Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Pro-Ject Essential III

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge (Gloss Black)

MFR # ES3-GB

Pro-Ject Essential III

Pro-Ject Essential III

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge (Gloss Black)

MFR # ES3-GB

9 reviews
View this product

Pro-Ject Essential III

Crutchfield customer from Darlington, SC on 9/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple design with great sound LPs came alive

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Essential III

Guest from Brooklyn NY on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had the Essential III about a month now. First and most importantly the Essential and Ortofon cartridge combination sounds fabulous. Compared to its replacement--a 30 year old Technics with a Shure cartridge that I haven't used much the last 15 years or so but which has a replacement stylus--the bass is better defined and the soundstage has more depth and is broader and more detailed with a better sense of space between the instruments. Just terrific. The only thing I'm less than impressed by is the exposed belt which goes around the platter on the outside. As a previous reviewer noted, it is easy to knock the belt loose from the platter if you bump it while taking an album off. This was frustrating for me because putting the belt around the platter was by far the most difficult aspect of setting up the turntable. It took me 5 or 6 tries to do it. I can do it much faster now because I've had much practice. But it is no longer a problem now that I exercise more care when taking an album off the platter. I guess it's all an additional factor of the turntable ritual that some may find appealing. Anyways, developing new habits is worth it for the terrific sound of the Essential.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A classic design.

Matthew from Seminole, FL on 3/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A fine turntable, plays beautifully. I found it very easy to set, no problems. The sound is very open good soundstage. The design truly is a work of art. Thank you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Essential III

Crutchfield customer from Levittown, PA on 11/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect in every way. Just what I needed and the price is just right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Essential III

Crutchfield customer from Leonardo, NJ on 10/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An elegant turntable. For years I have used a Pro-Ject I. The manufacturer of this new unit have retained all the great features of the old one---a superb tone arm with an excellent anti-skate device. Improvements include making the motor accessible on the top of the plinth, and then there is that elegant plinth itself. The turntable both looks and sounds beyond wonderful. With it, my 4000+ disc vinyl collection is in more than merely good hands.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Essential III

Manuel from Hialeah, FL on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable. Easy set-up and sound is amazing for this price. Very good cartridge included.

Pros: Good sound, easy set-up, price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Essential III

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, this a a fantastic turntable. I only have one thing that I would change and that is that the belt comes off very easily. If you are not careful when removing your record from the platter, it is very easy to accidentally bump the belt off. No big deal, but can be frustrating after a while.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Turntable

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 12/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pro-Ject Essential III seems like a great turntable so far. Though I was concerned that it might be difficult to set the tone arm up, I was pleasantly surprised that it was quite straightforward and simple. The sound is very good and some of the albums have a better sound with more detail than the same album mastered onto a CD. Very happy with the purchase and classy looking red finish too.

Pros: Excellent sound; easy straightforward set up.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Turntable

Michael from Mount Vernon, IL on 11/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome turntable. Minimal set-up, basically worked right out of the box. Sound is amazing for this price range. Mick an advisor was very helpful as well!!

Pros: Easy set-up and amazing sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP