Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pro-Ject X2

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge (Satin Black)

MFR # 9120097822178

Pro-Ject X2

Pro-Ject X2

Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted cartridge (Satin Black)

MFR # 9120097822178

25 reviews
View this product

Smooth running, great sounding, good looking turntable

James from Monterey, VA on 5/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I waited to post this for a couple months just to be sure. Upon receiving this turntable I placed it on top of my ELAC Alchemy PPA-2 phono preamp for lack of room elsewhere. I decided I didn't like the sound of the Moonstone cartridge, the treble is subdued and the bass a little muddy, but the midrange very good. So, I replaced the Moonstone with the Audio-Technica VM750SH which isn't perfect either, but I like it better. I decided not to sale my old Project Carbon DC turntable and I put the Moonstone on that: the PPA-2 preamp has two switched inputs. Yesterday I rearranged things, placing the PPA-2 preamp on top of the blu-ray player and the X2 on top of the cabinet, with a piece of sized heavy 1" plank installed under the X2, and used neoprene washers between for dampening. Afterwards the X2 sounded much better, with noticeably improved detail and tone (it sounded good before). The X2 has 3 adjustable feet with felt bottoms and tends to slide around somewhat: three thick neoprene washers beneath the feet planted it firmly. Bottom line - the X2 / VM750SH combo sounds much better than the Carbon DC / Moonstone combo and inspired this review. I spent hours last evening and this morning listening to old and newer LPs. All were very enjoyable. The X2 seems to be a very good turntable, and if someone were to install their favorite cartridge (or use the default) and place the turntable on a plank, or equivalent, I'm sure they will be very happy with it. I am.

Pros: I get to enjoy all my LPs again with a twist; they sound renewed. The sound is very detailed and with tight bass, fair midrange (VM750SH) and great treble.

Cons: This turntable is heavy but still needed 'stickier' feet. The X2 seems to attract more of the persistent dust than the Carbon DC; why, I don't know, but neither is exempt.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject X2

John from Birmingham, AL on 4/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautiful appearance. Wonderful sound. Very smooth, and punchy attack if the music calls for it. The turntable itself is extremely quiet. the Sumiko is a great match. The price is not cheap but it is reasonable and well worth it.

Pros: great customer service so far. Hopefully I will never have to consult them for trouble shooting of any sort.

Cons: Vertical tracking force took longer to adjust than previously expected. I finally resorted to using an external stylus gauge.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good table

Glen from CASTLE ROCK, CO on 4/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like this table quite a bit. Solid build, low noise floor, consistent sound with no noticeable wow or flutter. I don't use a mat, just put the record right on the acrylic and use the Pro-Ject 800 gram record weight. When it needs a new cartridge I'll definitely go higher but there's nothing wrong with the Moonstone it came with, it's a solid cartridge. Recommendation is a buy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great turntable, well worth the price.

Adrian from Brooklyn, NY on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upfront, I am a music loving audiophile who appreciates what the artist puts in thier recordings. I strive to have the best playback equipment that doesn't require a mortgage to purchase. If you are looking for a turnkey upgrade and value excellent sound; this is a no brainer. The fit and finish are excellent with very solid build quality. Set up is straightforward as long as you are familiar with how turntables function (The set up photos in Pro-ject's user manual are a not the clearest). Once set up, you can readily appreciate the engineering that went into the X2: Soundstaging, imaging, tracking are outstanding with the preinstalled Sumiko Moonstone cartridge. I have owned a few entry level/upgrade turntables from U-Turn, VPI, and even the Schiit SOL. With the exception of the U-turn, they were not easy to set up. As far as sound quality, I do not see a need to upgrade anytime in the near future; although I will experiment with additional cartridges just for fun ;). If you are seeking to hear what good vinyl payback is all about, IMHO you don't need to pay more - consider the X2.

Pros: Excellent sounding straight out of the box. Easy set up. Adjustments available for VTA, azimuth, turntable leveling, and antiskating.

Cons: Can't easily swap out tone arms.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject X2

Lewis from Corona Del Mar, CA on 3/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Set up was easy The sound quality is superior to my previous setup Quality of the materials is fantastic

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

X2: Another winner from Pro-ject

Kenric from Austin, TX on 2/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The X2 hits a sweet spot in terms of value (performance/price). Debated between Debut Carbon Evo, Pro, X1 and X2. It came down to X1 ($100 more than the Pro but better stylus and features) and a scratch and dent X2. I chose the scratch and dent X2 (I have yet to find how this was a scratch and dent as the box had not been opened). The X2 is all I'll ever need. The tonearm is worthy of higher end cartridges if I ever get the notion to upgrade, but frankly the Moonstone seems very good to my ears. Pro-Ject does a great job of producing high quality, high value turntables.

Pros: Value Looks (piano finish is flawless) Size / Weight Ease of setup (playing within an hour) Adjustability

Cons: Some may find the added size an issue

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth the Expense

Christopher from Marysville, WA on 2/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressed with the smooth operation and solid quality of build. This phonograph pulls much more detail from the vinyl providing an enriched sound profile.

Pros: Insulation between the environment and the vinyl. Silent operation. Clean and elegant without frivolous gadgetry.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

A great table by Heinz and crew!

Guy from Alexandria, VA on 1/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A turntable that provides a fullness, depth, and character...the X2 rivals any turntable that I've experienced. The workmanship is excellent and the engineering sound.

Pros: Ease of setup Quality of materials.

Cons: Not a small investment.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject X2, Excellent Turntable

Jerry from Chesapeake, VA on 12/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First I just want say, after owning a my German made Thorens TD316 turntable with a Shure V15 Type IV MR Cartridge and used it for 32yrs, it was time to upgrade my old turntable that I had enjoyed for years! First I bought the Pro-Ject X1 and it is very nice turntable but the cue-arm was defective so I decided to take a chance and up-grade to a $600 more expensive Pro-Ject X2 after finding out Crutchfield was out of stock of the X1 so I order the same Walnut wood grain and got the X2 and boy I'm glad I did! this turntable did everything my Thorens turntable did and more! The sound was more than I expected! The X2 with the Sumiko Moonstone cartridge sounded better, clearer, and turned all of my records into new sounding enjoyment with records I bought through the 70's, 80's and 90's. The walnut grain is stunning to look at. This turntable is manual driven like my Thorens was but Thorens had some accessories that Crutchfield and Pro-Ject didn't have and if you see my photo the device I took off and added to my X2 will pick-up the tone-arm so that it does not stay on the record. 30 yrs ago it costed $15! I decided to go and get Pro-Ject clean it brush, Pro-Ject Brush It, and Pro-Ject Clamp It. I had these items but different brands for my Thornes so it was "want and not an need". I went ahead and also bought a Moonstone replacement cartridge for the future. bottom line here, if you want to buy the Pro-Ject X2, its worth the $1700 and I will enjoy this turntable for years.

Pros: Austrian made, beautiful walnut, and Sumiko Moonstone Cartridge with superior stereo separation and amazing frequency response of 12hz to 33khz is better than my old $250 Shure V15 Type IV MR that is 10hz to 25khz! Great price $299!

Cons: Have more accessories for manual turntables like a device for picking-up the tonearm at the end of playing the record. as shown in my photo. This is a Thorens product I bought for $15.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Great turntable: Looks and sounds fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Hanover, MD on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds good. Pretty easy to use. Set up was a little complicated, but that was mostly because they've re-engineered what the counterweight hangs off of, so the instruction pictures did not match. On the plus side, the new design looks much better; the old one looked like a cheap hook, from what I can tell from the pictures.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What an upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Durham, CT on 8/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have the original Orbit Custom. I swapped out its Grado Black for an Ortofon Super OM 30 cart. I thought I had a top notch system, despite a very audible hum that I couldn't eliminate. The X2 caught my eye, now my ears! What a dramatic improvement. More detail, a fuller sound and no hum at all. Sure, it's expensive, at least from my perspective, but it's worth every penny!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject X2

Crutchfield customer from Sunbury, OH on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well worth the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Pro-Ject X-2 Really Delivers!

Richard from Fairborn on 5/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally decided the time was right to upgrade my turntable. For the last few years I've had a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Esprit, and I've been very happy with it. But I play a lot of records and five or six years took their toll and it was time to make a move. Crutchfield had the Pro-Ject X-2 on sale as an open box item so I took the plunge. I could not be happier with my purchase. The unit itself is perfect. If there are any blemishes I can't find them. But the real proof is in the playing, and this table has really rewarded my investment. I've had it now for a few weeks, and I've thrown a good selection of records at it. 33s and 45s, new pressings and vintage pressings, new purchases and records I've been carrying around with me since my childhood. The X-2 has performed wonderfully. The Sumiko Moonstone cartridge and stylus really delivers. I was happy with the Ortofon 2M blue on my Esprit but the Moonstone really brings the soundstage to life. Instruments have real weight and real definition. Tracking on everything I've played so far has been accurate and trouble free. If there is one negative to report it is that the X-2 with the Moonstone might be less forgiving than other set ups. But honestly the only disappointments I've had have been on records I knew were dodgy to begin with. The X-2 is pricey, but the investment really pays off. If you're tempted by this table give in to your temptation - you won't regret it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject X2

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 5/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great turntable.... sounds very detailed and looks fabulous!

Pros: Detailed sound... easy set up... looks great!

Cons: None. Best turntable out there for the price.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I did the research.

Crutchfield customer from Davis, CA on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Spent 45 minutes with Crutchfield tech to trouble shoot anti skate/downward adjustment and heard similar challenges from Pro Ject Chat room. The X2 has everything so you don't have to play the expensive "Upgrade Game" - your done! I waited 3 months for the satin white which really pops with a colored record, but it's the superior performance that is the real show stopper. Reviewed Rega 1-3 and X2 won it for me. Lost 1 star for set up Challenge , Crutchfields excellent Customer Support Rocks and is the reason I bought it from them.

Pros: All inclusive- nothing to upgrade!

Cons: Set up is not plug and Play

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth every penny

BG from HELENA, AL on 3/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a lot of research, I narrowed my list of upgrade turntables to the Rega Planar 3 and 6, Technics SL1200GR, Mobile Fidelity Ultradeck+M and this Pro-Ject X2. For the money, I don't think you can go wrong with the X2: minimalist and sleek, solid plinth, stunning acrylic platter and a speed switch (no belt adjustment required). This thing runs dead quiet. I'm very impressed with the included Sumiko Moonstone cart. All settings at the factory were spot on, and it tracks beautifully...even with my more warped albums. It resolves quite well, offering details I never heard with my old Music Hall MMF2.2. It will, however, let you know quickly which of your albums were cut with quality and care. Feed it right, and it rewards in spades. The value and performance has hit the sweet spot for me at this stage in life. Maybe one day I'll upgrade the cart or even the turntable, but I guess the most telling accolade I can offer is I have no compulsion to do so anytime soon. BTW my advisor, Jenny, was great in helping me decide. I went with the white version, scratch and dent...nothing a furniture marker couldn't fix. Just a really solid experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

An Honest Review: Very Disappointed

Michael from Pittsburgh, PA on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an honest review from a guy who has been a DJ for more than 36 years, and a serious listener and audiophile for longer. I had been searching for a serious turntable that I could use to record my vinyl for archiving and broadcasting on my podcast. I wanted something that I could directly transfer from the turntable to my computer. So, I began with the Audio Technica AT-LP5 -- motor was bad, back to where it came from in a week. Next, I decided to go with Crutchfield and try a Thorens TD 202, a nice quiet turntable, but the USB was unbalanced, so back it went. Next, I went with an analogue-out turntable that I could just plug into a pre-amp that has digital USB-out, so in came the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO. Needless to say, I sent this one back because the finish was too much of a pain because it will never remain new, and was replaced with the satin black version; the pin that kept the anti-skate weight on failed to do so, and the weight would fall off often, so it went back to be replace with another. And, this is when I started to notice a motor hum. So, I figured maybe step up in quality and get the X2. Needless to say after a call to Sumiko, there was evidence that there may be motor issues. So, after two X2's later, I decided to scrap the entire idea of buying another belt-driven turntable ever again and sent back the last of 7 turntables in all. But, in the end, Crutchfield is awesome and Pro-Ject turntables have been a true disappointment.

Pros: Quality ingredients: thicker plinth, acrylic platter, built-in Speed Box, tonearm material and design are top-notch, supposedly.

Cons: Pros did not equal stopping the insidious hum that came from the motor.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Disappointment

Crutchfield customer from Elmhurst, IL on 3/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replacing an AT LP120 connected to the Marantz SR 7013 and Bower and Wilkins in-wall speakers, Klipsch reference subwoofer. Packing was great, setup was easy, RCA cable very nice. Really everything out of the box was beautifully craftee. Unfortunately, that's where the beauty ended. The AT LP120 performed admirably with good separation, but strained with the highest highs and the lowest lows. Overall, it performed well for a decade. X2 sounded muddy from the start. No separation, just muddy sounding. No highs and lows, just muddy a muddy midrange. It was suggested I let the stylus break-in, no improvement in a week. I thought maybe my built-in Phono stage on the Marantz was the problem, even though it worked fine with my AT LP120 (I disabled the built-in preamp years ago). So, I added the Pro-Ject S2 Phono Box to the mix, hoping for a huge improvement. However, neither Pro-Ject S2 (one from Crutchfield, one from another outlet) worked with the Pro-Ject X2 TT. That's correct, there were no settings that Tech support from Crutchfield nor Pro-Ject could find to make the S2 work. Returning both the X2 and the S2. Huge disappointment.

Pros: Looks beautiful

Cons: Sounds terrible

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject X2

Java from Wesley Chapel, FL on 3/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pro-Ject X2 comes well packaged, and has excellent quality and workmanship. The Moonstone stylus has great sound. Comes with cables.

Pros: Moonstone Stylus, Dust cover, good quality

Cons: NA

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Pro-Ject X2

Marion from Clarksville, MD on 12/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Slippery Slope I must admit I was not pleased with the sound and performance of the Pro-Ject X2. I thought perhaps I should purchase a more expensive turntable like the VPI or Feickert. They seem to always get great reviews for their sound and performance quality. Instead of listening to the many albums I painstakingly purchased I went back to enjoying my CD collection. I was slipping fast down the proverbial slope of believing digital sound far better than analog. Then, I thought this is crazy, they're just two different sound qualities and I am not going down into the abyss. So, I started searching for a better turntable. Hey, in this business you get to choose your slopes. During my search an audiophile essentially said, if you have a $300 cartridge you have a $300 sound coming from your turntable. I was like, ooh the cartridge. Maybe this was the cause of my dissatisfaction. long story short, I purchased a new phono cartridge and let me tell you it has made all the difference. The cartridge upgrade allowed for the full potential of my new Pro-Ject X2 to be experienced. The plith, motor, and tonearm technology not only makes the difference it is the difference that makes for an incredible exploration of music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pro-Ject X2

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We are highly satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first turntable in about 35 years. Looks great, sold, quiet, and with a great Sumiko MM cartridge. I especially like the speed control, so as not to need to adjust belt for 45 RPM. Extremely well packaged - triple boxed - 2 Pro-Ject and 1 Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Very balanced sound

Guest from Minot, ND on 7/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a Kenwood KD 5070 with a Shure M97 cartridge. I always liked the sound of the combo. The X2 sounds an order of magnitude better. Deep, rich bass that is not boomy or overpowering. Highs that are crisp and clear without being strident or sibilant. Mids that sound natural and that tie the whole thing together. Set up was straight forward and simple. The directions were not always super clear, but were mostly adequate. The walnut finish is very nice, and the overall aesthetic was elegant and classy.

Pros: Excellent sound. Attractive turntable. Good cartridge. Can switch speeds without having to mess with the belt.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro-Ject X2

Kevin from Navarre, FL on 7/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I too purchased the Project XL instead of thee Rega 3 due to Crutchfield support. Glad I did. The first delivery was returned for an anti skating issue. The tech listened to my concerns and (Dallas) immediately shipped out a replacement arriving in 2 days. This time the tone arm balancing and the anti-skate assembly went perfect. Sounds amazing compared to my previous TT, a start up Audio-Technica AT-LP120BK with an Ortofon blue. Only 4 stars because of the bad anti-skate assembly on initial purchase. Crutchfield gets 5*'s

Pros: Easy set up looks greatBut most importantly sounds amazing

Cons: Expensive?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pro-Ject X2

Crutchfield customer from Lawton, OK on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wow! Really made a difference. I was replacing an intro turntable Denton 300. I was debating whether spending the money would make a significant sound difference. It was amazing. From the first spin, it sounded amazing. Really no regrets at all. It was between the Pro-ject X2 and the Rega 3. I decided to go with the Pro-ject simply because of the Crutchfield customer service. That was the deciding factor, but it looks and sounds beautiful. Loving the turntable

Pros: Sound Quality Looks beautiful

Cons: None really, sorta expensive

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound