Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
822 068 842 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
822 068 842 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our new virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge (Satin Walnut)

MFR # DB CRBN ES SB-WN

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge (Satin Walnut)

MFR # DB CRBN ES SB-WN

82 reviews
View this product

Debut Carbon Esprit

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 5/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After talking to some friends who had the Debut Carbon I felt confident that buying one, and eventually getting the Esprit, was the right choice. The setup was easy and the sound is great. Highly recommend!

Pros: Easy setup, sleek look, great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Wendell, NC on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1st unit had a bad rca cable but had a completely new unit in 2 days replaced cable works great.

Pros: Easy to install with videos. Sounds great. Beautiful.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Good

Crutchfield customer from Amissville, VA on 5/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just excellent sound for the price. Brilliant, distinct. I can't sleak to the possibility of going for the next step up in cartridge--that could really be amazing. But there's the extra cost. This turntable, as shipped, is better sound than any CD or Spotify. It's for when you want to just stop and listen to a good piece.

Pros: Brilliant, distinct sound

Cons: Ok, the anti-skating is a little weird, and can come off if you move the tonearm outside of the table, but it is not a problem.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I like it a lot.

Crutchfield customer from Syracuse, NY on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds very good, a huge upgrade from my last table which was an old Numark DJ table. The girlfriend and I both love the simple look in piano black. Seems to match up well with my Marantz PM8006.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am thoroughly enjoying this turntable! I chose this model because I had to have the clear acrylic platter. So far it seems to be great value for money. The Ortofon Red cartridge is a big step up from my Audio Technica LP-60 with whatever cartridge that comes with. The Esprit is beautifully made, and easy to set up once you understand how the counterweight works. The instructions for that were a bit misleading to me, or at least not as clear as they could be.

Pros: Looks Cartridge Price

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good value

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, SC on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a decent turntable. It looks sleek and elegant. It sounds wonderful. I don't like the cheap feel of the lever and lifting mechanism for raising the tone arm. There's a cheap plasticky squeak every time I lift the tone arm. I expected better at this price. It should come with a record clamp too, but it doesn't. On some records, my record cleaning brush stops the rotation of the record while the platter continues to spin underneath. Also, it doesn't have leveling feet, so you can't level it without using shims of some sort. So why did I keep it and give it 4 stars? The sound! I have another turntable that cost twice as much, and it does not sound much better (maybe 5% better) than the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit. You have to spend significantly more to get a better sounding turntable. I have not experienced the grounding issues others have reported with hums and buzzing. The motor operates silently too.

Pros: Beautifully finished plinth, nice acrylic platter, carbon tonearm, pre-mounted cartridge, cables included, sounds great

Cons: Some cheap parts, no record clamp, feet not adjustable

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't for 3 issues. First the anti-skating weight is held on by a very thin fishing line like thread and it slips off the tonearm way too easily. Second they only offer the turntable with Ortofon 2M Red. It would be nice if you could upgrade to Ortofon Blue, Bronze or even Black. Instead I have to go to the trouble of replacing myself which can be difficult. I would prefer the cartridge to be aligned by a pro at the time of purchase. Third Instructions could be more clear and comprehensive. There are literally parts included without any explanation what they are. While some parts need no explanation the purpose of others aren't clear at all.

Pros: Sounds great, looks great, and easy to set up.

Cons: The anti-skating weight slips off the tonearm way too easily. No cartridge upgrade options. Instructions could be more clear and comprehensive. There are literally parts included without any explanation what they are.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Ellijay, GA on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nicely built unit that has revitalized the sound of my vinyl collection!

Pros: Solid cartridge, nicely built, great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Troy from KANSAS CITY, MO on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Close to 4 years of ownership of this turntable. It sounds as good as it looks which is fantastic. I do have some minor quibbles with this unit though. The cue lever will sometimes get stuck and not put the tone arm all the way down. My remedy is to put the arm in between the platter and the rest carriage and gently push down on the arm. That gets everything working properly. The screws that hold the lid mechanism are really hard to get adjusted correctly. Screw them too tight and the whole thing creaks enough to resonate through the tone arm. Get them adjusted just right and they eventually come loose and have to be tightened again. There is not a lot of clearance between the edge of the lid and the platter. The lid will sometimes catch the edge of certain records. Be advised that everything on this is manual. I really wish it had auto-stop for when the needle reaches the runout groove. Overall I am very happy with this turntable and would recommend it to others. It is the best turntable I have ever owned.

Pros: Sounds great. Looks great.

Cons: Lid mechanism is shoddy. All manual, no auto-stop.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 1/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it took some time n fine tuning, sound quality is great

Pros:

Cons: very touchy,tends to slide off lp's when the stylus is first set down

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Turntable purchase

Crutchfield customer from Canton, MI on 12/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and great sound. Could not be happier with my selection.

Pros: Easy set up, great sound and very stylish.

Cons: Non yet!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What an amazing turntable!! QUIET as a mouse!!

Rick from MCMINNVILLE, TN on 11/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One word.......WOW!! I've been "back" in the vinyl game for about 6 months now and truly having a blast reliving/purchasing my childhood album collection! I first picked up an Audio Technica LP-120 USB to get back in and it was a really good re-entry for me. I upgraded the stock cartridge with an Audio-Technica VM540ML/H cartridge and that setup sounded AMAZING!! Only one caveat.....the LP-120 USB is a direct drive turntable so I always had a bit of motor noise that I could not get rid of. So.....I started searching for a belt drive "upgrade" and found all the RAVE reviews of the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon/Esprit so I bought in! To say this table sounds great is a total understatement!! The belt drive is whisper quiet and when you drop the needle on a fresh album there is ZERO sound!! The Ortofon 2M red is a great cartridge as well but I will be swapping it out for my venerable Audio-Technica VM540ML. I'm Ecstatic with this Pro-Ject!! Thanks to my sales associate Carter for answering all my questions and steering me towards this amazing turntable!!! I'm also glad I upgraded to the Esprit and got the acrylic platter. Another stellar transaction with Crutchfield.....that's why I always keep coming back!! If you're in the market for a fantastic mid-range priced turntable check out the Pro-Ject Carbon Debut series......you'll be extremely happy with your purchase!!

