Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
220 916 172 3
Connect ID #
220 916 172 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pro-Ject Phono Box S2

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges (Black)

MFR # PhonoBoxS2-BK

Pro-Ject Phono Box S2

Pro-Ject Phono Box S2

Phono preamplifier for moving magnet and moving coil cartridges (Black)

MFR # PhonoBoxS2-BK

16 reviews
View this product

Pro-Ject Phono Box S2

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 4/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice pre amp at this price point. Always appreciate Crutchfields customer service and tech support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box S2

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

would like a better manual

Crutchfield customer from Batavia, OH on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm giving this product only four stars because the lack of information for different stylist configurations. One Ortofon MM and two MC setups and that is it. It would be nice if there were more detailed capacitance (pF) from what is available. I went to Pro-ject website and could not find any for the stylus cartridge I'm using. My cartridge suggest a capacitance setting from 150-300pF and the S2 jumps from 100pF,-200pF to 320pF which I had to settle for 200pF doesn't allow me to test for the best sound. The positives - very clean phono preamp you need to be mindful of the gain settings I've noticed at 43db the S2 picks up every imperfection on the vinyl so I had to drop it down to 40db for Moving Magnet stylus I would not go higher than 43db. Another positive the music reproduction is awesome very clean with emphasis in the higher frequency ranges. Mids sound solid as well. Bass is not bad can get a bit boomy but they provide the subsonic filter on the back which you simply press the button which should remove the boomy lower end. I have not yet tried this feature. To conclude, I recommend the S2 for a phono preamp it will beat anything built into you receiver or A/V receiver

Pros: Sound reproduction

Cons: Lack of support for a wider amount of MM stylus Configurations

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect addition to a turntable.

Crutchfield customer from Shelbyville, KY on 1/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good Value for Money. Made a decided Improvement in Sound Quality. It passed the most difficult test of any piece of audio/video gear - the Spouse test. She said it made a huge difference in Sound Quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great preamp - do your own settings calculation

Crutchfield customer from Medina, OH on 1/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful clean sound. Dropped the floor on my Denon turntable and opened up the sound nicely. Great little package too and super quick setup. I recommend calculating the gain and finding the impedence for your cartridge and matching to the preamp settings available as the suggested settings in the manual were not 100% optimized

Pros: Fantastic sound, great construction, easy setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box S2

Crutchfield customer from Midland, MI on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, as advertised.

Pros: On/Off switch, will work with many cartridges, ease of use, nice looking finish, came packaged neatly

Cons: Printed manual a bit sparse but lots of help on-line.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does just what it's supposed to!

Greg from Richlands VA on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I play my vinyl through a Yamaha A-S801 amp with Polk tower speakers, a Fluance turntable and Audio-Technica VMN-20EB cartridge. Although I was happy with my setup, I wondered if spending just a bit more for a phono pre-amp would appreciably improve the sound I was getting through the Yamaha pre-. The minute I plugged in the S2, I could tell the difference. Even with the factory settings, the bass was tighter, the highs were higher, and turntable was quieter. The major difference, though, was in the depth of the soundstage. This box offers excellent separation, which for me means better imaging and that more pronounced "3-D" effect that makes good stereo so enjoyable. Thanks, Pro-Ject and Crutchfield, for offering such a simple tweak that has made listening to my records even more fun. I wouldn't say this is a drawback exactly, but the enhanced detail the S2 brings to my records does sometimes make the variations in mixing and mastering easier to hear. My AT cartridge is a little bright, and on some records I have to dial down the treble just a bit to avoid harshness--particularly in some electric guitar leads. But at least the highs are there--I couldn't tweak them if my setup wasn't producing them!

Pros: Easy plug-and-play improvement to my vinyl; reasonably priced; very small footprint

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Preamp for a MC Phono Cartridge

Crutchfield customer from Williamston, MI on 12/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a preamp for a MC phono cartridge. Ended up bypassing the preamp in my integrated amplifier all together and what an improvement in sound. I didn't think there would be, so I sure was surprised. Great little preamp at a good price.

Pros: Small, reasonable cost

Cons: None, should have done it sooner!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great phono stage

Miguel from SAN YSIDRO, CA on 11/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was hesitate to buy another Pro-Ject product after owning the Debut Carbon turntable. It had a bad humming problem. However, this phono preamp turned to be a very good product from Pro-Ject. It is dead quiet and the sound it produces is excellent and comparable to my other phono stages (i.e. Emotiva XPS-1 and Schiit Mani). I needed a new phono stage with a rumble filter and this Phono Box S2 has produced excellent results. I no longer see my subwoofer and speakers vibrating excessively thanks to this phono stage. So, I am happy with my purchase. It is a very reasonable priced piece of equipment for what it is and delivers as stated.

Pros: Sound quality, Loading Options for Various Cartridges, Subsonic Filter (Excellent), Power Button, Price

Cons: Power Cord is a little short.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great preamp with lots of gain

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 9/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a big improvement over the built in phono pre-amp on my receiver. Not only is it clearer and fuller, but there's a lot of gain available, so if you have a cart with a little lower output you can still set it higher. I have mine set at +43dB where I think the built-in was only 36 or maybe even less so it helps me get consistent levels across devices so I don't get blown away if I accidentally switch my receiver back to TV without turning down the volume.

Pros: Price, good EQ, high gain

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box S2

Crutchfield customer from Laredo, TX on 6/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clean sound and very minimal noise. I first tried the entry level Pro-Ject Phono Box MM and it didn't sound as good as the S2 and did not have a power switch, manually unplugging it got old quick. I also tried the Cambridge Solo which looked excellent in build quality and also featured an "efficient switch mode power supply" and an auto off feature. I wanted the Solo to be flawless but it was noisier than the S2 and actually sounded flatter. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra cash for the S2. Equipment- Pro-Ject Debut Carbon (DC) AudioQuest Evergreen Interconnects Old School Onkyo AVR (TXNR801) B&W 683S2's Tip- Ground all your equipment to significantly reduce unwanted noise.

Pros: Small foot print. Power switch and status light. Adjustable settings for gain and switchable input impedance/capacitance to match stylus cartridge. Audiophile grade amplification modules & caps. Sound is very clean and crisp.

Cons: No auto off option. Finish on case is so so (could be better with a full anodized finish or similar). Power supply seems very cheap and has no ground. Included manual is just two pieces of paper.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box S2

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good work great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box S2

Crutchfield customer from New Castle, CO on 2/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well it was a long road to find a pre-amp in the right price range and good Quality sound !! And Crutchfield was really easy to work with!! I couldn't have made a better choice for my turntable really,really happy!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Sounds great now !

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 2/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had a issue with the phono stage on my NAD pre-amp not producing the sound quality and volume I expected . I contacted Crutchfield tech support ( I talked to Maverick). When I asked him about adding a stand alone phono stage to help the situation he assured me that a stand alone would certainly help by improving the signal . Well what a difference it made . Volume is as good as any other inputs in the system and sound quality improved beyond expectations . This took minutes to install . Money well spent . Excellent product and great support group at Crutchfield !

Pros: Ease of installation . Excellent upgrade and performance

Cons: None that I can see or hear

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box S2

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, very pleased

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject Phono Box S2

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound for my old B&O turntable at a reasonable price. I spoke to 2 very nice and helpful reps who suggested this unit. I haven't tried any other preamp. Instructions for controls an bottom of box are vague, but I was able to find the right settings easily by trial and error. Audio plugin jack cord could be a little longer. I will definitely return to Crutchfield. James

Pros:

Cons: Audio plugin jack cord could be a little longer.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP