Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
Connect ID #
590 520 435 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Allows you to connect a new car stereo and retain steering wheel controls in select 2008-15 Subaru vehicles

MFR # SWRSU-38B

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Allows you to connect a new car stereo and retain steering wheel controls in select 2008-15 Subaru vehicles

MFR # SWRSU-38B

70 reviews
View this product

Works perfectly w/ 2012 Subaru Legacy after minor tweak

Matt from Beaver Falls, PA on 5/29/2021

2012 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first, the steering wheel controls, when connected to the Crux SWRSU-38B, would only control the radio while the car was in accessory mode. When I turned the key to on, the steering controls no longer controlled the radio. So we called Crutchfield tech support and talked to Shay. He was extremely helpful. I had the brown 2-pin connector connected to the brown 2-pin connector. Shay said, as a last ditch guess before he called Crux, "Try connecting the brown 2-pin connector to the green 2-pin connector." And that solved it! Note: The vehicle is a 2012 Subaru Legacy (original factory radio was Clarion radio and it does NOT have Harman Kardon premium speakers) that was connected to a new Boss BE7ACP head unit. After Shay's help, the steering wheel controls in the 2012 Subaru Legacy operated the Boss BE7ACP head unit perfectly! Many thanks to Shay and many thanks to Crutchfield for their excellent tech support team...this is exactly the reason that I bought from Crutchfield instead of somebody like the big online retailer that would have left me helpless. Kudos to Shay at Crutchfield!!!

Pros: Works perfectly w/ 2012 Subaru Legacy

Cons: The Crux SWRSU-38B instructions were wrong for my configuration. The instructions should be modified to say "SPECIAL NOTE ON SOME 2012 LEGACY CONFIGURATIONS: You might need to connect brown 2-pin connector to green 2-pin connector."

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Lyndonville, VT on 5/2/2021

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as it should

Pros:

Cons: Settings for my subaru radio side were actually opposite of what the instructions said

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy work

Crutchfield customer from Annabella, UT on 4/29/2021

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy plug and play options. When I needed help crutchfield stayed on the phone until things were fixed properly. Very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Colonial Beach, VA on 4/17/2021

2014 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect with my subaru and pioneer receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well but the instructions are a bit off

Jason from Grand Junction, CO on 4/4/2021

2012 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Originally after installing this unit with the instructions from Crux, I could only get one of my steering wheel buttons to work and that one wasn't doing what it was supposed to. Thanks to Crutchfield's outstanding customer service, who provided me with some alternate DIP switch settings, I was able to get it working properly. Now all of my steering wheel buttons work as intended. I couldn't be more pleased with the team at Crutchfield! As for my experience, it seems the instructions tell you the opposite of how you should set your switches. The radio settings were spot on but it was the vehicle settings that caused my issue. Originally it was set to ON OFF ON OFF but it turns out it should have been OFF ON OFF ON. Once I reversed my switches, everything worked great! Overall, I would recommend this product to anyone installing an aftermarket radio in select Subarus but be sure to reach out to Crutchfield support if you run into any problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quick and easy!

Crutchfield customer from South Fork, PA on 4/4/2021

2010 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works perfectly and easily with Outback and new Sony

Crutchfield customer from Palmer Lake, CO on 3/30/2021

2013 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed to retain factory wiring and options for my 2013 Subaru Outback with factory installed Clarion head unit and pickup/hang up on steering wheel. The instructions were outdated, but after a handful of calls to Crux customer support, who answered everytime, they figured out the right switch combination. If you have my same vehicle the pins for 5678 are OnOffOnOff (opposite of what is written in instructions). But, this may be due to being paired with a New Sony head unit. I don't fault Crux at all and highly recommend their products and team.

Pros: Customer support Ease of use Retain all factory options

Cons: Outdated instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Running Springs, CA on 3/16/2021

2009 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pay the extra for them to do it for you. Great value. Plug and play at that point

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buyer Beware

Crutchfield customer from St Clairsvle , OH on 3/11/2021

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered this for my 2012 Subaru Outback. This was supposed to be the harness I needed to keep the steering wheel controls for the stereo. This is not the correct harness. This harness works the stereo fine but does not have the correct connectors to hook up to the steering wheel controls. The extra $ I spent was a waste of money. I soldered all my wires and shrink tubed all the connections. When I moving to the installation I discovered that the harness does not connect at all the the steering wheel radio controllers. There was no plug/connection to the factory harness plug/connection on the harness I received. Since I already had my new head unit installed I cut my losses and wished I would have saved my money and got the free harness provided by Crutchfield with the purchase of my stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/30/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the interface working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Read it 4 times before installing

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CA on 2/25/2021

2011 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Someone needs to rewrite the installation instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 2/7/2021

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to wire and install, works flawlessly in my 2009 Forester.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Support.

Crutchfield customer from Taylorsville, NC on 1/26/2021

2010 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were a bit hard to follow and not clear what the dipswitch settings for my car. Called crutch field support and they got me going in less than 5 minutes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 1/22/2021

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described - be sure you double-check your DIP switch settings before you button everything up. 2012 Outback Premium (steering wheel controls, Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Alexander from Hillsborough, NJ on 12/30/2020

2013 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works besides my steering wheel controls are all random my buttons all do different opposite things. Anyone know the correct dip pattern? I'm so confused for a 2013 impreza hatch JVC unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/7/2021
Alexander, we're sorry you're having issues with your interface. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Greenacres, WA on 12/25/2020

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great as advertised. In my instructions for '15 Forester clarion made radio with pickup and hangup buttons it says to put jumpers off on off on. That allowed the controls to do things to the radio but incorrectly. Before calling Crutchfield I tried the dip switch settings for a steering wheel without pickup and hangout. On off on off and that worked perfect. Makes using car play and android auto a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doesn't work for 2012 Subaru Legacy SW

Jonathan from KEENE, NH on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product does not work in the 2012 Subaru Legacy with phone buttons on the steering wheel. I used a Sony XAVAX1000 radio. The manual is wrong and there is little to no tech support at Crux or Crutchfield.

Pros: Small size and price

Cons: It doesn't work for all buttons at all. Badly designed. Get an Idata SW instead.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Hicksville, NY on 12/15/2020

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works! No having to rewire anything. One time install. Thank you to the staff at Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from North Olmsted, OH on 12/12/2020

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was fairly easy to set up the dip switches, but I got kinda confused when trying to plug it in, probably just a blonde moment.

Pros: Keeps steering wheel controls

Cons: Who uses dip switches any more?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Indian Trail, NC on 12/8/2020

2009 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rita, GU on 11/12/2020

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The interface is awesome. Set up was pretty straight forward.

Pros: Definitely helped making install easier.

Cons: Some extra wires that kinda confused me, but reading the instructions helped! Lol

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thumbs Up

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 11/5/2020

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, FL on 10/29/2020

2010 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best investment when you buy a radio strongly recommend

Pros: Is plug and play.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Stafford, VA on 10/23/2020

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very helpful and Curtis and pleasant

Pros: Love my radio

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Winsted, CT on 10/17/2020

2010 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install everything was explained in the paperwork that came with the nice packaging

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great components, but...

Crutchfield customer from Ventura, CA on 10/13/2020

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These components are great! However, they only worked on my 2012 Subaru Outback when the key was in accessory mode, not after the car was started. Very frustrating. I ended up taking it in to have it installed and had to swap it out for another product that would interface with my car.

Pros: Great to have suggestions for all components needed to install my new system

Cons: Components didn't work properly with my particular car

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Wallkill, NY on 10/11/2020

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instruction were though and clear but I still lost most of my steering wheel controls. The instructions gives you the impression that certain controls on the steering wheel will be retained but that is not the case.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/13/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your interface. If you'd like help troubleshooting the problem, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from La Grande, OR on 9/28/2020

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works exactly how I needed it to and the install was easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from East Rochester, NY on 9/27/2020

2010 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

real easy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 9/10/2020

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy instructions to follow for setting the DIP switches and to connect the head unit to the chassis

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 9/6/2020

2013 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The module didn't allow me to use the controls on the steering column

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/10/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the interface working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Everything worked perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 9/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield is amazing. Their service is the best. Period. Not even AMEX has this quality of service. The parts they told me to buy were perfect and everything works perfectly. All function is still on point.

Pros: works great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Fletcher, NC on 8/27/2020

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Confusing with extra unnecessary wires. Verify dipswitch settings when first hooked up to make sure all steering wheel controls function correctly. Once everything is correct, it works great because you don't lose steering wheel controls.

Pros: Allows you to maintain factory steering wheel control functions.

Cons: Setting dipswitches can be confusing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Item

Crutchfield customer from Mount Vernon, NY on 8/23/2020

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install. I purchased a car with an aftermarket radio and did not know what the factory radio was.... I still was able to figure out easily.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Don't know yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 8/18/2020

2012 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked very well except steering wheel controls for my 2012 impreza do not work, everything else is flawless. one star off due to this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 8/12/2020

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2015 Subaru Forester and one of the biggest issues I had was that the steering wheel control DIPS did not interface with the call features, even after two calls with Crutchfield. However, I was able to make it work with the volume and channel select controls on the steering wheel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Royal Oak, MI on 7/25/2020

2011 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use. Worked perfectly in my 2011 WRX

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 7/22/2020

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, even if it doesn't support the speed sensor or the parking brake sensor (which had to be wired up by feeding things into the center console from the driver side kick panel and from under the steering column). Description of dip switch settings expected was inaccurate and required a conversation with the very helpful Crutchfield staff to resolve (but it was something we could resolve thankfully). Supports steering wheel controls very well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 7/21/2020

2012 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Elmira, NY on 7/14/2020

2008 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Westbrook, CT on 7/1/2020

2013 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2013 Subaru Impreza to Pioneer AVH-221EX. Works perfectly. Easy to install, wires are clearly and correctly labelled. Did the job!

Pros: Easy Correct Compact

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Maplesville, AL on 6/20/2020

2008 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2013 Subaru STI not good

shane from CHULA VISTA, CA on 6/18/2020

2013 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This might be a good system, but could not get it to work on my 2013 Subaru STI, was sent 2 units and came down to getting a axxess aswc-1 s as and after Crutchfield and axxess great help. It works

Pros: Great instructions and pre wired. Looks nice but

Cons: Did not work for my car and had to go too a axxess system

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

FAST shipping, not so great quality

Crutchfield customer from Clayton, NC on 6/14/2020

2011 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Parts came super fast when I ordered them and installation was easy. Initially the SWC seemed to work but after a day or so they began to malfunction. My track select button for some reason became my volume up button and the rest of the buttons stopped working. It would occasionally switch back and work normally until about 3 days ago when it quit working altogether. Didnt realize how much of a convenience the SWC buttons were until they didn't work anymore.

Pros: Fast shipping, easy install

Cons: Doesn't work after a week

Crutchfield response on 6/17/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your interface. If the problem continues and you'd like our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Blue Ridge, VA on 6/11/2020

2012 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy installation.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Thousand Oaks, CA on 6/7/2020

2009 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, works as intended.

Pros: Easy to connect aftermarket headunit to stock wiring harness

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Forney, TX on 6/1/2020

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to wire, clear instructions. Make sure you pay attention when setting the DIP switches! I had to recheck mine when my steering wheel controls didn't function, but it turns out I had set them backwards.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Effective, but confusing

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MD on 5/29/2020

2014 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Long story short, the instructions aren't great. They don't make a lot of sense, and feel as if they're designed to confuse you. Basically, what you have to do is determine what head unit your car had, mine had a clarion with hang-up options, and determine what your new head unit is. From there, you adjust the dip switch accordingly. After you have adjusted the dip switches, plug the 3.5mm jack into the steering wheel control plug on the back of your new head unit. On my Pioneer, this was the W/R (wired remote) jack. This was not made clear by the instructions, and I was fumbling around like an idiot trying to figure out why my controls weren't working. With all said and done, I retained my controls, and wiring was a breeze. After a call with a tech, we concluded that there were some redundant/useless cables. I had two ground cables (one to be soldered, one to be connected to the body of the car) and we determined which of those to use, and which to omit. Additionally, it comes with a dimmer wire, which you should NOT install. If your unit is picking up your steering wheel controls, but the buttons aren't synced properly, check to make sure you input the right OEM stereo options on the dip switch. It is likely you accidentally put in the wrong one. To make a long story short, call a tech while you're setting this up. Crutchfield has very helpful Tech Support, and you'll be on your way in no time.

Pros: Easy to wire Everything you need to plug in a new stereo and retain steering wheel controls Quality hardware

Cons: Comes with redundant wires that may confuse someone, and includes a dimmer switch, which a tech told me should "never be used." How odd! Instructions do more harm then good (color coded instructions available online...)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Did not work with my 2014 Subaru Impreza (base with non-Navi)

Crutchfield customer from Anthem, AZ on 5/4/2020

2014 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The instructions that came with this interface were straight forward and easy for me to understand. I set up the dip switches according to the model of my new head unit as well as specific to the model stereo that came out of my car. Everything tested great after the initial installation. I had volume control, track control, and phone call answer and hang up buttons working on the steering wheel without issues. Unfortunately that lasted about an hour after I finishing the installation and took the car for a drive. I was mid lowering the volume using the steering wheel controls when the volume stopped responding. Now I get no volume control with the actual volume buttons, the track control buttons now change the volume, and the phone answer and hangup buttons no longer work. This may be due to my model Subaru being slightly different then expected. I had contacted Crutchfield support during my installation because I discovered my stock radio had an extra 16-pin harness connected to the stock stereo that I was able to determine contains the Mic, Aux, Parking Brake, and Reverse indicator wires in it, but support wasn't able to find any product that would work with that extra harness, or that my car should even come with such a harness. To be clear, Crutchfield support has been amazing thus far and I am still waiting for additional feedback on this adapter not working. Perhaps the AXXESS ASWC-1 will be an option instead.

Pros: Straight forward instructions

Cons: Stopped working with my car after about an hour of driving.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Riverview, FL on 5/4/2020

2014 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this module for a 2014 Subaru Impreza with steering wheel audio controls, worked very well. The instructions are a little bit confusing but once I got everything hooked up right to the Sony stereo, it was good. It also reduces the amount of wiring you need to do because it doubles as a aftermarket wiring adapter. Plugs right into the factory harness and then you splice in the aftermarket wiring harness. All in all a good product once set up correctly!

Pros: East to set up and reduces amount of wiring needed.

Cons: Instructions can be confusing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Chicopee, MA on 4/4/2020

2012 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The interface works for replacing the stereo but Steering wheel controls do not work in the 2012 legacy.

Pros: Stereo works with interface

Cons: steering wheel controls did not work

Crutchfield response on 4/13/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Casey, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the interface working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Rapids, IA on 2/17/2020

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Brookville, OH on 1/19/2020

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was sold as being compatible with my vehicle. It was not. Talked with tech support and exchanged things out for what is.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Danby, VT on 12/31/2019

2011 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product, easy to use and made the installation a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ALBANY

Chuck from ALBANY on 12/30/2019

2012 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness is great, directions are good. I was dubious about the function of the steering wheel buttons through the interface, and sure enough they did not work at first. Great service from Ed on the tech service line, and after rearranging the dip switches everything functioned just like the factory radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great... with significant issues.

Crutchfield customer from Oakhurst, CA on 12/28/2019

2010 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The device works perfectly... however... the installation instructions were incomplete. They did not include all included stock stereo options for setting up the dip-switches. As a result, I called the tech support line at the manufacturer, and was given incorrect information regarding our circumstances. It was only through trial and error that I was able to determine the correct positions of the switches. Again... it does work perfectly once it was set properly, but their instructions and customer support really need to be worked out.

Pros: Works very well.

Cons: Incomplete and plain incorrect installation instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from North Royalton, OH on 12/16/2019

2009 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install, works as intended

Crutchfield customer from Cumberland, MD on 12/12/2019

2009 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a little skeptical on this product due to the reviews, but honestly it wasn't bad. The only confusing part of the instructions for me involved the dip switches and that's because the instructions start with the right set of switches. Also, I was really curious to know why this was the suggested product it being more expensive. Turns out this Crux device comes with EVERYTHING for the install, including the wiring harness which is not included in the competition's products. So that's why it's more expensive, but also more cost effective.

Pros: Comes with everything, including a wiring harness that other steering control adapters do not provide.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy the custom made wiring from these guys. It's definitely worth it.

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 12/11/2019

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This wiring harness saved me a lot of headache and worked perfectly. It's worth far more than the price. I highly recommend it. I maintained my steering wheel controls and it integrated perfectly with my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Instructions confusing. Tech support will help you get it working.

Crutchfield customer from Waco, TX on 11/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's easy to get frustrated with this interface and the installation instructions. The key to getting this thing programmed properly is to know what brand the original oem radio is that you are pulling out when setting the factory pin settings on this interface. If you get everything hooked up and it's not working as expected then do yourself a favor and call tech support and they will get you sorted out. Once Crutchfield tech support got me squared away the interface worked as I had hoped. Like others have said, the instructions are easily misunderstood. Other than that this thing works fine.

Pros: Once programmed properly it works like a charm.

Cons: Confusing/vague instructions Many will need to call tech support to get up and running.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 11/3/2019

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was told it would work on my vehicle (2011 Outback) - it doesn't. Allegedly Crux is working on a firmware update for this, but it doesn't change the facts: I was told it would work, was sold the unit, and it doesn't work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Silverton, OR on 10/14/2019

2010 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The instructions for setting the switches were incomplete. For my Subaru, they gave the position of the switches but they did not work. I had to call customer support to find out that there are two different settings. Why this is not included in the instructions is ridiculous. This could have saved me 1/2 hour of my time.

Pros: Makes it able to use your steering wheel controls.

Cons: Incomplete instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Cabin John, MD on 10/2/2019

2014 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the installation easy once the old unit was removed. Definitely buy this option and your car works like new.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Leo from Boston MA on 9/18/2019

2010 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The codes are incorrect in the instructions, will need to call tech support and ask for correct codes for a 2010 Subaru Impreza.

Pros:

Cons: Incorrect codes in instruction manual for programming radio to work with steering wheel controls.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Buyer Beware

Darrell from Richmond, VA on 9/16/2019

2007 Subaru Impreza 2.5i

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Given the previous reviews, I should have known better than to buy this item. I installed in a 2010 Subaru Forester mated to Alpine ILX-W650 (with latest Firmware update). Double and triple checked all of the PIN settings and the unit still does not function properly. Some steering wheel controls work, some don't and most annoying, some function opposite of design (ex. volume down actually raises the volume while volume up does nothing). I am most unhappy with Crutchfield continuing to carry this item with its current description. It clearly does not work on all vehicles claimed, based on several reviews which they were involved in trying to resolve, yet they continue to recommend and sell it to people. To further compound the problem, I have to tear the dashboard apart again, if I want to return. Nothing but a hassle. Unlike all other dealings with Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Compatibility not as advertised

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux interface

Crutchfield customer from Deer Creek, IL on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would not work with my vehicle like the salesman advised. Tried many times with the assistance of Crutchfield technician but it would not work. Wound up sending it back for a different brand interface. Haven't installed the new interface yet to see if it works.

Pros: None

Cons: Doesnt work as described by salesman with my vrhicle.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked with Alpine ILX-650 on 2011 Impreza

Jacob from Holly Springs, NC on 8/23/2019

2011 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was able to keep all of my steering wheel audio controls on my 2011 Subaru Impreza. I installed the Alpine ILX-W650 with this Crux wiring interface. Volume, next/back, mode, and hands-free controls all work. Crutchfield customer support was awesome with helping me diagnose a fuse problem! Highly recommend! Just make sure you set those little toggle switches on the main black module according to the stock head unit brand (Clarion), and whatever brand of after-market head unit you buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Syracuse, NY on 8/19/2019

2011 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Steering wheel controls didn't work with my '11 Forester XT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/21/2019
Our Tech Support team is currently working with this customer to resolve the issue. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked, kind of

Crutchfield customer from Billings, MT on 4/7/2019

2013 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this at a discount while purchasing a new head unit. It claims it will adapt antenna, in-car USB, and in-car AUX. Antenna was the wrong hookup, as I apparently needed a Nissan adapter which Crutchfield support provided at no additional charge when I called them. The AUX adapter was also the incorrect hookup, but Crutchfield tech did not have the correct one available to them, so I had to source my own at additional cost. The USB adapter was correct. The logic unit came with instructions for my car. The dip switch setting provided for my stereo were correct, but the setting for Subaru on my instructions was exactly backwards from the correct one on Crux's website. Wheel controls: Vol +- ok Prev/Next ok "Mode" now acts as "hang up" "voice command", "on-hook", off-hook" no longer function, but we're part of the old factory head unit's modes, so not surprising.

Pros: Volume, track +-, and hang up preserved on wheel controls. Harness was easy to install

Cons: Supplied codes were incorrect, half the included adapters were not correct for my factory stereo.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38B Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Simsbury, CT on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only the main harness fit the 2015 Forester. The rest of the cables did not fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/9/2019
We're sorry you had trouble with the CRUX interface. As we stated to Patrick below, our vehicle integration buyer, Darren, has identified the issue and is in touch with CRUX, so they can update the issues. We appreciate the feedback.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does Not Work With Subaru Vehicle as Advertised

Patrick from Veneta, OR on 3/13/2019

2012 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This review is specific to a 2012 Impreza Premium (6 speaker non-nav), factory head unit was a Clarion CM621UB, now upgraded to a Pioneer MVH-210EX. The short story is it simply does not work with the OEM steering wheel controls in any way, shape, or form. The long story is I had multiple calls with tech support and went through two SWRSU-38B interfaces with no success, leaving Crutchfield personnel scratching their heads. Maybe a potential manufacturing issue on the part of Crux? Both units had stickers indicating the same date of manufacture. Also of note, the OEM AUX input adapter provided with the kit is absolutely useless. The connector in the kit was a 20 pin, the OEM connector is a 16 pin. It's likely these issues would be applicable across all Subaru's of this vintage.

Pros: None

Cons: Does not interface with car at all (zero function with OEM SWC) Connector for OEM AUX does not match provided pigtail

Crutchfield response on 4/9/2019
We're sorry you had trouble with the CRUX interface. Our vehicle integration buyer, Darren, has identified the issue and is in touch with CRUX, so they can update the issues. We appreciate the feedback.

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP