Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
Connect ID #
164 219 614 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted Sumiko Rainier cartridge (Satin Green)

MFR # PRO1130034

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted Sumiko Rainier cartridge (Satin Green)

MFR # PRO1130034

35 reviews
View this product

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Shreveport, LA on 1/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable- sounds and looks great

Pros: Sound quality Minimalist look

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, IL on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome turntable!!!!Well worth the money and not to mention Crutchfield is great. Fast delivery and got what expected!

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Tomball, TX on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Audio Technica LP120 gave out, so I was looking for an upgrade without breaking the bank too terribly. This Debut Carbon hit the sweet spot! It's super quiet and lets lots of musical detail come through. I never knew just how noisy the operation of my old turntable was until I heard just how quiet this one is. I love that it comes with high quality RCA cables with grounding, but also allows me to easily replace them or upgrade them later. Lastly, it just looks great - simple with no gimmicks, gadgets, or logos cluttering the design.

Pros: Quiet operation Sounds great Beautiful, simple design Easily upgradeable components

Cons: Had a missing baggie of small parts in the box, but Crutchfield customer service came through, so no complaints here.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Houma, LA on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent turntable. Easy to set up.

Pros: High quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Turntable

Steve from Montgomery, OH on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although my previous turntable was only a few years old TEAC, I had trouble resisting getting the Evo. I was fairly certain that it would be an improvement but didn't expect it to be as good as it is. I've been putting it through the paces w/Jazz, classical and currently Neil Young at Massey Hall. Just makes your records sound better. Looks great too!

Pros: Sounds great, looks great, plenty of ability to upgrade although not necessary.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very nice turntable

Crutchfield customer from Midland, MI on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The turntable came just as described in a satin or matte forest green finish, well packaged with all the parts nicely packaged. Set up was easy using the poster-style setup up guide that came with the turntable. I connected this to a Pro-Ject Phono Box S2 preamp and my NAD C 372 amp and it sound great. It's a long time since I've listened to vinyl but with a little record cleaning I think I'm hearing a quieter floor and cleaner sound that I ever have on vinyl.

Pros: Attractive, minimalist design with nice color. Good set up instructions. Handy leveling feet. Sounds great!

Cons: It's a fully manual turntable and required a preamp - but while this may be a "Con" for some, it's exactly what I wanted.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful turntable. Sounds amazing. Very happy with choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Project Debut Carbon Evo

Crutchfield customer from Florence, KY on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't be happier with it. This is my first turntable. Can't wait to add to the setup. Receiver, speakers, etc. I researched beginner turntables for a while and this is exactly what was promised. Simple yet superior and easy to setup! If you're contemplating a new turntable this is it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 1/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Rapids, IA on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I set it up today. It sounds good and seems good quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Dixon, CA on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The sound is wonderful, the lid stays in place, and it is beautiful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Marthasville, MO on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound. Great quality materials. Looks clean and sounds unbelievable. Set up is not that bad if you watch one of the videos on line.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Small issues Keep it from Being Great

Crutchfield customer from Rockford, IL on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This came so close to being a great turntable but it failed in a few areas. The sound quality- noise free from isolation and the cartridge is excellent. No complaints. But, a few small issues that make using it unpleasant. First, there is no stop to stop the tone arm from sliding off if you move it too far left or to the right. That's a cheap and easy fix. Why not? Second, the anti-skate line is a joke- come on people, spend a few more cents and give us something better. Third, the tone arm is very hard to grab in order to pick up. The handle portion just needed to be made slightly bigger. I have small fingers, so I can only imagine how hard it is to use this manual table if you have larger hands. Fourth, the felt platter cover is 1/8" of an inch too big. When you go to pick up the record, there is no way not to also pick up the felt and the record at the same time. Make the felt width slightly smaller and problem solved. And finally, The tone arm was not perfectly perpendicular to the vinyl. Just a bit sloppy assembly. All of these are very minor things that could be fixed very easily and then this would be a 5 star machine. Come on guys, I hope someone from Pro-Ject reads this corrects these issues for future buyers. They you will have a winner. For now, it s a good turntable, but it could have been great. Thanks for listening.

