Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet cartridges

MFR # PhonoBox MM-BK

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet cartridges

MFR # PhonoBox MM-BK

107 reviews
View this product

Not prepared for the difference

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 11/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgrading from a cheaper box i had purchased several years ago. I was not prepared for how much better my Vinyls sound. Volume increase as well as fully sound. Should have upgraded long ago.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Helen, GA on 10/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome and super functional for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pre amp

Crutchfield customer from Signal Hill, CA on 10/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great pre amp for my vintage Fisher Studio Direct Drive TT

Pros: Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does it's job

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a Preamp for a new turntable. It does its job well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 5/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up and decent sound. Obviously not audiophile grade, but good enough for a starter set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cleaning Up

Crutchfield customer from Avondale Est, GA on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It didn't boost the volume like I hoped it would but it definitely cleaned it up! Great companion for my Pro-Ject turntable...which I also bought from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality products

Crutchfield customer from Cheltenham, PA on 5/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

t

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 4/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just purchased a pro tec turntable from crutchfield. It has a built in pre amp. Hooked it up to a Yamaha receiver and yamo studio speaks and wow. Fantastic. Just not much volume. Got in touch with Simon and he said to try the phono box. Also a pro ject product. Unreal. Totally unreal. The sound is absolutely spot on. I am hearing things on albums I have had for years. One in particular is pink floyd, dark side of the moon. I got this album at fort knox when I was in basic training. I been out 47 years. Like I said, hearing things I never heard. I don't mean scratches either. Wow. Get you one. NOW

Pros: Thanks Simon

Cons: Aint none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Pittsfield, MA on 4/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wanted a little boost for my Technics Sl-Q350. This did the job perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Bothell, WA on 4/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a analog turntable and a sizeable collection of long playing record albums...I am an old school audiophile. My old surround sound receiver had plugs for a turntable but the newer units do not...so I needed a pre-amplifier. This unit was very basic and reasonably priced. It was a no brainer to hookup and works like it was designed...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great buy!

Mark K from Louisville, KY on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This preamp sounds fantastic with my RT-82. Best preamp under 100 bucks. I absolutely love it.

Pros: Small size Superb sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from San Marcos, CA on 1/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised. I have no reference for comparison, but works as advertised. I have a pro-ject t1 hooked up to an old Pioneer vsx elite receiver and it sounds great. I am using the ground screw on this unit to ground the turntable and the sound is crystal clear with no unwanted noise.

Pros: Great sound, works as advertised

Cons: None in my opinion

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, MD on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Give the extra power needed and compact

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pre amp functioned but did not achieve the goal I was hoping which was more volume/db's it is no louder than my turntables built in pre amp? So unfortunately zero benefit in my case.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/26/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your preamp. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 3 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gives me the volume and clarity I expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 1/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got me up and running with my new Debut Carbon Evo. Nice!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Whitmore Lake, MI on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and works as expected. An improvement to my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Unbelievable sound

Crutchfield customer from Gig Harbor, WA on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOWSERS! I replaced a PYLE preamp that started making a little background noise and I couldn't believe what I had been missing for years! This preamp is crisp and deep. My vinyl never sounded better.

Pros: Small package. Easy to hook-up and hide.

Cons: No power switch.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Phono preamp

Crutchfield customer from Dunkirk, MD on 1/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed to allow me to use a great garage sale turntable with my existing system. High quality product at a low cost.

Pros: Simple, low cost, gets the job done.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Huntingdon, PA on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup. Works like it should. Got my 1970 original turntable working with new Bluetooth equipment beautifully. Recommend

Pros: Small. Easy to hide and easy to get hooked up to other components.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

James from DENVER, CO on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Back right before Covid, a friend hooked me up with a newer Yamaha receiver to which I was so excited, I didnt even realize it did not have a phono preamp. I also cant believe how nice my friends have been over the years for never complaining about my apparent noise coming from my turntable (which was lack of ground). I have never heard my records sounds so good.

Pros: small, compact, powerful

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Mundelein, IL on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Phono Box MM worked perfectly. Great volume and sound from my vintage Marantz system. Thank you, Ace, listening to my problem and then arriving at this great solution.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 11/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not help the problem that I had.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/23/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your preamp. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 3 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Bridgton, ME on 11/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The perfect pre-amp for my Pro-Ject turn table

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent!

James K. from Clearwater, Fla. on 10/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with my Technics 1210 turntable. Makes my LP's sound brighter! Listening to "Its all too much" (Beatles) Fantastic!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Quincy, IL on 9/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am very pleased with what I purchased. Always good service.

Pros: It served its purpose.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great bridging old with new!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Rcho Sta Marg, CA on 6/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as described.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works with my Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Great Neck, NY on 6/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with my Denon AVR-S900W receiver.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Small Package with Power

Crutchfield customer from Capo Beach, CA on 5/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The phono preamp is compact and well priced

Pros: Very compact and serves the purpose.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 5/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to connect turntable to my older Denon receiver. Works exactly as stated.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Roseville, MN on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked as advertised. Speedy delivery, right to the door.

Pros: simple hook up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Anniston, AL on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well, the difference in sound was incredible. Enjoy playing my albums even more. Does a good job for an item at this price point and the service from Crutchfield is bar none.

Pros: Great product.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Phono Box resolved me satisfactorily

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 3/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pro-Ject Phono Box MM has reasonably improved the signal from the turntable to the receiver. Notice the difference in bass signal. Without the Phono Box MM, I had to equalize the bass, and sometimes without satisfaction. Now with the Phono Box MM solved the problem

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Phono Box

Crutchfield customer from Woodinville, WA on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good buy

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 2/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works as expected and delivery was fast.

Pros: Easy to setup

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Riverton, CT on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced an existing phono amp with the Pro-Ject Box MM. Unbelievable sound quality with no hum. My old vinyl records sound great. Easy plug and play and took up very little space. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pre-Amp for my Turntable Output

Crutchfield customer from North Andover, MA on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked great for amplifying my old Technics turntable output to a standard receiver input. The receiver I had did not have a phono input, thus the need for the pre-amp. This box was a breeze to set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Putting 1975 BIC-980 turntable back to work!

Crutchfield customer from Gretna, NE on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works. Needed a preamp to hookup old turntable to newer receiver (which doesn't have a phono input). Didn't have to spend hundreds of dollars!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Clean Power With Plenty Of Headroom

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 12/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great, clean power that doesn't distort and has plenty of head room.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Geezer and vinyl

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 11/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I thought the problem in my sound system was going to require surgery. I did not want to open up the amplifier and remove a malfunctioning RCA port just to find out that I was on the wrong path. I purchased the preamp to boost the phono signal so I could enjoy listening to my 2000 vinyl records. I plugged in the preamp to my turntable (Bang and Olufsen) then plugged in the preamp to an unused audio port, and voila, I have beautiful music.

Pros: Five thumbs up!

Cons: Why didn't I do this sooner?

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 11/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 10/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear and concise documentation, works as advertised!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dust off those record albums!

Crutchfield customer from Harris, NY on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This turntable preamp (under $100) is what you need considering a preamp is no longer included in many home theater receivers. The Phono Box is easy to hook up. You will need two sets of two audio cables (RCA type). Played the Beatles Second Album and the sound was crystal clear. Would have given it five stars except there is no on/off switch. You have to unplug the power supply to turn it off.

Pros: great sound, great price

Cons: no on/off switch

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great pre-amp!

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pro-Ject preamp is much better than I thought it could be. It is night and day from the built in preamp on my old turntable and works even better with our new Pro-ject turntable. supper easy to set up and is small enough to hide behind my receiver. It is also made very well, no cheap plastic here!

Pros: Works great, made very well, price is great!

Cons: none!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Project preamp

Donda from Science Hill, KY on 3/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this Project preamp a few weeks ago,easy install and was anxious to drop the needle I experienced a deeper base and clarity from the midrange,I would recommend this to everyone needing a preamp.

Pros: Excellent performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Very functional!

Dan from Stephens City, VA on 3/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device recommended by Nemo does what he said it would. It's well built and carried a small footprint in the system.

Pros: Small, well built, works perfectly.

Cons: Wish it had another set of inputs for another device.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound

Marco from Florissant, MO on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good no feedback or hum interfering with the sound. Easy to set up and the packaging is amazing

Pros: Easy to set up and install.

Cons: None that I can find.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Martin from Gowanda, NY on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The phono box works great, it is so nice to be able to listen to my old albums again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Greg from Thurmont, MD on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros: Ease of use. Quality build

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great sound

ben from Tolland, CT on 1/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the new sony receivers do not come with a phono input so i needed this to listen to my vinyl. the crutchfield advisor went above and beyond in helping me pick out this phono pre amp. i wasn't sure what kind of cartridge i had in my old turntable and crutchfield was able to look up the model number on an 30 year old turntable and found the manual and emailed me a copy too! i hooked up the pre amp to the video input on my sony 1080 receiver and the turntable output and ground wire to the pre amp. the sound is fantastic! there is no audible hum or static just whisper quiet until i drop the needle. it works great. perfect for any receiver missing the phono input.

Pros: relatively inexpensive, sound, easy hook up, awesome crutchfield help

Cons: non whatsoever

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Highland, IN on 12/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome sound, no humming, popping or any feedback. I am running the turntable through 2 sets of Bose speakers and two powered sub woofers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

noticeable improvement

Trevor from Yuba City, CA on 11/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wasn't sure if a phono preamp in this price range would be an improvement over the one built into my old receiver but it turned out to be a big improvement. Everything about the sound is a good step up.

Pros: better lows and crisper highs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Pre Amp

Christ from Terre Haute, IN on 10/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well designed. Easy to install. Small but powerful. No feedback or hum. Just a great pre amp !

Pros: Ease of use. Size . No distortion.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Andres from San Diego, CA on 8/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first phono preamp. Seems to work great. Only can compare it to the Denon receiver built-in PHONO preamp as my HK receiver has no built-in preamp; hence this purchase. I had Denon's high-end receiver, 4520, and this preamp makes the one in the Denon seem like absolute junk. Maybe appropriate for a $200 receiver, but out of place for a receiver costing a thousand or thousands. I've come to this conclusion because this box isn't very expensive, yet works great, and the way a phono preamp should work.

Pros: Works exactly as intended, and makes vinyl records sound good.

Cons: You need 2 sets of RCA cables.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great pre amp

Pete from North Bergen, NJ on 8/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic fast service at a decent price - the product did exactly what it was supposed to do - great website which made me feel comfortable should i have needed assistance.

Pros: works great as promised

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Union City, TN on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked good...saved me from buying a new turntable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Canandaigua, NY on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to set up, works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Glen Carbon, IL on 5/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered this Phono Pre-amp to listen to my old records on my current Receiver. It works great and sounds great as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro ject preamp helped save an old system.

Artie from Patterson, NY on 5/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My daughter has been bitten by the vinyl bug. I decided to set up an old system of mine from the late seventies in her bedroom. I had an old SAE 50wpc power amp and a Nikki pre-amp and technics automatic turntable not being used for years stored in the basement. After setting everything up, I discovered that the phono section of the preamp had a bad right channel. I decided to purchase the Pro ject phono preamp and run it through the Nikko's aux. input to bypass my preamps phono stage. Everything worked perfectly, the Pro ject provided a clean signal with no added noise, and the turntable grounded to it with absolutely no hum. My only problem now is my daughter "borrowing" my records. Actually that doesn't bother me at all , I'm glad to see her appreciating good music on a good format for a change!!

Pros: Small size,no noise introduced to system.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from San Mateo, CA on 5/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excelent audio reproduction. It does not clip loud passages. Uses almost no power. Connected to linear tracking rurntable with mm cartridge, Sony STRN 1080.

Pros: Accurate, Excelent dynamic range, very low power consumption.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Enhanced vinly fidelity in a box!

Christopher from Bronx, NY on 4/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pro-ject phono box MM gave good boost, smoothness and clarity to my receiver and turntable. The receiver already had a phono input, but I was not happy with it's out put. The phono box pre amp gave it a much improved lift of sound fidelity to my vinyl. I was happy to see that I was not the only one who bought the phono box even though I already had access to a phono input in my receiver. I was about to get a whole new turntable. It was recommended that I try this first and the results were quite satisfying. Thank you Crtutchfield! I am so happy with the quality of suggestions I get from your team of audio technicia

Pros: Audio improvement - smooth, clear and improved power out put.

Cons: Takes up a set of RCA outputs - worth it though. No on and off switch which leaves you wondering if you should unplug it after each use or if it turns off when you power down your turntable. But the improvement = 5 stars for me anyway.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 2/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly. was able to connect turn table to new Bose wave system to listen to old favorite vinyl records.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Moghanaki from Burlington, NJ on 1/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Worked flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

John from Alamogordo, NM on 12/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works as designed. I did need to purchase the ground wire to eliminate the hum. For the price, I think they could have included a 4' ground wire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 14 found this helpful

Decent unit for price

John from Clarkston, MI on 12/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as described and expected. Decent product for older turntable and newer stereo equip.

Pros: Easy to use and setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Iain from Yucca Valley, CA on 10/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As usual prompt service got it two days later easy to hook up only problem is no connecting cables from the box out to my receiver didn't realize till I got it home then had to go buy cables all in all sounds great makes my turntable work with my new receiver awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Au Gres, MI on 10/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't sure how I was going to play my records until contacting Crutchfield and talking to a pro who directed me to what I needed. Now, I'm listening to records I haven't heard in awhile. Thanks guys!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy

Eugene from Boston on 9/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to connect.

Pros: Works fine.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Lockport, NY on 8/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy setup vinyl records sound amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice to hear the smooth sound of vinyl again.

Joseph from Lexington Park, MD on 7/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect. After some careful thought I decided not to get rid of my collection of vinyl. I had replaced most of my 33-1/3s with CDs but not all. After 15 years or so I dusted off my old Pioneer turn table and fired it up. To my surprise my current Pioneer VSX-D711 amp does not have a phono input. Of course the next step was to visit Crutchfield.com. As usual I found exactly what I needed. A phono preamp. I believe it was delivered the next evening. You can't beat that.

Pros: It's what I needed. Compact unit that doesn't take up a lot of space.

Cons: There are none.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Rich from East Amherst, NY on 6/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy setup. Vintage vinyl LPs sound great.

Pros: Easy setup, great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Tracy from Greensboro, NC on 5/2/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Listening to my vinyl again! Does the job as advertised. I am not an audiophile so it sounds great to me :-).

Pros:

Cons: So far none.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Turntable add on

Phillip from Genoa City, WI on 4/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This phono box works great! The Crutchfield website was so easy to use and the suggestions were very helpful such as the one for this phono box. My stereo system I recently purchased sounds amazing and I will be buying more and recommending more from Crutchfield. Thanks!!!

Pros: Easy to buy. Easy to hook up. Sounds great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Pasadena, CA on 4/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job. Well constructed and easy to set up.

Pros: Sturdy, small and easy to set up.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Pawlet, VT on 4/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made a big difference in the sound of my turntable. simple to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Oshkosh, WI on 3/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid. Does what it's supposed to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

jason from South Lake Tahoe, CA on 3/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed just a bit more than the preamp built into my turntable provided, this unit did the job perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from SHELTON CT on 2/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

DOES THE JOB

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Guest from Bridgeport, CT on 12/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This guy does exactly what he says he'll do, so no complaints there. I wish he had a bit more punch, but perhaps that's a product of my daisychained turntable to old Bose wave radio set up. Probably, it is. On the front side, crutchfield yet again nails the service, advice, shipping, etc. fantastic five star company.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, NC on 10/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

with all of the technology available, it would be wishful thinking for a preamp to alert you that your turntable isn't compatible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 24 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box

rick from Nashville, Tn on 7/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked great right out the box,!

Pros: easy in/out ...basic operation just like a phonograph player: turn it on and let the music begin!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Bill from Cleveland, OH on 7/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Performs as expected.

Pros: All

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Value

bcarroll from Atlanta, GA on 6/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought for my daughter to use with her new Yamaha Adventage receiver, and Monitor Audio S1 speakers. Turntable is an old A-T Linear Track SL5, cartridge is an A-t an A-T P-Mount AT-331LP. Sound is good thought the phono pre, actually, better than I expected for the price (open box). Not as refined as the Cambridge Audio 651, but hey, that's twice the price. All in all, a good option for a low cost Phono pre. I would recommend it to anyone looking to move up from a built-in phono pre for the price.

Pros: Good Sound, easy installation, Open Box saves even more.

Cons: None at this price.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Project phono box MM

Phil from Opelousas on 5/25/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it is supposed to do without a footprint of it's own

Pros: Small. Easy setup. Solid.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Sonora, CA on 5/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what it said it would be good price good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just what I needed.

Charlie from Lexington, KY on 5/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Strait forward setup. Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box MM

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, TX on 5/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does exactly what its suppose to do without vacuum tubes and high price. Ta-da.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Phono Preamp

David from omaha, NE on 3/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to go with a new Pro-Ject turntable. Assumed my amp. had a phono stage, but it didn't. Didn't want to spend a lot, but didn't want junk either. This unit fits the bill perfectly. Performs great. This unit was $99, but it can be found for less. Completely satisfied.

Pros: Quality, performance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

So-so performance

Thomas from spokane, WA on 3/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own a Yamaha R-S700 receiver with which I'm very happy. I thought I could bump the performance of the phono stage a bit with this product. Although the preamp did increase the volume slightly, the quality of sound/fidelity was noticeably worse. I suppose I could spend more on a different/better preamp, but I"m happy with what I have, knowing what I know now.

Pros: Slightly increased volume.

Cons: Degradation of sound quality.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

Exactly what I needed and expected

Jack from Illinois on 10/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a turntable to use both as a devise to transfer vinyl recording to digital format and for playback connected to a receiver, unfortunately the info regarding the turntable did not mention that it did not have a built in preamp. This amp provided the perfect solution - small, easy to hookup and a good price.

Pros: Small size fits easily with my system, quick and easy to install and price didn't break the budget.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value. Great sound.

Eric from Arizona on 8/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product performs as stated. Great price point. I can now listen to some of my old favorite albums as they were intended.

Pros: Small, easy to set up. Easy to hide behind system.

Cons: Should have purchased this a long time ago.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

As Advertised

David G from Nebraska on 7/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The phono preamp was exactly as described and functions perfectly. Delivery time was good, very good sale in my opinion. I'm a satisfied customer.

Pros: As described on website, quick delivery.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job

ComposerD from Florida on 7/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice, simple box. Does what it's supposed to do. Not too exciting, but, it's not supposed to.

Pros: Does the job. Very compact.

Cons: Not much excitement.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love It

Great little amp from Los Angeles, CA on 6/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my first phono pre-amp. Sounds great, easy setup. Pairs well with my Pro-ject Debut Carbon. No problems with hum, since i connected the turntable ground to the amplifier ground.

Pros: Easy to use, economical choice for debut carbon owners. Good sound.

Cons: No Support for moving coil cartridges.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

phone preamp

thepearl from Basking Ridge, NJ on 6/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was exactly what I needed for my vintage Dual 1245. My new receiver did not have the phono inputs like my old Akai did. The unit is simple, without any need for me to access it regularly and without a large price tag.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

nice little product

gary m from lake grove n.y on 5/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After getting a new av receiver I new I needed this product to play my vinyl albums. It was simple to connect and so far so good. small enough to hide.

Pros: compact size. good performance.

Cons: nothing bad about the pro-ject, but its a shame you must go out to purchase additional amp to play old phono's on todays new receivers. vinyl is still great to play and has superior sound quality over cd's.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Upgrade with this unit

Bill B from Tampa Bay, FL on 1/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've found the phono stages on modern receivers to be weak (not nearly as loud as the other input signals) and even though my present receiver has a phono input I figured the Phono Box would be an upgrade over what was in the receiver, and for the price, why not give it a shot. It was a definite improvement in signal strength. My turntable is the Project Debut III and it is a perfect match. If you decide to do this upgrade do not plug it in to the receiver's phono jack, plug it in to the DVD, Aux, Cable, Tape input, etc. As usual Axel my Crutchfield rep was great.

Pros: Improves signal quality and strength

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Phono Pre-Amp

JPOSBORN from Dunellen, NJ on 1/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been searching for a reasonably priced AV receiver which included a phono pre-amp. Yes, I actually do still play my vinyl. Much to my disappointment there are few, if any, offerings. It was suggested that I consider an outboard photo preamp and the Pro-Ject was selected. The device works perfectly and provides appropriate RCA in and out jacks, a phono ground and power connection. It is solid, with a metal case and appears to be well constructed. The attractive thing is its size; it is a small unit which I was very easily able to tuck into my cabinet, behind the receiver and out of sight. There are no controls on the unit, so there is no need for access. It was also reasonably priced. The Pro-Ject that I selected is for moving magnet cartridges, but I saw other options for those who use moving coil, or want both.

Pros: Simple, solid design. Size. Price.

Cons: None that I could identify

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Excellent!

RonL from Philadelphia, PA on 12/3/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best money I've spent in a long time! The unit is compact (I keep it on a shelf behind the CDs) and extremely easy to hook up. More important - and I am thrilled by this - it has enhanced the sound of my LPs and I'm talking late 60s, early 70s recordings: Beatles, Dan Hicks and the Hot Licks as well as Maria Callas and Glenn Gould! I'd recommend not thinking twice about this product. I trust you'll be as delighted as I am. Happy Listening! As always, great service from the Crutchfield folks.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Best bang for the buck

GI from San Juan, PR on 7/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product! It exceeds its price range. Sturdy build. Greatly improved the sound of my system.

Pros: Great sound at a reasonable price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Phono Pre Amp

rklmj59@cox.net from Green Valley, AZ on 7/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A snap to hook-up and it works perfectly.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Lacks an on/off switch

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Pro- Ject Phono Box

Dan R from Cincinnati, OH on 6/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product; hookup a piece of cake; works flawlessly with my Onkyo 414 and turntable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

works great and good value

bigboy kenny from pensacola on 6/18/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up and records sound as great as i remember.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Turn Table Preamp

Crutchfield customer from Augusta Ga. on 7/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service and prompt delivery. Just what I expected from Crutchfield ! Thanks, JPB

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 19 found this helpful

TOP