Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges (Black)

MFR # PhonoBox DC-BK

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges (Black)

MFR # PhonoBox DC-BK

118 reviews
View this product

Works As Adverstised

Crutchfield customer from Loveland, OH on 11/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Perhaps the purest form of plug-n-play, as there is not on/off switch. It's not big by any means, so it can easily fit next to or perhaps even behind the turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Turntable Preamp Best Buy

Crutchfield customer from San Angelo, TX on 8/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My turntable has a built in preamp, so I never felt I needed a separate preamp, but I can throw a switch & then use it with a preamp. I purchased a nice vintage turntable & Jenny was absolutely awesome in guiding me to purchase this preamp. Wow! This little beauty really woke up my turntable & now I'm ready to use it with my vintage turntable also. This is most definitely a best buy in turntable preamps!

Pros: Small Well built Best bang for the buck

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 8/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product simple design easy to install great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, VA on 8/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sorry it just didn't work with the equipment that I had. Followed instructions a waste of money for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/11/2021
We're sorry your preamp didn't work out for you. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from West Olive, MI on 8/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The phono box enabled my newer amp to be able to play my B&O turntable. Classic music on a classic system, it doesn't get any better than that!

Pros: Cost was reasonable

Cons: It could have a power light.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it needs to, has a low profile but doesn't feel cheap, and sounds good!

Pros: Simple to set up, feels good quality

Cons: May be easy to mix up with another Pro-Ject power supply of the wrong voltage

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product for the price. No complaints so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product and great experience.

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 6/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's been no a long while since I ordered from guys. So first, customer service, 1 day shipping, and answering my questions..a TEN! Pro-Ject Phono Box did not disappoint. Very impressed. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from San Rafael, CA on 6/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value. My Marantz amp has a phone input, but the difference this little box (still) makes is a delight. The additional range and articulation was well worth the price (got even better value with an open box item).

Pros: Value, size, ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Fredericktown, OH on 5/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it has enabled me to listen to all of my old lp's

Pros: it works very well.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Happy with this purchase

Oliver from WINSTON, GA on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace the phono input built in to my old home theatre receiver and I noticed the difference in sound immediately. Records sound much brighter and clearer. One improvement is that I'd like to see an indicator for power but I knew it didn't have one when I bought it so it would be unfair to dock it points for that. Seems really well constructed and is surprisingly heavy.

Pros: Well made; sounds good

Cons: No RCA cables included; No power indicator (but I knew both of these going in)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Sound!

Crutchfield customer from Glen Cove, NY on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound profile. I have it paired with Pro-Ject Carbon Debut EVO which has Sumiko Rainier cartridge.

Pros: Great Sound No noise Strong build Support for both MM/MC cartridges

Cons: None at this price point

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Napa, CA on 4/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and good sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from West Grove, PA on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent phono amp. works flawlessly. Thank you Crutchfield!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Sebring, OH on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely does the job it's supposed to, no issues only 4 stars because it is a little expensive, but didn't want to go cheap and be disappointed.

Pros: Works as it should.

Cons: None really

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Lompoc, CA on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and easy to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love It

Stephen from Cave Creek on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to connect my completely rebuilt Dual 1229 Record Changer with a Shure MM cartidge to my Prima Luna Dialogue Premium Valve Amp. The results are nothing short of superb.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

More gain! More punch! I love it!

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 2/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with my new Pro-Ject Phono Box DC. I bought it to enhance the signal between my 36-year old Pioneer turntable and my Yamaha R-N602 receiver. While the receiver has a dedicated phono input, that particular stage doesn't have the gain of those old powerhouse receivers and amps of decades ago. The Pro-Ject Phono Box fixes that! I ran an A/B test using the same music passage (Side 1, track 1 of "461 Ocean Boulevard" by Clapton) with the turntable's cables going directly into the receiver's phono input, then moved them into the Pro-Ject with its line out going into the receiver's Line 1 input. Quite an improvement! At least a 3 dB volume gain and crisper highs and more mid-range punch. The Pro-Ject's enclosure is pleasingly substantial metal, which should help guard against EMI and RFI. I noticed no hiss, hum or any other background noise. The box is practically a no-brainer to connect (just have a spare set of RCA cables on-hand). I give it two thumbs up and five stars.

Pros: Great value, small footprint, does the job.

Cons: The wall wart covers two slots on a power strip. No big deal.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Cruthfield always delivers!

Crutchfield customer from Oak Harbor, WA on 1/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is just what I needed, Crutchfield always delivers! Thank you!

Pros: Designed to work with two types of stylus.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Henrico, VA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is worth its weight in gold. Thought i would take a chance on this to support my old Sony turntable as opposed to buy a new turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Gunnison, CO on 1/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install and works like a charm.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product and service. Appreciated the quick delivery, especially during the holiday rush.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 12/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I inherited a Technics SL-B2 turntable that would slow down to toward then end of a record. It was audible, I would have to speed up the song. I thought it was the belt. When I replaced my receiver with this dedicated pre-amp, the slow-down stopped. Records play like normal now. This is great if you like using a speaker with aux input. Output from RCA to jack.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

MICHAEL from BETHESDA, MD on 12/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't know much about Phono Pre-Amps, but this one certainly does the trick for our use. I do wish Pro-Ject still offered an option for a USB out for computer recording. Multiple outputs would also be nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bring you records collection back to life

Crutchfield customer from Melbourne, FL on 12/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This phono amp is easy to install and it works great. I read all the instructions, but truly, this unit was a plug and play device. It goes between the record player and the receiver. You need to buy the two sets of cables separately (RCA type connectors). There is one pushbutton to select the type of phono cartridge (e.g magnetic) but the default worked for me. Now I am listening to my dormant record collection at if they were new.

Pros: Small footprint and easy to install

Cons: Does not include the necessary cables

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Worthington, OH on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Paired with Project Debut Carbon Evo turntable and Audioengine A5+ speakers - simple setup, great sound and discrete presence.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Clinton Corners, NY on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, low cost to get my turntable up& running again, simple to hook up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Daly City, CA on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This replaced a previous model. It works great. Sound quality seems to be a bit better than the previous model. Only wish there was a on/off switch.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Buena Vista, CO on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for unexpected complication of new and old technology

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Having fun with Vinyl!!

Daniel from MOUNT PLEASANT, SC on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I added it to a Pro-Ject Carbon DC. It improved the sound quality VS using the built in phono preamp in my receiver (SONY STRDA5200ES). Fewer pops and hisses, and more detail. It also allows me to send the phono signal out to zone 2. I'm sure some of the higher end phono preamp's would be even better but for the money I love it. I already had an extra set of high end RCA interconnect cables to use. Thanks Crutchfield!!!

Pros: Seems well built, small footprint, good sound!

Cons: The A/C adapter seems cheap. The Pro-Ject power box may be a good upgrade and for the turntable also (but $250 ?). I do have it plugged in to a good line conditioner so that I'm sure helps for now.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple in/out box that does the Job. I had been using the built in phono amp in my Audio-Technica AT-LP120XUSB turntable. The Pro-Ject box cured a left-channel-heavy balance issue with my powered speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding product and fast delivery as promised. Love Cruthfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with the Pro-Ject X2. Absence of power switch or light is less than ideal, simply because the only way to know that it is on and working is if the music is playing.

Pros: Compact, solidly built.

Cons: Lack of power light or on/off switch.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great phono solution for small $$

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An efficient and effective addition to my receiver enabling me to listen to my vinyl collection on my new Planar One turntable.

Pros: Cost, effectiveness, deceptively simple.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice audio quality, it does an excellent job very impressive

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Jim Thorpe, PA on 6/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A great product to be able to use with any sound system. Great quality!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Clinton Twp, MI on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product I would recomend.

Pros: Nice hooks up easy does what it's made to do.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great PhonoPre-Amplifier

Crutchfield customer from Catlett, VA on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the first time I needed a phono pre-amplifier with a new receiver. It is simple to connect and is working great.

Pros: Simple and compact size.

Cons: No switch to turn off, so to avoid having to be powered on all the time, I plugged in to separate cord for when I want to use my turntable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

For a more detailed sound...must have!

Crutchfield customer from Juana Diaz, PR on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean and detailed sound. Excelent match to Pro Ject Debut Carbon turnable. Connected to my Yahaha Receiver.

Pros: Enhance music. Good imaging sound.

Cons: No on-off switch.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to go with my Pro-ject Carbon turntable. Set up was easy and the sound is spectacular. 5 stars and a ??!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Budget phono pre amp worth it

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice budget phono pre amp. If you don't have a phono plug on your receiver/amp then the Pro Ject Box DC should be in consideration. It is simple to set up and helps the phono to sound good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid product, easy to hook up, and small enough to place behind other components to hide it. Customer service is fantastic like always.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exciting prduct from the land of best Bosendorfer pianos in the world

Crutchfield customer from Green Bank, WV on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My unit was actually made in neighboring Slovakia, but was obviously designed in Austria. What a difference compared to Yamaha's S-501 integrated amp with a phono stage (MM only). It works out of a box and works seamlessly with my Lynn-Sondeck and Spectra Reference moving coil cartige. Forty and fifty year old vinyl suddenly comes to life. I have never heard so little background noise in my LPs. It is amazing. Very solid feel and heavy metal envelope for EM interference shielding. The unit sist unobtrusively behind the amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does the Job

Crutchfield customer from Hawthorn Woods, IL on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, quality build, worked as expected. The only area where I could have used some definitive guidance is in what kind of cable to use going from my turntable to the preamp, and then going from the preamp to the receiver. Low capacitance cables were recommended for the former, and "any cable will do" seemed to be the consensus for the latter. In any case, the sound is rich and clear. I have no need to fiddle with controls on preamps that come with more expensive units, so the simplicity of the unit is appreciated. I played with the MM/MC button once because there was some thought that the Beogram 10e cartridge might behave more like an MC than an MM. The cartridge did not work well on the MC setting, so that answered that question. Overall, very happy. Next test is longevity. I'll follow up in five years.

Pros: Simple. Easy to set up. Sounds good.

Cons: None based on what I am using it for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I have not been able to get it to work, but I talked to someone there & monday he is sending me some info . he thinks I have my Receiver set wrong. I'm not good with all this stuff. Thank you jerry

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This phono preamp does exactly what it's supposed to do at a reasonable price. Using on a NAD C326BEE. Albums sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Rupert, ID on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Works great. Love the small size that makes it less conspicuous. Only thing I would like different is it to have a power switch on the unit to be able to turn it off when not in use.

Pros: Size. Easy install.

Cons: No power switch on unit.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Phono preamp.

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed this item for a 1973 Technics by Panasonic turntable. Back in business with the old LPs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

If you want your speakers away from turntable, turn to this...

Crutchfield customer from Media, PA on 9/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect and affordable option to be able to extend speakers away from Pro-ject Debut Carbon turntable.

Pros: Cables that come with the Pro-ject Debut Carbon turntable are far too short if you have a bigger space.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Elkin, NC on 9/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set-up.

Pros: Easy to use. Excellent manual.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little, no frills, pre-amp. It fit below all my wires behind my amp. As it happens, the turntable I was given had more issues than I was prepared to spend to fix it and I sent the pre-amp back to Crutchfield for a refund but it worked fine and was a perfect size for my needs.

Pros: Great size and really affordable

Cons: An on/off switch would have been nice as well as a gain control.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for. Hooked up my vintage turntable to this little pre-amp to the Sonos Play:5 line-in. Very good 'small' package pre-amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

John from Klamath Falls, OR on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product I recommend it works the great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good product

Dwight J. from Union Springs, AL on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly is small and doesn't take up much room.

Pros: Works percectly and is small and doesn't take up much room.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Very Nice Phono Box DC

Harold from Lynchburg, VA on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Project Phono Box DC works perfectly for me! I purchased a Bell'O turntable cabinet for Christmas and wanted to place it in another room from my Yamaha receiver(Crutchfield). After speaking with Charles F. and later Gage, they helped me decide to purchase this product and it works perfectly! The turntable is on the top shelf of the Bell'O and the signal goes through the Phono Box (moving magnetic) to a splitter where two other electronic players are also attached. Then the signals are transmitted 45 feet through through and around walls to reach the Yamaha amplifier. I was worried that the turntable sound would not be great due to the distance and would have a hum, BUT it sounds great and I am playing all of the old vinyl records plus the other two players sound good also. Since the Phono Box does not have an on/off switch, I have it, the turntable, and the other players connected to a power switch where I turn everything off when not in use!! Thanks Crutchfield, Charles, and Gage!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Turntable Taken Out Of MothBalls

DON from Bellmore, NY on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took My Micro Seki DD 35 out of mothballs after 25 years with MA 3005 Cartridge....Placed on MM Setting and Listened to Dark Side Of the Moon...Beatles Mono 2014 LP's... Frank Sinatra And Miles Davis LP's....Listened for 6 hours.....Well it's simply outstanding Phono pre Amp without investing big bucks! Listened to on Technics Tower Speakers and JVC Receiver....which are nothing over the top but still plays better than any CD for sure!!

Pros: Exceptional Change From Phono Plug On Receiver.....Clean And Smooth!

Cons: Get Ready To Spend 8 Albums Of Listening When You Hook It Up

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

I'm happy

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 3/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like a lot of people I am currently rediscovering vinyl. And like a lot of people I have a pretty nice receiver that has no phono input. So , no problem get a cheap preamp & plug it into any auxiliary input so you can play a record. Not so simple! There are a lot of choices out there & having a decent preamp does make a big difference, and yes you can overspend & get some of the ones that cost an exorbitant amount, but for now, just getting back into this hobby, this was a great compromise. Seems to be good quality build & sounds great . I'm happy!

Pros: Sounds great , easy set up, relatively inexpensive

Cons: No power switch ( always on )

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect set-up

Irene from Flourtown, PA on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We worked with Jenny to come up with a solution to connect our turntable to our new receiver and this was exactly what we needed.

Pros: Easy set-up Works great Small component

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great phono stage

Crutchfield customer from Vernon Rockvl, CT on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from rolls vp29 - a good stage but the project better! Perfect fit for my esprit dc TT also. Using currently with MM ortofon 2m red. Crutchfield super company!

Pros: Clean, full sound

Cons: No power button, but really not needed, just leave on!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-ject

David from Fallbrook, CA on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This phono pre-amp seemed flat and lifeless. Had some intermittent noise issues, too. It was returned...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 13 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Park Ridge, IL on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, sounds great! I really like the switch for either MM or MC cartridges.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fine piece of equipment

Vincent from Watsonville, CA on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sturdy and well-built. Heavy. I was very surprised with how much improvement this gave me over using the phono input on my receiver. I'd been listening to records with a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Espirit for about a year now using the phono input on my budget receiver. Now that I hear the difference I realize what I've been missing and I can finally get the most out of my turntable. This single piece of equipment has given me the biggest boost in sound quality for my system. It's well worth the money.

Pros: Sturdy. Heavy. Solid. Great sound. Precise.

Cons: Doesn't come with an RCA cable, but I guess most people just have a collection of these anyway. Also, the power cable is just a little too short in my opinion. I guess this is only an issue if you have an awkward setup with outlets and power strips far away.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Barry from Mullica Hill, NJ on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with the Pro-Ject Carbon Esprit Turntable.

Pros: Great sound quality along with connected Pro-Ject Carbon Esprit Turntable.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sitting by the Christmas fire and drinking in some nice warm analog

Lee from New Brighton, MN on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased second hand a Pro-ject Debut Carbon turntable and it came with a phono-preamp, but to my dismay, as I dropped the needle carefully upon the vinyl, there was no sweet music. I had to do some trouble shooting, though I am not very tech savvy, so I looked through the internet and found Crutchfield. I share my situation and within a day I had a response. I then took a chance and purchased the Pro-Ject phono Box D C. I have been enjoying vinyl again and it is this side of Coolsville. Mind you this is not a perfect phono preamp, but then again it cost $100.00 and I know that doesn't come close to buying the best preamp, but this performs to my needs in a beautifully analog way.

Pros: It works, that being said, it is a sturdy little performer that does just what it claims to do. Nothing more, nothing less.

Cons: I have heard a bit of a hiss through the speakers that is not present on any other components.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Small but powerful

Daniel from Sacramento, CA on 11/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this with the hope that it would sound Ok. Just a little something to up the signal and provide a connection. What I get is a little, heavy box that really reminds me of how analog vinyl should sound...CLEAR. No hum or hiss, just clean amplified playback. With my Blu-Rays the volume on my moderate Harmon/Kardon Amp is at a volume level at about -30 to -26. In comparison this phono box registers at about a -34. Very surprising transparent volume for analog, let alone a phono-line. Worth the money.

Pros: Clear audio. Great volume level. Heavier than you might think.

Cons: Adapter is a bit too short in length. No power switch.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from SSySylSylmSylmaSylmarSylmar,CCA on 10/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good preamp. Does what it is supposed to do. Compact and well built.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

What a Difference!

Steven from Oro Valley, AZ on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my first purchase from Crutchfield, and I couldn't be more pleased. Excellent value for the price. Preamp was easy to install, and once I tweaked the changes, audio never sounded better. My original 70's and 80's albums sound great again and new vinyl is incredible! A few details: Be sure to adjust the preamp to either MM or MC to match your cart. You'll know impedance is wrong if you hear a flat, dense sound. Also if your TT has a ground connection, connect to the preamp's ground to eliminate any hum or static. TT is a TEAC TN-400S with an upgraded Audio-Technica 440 MLB cart. Connected as a part of a Sonos system; TT to preamp to Connect Amp to Bowers and Wilkins CM 6 bookshelf speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Big sound in a little box!

Crutchfield customer from New Paltz, NY on 8/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've never owned a discrete phono preamp before - I'd always been using the one built into my Denon receiver. When I upgraded my receiver, I discovered that denon stopped including a phono input and grounding post so I had to buy one. I own a Pro-Ject record player so this seemed like the best fit. I've noticed a big upgrade in the sound quality of certain albums, especially newer pressings that aren't 180g. Some albums that used to have a harsh sizzle in the very top end have been completely cleaned up thanks to this preamp.

Pros: Great value for price, compact form factor, great sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, GA on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. I can listen to my records again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow

Gerald from Salem, VA on 5/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit because my Denon receiver did not have a phone input. Bought a similar unit from another supplier and had to send it back. Very tiny, thin music reproduction. This unit is terrific. Sound is full with depth. Terrific value for the price. Could not be happier. Should have gone to Crutchfield up front! Next time I will.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from La Quinta, CA on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! I have this going from my Sony PS-LX2 to my Marshall Stanmore speaker. Sounds like heaven. ;)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Paul from Maple Shade, NJ on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent made product. Excellent service and delivery from crutchfield. Will continue to shop here

Pros: Quality made, easy setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value.

Michael from Lake City, FL on 3/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Back in the day, all decent receivers and integrated amplifiers/preamps had two phono inputs. Now, you are lucky to get one. I have two turntables, and was tired of switching cables to share one phono input. I purchased the ProJect, not expecting too much given its price point, plugged it into the Aux input of my integrated amplifier, and tested it with both a monophonic Audio Technica AT3/LP high output moving coil, and a low output Denon DL103 (using the MC feature). No hum, great sound. I can highly recommend this inexpensive little box. As always, Crutchfield sent the item within two days. These people are great to deal with, and I am happy to buy from them.

Pros: Inexpensive to buy. Expensive sounding.

Cons: Nothing, really.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Paired well with my Dual 1019

Chris from Raleigh, NC on 3/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compact size at a good price for the quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Clio, MI on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised, can tell the difference between the stock amp in my AT 120 then the stock amp also gives me more flexibility.

Pros: Better sound.

Cons: Only wish it had a gain control .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Advice; Great Product

DENNIS J from Hackensack, NJ on 3/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was using my A/V sound system with a new turntable using an older, cheaper preamp. The sound quality was awful and there was a noticeable hum even though the turntable was grounded. I was going to purchase powered speakers that included a phono preamp. Crutchfield advisor, Eddie, instead suggested trying this Pro-Ject preamp. This saved me $400 in addition to needing to find good speaker placement alongside the 5.1 system speakers. It is a perfect solution. The sound quality is excellent and there is no hum. This is an extremely well-made product. Solid and surprisingly heavy. Beautifully packed and effortless to setup. I'm really happy with the quality of the Pro Ject Phono Box.

Pros: Quality, Functionality, Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Earl from Ontario, CA on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small. Easy to hook up. Works like a charm and I can play my LP's again with the new receiver my son bought us. Sony said I couldn't. Crutchfield said "yes you can"! Thanks

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great buy

DENNIS from Rogers, AR on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Works like it should

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from N Cambria, PA on 12/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook-up and does what it's supposed to do. It's just fine. And service was great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, VA on 11/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

thank you

mike from Pt Charlotte, FL on 11/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

needed a different pre-amp and again-great advise and fast service. looking forward to some more preview time with this new set up.

Pros: great performance with small foot print

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Cameron, NC on 10/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a pre-amp to get the sound out of my turntable. This box is perfect. Easy to set up and works like a charm.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Warren from Allentown, PA on 9/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, was easy to install and setup.

Pros: I can play all my old records again.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Able to Play Vinyl Again!

Walter from Libertyville, IL on 8/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit at a great price. Can't remember when I last used my Sherwood turntable before purchasing this unit. Super easy to set up. Enjoying the vinyl I haven't listened to in years

Pros: Small, easy to set up, great price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Can't beat good advice

Paul from Manchester,NH on 8/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big thanks to advisor Spencer for recommending this unit. My Denton rec. Had no phono hook up and I had an old but usable turntable and this unit made the connection possible. Now my lp' s are playing again.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great solution for older turntables

NESTOR from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 8/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little unit. Great price. Compact and super easy set up. My old Kenwood turntable was producing music as soon as installation was complete. Install instructions are clear. No buttons to turn on/off, no buttons or switches at all.

Pros: Price Easy installation Compact Black blends in with other components

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple to use & excellent quality.

Bob from Indiana on 8/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like it should. Simple to use and excellent quality.

Pros: Works like it should. Simple to use and excellent quality.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject PhonoBox DC (BK)

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 6/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good

Pros: Loved

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Bondville, VT on 6/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great companion to the Project Debut Carbon turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 6/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be working just fine. I like the fact that this has the ability to switch from MM to MC at any time in case of an upgrade or something. Reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great vinyl sound!

Frank from Munster, IN on 6/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality sound, easy to hook up.

Pros: Excellent sound at an affordable price!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 4/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound,easy installation,no distortion.Fast delivery,very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

David from Providence, RI on 4/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little preamp! Since I now use a Sonos Connect and B&O active speakers, I have eliminated my integrated amp using this and a $20 switch box. The Sonos box already eliminated my tuner.

Pros: Great price performer. Works with both MM & MC.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My record collection comes alive again!

Pete from Phoenix, AZ on 4/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am happy to report that my Pro-Ject Phono Box DC arrived very promptly from Crutchfield and I was able to install it very easily. My Marantz SR 6004 stereo receiver has no phono input jacks and so this Pro-Ject Phono Box absolutely "fills the bill" allowing me to once more access and play my LP record collection, allowing me to hook-up my turntable to my Marantz receiver. I played several records on my turntable, hooked up to the Pro-Ject Phono Box DC, and they sounded terrific through my Marantz and main family speaker system. I'm delighted with this Pro-Ject Phono Box and would recommend it highly to anyone in my similar situation. Also, the moderate price is another big plus. Kudos to Crutchfield for carrying this really fine home audio product.

Pros: Compact size, easy hook-up, great sound from my records, and moderate price.

Cons: None at all!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy as pie

Peter from Alameda, CA on 1/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is very simple to connect. Turntable to preamp, preamp to receiver, plug into AC outlet. Done. They should make everything this simple. Can't compare how well this works as compared with other preamps, but no problems with this one.

Pros: Simple to connect

Cons: An expensive addition if you are buying a new receiver that doesn't have a phono preamp built in.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

John from Conifer, CO on 1/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This provided a great way to add add my '80's Pioneer turntable to my Adcom GFP-750 preamp that lacked a phono preamp. It supports MM and MC cartridges and is small enough to sit on the shelf behind the Adcom.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy install, works well.

Kurt from St Augustine, FL on 11/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. Easy to hook-up, and it's small enough to hide w/o too much trouble.

Pros: Neat and clean, well made.

Cons: No on/off switch to conserve energy or indicator to let you know when it's powered up. Not a big deal, but add in a house full of low voltage consumers and it becomes an issue over time. Still would have bought it, though.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Project Phono Box DC

Rod from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this after buying a new AVR that had no phono input stage. The Pro-ject Phono Box allowed me to continue to listen to my vinyl on my Rega turntable and sounds great. Just connected it to an unused analog input on my receiver and it sounds incredible. Highly recommended!

Pros: Ease of use. Price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Small & mighty

Chris from BROOKLYN NY on 5/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality little brick of a phono amp. Works great with my vintage Technics by Panasonic 1300 TT.

Pros: No lights, 2 cartridge phase choices.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Foundations

Jimmy from Tifton, GA on 4/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Basic building brick piece for stereo. Dead quite with a small footprint. Drop dead easy setup. Everything you would think a brand matched power supply should be, which means this is the last time I will ever think about it.

Pros: Small, black

Cons: Does not come with ice maker

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just what the doctor ordered!

Steven M. Dembow from Merrimack, NH on 3/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The perfect solution to mating an older ProJect analog turntable to a current Pioneer AVR - worked like a charm!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

EASY SOLUTION

CRAIG T from johns island, SC on 2/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very easy solution for my problem of hooking up my 1970's audio turntable to my 2012 AV receiver. The Crutchfield people were an amazing resource too!

Pros: Very easy and small convenient size.

Cons: Haven't found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box

Dan from Cincinnati, OH on 2/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this item about 2 weeks ago and I hooked it up no problem. The sound quality is excellent from my turntable to my speakers. Highly recommend this product.

Pros: Very easy setup Cost

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Howard from Kansas on 2/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product provides the necessary requirements for any turntable . When matched with a recently purchased Pro-Ject Debut Carbon (DC) turntable they make a great pair . Very easy hook up and great sound and clarity.

Pros: Excellent product and a very reliable brand.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Phono pre amp

Don from Minocqua, WI on 1/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-ject Phono Box DC

Mike S. from Bucks County, PA on 1/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased an Onkyo mini system and asked Crutchfield's advisor Jasan about hooking up my turntable to it. Jasan suggested the Pro-Ject Box and a cable for connection.; Easy hook up and works flawlessly now I can listen to my "records".

Pros: Good product.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Phono Box

HR from Framingham, MA on 11/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Box works exactly as expected. Delivery was right on time and the price was great. The sound of the albums now is excellent.

Pros: small, affordable.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box

HughR from Boston, MA on 10/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what i needed. Had my old turntables and old records and I did not have the time to convert records to CDs. Now I can play my records and enjoy them. Saved me lots of time and money! such a simple device!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-ject Phono box DC

dan H from hesperus, co on 9/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple to use, excellent quality

Pros: simple to use

Cons: None found

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cool

RichyFL from Florida on 7/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice little gadget. It replace a old RCA pre-amp I had. Easy to use and easy to set up. Now I can enjoy my vinyl!

Pros: Easy to set up and use.

Cons: None noticed.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Works well

HumboldtRick from Eureka, CA on 4/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed to integrate my old Denon turntable with my new HT system. Works well and looks good. The MM/MC switch is on the back which could be inconvenient in some situations, but isn't too much of an issue with me.

Pros: Works well Looks good

Cons: MM/MC switch are on the back of the unit

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Unused to preamps

Scott5350 from Indianapolis on 11/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first preamp. Seems to work great

Pros: East set up.

Cons: Unclear which mode to be in from documentation.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Great Value and quality

John P from La Quinta CA on 4/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Value Great Price Great Sound for my 40 plus year old Gerrard Lab 80 turntable. Exactly what I needed for my new sound system.

Pros: size, value, application all 5 star

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Great phono pre

Dw from NYC on 2/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

matched with the Debut turntable it sounds great.....super flat and sounds great. No complaints

Pros: simple set up

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Phono Preamp

John S from Blue Bell, PA on 12/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wanted to connect ~20 year old high quality turntable to new receiver without a phono input. Had a moving coil cartridge pick-up. Very easy to set up. Works great. No problems and you won't need the instructions. Volume output of pre-amp/receiver in phono mode matches comparable CD input.

Pros: offers moving coil and moving magnet pickup option. Easy to set up

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Missed my vinyl

PBDave from Pittsburgh, PA on 11/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Because of a move, major remodel and then purchase of my new Denon receiver with no phono input I hadn't listened to my albums for over 3 years. Kyle suggested the Pro-Ject Phono Box DC for the necessary preamplifier. It took minutes to connect and figure out how to operate my turntable with my Harmony One which is a miracle since I am techno-inept. I listened to album after album and was blown away by the sound through my ancient Klipsch Heresy speakers. All of the things vinyl nuts say about the fullness and warmth of sound were so evident I was truly a bit surprised. I never duplicated my albums with my CD collection s so I am having a literal blast (apologies to my townhouse neighbors) getting reacquainted.

Pros: Mindless installation even for techno-inept Clear, full, distortion-free sound from my vinyl

Cons: None I can think of

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Steve T from Leonardtown MD on 7/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and worked exactly as advertised. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

TOP