Pros: Sound Looks

Cons: Minor details that could be fixed.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very happy with this turntable

Crutchfield customer from Johns Creek, GA on 12/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO was my first turntable purchase in over 40 years and I am amazed with the quality construction, ease of assembly, and great sound. The turntable is attached to Klipsch The Sixes speakers and a Klipsch R-12SW sub. This was a gift for my daughter and I am so impressed with it that I think I'll get a Pro-Ject turntable for myself.

Pros: Great sound, easy setup with included instructions and Crushfield.com videos.

Cons: Wood veneer slightly lighter in color than what I was hoping for but this is very minor in the grand scheme of things.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Upgrade to Orbit

Crutchfield customer from Ellicott City, MD on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this as an upgrade over the U-Turn Orbit Plus I was using. I'm very surprised by the step up...much bigger than I expected!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, MI on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great on my marantz a giant improvement from my 50 year old pioneer. Counter weight keeps falling off though.

Pros: The stylus is a big improvement from standard styluses.

Cons: The fish tank sinker keeps falling off

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO turntable

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 12/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a Christmas gift for my son, so it is not set up. But I expect it to sound great, as the professional & friendly staff at Crutchfield recommended it and guided me thru the purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unbelievable Difference

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've hesitated on pulling the trigger on a new turntable for several years. A good friend was already on his 2nd Pro-Ject before I finally took the plunge. Had to go through the setup instructions twice before I got it right, but what an unbelievable difference between this and my former, Technics SL-B300 (I know, pretty old). My collection is older than my former turntable but the EVO makes them sound almost new. I'm waiting for my record cleaning system (Christmas present) before I dive in head first. Not sure if I should invest yet in a separate pre-amp; using my YAMAHA RX-A870 pre-amp currently and experimenting with the PURE DIRECT feature. If you're on the fence like I was, don't wait!

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Tricky setup (for me)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not the cheapest option, but a better value would be hard to imagine.

MICHAEL from BETHESDA, MD on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We like to make purchases where either... a. save until we know what we like or b. wind up spending a bit more for something that we know will last us a life-time The Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO appears to have been a wise choice for the latter. Would the sound-quality have been better if we spent 2000+ on a turntable? Maybe...but I'm not sure our ears are trained enough to notice. Having listened mostly to direct-drive tables in the past, I wasn't sure how I felt about having our first turntable (being used for detailed family listening) be belt-driven, but this little beast was definitely the right call for our use. The "sound floor" is impressively low (especially for the price) relative any other tables I've heard that were anywhere in the ballpark of this price point (keep in mind, I'm no expert), and the level of detail which the little Sumikko Rainier cartridge can eek out of a record (especially newly remastered classics) is extraordinary. I sincerely doubt we'll ever need more than what this awesome little table has to offer out of the box, but if we did, I'd bet it could be provided through the minor upgrades available in the market (Ground-It, Acryl-It, Clamp-It, or even more upgraded Sumiko cartridge etc.). We paired this up with a Pro-Ject Phono Box DC and KEF LSX Speakers for a small listening area.

Pros: Quality Sound Cartridge Isolation System Customizability

Cons: Not a con for many (us included), but note that you will need a separate Phono Pre-Amp

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

mike from KENNER, LA on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice looking turntable at a nice price. I've only tested a single record so far, but it sounded very nice as well. But since this is supposedly an evolution of a very popular model I just don't get how there can be no rubber or felt bumpers where the dustcover meets the plinth. It's a hard plastic cover coming down on either lacquer or wood veneer. How can any competent engineer design this so poorly. Also, when I was setting up the turntable, the antiskate weight came off a few times. The angle at which it sits is not situated very securely. Yes, these are minor quibbles, but I expect a very experienced and reputable maker like Pro-Ject to have these small details worked out.

Pros: Nice looking, sounds nice on first impression.

Cons: Small attention to details missed by Pro-Ject for some reason.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Maricopa, AZ on 12/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This a great turntable. Extremely high quality components. The supplied, pre-mounted cartridge is excellent. Appears to be built to last and my wife loves the styling.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Lives up to reputation

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, PA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality product and sound is really amazing! This turntable is built to last. Did the research and this was the pick, and it doesn't disappoint.

Pros: Quality Sound Price

Cons: None presently

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Small Pro-ject for a great reward!

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 12/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean and modern look , solid build and beautiful sound. The setup Required 5-10 min but worth it.

Pros: Different plugs (USA Europe) Straightforward setup Beautiful sound

Cons: No fancy technology USB Bluetooth Etc

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 12/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound (but not a scientific sample size) well crafted. My Rega Planar 2 had some shorts(1984 vintage) and the new technology on this sounds even better. Needed to watch you tube videos for set up, instructions are a bit "IKEA" like.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love this thing. Searched so many before purchasing to find try and find out the good and bad at my price range. Brings so much life to my collection. I have and acrylic platter on the way though the factory one seems fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Turntable

Fernando from EL PASO, TX on 11/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable, I had to sadly return my Music Hall turntable and decided to take a chance on this new edition of the Pro-Ject EVO and it is a great turntable, the Sumiko cartridge sounds great and the rocker switch to select the speed is great. The walnut finish looks beautiful. So far I'm loving it.

Pros: Easy setup, amazing sound, looks beautiful, great cartridge.

Cons: Mat is flimsy and attracts static. Antiskate mechanism is weird but it works.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CA on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first turntable in over 20 years so I don't have much to compared it to. It was easy to set up and works beautifully. I'm quite please with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent price, professional quality

Crutchfield customer from Healdsburg, CA on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my brother's birthday and wanted to give him a quality record player to start with. For a beginner, this is a great record player that gives you great sound and it's functionality is perfect. Very satisfied!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AWESOME!

Crutchfield customer from Terre Haute, IN on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable! I've had a Thorens TD 316 for some 30 years and just wanted to reward myself with a new one. The Thorens still plays fine. The Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO was highly recommended and did not disappoint! Great build quality and the sound is beautiful! Very pleased after 30 years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

First impressions of Pro-ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very attractive addition to my stereo system. Well balance sound stage. Great deal for the money. The cartridge is a very good upgrade for the Debut line. Still burning it in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Believe the Hype

Ken from Palm Desert, CA on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been reading about the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon for years. Finally decided to pull the trigger when the EVO came out. Believe everything you read: Elegant, sturdy, and sounds fantastic. Set up was a breeze; we were playing records 30 minutes after we opened the box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing turntable!!!!!!

John from SOUTH RIVER, NJ on 10/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable is amazing, easy set up and the Rainier stylus sounds perfect. My wife and I spent 6 hrs listening to albums we haven't heard in forever, great memories. Don't hesitate to buy this. Pro-Ject hit it out of the park with this one. The Walnut finish is beautiful.

Pros: Easy setup, great sound, not a cheap stylus, great choices in finishes

Cons: None that I can find

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Worthington, OH on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for, and exactly as advertised and reviewed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Ossining, NY on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful, elegant record player. My first belt driven player after owning motor-driven ones for 20 years (for DJing). Very elegant design and I love the hanging anti-skating weight. Sound is great.

Pros: Design, very quiet running, great sound

Cons: Haven't discovered that yet....

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO

Crutchfield customer from Midland, MI on 10/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very well-made and nice looking turntable. The Sumiko Rainier cartridge provides a clean sound when paired with a good pre-amp. However, balancing the tonearm is not the simplest of tasks, even though instructions are fairly clear. The felt mat provided feels cheap and an audiophile would probably replace it. However if you replace it with a thicker mat, you will have to rebalance the tonearm.

Pros: Looks sharp! Very good cartridge and excellent sound

Cons: Balancing the tonearm can be challenging Cheap mat

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP