Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Install an aftermarket radio and retain steering wheel controls in select 2007-2017 Nissan vehicles

MFR # SWRNS-63U

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Install an aftermarket radio and retain steering wheel controls in select 2007-2017 Nissan vehicles

MFR # SWRNS-63U

69 reviews
View this product

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 6/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Russellville , AL on 5/30/2021

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works somewhat as advertised, you do lose your phone buttons on the steering wheel. Not mentioned in hype for its functionality.

Pros: Ease of connection

Cons: DOES NOT retain all steering wheel controls. Lose phone function. Tried tech help to no avail.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from TALLAHASSEE, FL on 5/16/2021

2012 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed a touchscreen stereo in my wife's Nissan Sentra and this allowed the ability to keep the steering wheel functions as they should be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth the extra for this

Crutchfield customer from South Easton, MA on 4/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

kept the steering wheel controls, with the bluetooth bypass was not buried in my car but once that was done worked as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Springville, AL on 3/1/2021

2013 Nissan 370Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Disappointed Functionality

Gregory from Durham, NC on 2/11/2021

2016 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cool idea - use factory steering wheel controls with after market head unit. The execution was pretty poor however. The only retained function is volume up and down. Can I use the phone connectivity buttons? Nope. How about the change source button? Forget it. Surely the next track and previous track buttons work? Bah-HA-ha - you're not getting it, none of that stuff works! It's installed, and I am not taking it out. Others can save themselves though - run away!

Pros: I can control my volume through my steering wheel.

Cons: The volume is the only thing that works.

Crutchfield response on 2/15/2021
Gregory, we're sorry you're having issues with your SWC interface. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Moncks Corner, SC on 1/16/2021

2015 Nissan Versa SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made the installation much easier, but it took some time to connect all the wires. But way less time than if I can to wire it the the car harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from La Porte, TX on 12/28/2020

2011 Nissan 370Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Retains steering controls and no cutting of factory harness! Perfect and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

John from LAS VEGAS, NV on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Guys, Gals, this interface works just fine on Nissan 370Z. At first I thought I was going to have to settle for wonky buttons on my steering wheel but when I called for support, my representative Franky walked me through some simple troubleshooting and we discovered the wiring harness had 2 wires switched. We swapped them around and it was perfect. Thanks Franky and Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buyer Beware. Does not work 27% of the time.

Crutchfield customer from Pelham, NH on 12/19/2020

2012 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Read all of the reviews before buying this product and save yourself time and frustration. This product is supposed to maintain steering wheel controls but 27% (16/59) of the reviews indicate that they have some sort of problem with the steering wheel controls not working properly. How can it have a 4 star rating when it doesn't do what it is supposed to do? This does not work for a 2012 Nissan Sentra SR with the Special Edition option package (Bluetooth,Navigation). The "Mode" and "Talk" buttons are swapped. I have spent a lot of time with several Crutchfield and Crux techs trying to fix this but so far no solution. The Bluetooth Bypass is not needed as there are no wires on the factory Bluetooth module connector that line up with the Bypass wires!

Pros: Crutchfield and Crux techs are easy to get a hold of. They are all very nice and seem interested in fixing your problem. The original Crux SWRNS-63U instruction sheet listed that the USB adapter was included but it was not and Crutchfield sent me one in a couple of days.

Cons: Crutchfield "Research". There have been issues with this product not working since 2015 based on reviews but Crutchfield still lists this as working with my vehicle. The techs seem to know this and are quick to offer a different part made by a different manufacturer. Why not save people a lot of frustration and time and just sell them the component that will work the first time?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

St Louis

Willie from St Louis on 12/16/2020

2012 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this item because I wanted to retain the steering wheel controls. I've gone over the instructions several times and I still cannot get it to work. After a little research,it appears this model may not work with my nissan. I only purchased it because it recommend by Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/23/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Willie to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Apollo Beach, FL on 11/11/2020

2016 Nissan Frontier S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This does what it was supposed to, but the instructions were incorrect for my year of vehicle. Luckily Carl from Crutchfield spent as much time as I needed to walk me through and troubleshoot until everything was working properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 10/28/2020

2015 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's not working

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/29/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works

Crutchfield customer from Floyds Knobs, IN on 10/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First time I've had a hands free adapter actually work. No lag on volume up and down or source change. Slight lag on track skip.

Pros: It actually works

Cons: Slight lag on track skip.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from PHILADELPHIA, PA on 9/26/2020

2011 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works fine except for my steering wheel control. I need to watch more videos on how to connect it properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from San Luis, AZ on 9/13/2020

2011 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product.

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 5/21/2020

2010 Nissan Cube

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best interface I have ever used. Didn't need the other harness...

Pros: Easy set-up

Cons: Couldn't find one.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesnt do anything for my SW phone buttons

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 5/14/2020

2010 Nissan Cube

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very useful for connecting the factory harnesses, speakers, etc. and I can use my steering wheel volume, source and skip buttons, but doesnt do anything for my Nissan Cube's phone buttons, neither answer nor hangup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 4/20/2020

2008 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with my JVC KW-V950BW receiver on my 2008 Sentra. The only thing is it does not control the power button on my steering wheel but it does control the Google, Bixby, Alexa on my phone instead. So when I press the"power" button on my steering wheel, Google pops up for my to ask a question instead.

Pros: Works great in retaining functions of steering wheel buttons

Cons: Power button on steering wheel does not turn off receiver.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must buy for aftermarket radios

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 4/15/2020

2020 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had no trouble connecting it to my steering wheel. Simple and affordable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Nibley, UT on 2/21/2020

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were clear.

Pros: Works as advertised.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Lehigh Acres, FL on 1/9/2020

2008 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product!! Super easy to configure and it keeps your factory steering wheel controls.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from New Rochelle, NY on 12/30/2019

2011 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to wire and has settings for vehicle which makes radio matching simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy & perfect

Crutchfield customer from Iron Station, NC on 12/23/2019

2012 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great, functions as expected, easy to wire up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, FL on 12/20/2019

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked perfectly on my car. Instant plug and play. I am still able to control the volume, source and tuning channels from my steering wheel. This was for a 2007 Nissan Altima.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, NE on 11/4/2019

2011 Nissan Rogue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mostly easy to install. I had some issues locating the speed sensing wire. The instructions stated the brown wire (on the harness provided). After locating my vehicle's vss, I found it was the light green wire on the harness provided. Overall the instructions were pretty vague. The steering wheel controls don't always work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Scott W from GREEN FOREST, AR on 11/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems like a great idea until you start to read the instructions. For me it was hard to follow. Did my best and ended up with the "Source" button honking the horn on our '12 Nissan Altima when pressed and the "Telephone" button is now the "Source" button. But the important button - "volume", works but after some doing the opposite of the instructions. We don't have the Bose system but had to use the dip switch for the Bose in order for the Steering wheel controls (Volume and station up/down) to even work.

Pros: The connections are stable.

Cons: Instructions hard to follow.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 10/3/2019

2011 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Súper fácil de instalar , las instrucciones son muy cortas pero concretas, con un poco de conocimiento en Electronics lo puedes hacer tú mismo

Pros: Súper sencillo No es necesario cortar cables

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good work around for controls

Crutchfield customer from Lennox, SD on 8/28/2019

2012 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Allowed me to retain all of my controls. The instructions are a bit over simplified but I did not have any issues installing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the Job

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, KS on 6/18/2019

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked like it was supposed too. Everything including the steering wheel remote works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Newhall, CA on 5/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up with good wiring instructions. Worked exactly as promised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 5/3/2019

2010 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have put in 2 stereos recently. One with the Crux SWRNS-63U one without. Having all the wires connected already as in the crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface is a God send!

Pros: It makes it SO easy, period.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 3/26/2019

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When you are used to having steering wheel controls with the stock stereo, it's hard to break the habit of using the controls! Cruxfield has made the wiring harness SWRNS-63U available to install to maintain this feature. What can I say other than it was easy to install and to wire in place for use. I cannot say how AWESOME it is to have the controls all work as prescribed! I ran into a snag and needed to call for assistance. I actually had a person answer and assist me immediately! They understood my dilemma and knew what to do next! GREAT SERVICE! Thank you for such a great product!

Pros: Easy to install and follow

Cons: None if you know how to build a wire harness.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Shawn from Phoenix, AZ on 3/11/2019

2007 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy enough to install, however never worked properly on my 2007 Nissan Sentra. No matter what I did the steering wheel controls were messed up. Seek buttons and volume buttons are backwards. Called Crutchfield customer service and they were great and took me through all the troubleshooting methods before sending me a new one that had the same issues unfortunately. This is the most expensive unit I have seen that is compatible with my car, I just wish that it worked properly. Certainly not worth the money when cheaper options work properly.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Does not work properly

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Titusville, NJ on 1/13/2019

2010 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2010 Altima Followed instructions, one call to tech support and we were up and running.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Twin Falls, ID on 12/21/2018

2011 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Functional

Justin from Winston Salem, NC on 12/20/2018

2010 Nissan Cube

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wires are correct but the dip switch settings were wrong, label stated was ready to plug and play. Had to remove and reinstall the stereo in order for it to function properly.

Pros: Easy to connect.

Cons: Check the dip switches.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product!

Kai from Chicago, IL on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product! All my steering wheel controls on my '08 Altima are retained! Works seamlessly with my Kenwood double din Navigation headunit! On my Altima like the prior reviews, the brown wire on this product needs to be disconnected. I got this product to work with no problems!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Mason, OH on 10/5/2018

2010 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Crux SWRNS-63U wiring interface made attaching the new Pioneer unit into my Altima real easy. It is very nice to keep using the steering wheel buttons. Easy setup instructions. However, for me, I did need to contact Crutchfield Tech Support to figure out I needed to disconnect a brown wire. Awesome support, was on phone for a really short time, it seems my Altima and Pioneer needed the brown wire disconnected for the steering wheel controls to function.

Pros: Easy to setup and use. Customer Service is top notch.

Cons: Needed Tech Support to learn that a brown wire needed to be disconnected for my vehicle and Pioneer unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Madison, AL on 9/23/2018

2008 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very easy to install on 2008 Altima, retained all steering wheel controls.

Pros: Kept all steering wheel controls

Cons: none that I experienced

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 8/13/2018

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works just like it should

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from West Fargo, ND on 8/2/2018

2007 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Followed the instructions, and it worked perfectly in my 2007 Versa SL. Steering wheel buttons worked right away.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Ryan from Tulsa, OK on 7/21/2018

2008 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, but I thought it was supposed to keep my steering wheel volume controls working with the new receiver. I guess it only applies to bluetooth controls on steering wheels.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Powder Springs, GA on 7/3/2018

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Steering wheel features are not working. I installed it in my daughters car........she doesn't really use the steering wheel controls so I did not investigate any further. Thought it would be a simple plug and play. 2007 Nissan Altima.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/4/2018
We're sorry you're having issues with your steering wheel controls. If you'd like some help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth it

Brian from Glendale, AZ on 6/18/2018

2011 Nissan Juke

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So simple, I had it installed and working before I even realized how it worked. Thought I was gonna have to disassemble the glovebox and get tantric with the Juke to get the steering wheel controls to work, but this was a piece of cake.

Pros: retain factory steering wheel controls

Cons: doesn't retain 100% of steering wheel controls (phone, but unnecessary)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So easy

Joshua from Groton, CT on 6/2/2018

2010 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy hookup and kept all steering wheel controls.

Pros: Steering wheel controls

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for steering wheel controls

Brian from Montgomery, IL on 5/21/2018

2011 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works seemlessly with my Pioneer 501 EX and all steering wheel controls were maintained. Very impressed.

Pros: All controls were maintained, plug and play!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wired Up Wrong

Joe from Longview, TX on 3/26/2018

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mine came wired up wrong, so my steering wheel controls would not work. That resulted in numerous emails back and forth to customer service. At first, they were telling me that I needed to modify the wiring harness on my car's Bluetooth Control Module. When I sent a pic showing it was not where they said, they told me to look on the other side. When I sent a picture that it was not there, they said look in the middle. I sent a video. Now they said it was inside the car. Finally, someone wrote and said my car did not have a Bluetooth Control Module, and that my crimps were faulty. I wrote back and told them that I paid them to crimp these, and they wrote back saying their crimping tool did not make mistakes. Round and round. Finally, I had to go through the wiring that they did, and I found one wire (Brown) that was connected and should not have been. After I cut that wire, my steering wheel controls started to work again.

Pros: Great when it works

Cons: Their techs don't always get it right.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Bremo Bluff, VA on 1/16/2018

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Jeff from Fort Worth, TX on 1/7/2018

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome, make sure you read the instructions, I was stuck for a little bit with steering wheel controls but found the statement after SWC code that the brown wire was to be disconnected, did not catch that at first. Everything works perfect.

Pros: Everything works

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The other half of my wiring review

Tom from Windermere, FL on 1/1/2018

2009 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was so fixated on the problem with the steering controls, I forgot to review the non-steering-control aspect of the wiring interface. This worked very well. My only issue was that the instructions were unclear about the blue antenna wire. So I left it unconnected. As a result, most of my AM/FM stations were lost in static. I googled my reception problem and found out the blue antenna wire must be connected to 12 volt power. So I connected it to the red wire and AM/FM reception is now excellent. I have a 2009 Nissan Altima.

Pros: Had no trouble connecting all but one of the wires.

Cons: Instructions for the blue wire were unclear

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Device failed

Tom from Windermere, FL on 1/1/2018

2009 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device failed to work in my 2009 Nissan Altima. I think it was doing something when I first connected it, because I pressed a button on the car steering wheel and got a function on the radio. It was the incorrect function because I had not yet setup the radio to translate the signal correctly. A few days later, when I tried to setup the radio, I got a "timeout" report from the radio. I got a "timeout" from every button. I went through every combination of dip switches and still got a "timeout". So, apparently, the device is no longer providing a signal. It has gone dead.

Pros: Instructions seemed adequate

Cons: Device failed

Crutchfield response on 1/2/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Tom to help him further. We'll either help him get the interface working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy enough to use

Steve from Little Rock, AR on 12/29/2017

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well in my 07 Altima. Was a bit confusing at first because when I had it installed with everything connected up the way it should have been (in my opinion), it still wouldn't work at first. I tried a few dip switch settings and it really didn't help. Turned out that I had to unplug the brown wire to the device before my controls would work like they should have. Luckily it had a simple connector in the middle of the line so detaching it wasn't a big issue. Also, I wish it would allow me to customize my buttons a little. For instance, I'd like to press and hold to the source button to get the voice activation part to pop up, but the button on the radio and regular voice commands work well enough. Or I'd like to be able to hold that button and have the radio menu pop up and let me scroll through with the track/preset up/down button to choose sources without having to touch the radio itself. That may just be a limitation of my radio, though.

Pros: Easy to put in-line in the car to get steering wheel controls back

Cons: Instructions really aren't that great with it, had to call in to Crutchfield for help. Even he didn't have current instructions and after about 15 minutes of trying he finally realized I needed to disconnect the brown wire. After that, things were okay. Having detailed current instructions would have helped immensely.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 12/17/2017

2011 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected but fyi, get the instructions online to save trouble.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Russellville, AL on 12/2/2017

2009 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! Easy to install and works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park Ks on 10/20/2017

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as advertised and at a good price.

Pros: Compact size ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Harley from New paltz ny on 9/13/2017

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Maintained my steering wheel controls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Gillette, WY on 9/8/2017

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works. Steering wheel controls on 2012 Altima. Did have to call tech support but got it straightened out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux Interface and Crutchfield

Amanda G. and Pops from Cherry Hill, NJ on 8/25/2017

2012 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed a Boss Navigation / Bluetooth double din radio in my granddaughter 2012 Sentra.. It has been a long time since I have done a radio installation. First thing is Crutchfield's sales and support were fantastic. Ziggy went over what I would need to do the installation and set me up with the correct connectors and wiring information including using the CRUX SWRNS-63 Wiring Interface. Just to make things clear I did not wire up for the steering wheel controls because this Boss Radio was not set up for it. I set the DIP switch up on the left side as per the instructions for the Nissan. All went well and the Granddaughter is happy. Thanks Crutchfield

Pros: Take your time and read. all went well

Cons: Take your time and read. all went well

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

James from Merritt Island, FL on 7/16/2017

2011 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although there are additional instructions furnished by Crutchfield, installing this interface can be a challenge. Sit down and study the whole setup before doing anything. They are apparently written assuming the user has done this before. I could recommend that instructions for where to plug in the SWA cable would be helpful. Even defining what "SWA" means would be helpful. Downloading the most current instruction sheet from the Crux web site is a must! It's an expanded version of the sheet included in the package.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It does not work.

Fernando from Palm Beach Gardens, FL on 6/17/2017

2007 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does not work. Everything was connected following the instructions carefully.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/20/2017
Fernando, we're sorry you're having issues with your interface. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the interface installed and working. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 4 found this helpful

Not working

vong from Lake Jackson, TX on 3/28/2017

2011 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried twice to set it up like it said but it wont work. Maybe it could be the radio so ima give it 3 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/29/2017
Vong, if you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can walk you through the settings on the product and see if there may be a fix. Our toll-free Tech Support number is printed on your invoice, and is also available under the "My Orders" tab in the "My Account" section of our website.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Todd from Lakeland, FL on 12/26/2016

2008 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and still have all of the original steering wheel features. It took a little while longer than I would have liked to do the install but it was well worth it. 2008 Nissan Altima coupe.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome product

Crutchfield customer from Alexandria, MN on 8/26/2016

2008 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was very simple and it works flawlessly in my 08 nissan altima and my steering wheel controls work just as well as they did with my factory stereo. I highly recommend this product!

Pros: Easy installation, works flawlessly with my new stereo

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, NY on 8/21/2016

2008 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product., easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't waste your money!

Mike B from Shepherdstown, WV on 7/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After install some functions worked, but many did not. After 1 hour of phone support with manufacturer they offered to send me directions to solder in a resistor to compensate for a needed value?? Really ? These crux do not work, Crutchfield should not sell these inferior products

Pros: Plug and play although it does not work

Cons: Does not work, no resolution

Crutchfield response on 7/12/2016
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to help the customer. We'll help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Joseph from Fenton, MO on 6/10/2016

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I reinstalled a JVC head unit in my daugter's car, a 2012 Nissan Altima.Install went well. The instructions for the Crux interface was very straight forward. With out this module, she would not be able to use the steering wheel controls. Immediately after the installation, tested all the steering wheel buttons. The seek button for moving the channel up would increase the volume instead of changing the channel. Called Crutchfield and of course their tech support was right on it. Told me to pull the unit and make sure the dip switches and/or the plug ins were seated correctly. Completed that and all worked fine on the radio, but still the same issue with the iPod setting. Not a big deal at this point.

Pros: Easy installation.

Cons: Did not work on seek for the iPod.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRNS-63U Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Midland,tx on 1/11/2016

2012 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked awesome no complaints

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works, sort of

MarkP from Virginia on 12/28/2015

2011 Nissan Versa

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2011 Nissan Versa SL with a DPX791BH , it seemed like it was a good option as the Maestro was not listed as compatible with this car by Crutchfield. For some reason it decided that the source button should toggle ATT and the voice command button should control sources and hangup the phone\decline calls. No button activated voice control (limitation of the receiver) and no button would pickup the phone (guess ATT is more important). Other than that the volume and seek buttons worked more or less as expected. No way to program the unit so your stuck with it that way. To be fair the headunit had other major issues so maybe some of the difficulties were headunit related and not the controllers fault. Returning it and buying a Maestro from Crutchfield to replace it since the manufacturer lists it as compatible (and I have it installed in my Subaru and love it).

Pros: All the buttons on the steering wheel work. If you want to screen your phone calls it declines calls very well.

Cons: Not all the buttons on the steering wheel worked correctly, response to inputs oddly slow. If you actually want to answer the phone then reach for your headunit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP