Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crux SWRSU-38C Wiring Interface

Allows you to connect a new car stereo and retain steering wheel controls in select 2015-up Subaru vehicles

MFR # SWRSU-38C

Crux SWRSU-38C Wiring Interface

Crux SWRSU-38C Wiring Interface

Allows you to connect a new car stereo and retain steering wheel controls in select 2015-up Subaru vehicles

MFR # SWRSU-38C

28 reviews
View this product

Crux SWRSU-38C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Seffner, FL on 10/13/2021

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy connection

Crutchfield customer from Biscayne Park, FL on 8/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to connect to the car harness (in my case a 2015 Subaru Crosstrek). Read the instructions on the SWC and you'll have no problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Subaru forester fitting

Crutchfield customer from El Monte, CA on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well! Fits subaru 2018!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SWC works

TB from Mobile, AL on 8/22/2021

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The dip switch settings on the directions included in the box did not work. The updated dipswitch directions on the Crux website also did not work. I have a 2016 Crosstrek and finally got it working by using ON-OFF-OFF-ON as recommended by other reviewers. The back button and menu button do not have functions on my JVC head unit, but you might have luck with other receivers. Other than that, the installation was not too complicated and everything works as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would and already have recommended

Crutchfield customer from Garden Grove, CA on 8/10/2021

2018 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes things so easy! Everything is labeled! AND it comes with detailed instructions. Exactly what's advertised is what you get. Even customer assistance is impeccable(the person I got)

Pros: Easy, direct wiring install

Cons: Finish too quickly

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works. Just make sure to use the right dip code

Charlie from INDIANAPOLIS, IN on 8/1/2021

2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great. Had to use a different dip switch code. 2015 XV crosstrek I had to use combination "ON-OFF-OFF-ON"

Pros: All features work.

Cons: Had to look online for correct code.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works awesome. May need to call for the right dip switch setting.

Crutchfield customer from Whitewater, WI on 7/16/2021

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works great, but had to call and get the actual dipswitch setting. 2018 suburu forester setting is not right in the documentation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38C Wiring Interface

Luke from Hartland, WI on 7/8/2021

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This steering wheel control interface does what it claims to do, but the documentation, at least for my car/head-unit combination (2018 Subaru Forester Premium and JVC head unit) was incomplete/misleading, and I found that after the system was completely put together the steering wheel controls were not functioning correctly. Instead of the "OFF-ON-OFF-ON" combination for the vehicle switches (#5-8) suggested by the documentation, I had to use combination "ON-OFF-OFF-ON" to make the steering wheel controls behave. Kudos to the Crutchfield support technician for giving me the right answer immediately, but I wish Crutchfield would make the right answer part of the directions and the documentation (or work with the manufacturer to do so).

Pros: Retains the desired original functionality. Simple to physically install, especially if combined with a pre-made harness kit from Crutchfield. Small dimensions, not that space is a big issue in the 2018 Forester console... could hide a small cow in there. Cheaper than iDataLink Maestro interfaces.

Cons: Cheaper looking than and not as polished as the iDataLink Maestro interfaces, but really, I'm not going to see it that much where it is installed, will I? Biggest con is the misleading/incomplete documentation which does not mention the "alternate" settings for some Subaru vehicles. Obviously it is a known issue because once I called Crutchfield, I was given the right settings right away, so why not make them public?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Trash!

Jeff from Parkville, MD on 6/28/2021

2019 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2019 subaru wrx. This is Junk it DOES not work the way it's supposed to. No rear view camera at all..lost that. The mute button on the steering wheels turns the volume down. The volume up button does nothing at all. The volume down button turnes the volume louder. Source is the only button that works. Don't waste your money. Spend the extra money and find a better option.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/7/2021
Jeff contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38C Wiring Interface

Dan from Lehigh Valley, PA on 5/18/2021

2018 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was a little wary of ordering this product as some reviews stated it worked, and some said that there were issues with it. But the Crutchfield guide said that it would work with my vehicle so I have it a whirl. It in fact DOES NOT work. For others looking, I drive a 2018 Subaru WRX. The auto sound company I'm paying to do my audio install did find another adapter harness that will in retain the use of all my steering wheel controls except for Bluetooth, so that's the option I'll be going with for now. If you drive a 2018 Subaru WRX that I would keep searching for another product, despite what Crutchfield recommends, this will not work on your vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/25/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Dan to let him know this should work with his Subaru. Since Dan already found another harness, AJ sent him a return label. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

No good for Alpine ilx-650W

Julian from SUGARLOAF, PA on 5/16/2021

2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not work steering wheel controls with the 2015 Subaru Crosstrek and Alpine ilx-650W.went with the Maestro instead!

