Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
552 421 081 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
552 421 081 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges (Black)

MFR # PhonoBox DC-BK

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges (Black)

MFR # PhonoBox DC-BK

73 reviews
View this product

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far I have not been able to get it to work, but I talked to someone there & monday he is sending me some info . he thinks I have my Receiver set wrong. I'm not good with all this stuff. Thank you jerry

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This phono preamp does exactly what it's supposed to do at a reasonable price. Using on a NAD C326BEE. Albums sound great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Rupert, ID on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Works great. Love the small size that makes it less conspicuous. Only thing I would like different is it to have a power switch on the unit to be able to turn it off when not in use.

Pros: Size. Easy install.

Cons: No power switch on unit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phono preamp.

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed this item for a 1973 Technics by Panasonic turntable. Back in business with the old LPs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

If you want your speakers away from turntable, turn to this...

Crutchfield customer from Media, PA on 9/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect and affordable option to be able to extend speakers away from Pro-ject Debut Carbon turntable.

Pros: Cables that come with the Pro-ject Debut Carbon turntable are far too short if you have a bigger space.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Elkin, NC on 9/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set-up.

Pros: Easy to use. Excellent manual.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 9/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little, no frills, pre-amp. It fit below all my wires behind my amp. As it happens, the turntable I was given had more issues than I was prepared to spend to fix it and I sent the pre-amp back to Crutchfield for a refund but it worked fine and was a perfect size for my needs.

Pros: Great size and really affordable

Cons: An on/off switch would have been nice as well as a gain control.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for. Hooked up my vintage turntable to this little pre-amp to the Sonos Play:5 line-in. Very good 'small' package pre-amp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

John from Klamath Falls, OR on 5/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great product I recommend it works the great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Good product

Dwight J. from Union Springs, AL on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly is small and doesn't take up much room.

Pros: Works percectly and is small and doesn't take up much room.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Very Nice Phono Box DC

Harold from Lynchburg, VA on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Project Phono Box DC works perfectly for me! I purchased a Bell'O turntable cabinet for Christmas and wanted to place it in another room from my Yamaha receiver(Crutchfield). After speaking with Charles F. and later Gage, they helped me decide to purchase this product and it works perfectly! The turntable is on the top shelf of the Bell'O and the signal goes through the Phono Box (moving magnetic) to a splitter where two other electronic players are also attached. Then the signals are transmitted 45 feet through through and around walls to reach the Yamaha amplifier. I was worried that the turntable sound would not be great due to the distance and would have a hum, BUT it sounds great and I am playing all of the old vinyl records plus the other two players sound good also. Since the Phono Box does not have an on/off switch, I have it, the turntable, and the other players connected to a power switch where I turn everything off when not in use!! Thanks Crutchfield, Charles, and Gage!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Turntable Taken Out Of MothBalls

DON from Bellmore, NY on 3/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Took My Micro Seki DD 35 out of mothballs after 25 years with MA 3005 Cartridge....Placed on MM Setting and Listened to Dark Side Of the Moon...Beatles Mono 2014 LP's... Frank Sinatra And Miles Davis LP's....Listened for 6 hours.....Well it's simply outstanding Phono pre Amp without investing big bucks! Listened to on Technics Tower Speakers and JVC Receiver....which are nothing over the top but still plays better than any CD for sure!!

Pros: Exceptional Change From Phono Plug On Receiver.....Clean And Smooth!

Cons: Get Ready To Spend 8 Albums Of Listening When You Hook It Up

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

I'm happy

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 3/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like a lot of people I am currently rediscovering vinyl. And like a lot of people I have a pretty nice receiver that has no phono input. So , no problem get a cheap preamp & plug it into any auxiliary input so you can play a record. Not so simple! There are a lot of choices out there & having a decent preamp does make a big difference, and yes you can overspend & get some of the ones that cost an exorbitant amount, but for now, just getting back into this hobby, this was a great compromise. Seems to be good quality build & sounds great . I'm happy!

Pros: Sounds great , easy set up, relatively inexpensive

Cons: No power switch ( always on )

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect set-up

Irene from Flourtown, PA on 3/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We worked with Jenny to come up with a solution to connect our turntable to our new receiver and this was exactly what we needed.

Pros: Easy set-up Works great Small component

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great phono stage

Crutchfield customer from Vernon Rockvl, CT on 2/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from rolls vp29 - a good stage but the project better! Perfect fit for my esprit dc TT also. Using currently with MM ortofon 2m red. Crutchfield super company!

Pros: Clean, full sound

Cons: No power button, but really not needed, just leave on!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-ject

David from Fallbrook, CA on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This phono pre-amp seemed flat and lifeless. Had some intermittent noise issues, too. It was returned...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 9 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Park Ridge, IL on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, sounds great! I really like the switch for either MM or MC cartridges.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fine piece of equipment

Vincent from Watsonville, CA on 12/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sturdy and well-built. Heavy. I was very surprised with how much improvement this gave me over using the phono input on my receiver. I'd been listening to records with a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Espirit for about a year now using the phono input on my budget receiver. Now that I hear the difference I realize what I've been missing and I can finally get the most out of my turntable. This single piece of equipment has given me the biggest boost in sound quality for my system. It's well worth the money.

Pros: Sturdy. Heavy. Solid. Great sound. Precise.

Cons: Doesn't come with an RCA cable, but I guess most people just have a collection of these anyway. Also, the power cable is just a little too short in my opinion. I guess this is only an issue if you have an awkward setup with outlets and power strips far away.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Barry from Mullica Hill, NJ on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with the Pro-Ject Carbon Esprit Turntable.

Pros: Great sound quality along with connected Pro-Ject Carbon Esprit Turntable.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sitting by the Christmas fire and drinking in some nice warm analog

Lee from New Brighton, MN on 12/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased second hand a Pro-ject Debut Carbon turntable and it came with a phono-preamp, but to my dismay, as I dropped the needle carefully upon the vinyl, there was no sweet music. I had to do some trouble shooting, though I am not very tech savvy, so I looked through the internet and found Crutchfield. I share my situation and within a day I had a response. I then took a chance and purchased the Pro-Ject phono Box D C. I have been enjoying vinyl again and it is this side of Coolsville. Mind you this is not a perfect phono preamp, but then again it cost $100.00 and I know that doesn't come close to buying the best preamp, but this performs to my needs in a beautifully analog way.

Pros: It works, that being said, it is a sturdy little performer that does just what it claims to do. Nothing more, nothing less.

Cons: I have heard a bit of a hiss through the speakers that is not present on any other components.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Small but powerful

Daniel from Sacramento, CA on 11/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this with the hope that it would sound Ok. Just a little something to up the signal and provide a connection. What I get is a little, heavy box that really reminds me of how analog vinyl should sound...CLEAR. No hum or hiss, just clean amplified playback. With my Blu-Rays the volume on my moderate Harmon/Kardon Amp is at a volume level at about -30 to -26. In comparison this phono box registers at about a -34. Very surprising transparent volume for analog, let alone a phono-line. Worth the money.

Pros: Clear audio. Great volume level. Heavier than you might think.

Cons: Adapter is a bit too short in length. No power switch.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from SSySylSylmSylmaSylmarSylmar,CCA on 10/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good preamp. Does what it is supposed to do. Compact and well built.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

What a Difference!

Steven from Oro Valley, AZ on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my first purchase from Crutchfield, and I couldn't be more pleased. Excellent value for the price. Preamp was easy to install, and once I tweaked the changes, audio never sounded better. My original 70's and 80's albums sound great again and new vinyl is incredible! A few details: Be sure to adjust the preamp to either MM or MC to match your cart. You'll know impedance is wrong if you hear a flat, dense sound. Also if your TT has a ground connection, connect to the preamp's ground to eliminate any hum or static. TT is a TEAC TN-400S with an upgraded Audio-Technica 440 MLB cart. Connected as a part of a Sonos system; TT to preamp to Connect Amp to Bowers and Wilkins CM 6 bookshelf speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Big sound in a little box!

Crutchfield customer from New Paltz, NY on 8/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've never owned a discrete phono preamp before - I'd always been using the one built into my Denon receiver. When I upgraded my receiver, I discovered that denon stopped including a phono input and grounding post so I had to buy one. I own a Pro-Ject record player so this seemed like the best fit. I've noticed a big upgrade in the sound quality of certain albums, especially newer pressings that aren't 180g. Some albums that used to have a harsh sizzle in the very top end have been completely cleaned up thanks to this preamp.

Pros: Great value for price, compact form factor, great sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, GA on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great. I can listen to my records again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wow

Gerald from Salem, VA on 5/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit because my Denon receiver did not have a phone input. Bought a similar unit from another supplier and had to send it back. Very tiny, thin music reproduction. This unit is terrific. Sound is full with depth. Terrific value for the price. Could not be happier. Should have gone to Crutchfield up front! Next time I will.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from La Quinta, CA on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! I have this going from my Sony PS-LX2 to my Marshall Stanmore speaker. Sounds like heaven. ;)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Paul from Maple Shade, NJ on 3/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent made product. Excellent service and delivery from crutchfield. Will continue to shop here

Pros: Quality made, easy setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value.

Michael from Lake City, FL on 3/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Back in the day, all decent receivers and integrated amplifiers/preamps had two phono inputs. Now, you are lucky to get one. I have two turntables, and was tired of switching cables to share one phono input. I purchased the ProJect, not expecting too much given its price point, plugged it into the Aux input of my integrated amplifier, and tested it with both a monophonic Audio Technica AT3/LP high output moving coil, and a low output Denon DL103 (using the MC feature). No hum, great sound. I can highly recommend this inexpensive little box. As always, Crutchfield sent the item within two days. These people are great to deal with, and I am happy to buy from them.

Pros: Inexpensive to buy. Expensive sounding.

Cons: Nothing, really.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Paired well with my Dual 1019

Chris from Raleigh, NC on 3/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compact size at a good price for the quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Clio, MI on 3/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised, can tell the difference between the stock amp in my AT 120 then the stock amp also gives me more flexibility.

Pros: Better sound.

Cons: Only wish it had a gain control .

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Advice; Great Product

DENNIS J from Hackensack, NJ on 3/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was using my A/V sound system with a new turntable using an older, cheaper preamp. The sound quality was awful and there was a noticeable hum even though the turntable was grounded. I was going to purchase powered speakers that included a phono preamp. Crutchfield advisor, Eddie, instead suggested trying this Pro-Ject preamp. This saved me $400 in addition to needing to find good speaker placement alongside the 5.1 system speakers. It is a perfect solution. The sound quality is excellent and there is no hum. This is an extremely well-made product. Solid and surprisingly heavy. Beautifully packed and effortless to setup. I'm really happy with the quality of the Pro Ject Phono Box.

Pros: Quality, Functionality, Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Earl from Ontario, CA on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small. Easy to hook up. Works like a charm and I can play my LP's again with the new receiver my son bought us. Sony said I couldn't. Crutchfield said "yes you can"! Thanks

Pros: Everything

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great buy

DENNIS from Rogers, AR on 1/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Works like it should

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from N Cambria, PA on 12/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook-up and does what it's supposed to do. It's just fine. And service was great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, VA on 11/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

thank you

mike from Pt Charlotte, FL on 11/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

needed a different pre-amp and again-great advise and fast service. looking forward to some more preview time with this new set up.

Pros: great performance with small foot print

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Cameron, NC on 10/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a pre-amp to get the sound out of my turntable. This box is perfect. Easy to set up and works like a charm.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Warren from Allentown, PA on 9/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, was easy to install and setup.

Pros: I can play all my old records again.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Able to Play Vinyl Again!

Walter from Libertyville, IL on 8/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit at a great price. Can't remember when I last used my Sherwood turntable before purchasing this unit. Super easy to set up. Enjoying the vinyl I haven't listened to in years

Pros: Small, easy to set up, great price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Can't beat good advice

Paul from Manchester,NH on 8/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Big thanks to advisor Spencer for recommending this unit. My Denton rec. Had no phono hook up and I had an old but usable turntable and this unit made the connection possible. Now my lp' s are playing again.

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great solution for older turntables

NESTOR from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 8/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little unit. Great price. Compact and super easy set up. My old Kenwood turntable was producing music as soon as installation was complete. Install instructions are clear. No buttons to turn on/off, no buttons or switches at all.

Pros: Price Easy installation Compact Black blends in with other components

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple to use & excellent quality.

Bob from Indiana on 8/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like it should. Simple to use and excellent quality.

Pros: Works like it should. Simple to use and excellent quality.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject PhonoBox DC (BK)

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 6/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good

Pros: Loved

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Bondville, VT on 6/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great companion to the Project Debut Carbon turntable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 6/15/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to be working just fine. I like the fact that this has the ability to switch from MM to MC at any time in case of an upgrade or something. Reasonable price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great vinyl sound!

Frank from Munster, IN on 6/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality sound, easy to hook up.

Pros: Excellent sound at an affordable price!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Crutchfield customer from Fargo, ND on 4/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound,easy installation,no distortion.Fast delivery,very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

David from Providence, RI on 4/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little preamp! Since I now use a Sonos Connect and B&O active speakers, I have eliminated my integrated amp using this and a $20 switch box. The Sonos box already eliminated my tuner.

Pros: Great price performer. Works with both MM & MC.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

My record collection comes alive again!

Pete from Phoenix, AZ on 4/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am happy to report that my Pro-Ject Phono Box DC arrived very promptly from Crutchfield and I was able to install it very easily. My Marantz SR 6004 stereo receiver has no phono input jacks and so this Pro-Ject Phono Box absolutely "fills the bill" allowing me to once more access and play my LP record collection, allowing me to hook-up my turntable to my Marantz receiver. I played several records on my turntable, hooked up to the Pro-Ject Phono Box DC, and they sounded terrific through my Marantz and main family speaker system. I'm delighted with this Pro-Ject Phono Box and would recommend it highly to anyone in my similar situation. Also, the moderate price is another big plus. Kudos to Crutchfield for carrying this really fine home audio product.

Pros: Compact size, easy hook-up, great sound from my records, and moderate price.

Cons: None at all!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy as pie

Peter from Alameda, CA on 1/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is very simple to connect. Turntable to preamp, preamp to receiver, plug into AC outlet. Done. They should make everything this simple. Can't compare how well this works as compared with other preamps, but no problems with this one.

Pros: Simple to connect

Cons: An expensive addition if you are buying a new receiver that doesn't have a phono preamp built in.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

John from Conifer, CO on 1/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This provided a great way to add add my '80's Pioneer turntable to my Adcom GFP-750 preamp that lacked a phono preamp. It supports MM and MC cartridges and is small enough to sit on the shelf behind the Adcom.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy install, works well.

Kurt from St Augustine, FL on 11/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. Easy to hook-up, and it's small enough to hide w/o too much trouble.

Pros: Neat and clean, well made.

Cons: No on/off switch to conserve energy or indicator to let you know when it's powered up. Not a big deal, but add in a house full of low voltage consumers and it becomes an issue over time. Still would have bought it, though.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Project Phono Box DC

Rod from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this after buying a new AVR that had no phono input stage. The Pro-ject Phono Box allowed me to continue to listen to my vinyl on my Rega turntable and sounds great. Just connected it to an unused analog input on my receiver and it sounds incredible. Highly recommended!

Pros: Ease of use. Price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Small & mighty

Chris from BROOKLYN NY on 5/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality little brick of a phono amp. Works great with my vintage Technics by Panasonic 1300 TT.

Pros: No lights, 2 cartridge phase choices.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Foundations

Jimmy from Tifton, GA on 4/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Basic building brick piece for stereo. Dead quite with a small footprint. Drop dead easy setup. Everything you would think a brand matched power supply should be, which means this is the last time I will ever think about it.

Pros: Small, black

Cons: Does not come with ice maker

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Just what the doctor ordered!

Steven M. Dembow from Merrimack, NH on 3/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The perfect solution to mating an older ProJect analog turntable to a current Pioneer AVR - worked like a charm!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

EASY SOLUTION

CRAIG T from johns island, SC on 2/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very easy solution for my problem of hooking up my 1970's audio turntable to my 2012 AV receiver. The Crutchfield people were an amazing resource too!

Pros: Very easy and small convenient size.

Cons: Haven't found any yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box

Dan from Cincinnati, OH on 2/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this item about 2 weeks ago and I hooked it up no problem. The sound quality is excellent from my turntable to my speakers. Highly recommend this product.

Pros: Very easy setup Cost

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Howard from Kansas on 2/15/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product provides the necessary requirements for any turntable . When matched with a recently purchased Pro-Ject Debut Carbon (DC) turntable they make a great pair . Very easy hook up and great sound and clarity.

Pros: Excellent product and a very reliable brand.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Phono pre amp

Don from Minocqua, WI on 1/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-ject Phono Box DC

Mike S. from Bucks County, PA on 1/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased an Onkyo mini system and asked Crutchfield's advisor Jasan about hooking up my turntable to it. Jasan suggested the Pro-Ject Box and a cable for connection.; Easy hook up and works flawlessly now I can listen to my "records".

Pros: Good product.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Phono Box

HR from Framingham, MA on 11/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Box works exactly as expected. Delivery was right on time and the price was great. The sound of the albums now is excellent.

Pros: small, affordable.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box

HughR from Boston, MA on 10/18/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what i needed. Had my old turntables and old records and I did not have the time to convert records to CDs. Now I can play my records and enjoy them. Saved me lots of time and money! such a simple device!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-ject Phono box DC

dan H from hesperus, co on 9/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple to use, excellent quality

Pros: simple to use

Cons: None found

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cool

RichyFL from Florida on 7/20/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice little gadget. It replace a old RCA pre-amp I had. Easy to use and easy to set up. Now I can enjoy my vinyl!

Pros: Easy to set up and use.

Cons: None noticed.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Works well

HumboldtRick from Eureka, CA on 4/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed to integrate my old Denon turntable with my new HT system. Works well and looks good. The MM/MC switch is on the back which could be inconvenient in some situations, but isn't too much of an issue with me.

Pros: Works well Looks good

Cons: MM/MC switch are on the back of the unit

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Unused to preamps

Scott5350 from Indianapolis on 11/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first preamp. Seems to work great

Pros: East set up.

Cons: Unclear which mode to be in from documentation.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Great Value and quality

John P from La Quinta CA on 4/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Value Great Price Great Sound for my 40 plus year old Gerrard Lab 80 turntable. Exactly what I needed for my new sound system.

Pros: size, value, application all 5 star

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Great phono pre

Dw from NYC on 2/16/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

matched with the Debut turntable it sounds great.....super flat and sounds great. No complaints

Pros: simple set up

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Phono Preamp

John S from Blue Bell, PA on 12/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wanted to connect ~20 year old high quality turntable to new receiver without a phono input. Had a moving coil cartridge pick-up. Very easy to set up. Works great. No problems and you won't need the instructions. Volume output of pre-amp/receiver in phono mode matches comparable CD input.

Pros: offers moving coil and moving magnet pickup option. Easy to set up

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Missed my vinyl

PBDave from Pittsburgh, PA on 11/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Because of a move, major remodel and then purchase of my new Denon receiver with no phono input I hadn't listened to my albums for over 3 years. Kyle suggested the Pro-Ject Phono Box DC for the necessary preamplifier. It took minutes to connect and figure out how to operate my turntable with my Harmony One which is a miracle since I am techno-inept. I listened to album after album and was blown away by the sound through my ancient Klipsch Heresy speakers. All of the things vinyl nuts say about the fullness and warmth of sound were so evident I was truly a bit surprised. I never duplicated my albums with my CD collection s so I am having a literal blast (apologies to my townhouse neighbors) getting reacquainted.

Pros: Mindless installation even for techno-inept Clear, full, distortion-free sound from my vinyl

Cons: None I can think of

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box DC

Steve T from Leonardtown MD on 7/5/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and worked exactly as advertised. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 8 found this helpful

TOP