letting you see quite a bit. For the price and features of this camera, I have no complaints. I wired the power for the camera and the "Reverse In" lead from the receiver to the reverse lamp on my car. The camera comes on instantly when powered, but it takes my receiver a few seconds to switch to the rear view display. I am using the receiver's park assist lines, not the camera's built-in guides as the lines from the receiver were much cleaner looking. A couple things to note for installation: * Mounting hardware was NOT included. I found that size #4-40 machine screws (from Lowe's or Home Depot) work perfectly for mounting, and the screw head is flush with the camera housing or a little bit recessed. * Two screw holes are required for mounting this camera. And, because the wires for the camera come off of the back of the camera housing on this model, a third hole is required for the wire.

Pros: Small inconspicuous size and clean look Disconnect plug is a nice feature Great view range and perfect horizontal and vertical view angle Option to turn guides on or off

Cons: 23 feet is a generous length for the included video cable, but not quite long enough to be routed all the way to the stereo in my Nissan Altima. A simple RCA video extension cable did the trick.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

10 of 10 found this helpful

Better than factory

JR from West Blocton, AL on 9/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than Imagined. Camera provides an almost 170 degree view and could not be more simple to install.

Pros: Easy to install and plenty of slack even for a long run in my sequoia.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Resolution, Great Value

Dinesh from Morristown, NJ on 8/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The rear view camera provides great value for the money. Good picture and fits very well into the lip above the license plate of the Subaru Impreza. The resolution is very good. Very happy with this purchase. It would have been great if the camera came with vehicle specific instructions. The parking assist and the reverse light connect wires have to be connected to the vehicle harness behind the driver's side and passenger side kick plate respectively. There was no instructions on where to tap these two wires. Was able to figure it out with lot of google searches and a little help from Crutchfield tech support. Piece of advice - Do not use Posi-Tap to connect these wires. The connections are not good enough. Cut the wires and solder them. Took a while to troubleshoot this problem.

Pros: Picture with good resolution.

Cons: No instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Inexpensive and works extremely well

Mike from Massachusetts on 6/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for use with an Axxera receiver. Works great. A few things... A 'lip' mount means the camera looks DOWN and to the read. A vertical mount means the camera looks down and back. If you mount a vertical under a lip, or a lip camera on a vertical panel, the image will be upside down, and they don't flip. The camera can 'reverse' to be a mirror or direct, depending on your preference. Just jumper the wires to change. The camera can put guides on or not, just jumper the wires to change The guides are just a guide. Once you install it, park the car so that the side in is line with a tree or pole, and LOOK where the guides show. What the guides depict may not be accurate!! My Mustang is about a foot wider than the guides show. CHECK YOUR VEHICLE AGAINST THE GUIDES!! There are 3 cameras that look the same, but one has a screw ring on the back. Another has a flange with a screw on each side. And one has two mounting holes through the camera. Same camera, different mounting. Go with the look that you like. I bought this camera with a flange. I drilled a 1/4" hole for the cable and a 1/16" pilot hole for the screws. The cable hole can be mostly under the unit to hide it. There are two red wires. One at the back with black and one with the RCA up front. I took power from the backup light at the back and the front wire went to the 'reverse' input on the radio, automating the camera when you go into rever

Pros: Works great, once you figure it out

Cons: Almost no documentation or hints, just a single sheet about the size of a notecard. It's correct, but very lacking.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Great picture

jarad from Waterloo, IA on 2/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and it has a great picture. I absolutely love this camera. Looks and feels like stock

Pros: Clarity is spectacular

Cons: You need some knowledge in electronics to install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux CUL-06

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 9/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, but cable wasn't long for a big truck like my Nissan Armada to do a "factory installation".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Rear Camera

Rex from Nevada on 7/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good camera but it doesn't allow one to flip the image. Requires horizontal mounting that would be unnecessary if one could flip the image.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP