Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
Connect ID #
514 261 847 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Acrylic turntable platter

MFR # 1947174210

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Acrylic turntable platter

MFR # 1947174210

62 reviews
View this product

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Wayne from Portland, OR on 1/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this not expecting to much difference from the very good platter that came with the turntable ( pro ject x1 expression carbon classic). I was pleasantly surprised of the detail and focus this platter brought out, slightly amazed to be honest. I'm very happy and highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Required Upgrade

Daniel from Bismarck, ND on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Takes what already is a pretty good upper entry level table--the Debut Carbon EVO--and elevates it to a new level. I listened first with just the platter upgrade. I really liked the fact that it doesn't require a slip mat of any kind. Record lays flat and solid against the turntable. With a record clamp it almost becomes part of the platter. I did no direct comparison with the stock steel platter as yet. I just listened to some familiar music that I had played recently. To my ears, the background noise was much more quiet and the bottom end was beefier and better defined. I haven't offhand noticed as much a difference in the higher frequencies. Now, when I also paired it with the Debut Alu Sub-Platter (which arrived later via a different vender), the difference was even more pronounced. Both upgrades turn this table into a solid, mid-grade, audiophile table. I still use the stock Ranier cartridge for now. I felt it was better to upgrade the table first to squeeze out every last drop from the Rainier, then upgrade to a better cartridge later. I'm looking at the 2M Bronze for now (with a future stylus upgrade to Black) or go straight to the Black or maybe Sumiko Amethyst. Have to research when the time comes and funds allow. I feel this table now could easily compete with a $1500 to $2000 table. The order process with Crutchfield was easy and quick as expected.

Pros: Looks great Sounds great Works great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Upgraded Acrylic Platter on my turntable

Keith from La Porte, TX on 1/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was experiencing a lot of static with the standard metal platter on my Pro-Ject turntable. Crutchfield suggested this upgrade. Absolutely solved my problem!

Pros: Gets rid of pops and crackles due to static. I like the looks of it too.

Cons: Pricey. Turntable should come with this as standard instead of optional.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than the original.

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MA on 12/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Skeptical at 1st but after watching several reviews I decided to pull the trigger and purchase one. No regrets, definite improvement.

Pros: Nice upgrade, looks kinda cool.

Cons: Kind of pricey for a piece of plastic.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered to replace the steel platter on my Carbon EVO. Fits perfectly, looks good, and adds a lot to the turntable. Definitely worth it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Palestine, TX on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great upgrade for my Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Evo! This acrylic platter not only looks great it also helps reduce static compared to the stock metal platter. Crutchfield was fantastic with everything, great packaging, fast shipping and everything arrived on time and in perfect condition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Lavon, TX on 7/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice upgrade to my Pro-Ject turntable!

Pros: Static-free

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Better Pro-Ject Platter

Crutchfield customer from Albemarle, NC on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Arrived one day after order, excellent packing, tunes seem to be slightly more dynamic on Pro-Ject TT.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Night and day difference over the stock Pro-Ject Platter!

Rob from Illinois on 4/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this hoping it would solve the massive amount of static electricity that my Pro-Ject Debut DC seems to give off and it basically eliminated all of it! With the stock Debut platter, I'd get tons of static discharge when removing a record from the Turntable and tons of pops and clicks while playing records. Tons!! Now it is non-existent with the Acryl-It platter! I highly recommend this upgrade! It saved the day for me!

Pros: Killed my static problems on the Debut DC Turntable

Cons: Costs a bit, but in the end, its worth the price!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent platter. No mat needed!

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 3/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice weight and flat as a pancake.

Pros: No mat necessary. Plop that slab right down on it. Nice weight. Doesn't burn out bearings.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Turntable

Crutchfield customer from Fleetwood, PA on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like this turntable. Looks good and certainly reduces static electricity. A bit pricey for what it is but I would buy it again.

Pros: Reduces Static Looks Good

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great-looking and Functional

Crutchfield customer from Framingham, MA on 2/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great-looking, low-resonance, lower-static alternative to the metal platter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Shipping was fast. Adds a nice aesthetic to the turn table.

Pros: Helps reduce outside noise and static compared to a slipmat

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It did not work for my turntable so I returned the gift. however, i would still recommend just not for my turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 11 found this helpful

Quality platter and tech support.

Matthew from Centreville, Va on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a really beautiful platter that is both aesthetically pleasing and, I believe, positively influences the listening experience for my Debut Carbon. Moreso, though, I want to give a shout out to Crutchfield tech support. My platter was rubbing on the pulley motor. A quick call to tech support informed me that occasionally an adjustment to a set screw was needed. Five minutes later and it's spinning beautifully. Very glad to have encouraged Santa to shop at a small business with quality tech support.

Pros: Aesthetics (especially with colored records) Somewhat noticeable less static on playback Tech Support if needed

Cons: The possible need for tech support at all?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Nixa, MO on 12/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought as a simple upgrade to a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon. I can't say I hear a great deal of difference with the steel platter but it enhances the appearance. Time will tell if static is reduced. In short, I'm very pleased with the product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Reduces but doesn't eliminate static

Crutchfield customer from Ellicott City, MD on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I grabbed this to reduce static. Using this platter without a mat definitley helps reduce static but it does not eliminate it completely the way the acrylic platter on my Orbit did. There are no static pops during play-back, which is great, and no mat to stick to the vinyl, but every once in a while I'll still get a little shock when lifting the tone-arm after spinning a record

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great, lighter than I thought but material still performs. Also threw a led strip underneath that runs off a rechargeable powerbank. Zero interference that I can pick up. My overhead lighting also projects colored albums color into platter without use of the led.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Neophyte review

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 10/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm no audiophile so my rating is probably irrelevant. I had purchased a pro-ject carbon debut as a 1st turntable & had read an easy upgrade was this platter. Shipped quickly and well boxed for what it's worth!

Pros: Looks good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, NJ on 9/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. Works with music hall turntables also. Less static. Reflects colored Lps also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CT on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice upgrade to the Project Carbon dc turntable . Improves the sound and looks cool on the white base of my turntable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Acrylic it

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big difference in sound quality. Makes the Carbon DC . It gives my Clearaudio Emotion wit a Maestro cartridge a run for it's money. Highly recommend this upgrade!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Perkasie, PA on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works and looks great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm gonna break this down to what it does and doesn't do, based on all the things you'll read about it on the internet. I'm running a Project Debut Carbon, with a 2M blue cart, through an onkyo phono amp to a set of large B&W floor standing speakers and a subwoofer (2.1). First, it will reduce rumble, considerably. The noise floor drops remarkably lower when eliminating the metal platter that comes standard on the debut carbon. It will eliminate the need for a mat, which is nice. It's much easier to keep clean. What it won't do. It will not reduce static like some magic wand. There is still considerable static buildup with this platter. However, an anti-static brush used in conjunction with this platter seems to reduce static better than with the standard metal platter. Keep in mind I use MOFI anti static sleeves on all my LPs and live in a humid region. Also, a clamp is necessary to use this platter. It doesn't need to be a weight, which messes with bearings, but a decent clamp to keep the LP from slipping. This is especially true for the very lightweight pressings of the late 70s and 80s. It also doesn't really change the quality of the sound produced. There isn't better bass response as you'll read from others. The sound quality comes more from the reduction in noise, so you hear more at lower volumes without distraction. A cool display plus... if you have an overhead light above your TT like I do, the platter changes color when using translucent/colored vinyl.

Pros: Reduces Rumble/ Noise Floor Easy to Clean

Cons: Does not significantly reduce Static Requires Clamp

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

9 of 10 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 6/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This an excellent platter the best of them all highly recommended.

Pros: The best

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy way to upgrade Pro-Ject Tyrntable!

Crutchfield customer from Libertyville, IL on 4/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful Platter! It has definitely improved the sound quality, incrementally! Looks cool too!

Pros: Looks beautiful!

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, MA on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have heard more punch on the low end with more clarity and separation overall. A nice upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than a slip mat

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, CA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One of the things I read in many reviews for the acrylic platter was that it "eliminated" static. Well I haven't found that to be true but that could be because it's dry here in San Diego and vinyl records inherently develop a static charge. I have noticed a pleasant change in the tone of my LPs. Perhaps the noise floor has been lowered which may be noticeable at higher volumes of playback. It definitely looks cool and I do recommend buying one over trying various turntable slip mats.

Pros: Improved sound during playback and looks cool

Cons: May not eliminate static

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Acryl-it Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Laredo, TX on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome upgrade from the original! No more static! Can't wait to do the LED mod!

Pros: Zero static.

Cons: Pricey.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Crutchfield customer from Laguna Niguel, CA on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade lots of improvement

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Don't pass on this!

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, WA on 12/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautifully made, packaged and quality unsurpassed! Simple, yet elegant and functional design - can't go wrong with this one. A++

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Webster, NY on 10/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't sure if this would improve the sound of my already awesome Pro-Ject Debut Carbon turntable but it did! The sound is more alive and background noise is reduced. A very worthwhile investment.

Pros: Simple and inexpensive

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Pro Ject Turntable Acrylic Platter

Crutchfield customer from Saint Louis, MO on 4/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade to an already excellent turntable. This will bring out the subtitles that take this unit to the next level

Pros: Quality, performance, price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, MO on 3/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great Starter Table

Mike from Melbourne, FL on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacing the metal platter for the acrylic platter gave the music a noticeably clearer sound through the full range Pros: Cons:

Pros: Cleared up sound

Cons: More expensive than it should be

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Michael from Mount Pleasant, SC on 11/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works.....read a lot of reviews I have a pro ject debut car on stock metal platter ....the acrylic platter gave the music a noticeably clearer sound through the full range....using it no mat as designed and record clamp

Pros: Its going to clear up sound vs. Metal surfaces save trying to figure out all the different mat types

Cons: More expensive than mats but if you skip buying g a bunch of different mats you probably come out better

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great addition to your turntable!

Ron from Dublin, OH on 9/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a bit skeptical at first, regarding the difference that this acrylic platter was supposed to make. I have to say after about 50hrs of use, this thing makes a tremendous difference in the sound of my records! There's no noise from the metal platter and I've noticed more definition in the sound. Bass is more pronounced and the highs are very balanced. All in all, I absolutely love my Project set up!

Pros: Enhancement in sound, looks classy and no static!

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

you could be "IT"

william from Syracuse, NY on 8/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

hi all! to start off with, this looks good on the table! more importantly, it provides a more flowing sound overall. using this along with the aurulex iso-tone and the sound is definitely improved with more prominent and tight, controlled bass being the most noticable. as usual i dealt with the one and only MARSHALL! MARSHALL is my man, no two ways about it! everyone at crutchfield will give you excellent professional service with MARSHALL being a standout! take care and keep spinnin` em, bill

Pros: looks great and improves overall sound

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

sound of solence

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, NJ on 1/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

l live in the northeast & during the winter i experience lots of static .....the acrylic-it platter killed it !!! When I dropped the needle on the lead in groove I hear nothing but silence.... I was amazed .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Acrylic platters make a difference

Anthony from Dayville, CT on 10/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't think I'd hear much of a difference,but you really can hear better stereo separation,deeper but clean bass,and more pronounced vocals!

Pros: Definitely hear a difference

Cons: Bit pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Greatly enhanced the Sound

Ken from Forest Hills, NY on 5/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really didn't expect the increase in the musicality of sound that I received after putting the new platter in. I would say it made at least a 10 % increase in the depth and breath of the soundstage.Bass is tighter and more musical. I would say this is a worthwhile tweak to do that will pay big musical dividends.Very noticeable difference in sound. Nicely made adds some cosmetic pzazz too!

Pros: Greater Depth and Breath of soundstage Deeper tighter Bass Very big improvement!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Cheol from Seoul, Korea on 1/4/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This beautiful platter improved the sound of my turntable immediately as well as reduced the hum.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Charles from Chesapeake Va on 12/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with performance and appearance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Noticeable improvement

James-C from Atlantic City, NJ on 9/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This platter reduces the static on most of my records and lends them a deeper sound. Most noticbly it made it easier to distinguish instrument on my poorer quality pressings and provided a palpable range of volume on my better quality stuff. It is also exceptionally good looking. It is a bit expensive, but I am very happy with the value this added to my system.

Pros: Less static; deeper, fuller sound; sexy

Cons: Price?

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice addition to the Debut Carbon

bradleymon from California on 6/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice addition to my Pro Ject Debut Carbon. The platter is very solid, and does not have the resonance that the standard metal plate had. It seems to make the sound less hollow...which is very evident in quieter portions of songs. Plus, it looks great. Only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it does not reduce static build up as advertised. I feel that the carbon fiber mat did a much better job of this. The build up isn't a deal breaker, just a bit annoying.

Pros: Solid construction Sound improvements Great looks

Cons: Static build up

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not Sure It's an Upgrade

Rolls from Kansas on 2/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had a similar experience to the other three star review, in that this platter doesn't seem to improve sound quality on heavy weight vinyl. I'm using this platter on a ProJect Debut Carbon with a SpeedBox S. The main reason I bought this platter was to reduce the terrible static I was experiencing, even with brand new albums that I keep in MoFi sleeves, following a cleaning on my Spin Clean. I even have a humidifier to keep my room at approximately 50% humidity. I had read that this platter greatly reduces static. This is NOT true!!! I wish I could say it reduced the static, even by a slight amount, however it does not. I know a lot about turntables and have refurbished my share of turntables in just the last year. My ProJect setup has been the worst with static, and no, I'm not confusing static with distortion. It does look cool, but it's also lighter than the original platter which equals less mass....In the world of vinyl, a lighter platter usually means inferior sound. I realize that acrylic is naturally going to be lighter than steel, but I think ProJect should have engineered some sort of ballast into the platter, such as a thin outer ring of lead or brass. Regardless, this platter is more of a novelty, than a real improvement. One is better off just replacing the original, lame felt mat with a thin cork or carbon fiber mat.

Pros: Looks cool.

Cons: Overpriced. Does NOT reduce static. Lighter than the original platter.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Awesome Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Kathleen from Santa Cruz, CA on 1/11/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the look and sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Crutchfield customer from Melrose, NY on 12/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product in quality , looks and silencing performance.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Can't find any

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Steven from Highspire, PA on 11/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An inexpensive way to improve sound quality on Pro-ject turntable. Looks great too!

Pros: Definitely loss of any static!

Cons: Zereo

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A Game Changer

BillB from Tampa Bay on 10/28/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All my vinyl had been sounding decent. I had just ordered Cosmos Factory by CCR and put it on my Pro-Ject Debut III and it sounded horrible, all muddy and mush. I figured it might be time to give up on vinyl if all I was going to achieve was a decent to bad sound. Like you I've read all the reviews on this product and decided to take one shot at a remedy. WOW what a change, when Ramble Tamble started on CF there was a night and day difference. The bass was so tight I could hear when Stu Cook was holding a bass note and when he wasn't. The sound stage expanded and the separation between instruments was phenomenal. The records in my collection that I thought sounded good sound even better now. How an acrylic platter can change the sound this much I'll never know, I just figured if Pro-Ject puts this platter on it's higher line turntables there must be a reason......well there is......better fidelity. Getting rid of the stock metal platter with the felt mat was the best thing I could have done.....no more upgrades needed. I have been listening to so much vinyl I put on a CD the other night and it sounded awful, hollow with very little sound stage...I'm so glad I can now enjoy again what vinyl brings to music.

Pros: Better fidelity all around

Cons: Zero

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-It Delivers

Winterfell1 from Mississippi Delta on 9/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pro-Ject Acryl-it turntable platter is a substantial improvement over the stock steel platter that came with my Pro-Ject Debut Carbon turntable. It is very heavy, translucent and it just looks great. I must admit that I bought it partially for the look. However, I immediately noticed the additional depth, warmth, and clarity it added to my vintage vinyl collection. The only potential downside is the price. Even so, I am glad I bought it.

Pros: Good looks, sound, stability

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Match made in heaven

C from Houston on 8/9/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not only does this look excellent on my blue turntable but the sound is excellent. Deep bass like I've never heard before.

Pros: Low cost upgrade. Looks great sounds great

Cons: Without a good set of speakers you may not hear the deep bass.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very Nice Upgrade

Steven M from Lake Zurich, IL on 6/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To be honest, I bought this because it's just cool looking and I thought it would enhance the esthetics of my Music Hall 5.1 table (DynaVector 10X5 cartridge). I was immediately blown away by the improvement in sound - higher highs and lower lows to start but what really surprised me was how much quieter the ambient sound was (zero static may have something to do with that). It just faded away. A remarkable and relatively inexpensive upgrade - and it IS cool looking btw.

Pros: Really does improve the sound No more static

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Product

Jimmy from Sunbury, Ohio on 3/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I immediately noticed an improvement in sound. It's not going to blow you away, but it added some punch to the bass, and the highs seem more crisp. Static is no longer and issue and its great to get rid of that felt slipmat! Very solid product.

Pros: Added clarity to sound.

Cons: No cons.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good upgrade

Bill H from NJ on 2/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good substitution for the stock cork mat on the Pro-Ject 1 Xpression Classic. Better, tighter bass. Lower mass also works well when playing 78s with the optional pulley.

Pros: Low mass

Cons: High price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it Platter

CraigC from Virginia Beach, VA on 12/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm thrilled with this upgrade. Increased detail, more defined bass, and it looks fantastic on the turntable. I had really bad static and since installing it has decreased 10 fold. Highly recommended!

Pros: Installation was easy. Less static. looks great

Cons: a little pricey

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Acryl-it

Zpanz from Orlando, FL on 8/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm having a pleasant experience with this platter so far. It's useful because you no longer need a mat, which is great for not having static, and as much dust getting on your vinyls.

Pros: Less static Looks nice No mat

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

looks great on my blue debut carbon

Biig dave from Buffalo,New York on 8/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installing the platter was a snap, looks great on my blue debut carbon. i play the turntable threw a j 33 radial preamp connected to a sound board saying that i cant tell much differance between the metal platter and the aqrilic one. at least i have a nice looking platter

Pros: looks great on my turntable

Cons: cannot tell much differance in sound quality

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

The next logical step

James from Ohio on 3/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my Debut Carbon, which I found made the bass tighter and music much livlier. With that said, the first upgrade I would recommend for the table would be the SpeedBox. If you already have that, then I would get this as the next upgrade. This looks fantastic on my red turntable and I like the idea of being able to use MC carts in the future. Not having to use the cheapy felt platter mat is also an enormous plus!

Pros: Better bass, snappier response, ability to use MC carts, looks awesome, no use for the chintzy felt mat anymore...

Cons: Expensive for a piece of plastic.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Glad I bought it...

AudioPaul from Wisconsin on 10/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would not claim that this platter replacement is the best thing you can buy for your system, but I would agree that the bass is tighter and more focused. The additional benefit of being able to use moving coil cartridges on turntables with the steel platter such as the Pro-Ject Debut III is also worth considering. This Acrylic platter is quite a bit lighter than the steel platter I had on my turntable. All in all a good investment, but to the obvious improvements first (like upgrading your cartridge). Happy listening!

Pros: Tighter/more focused bass. Nice look. No more clingy felt mat.

Cons: A bit lighter than I was expecting, but nothing bad about this platter.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great Product - But You Will Need To Tweek . . .

JB in KC from Around Kansas City on 8/27/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My setup is a HK 2650, MMF 2.2 Turntable and B&W Nautilus 805's - all tone control turned off on the HK and ONLY front stage (805's) for Turntable play. I was expecting a significant positive difference when I installed this acrylic platter - I figured I would get the best results from my 180g albums, but to my surprise, this platter totally deadened the sound from any audiophile quality album that I played on it. I am not one to use the HK tone control filters, but I played with those a bit to see if I could get the sound stage back to where it was with the metal platter that I had replaced. No luck. My wife walked in and made comment how flat the music was and how it didn't fill the room like it had the previously. She used the perfect word to describe it; "muddy." At this point I was totally unimpressed with the platter and was ready to send it back . . . Then I pulled out Led Zeppelin II (regular 120g) just to see what it would sound like. The difference between the metal platter and the acrylic platter hit me in the face. The sound quality of this 40 plus year old album EXPLODED. Significantly reduced popping/cracking, crisper base, stronger staging, Bonham's percussion was fuller and brighter than I have ever heard. For me, it made my older albums sound 200% better - For higher quality, newer albums it destroyed their sonic quality. Be prepared to do some tweaking on your system if you are to use this as a full-time, all-round platter.

Pros: - Makes old vinyl sound amazing - Reduces popping and cracking; enhances sonic quality of older vinyl - Does not need a turntable mat - Makes your turntable look awesome!

Cons: - On my system, this platter made my audiophile and higher quality vinyl sound dead and muddy - Platter was a lighter than my previous metal platter (Music Hall MMF 2.2); so without any type of speed control the platter allowed the turntable to spin faster (increase in pitch) - On my system, I can't use this as an all-purpose platter - have to switch out platter to get best sound from my system (but to get the increased quality of sound from my older vinyl, it's worth it!)

Crutchfield response on

20 of 32 found this helpful

TOP