Pros: VERY quiet operation Ortofon 2M cartridge Acrylic platter is SOLID GORGEOUS turntable Great value

Cons: Anti-skate weight looks a bit silly......but it works very well.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 10/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Deserves the hype it gets, excellent turntable for the price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great player, easy to set up & use. Very happy to own my 2nd record player after my 50 yr old AR

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really enjoying the turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Prairieville, LA on 9/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The speed is dead on, the sounds are crisp, the lows seem enhanced compared to my old Denon with no rumble. Good bang for the buck! If it only had an auto shut off, it would make this perfect. Overall I'm very satisfied!!

Pros: Quality, simplistic style, speed control, cartridge, overall sound and value.

Cons: Wish it had auto shutoff and alternate (lighter) anti skate weight.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great mid-range turntable for the money

Daniel from Norristown, PA on 8/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an amazing no-frills turntable for the cost, but it does need some upgrades and some tweaking before you can unlock its full potential. I originally combined this with a Pro-Ject Phono Box S for pre-amplification and Klipsch R-15PM Powered Monitor bookshelf speakers; though the pre-amplification was unnecessary, the goal was to improve the signal-to-noise ratio with anything I might use to play back vinyl. The sound was fantastic, but headphone playback revealed a few limitations of the hardware--even with Sony MDR-7506 headphones. Swapping the cartridge with the Ortofon 2M Blue improved the sound remarkably, but as I made improvements to amplification and playback (Yamaha A-S701 with Beyerdynamic DT-990 PRO), this turntable easily betrayed the limitations of vinyl. However, I was able to make adjustments to compensate for any of those weaknesses: Removing the lid entirely eliminated significant feedback and some flutter; right now the lid is only placed on the turntable when not in use. Furthermore, I replaced the feet with IsoAcoustics OREA Bronze isolation pads and use the Pro-Ject vinyl weight, which is on the heavier side at just over a pound. Though some users recommend removing the transport screws and grommets before use to reduce hum or mechanical noise, that increased flutter tenfold for me. Replacing the feet with the OREA Bronze eliminated the risk of noise, so leaving the transport screws and grommets was acceptable.

Pros: Sound, quality, style, price, ease of use

Cons: Needs upgraded cartridge, some tinkering

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Carbon Debut is a dream.

Crutchfield customer from Weaverville, NC on 5/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have read about Pro-Ject's entry level audiophile turntables for many years now. When my old turntable finally gave up the ghost, I began my search for a replacement in earnest. I wasn't going to spend thousands of dollars, but I did want something that would benefit my considerable vinyl collection. Out of the box, without too much struggle to setup (there was some fiddling required with the "anti-skate" pendulum), this platter does the job! Also, I am very happy with Crutchfield's promptness and help during the process.

Pros: price point clarity and definition are a distinct improvement to my system high quality stylus included no rumble or noise detected out of the box ( I do use a record clamp and have isolation feet from my old setup) easy to setup

Cons: I really don't have a bad thing to say about this...very happy! If you require a pre-amp you'll need to purchase one

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GREAT looks. Very good sound. Solid Upgrade.

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, TN on 4/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I upgraded from a Fluance RT-81 that I purchased last year. That turntable sounded very very good, and so does this one. It is not as much of an upgrade as I thought, but it is better. Less surface noise with the Ortofon Red cartridge. I LOVE the stylish looks of this turntable. The carbon fiber tonearm and white plinth with acrylic platter really look great and make listening more enjoyable. It works great, sounds great and I would recommend it. However I do think there are turntables that are less $$ that sound nearly as good, so if your budget does not allow for this much, don't feel like you're missing out on great sound. General observations: *Don't try to lift the dust cover with one hand. It will just move the TT. You HAVE to use two hands. *There is nothing automatic about this turntable. You get a dampened cueing lever, and that's it *You have to completely shut it off to flip sides. There is no "pause". You can try removing a record with the platter spinning, but Pro-Ject told me they don't recommend it *It takes a good 5-7 seconds for the platter to reach full speed after starting it. *The cables that come with it work VERY well. I had much better cables but the way the ground wire is connected with the included cable meant much reduced ground hum on my system. Your mileage may vary. *The calibration of the cartridge from the factory was 100& accurate out of the box. I checked. *The dampened cueing mechanism is fantastic. V

Pros: Beautiful design, easy to set up, easy to operate, sounds very very good. You can EASILY upgrade to Ortofon Blue when ready by simply swapping the stylus.

Cons: I owned a Fluance RT 81 previously, at less than half the price, and this does not sound twice as good. I guess that's to be expected, but the improvement in sound quality was incremental, not dramatic. That may say as much about how good the Fluance is as about this TT, which is very good. I bought this every bit as much for the looks as the SQ.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Tye from Austin, TX on 1/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so great. This turntable looks fantastic and operates wonderfully. It doesn't sound any better than the old Marantz I bought in 1986, so I'm not sure what the buzz is all about with the carbon fiber arm. That said, the anti-skating component is excellent as I haven't had a skip yet.

Pros: Looks great, operates great, anti-skating is no joke.

Cons: Couldn't tell any difference sound-wise from my old turntable.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Amazing

Krystal from Des Moines, IA on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm absolutely in love with this!!!! Take the plunge and buy it!!!!!

Pros: Great stylus (needle) Lightweight tone arm Overall great quality!!!!!!!

Cons: Does not have a tone arm lift

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Sound

Barry from Mullica Hill, NJ on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality sound. No problems setting up following a Yutube video for setting up this model. I'm enjoying listening to LPs again with superb sound from this turtable connected with Pro-Ject preamp.

Pros: Sound quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Bryan from Ventura, CA on 11/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the sound. Easy setup... just watch the YouTube videos first.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

Daniel from Florence, AL on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited a long time and did endless research to pick a new turntable. This is the one I decided on and it is flawless. Impeccable design, unmatched sound quality, flawless aesthetic appeal. You can't go wrong.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Matthews, NC on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect addition to my sound system. Replaced an older Technics SL-1700 which had seen better days. The Ortofon Red cartridge sounds better and better every time I place a record on the platter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worth every penny!

Mike from Dickinson, TX on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding turntable for the price. Additionally it comes with the support of the always fabulous Crutchfield tech support. Easy set up out of the box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Benigno from Papillion, NE on 9/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Flawless!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No buyer's remorse here!

Bob from Kernersville, NC on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After years of frustration trying to get decent sound from an entry-level Music Hall MMF-2.2 with the same Ortofon Red cartridge, as well as trying other cartridges, I decided to give this 25% markdown crash-and-dent unit an audition. I am stunned at the difference in sound between the two. The clarity and brightness of the Pro-Ject turntable is light years ahead of the Music Hall unit, even if I swap the acrylic platter onto the Music Hall turntable. I hear vocal and instrumental details in my mix of new and old LPs that I never have before, even from my venerable old turntables of the past. Instruments and voices are easily distinguished from one another, lyrics are much easier to understand, and all the good things other reviewers have commented on (low noise floor, great tracking, low distortion) apply. But I'll keep coming back to the clarity - it's just remarkable. I'm using the supplied cables and haven't made any tweaks to the factory setup other than using a cheapo balance-beam tool to set the tracking force to the recommended value. I'm playing the records directly on the acrylic platter, and only have slippage using a carbon fiber cleaning brush if the record is "dished" upwards enough such that it's resting mainly on the label. Other reviewers' hum problem with the stock cables may be the looseness of the attached plugs. I bent the outer tabs on the plugs in a bit to make better contact and have had no hum issue.

Pros: The awesome clarity, crispness, and low noise floor. Makes good recordings on older vinyl sound incredible. They really got the sound quality right on this turntable.

Cons: Lightweight plinth, no suspension to speak of, a bit of audible motor noise. Feet are not height adjustable to level the unit, must use shims. No vertical tracking adjustment, but has the more critical azimuth adjustment. Short and slippery finger lift on the end of the tonearm takes a bit of getting used to.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Chester, VA on 9/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome turntable!!! Period.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 5/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't have a basis for comparing this thing. It works. You need a phono amp, but everyone except me probably knew that

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Lihue, HI on 4/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very impressive and great value!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid Quality Table

Gregory from Jacksonville, FL on 3/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great table. Solid speed, great build, and great sound at this price. Instructions are a bit vague. Had to head to YouTube for most of the setup and there are left over parts that I'm still not sure what they do. Bottom line, it is a beautiful and great sounding table with no problems. It has brought out some detail in recordings that I have never heard before.

Pros: Built in speed control. Came with Connect IT E cable instead of cheap generic cable. Setup was easier than expected.

Cons: Instructions are a bit vague in some places. YouTube videos were more helpful.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit - Great sound, Great look

Steve from Sudbury, MA on 3/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So full disclosure, I first ordered the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon (DC) but returned it and got the Carbon Esprit instead (thank you Crutchfield for making it so easy) since I do listen to 45s and didn't want to deal with switching belt drives each time. But other than the Acrylic Platter and the automatic speed box not much difference performance wise but worth paying the difference. I am thrilled to be rediscovering my vinyl collection on such a beautiful turntable, I couldn't be happier. I also got the Shure gauge to help balance the weight of the arm (it really does help) because getting it right can be tricky. Definitely worth having a look at the set-up videos available on YouTube because the set-up can be a bit tricky.

Pros: Great build with a very stylish finish very decent pre-mounted stylus Acrylic platter automatic speed-box to avoid switching belt drives Comes with above average RCA connection

Cons: Set-up is a bit daunting Crutchfield should have a dedicated set-up video for this model to avoid going on YouTube

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A very nice TT for this price point

Michael R from Williamsburg, KY on 3/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just received mine yesterday (March 1 2018) so this is some what preliminary. First, set up was a breeze. Just watch one of the 5 minute videos online. Right out of the box it sounded pretty darn good and after an hour or so I could already tell that the cart was starting to warm up a bit. Should be even better in a couple of weeks. One thing I have to disagree with Pro-Ject on though is the whole don't use a mat for your platter thing. Using Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon (side one) as a test I listened to it wihout a mat, with a cork mat I own and with the wool mat from my old Rega Planar 3 (1988 old!). I have to say that ranking them would go something like this: 1. Wool mat from Rega 2 Cork mat 4. No mat Highs sounded less brittle and the bass notes were much more rounded. I'm pretty sure the "mat" that came with the TT was for packing purposes only. So, my one gripe would be it needs a mat. Luckily I had two. I'm running this TT to PS Audio's GCPH phono preamp using much better patch cords than came with the TT, up to a Yamaha AS 501 Integrated amp and out to Bowers and Wilkins 683 s2 speakers. Overall it sounds fantastic.

Pros: Ease of set up, sound stage and musicality.

Cons: Cheap interconnects and no real platter mat.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Rockford, MI on 11/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice turntable, a little complicated to set up, watch the video.

Pros: looks and sounds great

Cons: set up, directions for set up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Edmond, OK on 11/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I am loving this turntable. Iv'e only played 33's so far, but they sound great and the turntable works like a charm; definitely worth the investment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wonderful

Chas from Columbus, OH on 10/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't be happier with it. Beautiful sound, beautiful design. I love it.

Pros: Great sound. Easy assembly.

Cons: Haven't noticed any yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very impressed

Ralphael from East Schodack, NY on 9/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't believe how much I like this turntable. I have been spinning record after record for a couple days now and it just sounds awesome. I am running this through a Marantz pm8005 and Klipsch RP-260F speakers. Setup was not bad but I recommend watching a YouTube video. I went very slow watching the video and cross referencing the manual. Trickiest part is getting the arm balanced. I would say a half hour is normal but I took an hour just to do it right the first time. I am very impressed with the build quality of the table. It feels like I paid much more than I did. Every part screams high quality. Looks gorgeous as well. This table is an upgrade in every department from my last table, even down to the dust cover. Sound wise, excellent high end with great clarity, very good midrange but lacks a bit on the low end. It's tight and accurate but could use a little more "umph". Level wise, this thing is so much louder than my previous table which is a good thing. I don't feel like I need to keep pushing the amp as much. Fills the room, just sounds awesome. My original plan was to upgrade to the Ortofon 2m blue quickly but decided to keep the red for awhile, it just sounds that good and tracks extremely well. After many records, I am not hearing any IGD (inner groove distortion). My previous table had major distortion issues and this table handles those records with ease. Bottom line: Pro-ject proves you don't need to spend 2k for a good table.

Pros: High quality build Sound fills room Excellent tracking Push button speed change Acrylic platter Dust cover that actually works Looks gorgeous

Cons: Requires a little more setup than other tables Could use a little more low end

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound awesome turntable

richard from Delmar, NY on 8/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing!!! I originally bought the Marantz TT42 turntable then I contacted tech support and they recommended the Project Debut Carbon Esprit SB(DC) so I returned the Marantz. I was so amazed not only at the fact that this turntable was able to play my warped records without skipping or skating. I was also blown away by the difference in sound quality. The depth of base and clarity of the midrange tones especially vocals. This turntable can be easily setup watching an online video. I can't say enough about the sound quality. It is well worth the money. If you really care about how good your vinyl sounds then spend the money. I am looking forward to many years of enjoyable sound from this deck. don't be fooled buy how light this turntable is compared to some others, it definitely delivers great sound. Thanks Sonny for the advice and assistance.

Pros: Amazing sound quality and great for playing even warped less than perfect records, reasonable price considering the performance you get. It also looks great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Lockport, NY on 8/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Farmingdale, NY on 4/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent turntable. Quality far better than most. Operation instructions significantly lacking.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Extremely pleased

Eric from Bloomfield, NJ on 4/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a Fisher turntable from 30 plus years ago that the belt dried out and I ultimately tossed. Thought it would be great to get back into the vinyl craze and breakout my old albums. Did a lot of research on turntables in $500 dollar range. Decided to spend the bit extra to get the automatic speed control (flip from 33 to 45) without removing the platter as well as the upgrade on this unit to the acrylic platter. Watched a youtube video in advance for setup. Received the unit double boxed, perfect condition, setup in under 15 minutes and spinning records. Sound is great even running off a 30 plus year old Fisher receiver with phono inputs and a pair of old Celestion speakers. I upgraded the cables based on some info I read in advance but the ones out of the box certainly could have been fine. Love the nostalgic experience and sound - plus taught my 8 and 11 year old what vinyl is, they had no idea nor never saw a turntable in action. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone that wants to get back into the world of vinyl, great sound and a lot more fun than playing music on iTunes.

Pros: Great sound, great look, easy setup (watch the youtube clips), reasonable price

Cons: None as of yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Incredible and Affordable

Crutchfield customer from Concord, CA on 4/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just purchased this item and I am extremely satisfied with the turntable. Easy set up makes for a stress free experience. I have been listening to records since I was 3 years old. Music has never sounded better. Clear and concise. Incredible and affordable. Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Incredible Dynamics!

Rob from Philadelphia, PA on 3/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Incredible dynamics with this turntable! Beautiful crisp highs and deep bass! This is the way vinyl is supposed to sound! It took returning 2 lower end turntables on Amazon to get it right and Crutchfield accepted PayPal credit, so that made this transaction an easy purchase. Everything I read about the quality of Pro-Ject products lived up to the hype. The glossy black base with the acrylic white platter is not only pleasing to the eyes but more importantly pleasing to the ears. Setup was somewhat easy with a pre-installed Ortofon 2M Red cartridge. I watched a YouTube video for the anti-skating weight and was a cinch once I understood. This belt driven piece of art together with a carbon fiber tonearm barely makes a sound so you can enjoy the music. As I have been re-building a vinyl collection this turntable is just what the doctor ordered.

Pros: Incredible sound, pre-installed cartridge, electronic speed box. Beautiful glossy model.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 2/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound at a very reasonable price. Straightforward to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

First time turntable buyer

Lucas from Chicago, IL on 2/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first turntable and I can't say anything bad about it. This deck sounds awesome, looks awesome, and will likely last a long time. I upgraded the interconnects as I've heard complaints about a humming sound. I can't say if the cables in the box cause a hum or not.

Pros: Sounds fantastic while looking fantastic

Cons: Setup is a bit confusing if you've never set up a turntable before. The instructions were not the best, but a YouTube video I found online made it a breeze.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Solid entry level turntable

KJ from Katy, TX on 2/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really solid entry level turntable. The acrylic platter definitely adds an extra aesthetic element distinguishing it from the regular Pro-Ject Debut Carbon. I appreciate the fact that Pro-Ject did its level best to make this turntable plug and play even including a decent cabe to connect from tt to phono preamp. However, there is some assembly required and my only gripe was the instructions provided seemed like an afterthought. Instead of following the provided assembly instructions, I watched a Youtube video highlighting the setup process. Additionally, I purchased the Cambridge Audio CP2 phono preamp along with this tt from Crutchfield and I could definitely hear a sonic improvement compared to the built in phono on my Marantz preamp. Listening to music on this or any turntable is an absolute joy for someone who loves music because there is something magical listening to vinyl. I enjoyed this tt so much in the first month of use that I decided to purchase the Shinola Runwell tt with a Ortofon blue mm cartridge for another room in the house.

Pros: Solid entry level turntable with a good mm Ortofon red cartridge. Setup wasn't difficult especially if you follow numerous Youtube videos that show how to set this tt up.

Cons: Assembly instructions seem to be written by an engineer with a clear disregard to the layman consumer.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 12/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable! I was a little skeptical buying from the scratch and dent section but Crutchfield's reputation for incredible customer service made me confident that if I wasn't satisfied with the product they would resolve the problem. The turntable arrived in the mail quickly and no parts were missing. The only major scratch on the turntable gets covered up by the platter so it cannot be seen. There are some minor scratches on the surface of the turntable but you have to look very hard for them. Overall I am extremely pleased with this turntable. Assembly was easy and the sound is incredible paired with my Klipsch R-15PM speakers.

Pros: Great sound Looks beautiful

Cons: Took a couple tries to get the anti-skating weight to stay attached to the tonearm during assembly.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A solid purchase for entry level audiophile space

David from Austin, TX on 11/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Espirit SB is an exceptional deal for someone looking to get into the ~$500 entry level audiophile space. If you're considering buying a similar model (such as a debut carbon III) and then upgrading components, you should consider this purchase instead. The upgraded components (build in speed-box, acrylic platter) alone come cheaper as a package with this model rather than buying them separately. Setup was fairly easy. If you're the type who feels you can't do it right it may take additional tries to lock down the counterbalance weight, but I was able to do it in one shot, and I have minimal experience with TT setup. Aesthetically, The TT looks pretty beautiful in the gloss white, and the smokey white acrylic platter complements it perfectly. If you have colored vinyl, it will just pop and look super pleasing on this setup. Sound wise, this was a huge step up from my Audio Technica AT-LP120. The Ortofon 2M Red cartridge presents a more "open" soundscape from my older model, and highs and mids come in fairly well. I'm currently using the built in phono preamp in my receiver, so I know that the sound can only get better from this. I plan to add an tube phono preamp to really see how this TT shines. If you're considering upgrading the cart to a 2M, rest easy knowing you can just buy the replacement stylus and use the original headshell.

Pros: - Solid deal for the included upgrades. The speed box just gives that confidence knowing you've got the right speed. - Aesthetically pleasing, especially for colored vinyl - Includes high quality RCA cable - Setup is minimal/easy

Cons: - Most people prefer the Ortofon 2M Blue over the included Red. Consider this when purchasing this turntable as that's over ~$900 purchase. May consider buying a TT with it pre mounted and save some dough. - The lever to drop the tonearm isn't very accurate. My tonearms moves slightly. I probably set it up wrong or something.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu Hi on 11/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Package arrived double boxed. Turntable was easy to assemble. The Pro-Jett Esprit was all the positive reviews said it was. I love the acrylic platter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice turntable

Tom from Davis CA on 10/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit sounds really good. I paired it with the ProJect phono preamp. I'm thinking about upgrading my preamp to a tube unit now.

Pros: Excellent sound and simple set up.

Cons: No frills, no auto return feature after record is over.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beautiful sound and quality

M.K. from Corona, CA on 10/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I picked up a scratch and dent and there was a tiny ding on the front. I'd say it's worth the price. Quality is phenomenal and it sounds amazing through my McIntosh 7900. I had it up and running within 10 minutes.

Pros: Beautiful finish, sounds amazing, easy setup. Packaging was great and Crutchfield shipped very quickly.

Cons: Price is high, but you get what you pay for.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ProJect Debut Carbon Esprit - First TT

Peter from Los Angeles, CA on 10/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cant really tell what the standard is being that I am so new to the hobby so here is just my thoughts on it. Packaging was Great! A box within a box to ensure that the contents aren't damaged. Everything had its own nook and cranny which I liked. Set up was easy, put on the belt, platter, and set the weights. Didn't really use the manual for the setup as I've seen many reviews on YouTube. As far as the use goes, haven't had any issues with it. When doing my research I heard some people experience a low hum, but I don't with my ground wire being properly routed. One thing though, I was under the impression that you can toggle through the 3 speeds with just the click of a button but I was wrong. You need to change the belt to play 78rpm. Not a big deal at all but I thought it was just a quick transition. The sound is great! I've paired my system with some ELAC Uni-Fi UB5 Speakers, and HK 3770 Stereo Receiver. All in all I love it! There is a certain romance about it, sure beats just skipping through an MP3 Player.

Pros: Great packaging. Its easy to setup and almost completely plug and play.

Cons: Haven't run into any yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

What an upgrade!

Christoph from Charlottesville, VA on 8/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from an automatic Audio Technica (LP60). WOW. What a difference! I had to add a phono pre-amp because I am running straight into an amp which adds about $100, but I couldn't be happier. The platter is great with no mat, the cartridge is amazing and the tonearm is a star. Yes, the anti skate weight is attached with monofilament, but that's all it needs. The balance is spot on. With the single piece tonearm (not to mention the width), sounds have been warmer, deeper and more crisp. It's almost like discovering Vinyl all over. My fiancé thought I had bought new speakers because the sound is so much better.

Pros: Single piece carbon fiber tonearm, acrylic platter, Ortofon 2M red cartridge (stellar), precision balanced, a truly rich sound.

Cons: Not automatic - is that a con?, won't make breakfast for you.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent turntable

Sam from Washington, DC on 7/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable. Sound is excellent & clear. Easy set up. I had read that some had difficulty in setting up this model. It was a piece of cake. Instructions were clear. Didn't even need to go to go online to watch a video. I am very happy with this purchase.

Pros: Great sound.

Cons: Nobe

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Warren D. from Atmore, AL on 6/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I'm very happy with the purchase, I received the turntable in three days. Very quite, very transparent as I went with the upgraded Pro-ject's Connect-It interconnects and swapped out the stock 12AX7's on the Tube Box S with JAN-Philips 12AX7WA NOS tubes.

Pros: Very transparent sounding, Very quite, detailed and clear, makes vinyl very enjoyable! Crutchfield has been great with their customer service!

Cons: I didn't like the felt mat, it builds static

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit - All You Want and More

Richard from dayton, OH on 1/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this purchase. Shipping was lightning fast, and the Crutchfield team was there to answer any questions I had. I've gone through a few turntables over the last few years, including the Pro-Ject Debut III and Carbon. This is by far the best of the lot. Dead quiet (no troublesome hum, which has plagued other models), the inbuilt speedbox makes switching from 33 1/3 to 45 rpm a toddle, and the Ortofon 2M RED is a top of the line stylis. Everything is tracking well, and inner groove distortion is all but eliminated. I may upgrade to the 2M Blue, but I'm not sure how much of an advance that would be. Trust me, this table, as it ships, sounds bloody brilliant. Highly recommended, both product and provider....

Pros: Plug and play, Easy to hook up, and works brilliantly right out of the box

Cons: You only get one....Seriously, I have found nothing to complain about with this turntable

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great sound

Miles from Hawaii on 11/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was surprised of sound quality. I also have a Linn LP12. Of course compared to a quality TT as the Linn, it wasn't as well defined. But for the $, it's worth it. I plan to replace interconnect that came with it like many other reviews to see how much difference it will make.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: Sound quality for the price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love this turntable

Edward from Florida on 11/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After extensive research I decided to purchase the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC) and I absolutely love this turntable. It has a good detailed sound, sweet and well balanced. This was also my first Crutchfield purchase thanks to their awesome customer service. Will definitely buy again. Thanks.

Pros: Beatiful design, great sound and easy setup. Built in speed box is a plus.

Cons: None at the moment.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Sonic Bliss

Fritz F from Brooklyn on 11/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was nervous about switching to a new turntable from my Vintage Philips and Sumiko Pearl cartridge which has great bass. Wow, was I pleasantly surprised. The sound stage is more spacious, open and natural sounding, very easy to listen to straight out of the box. Its being played through the Cambridge Phono pre amp and hi end shielded cables, so there is not even a trace a hum. I'll say the Sumiko cartridge had more punch to the bass, but the supplied phono cartridge is a winner. Also great shock absorption, the cover slammed down while playing because I loosened the screws on the dust cover, the TT did not miss a beat, no skips, bumps, burps etc. I could not be happier with my choice.

Pros: Nice open natural sound, easy speed selection, great build quality, stylish and easy to set up. I was up and running in less than 10 minutes.

Cons: Just a minor quibble, It' hard to adjust the screws on the dust cover so the cover sets at the desired opening angle but I am sure once I start to tinker with it I can fix it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very pleased

Robert from South Carolina on 10/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had it for a few days but the turntable has so far gone beyond my expectations. Really good sound that is an upgrade from my old turntable. I was surprised at the thickness of the acrylic platter. That was one of my reasons for expecting a good isolation. No hum whatsoever. I like the built in speed box and the Ortofon Red, which will be easy to replace the stylus when needed..Overall very happy and glad I went with the Esprit instead of one the cheaper Pro-Ject tables.

Pros: Great sound, easy to install and excellent service by Crutchfield. My advisor answered all my questions including how easy it would be to return, which I've never done so far with anything bought here. Fast shipping well packaged.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great entry level TT

Hew from Puerto Rico on 9/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decided for this one, because of the automatic speed change and the platter upgrade compared to the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon DC. I can't compared to other turntables on this category, only can say that records sound great. Easy to setup looking at YouTube videos.

Pros: Easy setup and sound/looks great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great turntable

TerryB from Ellicott City, MD on 8/19/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pro-ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (qDC) turntable rates 5 stars. The built-in speed box sure beats removing the platter and monkeying with the drive belt. Yes, a static charge can trigger the motor, but this is no big deal. The black piano finish is nice. A real showpiece coupled with good performance . Glad I bought it.

Pros: Built in speed box Piano finish attractive

Cons: Static charge can turn the turntable on. Tone arm finger lift hard to use.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Easy to set and easy to use

Doug D. from New Jersey on 7/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and very easy to setup and to operate.

Pros: Sound, setup and great looks.

Cons: None at this time

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Dr Shaun from Georgia on 6/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic turntable. Couldn't be happier with my purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent..

Chris from La Mirada, Ca on 5/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this table after reading all the great reviews of the Carbon Debut.. The Esprit comes with all the upgrades not on the basic Carbon.. Table was not difficult to set up.. The manual is detailed enough to take you through the few steps necessary but I also educated myself as much as possible by watching videos on youtube.. Just watch the Carbon Debut setups and they're the same way.. So I ditched the cables in the box and used my better quality Monster cables.. The ground cable is easily separated from the analog cable the table comes with.. Just peel it off like a banana peel.. So I did have a hum problem right away but I just twisted my interconnects on the table a bit and the hum was gone.. It's dead quiet.. The only thing that others may notice is the Ortofon Red might be more noisy then other needles.. But seriously, set up is easy, the sound is fantastic.. I was comparing it to an older Onkyo table and this Pro-ject is more open, detailed and each instrument has more space.. Vocals might be slightly less forward and back in the mix a bit.. I have no regrets making this purchase.. The red finish is bright and super clean.. Was shipped to me in 3 days!.. Only giving it 4 stars because I know those cheap cables will screw up the non audiophiles out there.. Use better interconnects and be sure to use the ground cable to connect it to your integrated amp, older receiver, phono preamp or whatever you're using .. Other then that small cable problem, it's awesome!

Pros: Looks great.. Sounds great.. Easy set up.. Seems solid and durable..

Cons: Upgrade the interconnect cable they send you.. Just pull off the ground cable from the interconnect cable and use it with your own better interconnect..

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

nice!

Bill from Rhode Island on 4/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great table for intro to high end analog. I have had none of the grounding issues others have had. This table will suit me well for years to come.

Pros: Speed box built in. Acrylic platter. Carbon fiber tonearm. MDF plinth.

Cons: Dust cover can be quirky but I take it off when I listen anyway. Could have put better anti vibration feet on the unit. For the money it should be there. Minor issues though.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Had to return, shady electronics

Matt G from North Carolina on 3/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to return this unit because static electricity was causing the motor to start back up after flipping a record. Using my Milty Aerostat also triggered it. Yes, the unit is grounded properly and yes, so it the outlet. Sumiko USA confirmed that others have confirmed an issue well, but I couldn't get any further support beyond that. I'm sensing a recall might be in the works, or something. I opted for a standard "Debut Carbon" model with external Speed Box S (price actually works out to be roughly the same).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 14 found this helpful

Sorry to spoil the party

Steve from Prospect, KY on 3/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wish I could go along with the other reviewers but my experience after purchasing this from Crutchfield has been pretty bad. This is not due to Crutchfield; I am at my wits end with the tonearm on this turntable. First of all, the initial setup is incredibly complicated and I am no neophyte. I finally fought my way through that and I now find that as I test out the table on a brand new 14 LP Beatles set, the tonearm skips very badly virtually every time it gets to the last (or innermost) track on the LP. I cannot fix it and, having purchased it over the Internet, I am stuck. I paid this price for this turntable 2 weeks ago The problem is so bad I am considering cutting my losses by selling it for around $100 and getting into a cheaper, less temperamental, turntable. If you have a fleet of sound engineers at your disposal, this may well be the turntable for you. Unfortunately, I don't.

Pros: Beautiful black finish and white acrylic platter. A truly gorgeous piece of equipment.

Cons: Just about everything dealing with the tonearm.

Crutchfield response on 3/31/2015
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 8 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Mark from North Carolina on 3/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pro Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB is overall a very good turntable. I'm only going to give four stars due to a few minor grievances. Yes, I had a hum issue that several other reviewers experienced. I changed cables and it resolved the issue. (A tip for anyone who wants to save a few dollars is to use component cables instead of regular old red and white RCAs. These actually sound better with TTs because component cables are rated for video and have lower capacitance. Just make sure you remember which color cable you designated for red or white when you plug them in your receiver or amp.) The cueing lever felt a little cheap to me. Maybe for a few more dollars they could've made it out of metal, but no big deal really. I'll just have to go easy on it. Another issue I have with this TT is the lack of a dedicated on/off switch. It's technically in standby mode when it's not running at 33 or 45 rpm. Sometimes after I've held the speed button down for two seconds, the light goes off, it's in standby mode, I'll take the record off, and the platter starts spinning again without me pushing the button. I don't know if it's sensing movement and it makes the platter start spinning, or if it's static electricity causing this, or just an actual malfunction of the TT. It's no big deal really. I just have to hold the button down for two seconds again and the platter stops spinning. I also thought the wires that connect to the cartridge are extremely thin with not much rubber coati

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

great product

AF from California on 3/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product sounds every bit as good as it looks.

Pros: great sound. easy setup.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB (DC)

Keith from Illinois on 3/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found this to be a very good turntable and very easy to set up , if you need advice on set-up check out u-tube for easy to follow directions . The only problem I ran into was trying to play Jake Whites new LP and not knowing that he had recorded it with a bunch of unusual tricks that made me believe there was something wrong with my set-up of my turntable , after playing several old LP's and hearing the clarity I went on line to investigate my new LP and discovered how to play it correctly .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Pro-Ject DC Espirit

Anthony M. from Maryland on 2/25/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Besides the needle, I love the platter, the design not crowed with gadgets and knobs and lights. I went old school with this one, have equalizer hooked up to receiver and obtained the right speaker wire width to contrast with the ohms. I've played various types of music on this audiophile and I must say the this is a Jazz and Soul/R&B type of turntable because of the sound that comes out; the vocals are sharp, bass is tight and the strings and horn are mild, not too high. Classic Rock is ok especially acoustic, eg; The Beatles, The Stones Beggars Banquet, Pink Floyd Dark Side Of The Moon, Early James Brown, Motown, The ChiLites, Early Zeppelin. I will not buy another CD again. This is not a 45 turntable if you don't mind keep getting up change the record, this is definitely an LP turntable, let it play.

Pros: The solid sound that comes from the Ortofon 2m cartridge which made my records sound better. i don't mind the few pops.

Cons: How thin the thread is on the antiskating weight which wasn't listed in the manual. be real careful when pulling it out of the plastic, you can hardly see it. if it only had an auto return.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Excellent table

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 2/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a fantastic piece of equipment. I'm impressed with both the sound and build quality. The RCA cable is cheap, so you'll want to use a nicer one. The acrylic platter is wonderful.

Pros: Platter eliminated static, sound and build quality are superb.

Cons: Dust cover is finicky and could fit better. The packaged RCA cable hums and will need to be replaced immediately.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Sounding, But!

PNorth from California on 2/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll try to keep this short because I went on a turntable adventure before finally deciding on this one. I have compared this Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit SB DC with the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon DC, the Music Hall MMF-2.2 LE, and the Rega RP1 w/ Performance Pack. All turntables were tested with the following rig: Marantz PM5004 Integrated Amp, Epos Epic 2 speakers (Bi-Wired configured), using Audioquest G2 16g spkr cables. All units were powered through a Furman FUM8DX power conditioner/surge protector. That said, the electrical and outlets in the room/house is modernized, grounded, and clean. Bottom line: The Esprit sounds the best But you have to upgrade the RCA interconnect cables because Pro-Ject's stock cables stink. They act like an antennae causing a lot of hum and when you touch them, it's even worse. Reluctantly, I decided to use Pro-Ject's "Connect-IT" interconnect cables w/ ground and they made a Big difference both with decreased hum and Way more output. I have no idea if cheaper ones will fix the humming issue bill or not, my guess is probably. The assimilation of the Acryl-It platter, carbon fiber tonearm/Ortofon 2M Red combo, and built-in SpeedBox (directly switchable on the plinth Is Nice) results in a pretty awesome turntable that sounds killer. Compared to those listed above it gives a wider sound stage, more depth and clarity, tighter definition, and liquid smooth warmth And it looks fantastic.

Pros: Carbon fiber tonearm/Ortofon 2M Red combo, Acryl-It platter, Speedbox built-in blows away the competition at this price point. Switchable speeds (33.3 & 45) via built-in Speedbox is actually super convenient, more than I originally thought. Visually stunning especially when there is colored/clear vinyl spinning on it (looks like a UFO).

Cons: Need to upgrade the RCA w/ ground interconnect cables, recommend Pro-Ject Connect-It Really made a difference.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Project review

Tmac from Kansas on 1/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is one awesome turntable. I was going to purchase one that you had to take partially apart to change speeds, this one does it with the push of a button. The cartridge that came with it makes my old records sound new. The hum that some seem to have with the supplied cables, I have not experienced, so at this point I do not see a need to change the cables. The overall feel of this turntable is solid, and well built. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a great turntable at a great price.

Pros: No need to take apart to change speeds 45 to 33, as it has a button to be able to do this.

Cons: I have not found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 16 found this helpful

Very Happy!

RonR from The Villages, FL on 1/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound with minimal set up, very stable speed. Big improvement over my old vintage Denon DP 1200.

Pros: Easy set up, great sound.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 9 found this helpful

Great Turntable....

MaryK from Pennsylvania on 12/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great turntable,as stated by all other reviewers. Worth every penny for all the features it has and the versatility of being able to play 78s,33s and 45s. The one small item,again as noted by a previous reviewer, are the cables included. We checked every piece of equipment to track down the source of that god-awful humming noise. Read the 4 star review, replaced the cables provided with some older ones we had, and voila! the humming was gone. We were going to send back the turntable but gave it one more shot after reading the 4 star review. Would suggest you use cables other than the ones provided by Pro-Ject in order to save your sanity.

Pros: Ease of use;fabulous sound quality; nice styling. All around great turntable.

Cons: Cheap connection cables provided

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great turntable! But that hum...

Steve from New York on 12/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love the turntable, and shipping was extra fast, and i totally enjoy buying from Crutchfield. However...the tt has a hum in the speakers i cannot get rid of. It's definitely the tt, as I've swapped out receivers, preamps (headphone and turntable), cables, etc. I've googled the problem, and i can't seem to get any of the solutions to work. I will figure it out. Saying that, the turntable was easy to put together. When playing loud music (which i do often) the hum isn't noticeable. The sound quality with the included Ortofon 2m red cart is an upgrade over my previous M97xE.

Pros: service, price, shipping, sound quality, ease of putting together (check online for video's).

Cons: the hum from not being grounded properly!

Crutchfield response on 12/29/2014
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pro-ject debut carbon espirit dc

quetzal from Thousand oas, CA on 12/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A fantastic sounding and looking turntable. Great catridge and 2 speed buttons. Noiseless acrylic platter is wonderful. I wish however that the player would automatically stop itself when a side is finished. As well as some sort of shock absorption feauture to prevent skipping if the furniture that the player sits on is hit. Overall, an amazing turntable!!

Pros: Sound quality, design, ease of assembly, quiet dc power...

Cons: Player doesn't auto stop when record is done. Not so shock absorbant. If sitting on a table and the table is hit the player will move and cause skipping.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Immediate performance upgrade

Brewhops from Michigan on 12/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The movers ruined my Pro-ject Debut, which was a nice upgrade from a previous turntable. The Carbon Esprit SB (DC) has speed control (can also change from 33 to 45 with top mount button), an upgraded platter and a nice premounted cartridge. Set up took about 15 minutes. The improved sound quality was immediately evident. I am very happy with this new Pro-Ject turntable.

Pros: Looks great and sounds better.

Cons: None thus far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Turntable BUT...

James from New Jersey on 12/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would give this 5 stars if not for the bad RCA cables included. Now I love this turntable but when I first got it it was quite another story. I very carefully unpacked and set-up the turntable after reading the manual and watching some online videos and when I played my first album it sounded awful. There was a horrible buzz and humm. I took everything apart and put it all together a few times. I rewired everything, checked the ground wire, tried grounding it to other places, tried grounding my amp and subwoofer and speakers together and tried different outlets all to no avail. I even bought a "ground loop isolator" and it did not help. Finally I tried different RCA cables and, like magic, the buzz and humm went away! So why on a an expensive turntable would Pro-Ject include cheap RCA cables?! I wasted so much time and was so upset. Lesson learned, I wish I would have tried different cables sooner but I didn't think a company of Pro-Ject's caliber would include anything but high quality parts. I would rather they not include any cables at all. I assumed it must be my amp or my building's power or some other source. Now I am very happy and would recommend this turntable but with the warning about the cables and to be honest, this makes me more likely to look at other brands in the future...

Pros: Sounds great. Looks great. Comes set-up with nice cartridge.

Cons: Poor quality RCA cables (see review.)

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Great Turntable!

Eric from Minnesota on 12/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this to replace an old Dual 627Q and am glad I did. I did some research and was going to go with a debut carbon, but decided on this instead. With this turntable you don't have to upgrade the platter, buy a speed box or change the pulley for 78's. By the time you upgrade the standard debut carbon, you could have this for less. Set up was a snap, but I do recommend getting a stylus tracking force gauge. It just makes it easier. I was impressed with the sound quality. Records with known pops and clicks were greatly reduced. New cleaned vinyl sounded amazing. If you're looking to just get into vinyl or getting back into it, check this turntable out.

Pros: Decent components right out of the box.

Cons: Does not have automatic tone arm return, but that's generally one of the first things to go. I don't miss it.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

TOP