Pros: Wiring harness is great. Module was not compatible with Alpine ilx-650W. Wait for the fix

Cons: Didn't work steering wheel contols

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SWC adaptor

Crutchfield customer from El Reno, OK on 5/16/2021

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Dipswitch settings did not work for my vehicle. Had to trial and error till it worked.

Pros:

Cons: Instructions need work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from O Fallon, MO on 4/21/2021

2016 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This interface harness made the install of my new alpine head unit super easy. The instructions were very clear and easy to understand. I had the wiring completed in just about an hour.

Pros: Good instructions Easy to assemble

Cons: Possibly too many optional wires for some units

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from West Hempstead, NY on 4/11/2021

2020 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Steering wheel control does not work well wit my 2020 Wrx Everything else works perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/22/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your interface. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Incorrect Steering Wheel Controls

Crutchfield customer from Surprise, AZ on 4/1/2021

2017 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this with a Sony XAV-AX5500 and everything works, even my OEM backup camera. However, the steering wheel controls are wrong. Volume up/down plays the next track, push to talk and the play/pause buttons changes source, and phone hang up activates push to talk. Answer phone does nothing, but previous track does what it is supposed to do. I triple checked the interface to make sure it matched New Sony with Subaru SWC and even tried Old Sony.

Pros: OEM back-up camera works

Cons: Steering wheel controls are wrong

Crutchfield response on 4/19/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your interface. If the problem continues, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

GARBAGE!

Johnny from Denver, CO on 3/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Garbage. Definitely doesn't work with 2017 wrx according to the dipswitch setup they send you. Base model wrx upgraded with alpine deck, allows you to keep the back up camera because it is direct plug in but as far as steering wheel controls, got volume up and down skipping next song, skip next song works but skip back changes source, source mutes, info mutes and etc. use the data link and program it yourself on a computer. Only thing I bought this for was the 28 pin harness for the backup camera. Crux interface.... TRASH

Pros: Retain backup camera

Cons: Your crux interface.... TRASH!

Crutchfield response on 4/20/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Johnny to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

9 out of the 11 SWC buttons on 2016 Subaru Forester XT Premium

Crutchfield customer from Zeeland, MI on 3/26/2021

2016 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wiring harness works for 9 out of the 11 steering wheel control buttons on 2016 Subaru Forester XT Premium (non harman kardon). The "return" and "list" buttons do not register. I contacted the cruxinterfacing website and they did not respond. Definitely false advertising on this. If only 9 out of 11 work, why not advertise it that way?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/7/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your interface. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38C Wiring Interface

Amber from Redding, CA on 3/14/2021

2016 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We finally got the working.. but no steering wheel controls and the front speakers don't work

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/2/2021
Amber contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Works great!

Crutchfield customer from Tacoma, WA on 12/30/2020

2016 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has everything necessary for 16 Subaru Forester. Easy connections, understandable directions.

Pros: Easy connections Useful instructions

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from West Orange, NJ on 12/10/2020

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installation of my Pioneer head unit in my 2018 Subaru Forester super easy. Very minimal cutting of wires.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crux SWRSU-38C Wiring Interface

Crutchfield customer from Berkeley, CA on 8/30/2020

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The installer reported that it works. I am frustrated to have lost access to the two USB plugs built into the car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Excellent!

Kyle from Manteca, CA on 7/30/2020

2019 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After finishing an Install of a Pioneer double din today. I can say with 100% certainty that this harness works on a 2019 Subaru Impreza base model with the 6.5" screen. It is 100% plug and play and does work with the steering wheel controls and factory back-up camera, as well as retains factory usb and aux input. I did however have issues getting the steering wheel controls to work with the settings from the included instructions. A call to Crux and about 20 mins of trying different setting, we got it working correctly

Pros: Plug and play Easy wiring to deck Retains almost all factory features

Cons: Does not retain answer and hang up buttons. Instructions have incorrect steering control settings.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Plug and Play (except OEM Camera)

Wayman R. from Pittsburgh, PA on 7/23/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered the Sony XAV-AV5000 and the suggested kit to go with my 2017 Subaru WRX. As per the website, it was supposed to retain OEM rear camera compatibility, steering wheel control functions (with the SWC module) while upgrade the headunit beyond the Starlink's capability. After much independent research (like the other reviewer), I could not get the rear OEM camera to work. All the connections were in the new aftermarket unit besides what seems to be the 4-pin harness for the factory camera. During my install, I reached out to Support who seems confused as to why this kit was a recommended choice with the head unit I selected (on sale for 4th of July.) It's a bit frustrating that I can't get the rear OEM camera working after it was told that it would, but it looks like I'm not the only reviewer with this issue. Otherwise, the installation is straightforward with somewhat easy directions to follow. I'm not a professional installer, but could handle it with a bit of patience. It's unfortunate that the Vehicle Research Group updated the product page after I made the investment into this product.

Pros: Factory harness still works, most of steering wheel controls are maintained.

Cons: OEM Camera does not connect as advertised

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Might work for you (2017 WRX)

Ralph D. from COLLINSVILLE, VA on 7/17/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness worked well for connecting all the main OEM harnesses in my car. It also worked great for maintaining basic steering wheel controls. It is decribed as a way to retain OEM back up camera as well. It did not. There is a four pin plug on the harness for back up camera. My OEM camera is wired into my 28 pin plug therefore will not work. I'll either have to look for another harness, figure out the wire combination and hard wire or buy an aftermarket camera.

Pros: Connects to factory harness, maintained most steering wheel controls

Cons: Couldn't connect OEM camera

Crutchfield response on 7/20/2020
It came to our attention of our Vehicle Research group that we had associated this interface with some vehicles that had different backup camera wiring, and therefore, would not retain that vehicle's backup camera. This came to light in some of the reviews we received. As of July 17th 2020, we have confirmed and updated the vehicle compatibility for this interface. CRUX is also in the process of making changes to accommodate alternate backup camera wiring in other vehicle models.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good but not if you have an 18+ wrx

Crutchfield customer from Mount Gilead, OH on 6/21/2020

2018 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything was easy to connect and super easy to set up steering wheel controls. Can't give it 5 stars because it didn't have a way to hook up my rear view camera and I had to splice into 4 of my oem harness wires and I really didn't want to do that. my 18' WRX has the camera on the radio instead of the upper screen.

Pros: Easy install Pre cut

Cons: No camera harness for my car when it was listed that it would work.

Crutchfield response on 7/20/2020
It came to our attention of our Vehicle Research group that we had associated this interface with some vehicles that had different backup camera wiring, and therefore, would not retain that vehicle's backup camera. This came to light in some of the reviews we received. As of July 17th 2020, we have confirmed and updated the vehicle compatibility for this interface. CRUX is also in the process of making changes to accommodate alternate backup camera wiring in other vehicle models.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked for my 2018 Subaru Forester 2.5i Premium

Michael from WASHINGTON, DC on 6/18/2020

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked for my 2018 Subaru Forester 2.5i Premium. The wiring took an hour or two to my Kenwood Excelon DDX8906S. It doesn't include the ground wire, but that can be connected to the parking break or a ground on the back of your stereo. This doesn't connect to the starlink module, but you will just want to plug that back in and shove it in the back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Didn't work

Aditya from Joplin, MO on 6/11/2020

2018 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was recommended for my 2018 subaru crosstrek premium and pioneer dmh 1500 NEX to retain my steering wheel functions. Tried recommended dip switch settings multiple times and still doesn't work. Only right skip button works but turns up the volume and that's about it.

Pros: Easy setup, compact.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/15/2020
It came to our attention of our Vehicle Research group that we had associated this interface with some vehicles that had different backup camera wiring, and therefore, would not retain that vehicle's backup camera. This came to light in some of the reviews we received. As of July 17th 2020, we have confirmed and updated the vehicle compatibility for this interface. CRUX is also in the process of making changes to accommodate alternate backup camera wiring in other vehicle models.
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does not work as advertised

Ted from Scottsdale, AZ on 6/10/2020

2017 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item did not maintain the rear camera functionality in my 2017 Crosstrek. It has the wrong set of connectors and includes a 5-pin harness that should route to the Subaru 28-pin harness. You won't realize until you have done the painful dash disassembly and connected all of the wires. Save your money and your time and go with one of the established options.

Pros: None

Cons: Does not work as advertised and you won't know it until you are hours into the project.

Crutchfield response on 6/15/2020
It came to our attention of our Vehicle Research group that we had associated this interface with some vehicles that had different backup camera wiring, and therefore, would not retain that vehicle's backup camera. This came to light in some of the reviews we received. As of July 17th 2020, we have confirmed and updated the vehicle compatibility for this interface. CRUX is also in the process of making changes to accommodate alternate backup camera wiring in other vehicle models.

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP