Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
Connect ID #
329 681 686 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare™ Listening Kit Rental

30-day rental kit for use with Crutchfield's SpeakerCompare tool

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare™ Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare™ Listening Kit Rental

30-day rental kit for use with Crutchfield's SpeakerCompare tool

53 reviews
View this product

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Belchertown, MA on 9/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It it simple. Now you can hear the difference between the speakers. My wife and I pick 4 the other has the headphones so they do not see the computer. The other switch's between and that is how we narrow down picks

Pros: Great to hear the difference

Cons: Hope it's actually close to what you hear with the headphones. Nothing negative here

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good concept, but not that great overall.

Crutchfield customer from Fleming Island, FL on 9/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I would say that this is good in concept . This does allow one to hear the distinct differences between speakers in different price ranges ( and presumably different audio "classes"). But when I compared different speakers within the same relative class (in my case, bookshelf speakers in the $500-$600 range) it became much harder to differentiate. Yes, you could tell some subtle differences between speakers. But for me, it was difficult to extrapolate those subtle differences into what I would actually prefer to listen to all the time, and hence to purchase. Also, not all speakers were available to compare.

Pros: Can hear differences between different price/audio "tiers"

Cons: Difference within same "tier" were too subtle do differentiate Not all speakers can be tested with this kit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great if your speakers are listed

Crutchfield customer from Renton, WA on 7/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fortunately the speakers I am considering were set up for "listening" and the experience was helpful. On the downside, there were many speakers that were flagged as available for "listening" but actually were not.

Pros: Works great

Cons: 1. Many speakers indicated they were available for "listening" but they actually were not. 2. It would be an improvement if speaker selections were saved or remembered. This would save time spent selecting them over and over again.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 7/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Audioquest Dragonfly Black DAC and Sennheiser HD 280 Pro headphones are splendid. The combination gives a crystal clear listening experience. Unfortunately, I am not sure my ears are attuned to discern tonal differences between speakers; hence could not appreciate the Speaker Compare utility. But I believe this is a great initiative by Crutchfield and I hope to utilize it in future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Patrick from BENICIA, CA on 6/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Helped me pick up the slight differences in tweeter materials for car speakers. Was fun being able to use high end dac with headphones.

Pros: Fast shipping, Return was very simple

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Way to go!

Crutchfield customer from Redding, CT on 4/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cannot imagine buying speakers online any other way. Yes, you can tell.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Speaker Compare Listening Kit Delivers!

Crutchfield customer from Lake Stevens, WA on 4/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an innovative way to demo the sound characteristics and tonal qualities of different speakers. I have also enjoyed the experience of improved sound achieved by a dedicated external DAC and pair of higher quality headphones. Once again, Crutchfield has provided a customer experience that is not available elsewhere and meets the needs during these unique times.

Pros: Not only does it provide an effective baseline for comparing speakers, but also introduces the benefits of an external DAC and nicer set of speakers.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Limited value.

Crutchfield customer from Mystic, CT on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't review powered speakers. The differences among speakers at a particular price point are barely recognizable. Not worth the effort. Doesn't come close to actually listening to speakers in your home environment.

Pros: Good idea.

Cons: Doesn't really work.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great!!!!

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent knowledge and super helpful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Santa Barbara, CA on 3/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's really great, so helpful to get a view into what a speaker will sound like and for the price this is unbeatable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 3/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would not buy speakers before trying this "listening kit" out. I picked out and purchased 2 sets of truck speakers after using the headphones. It's amazing the difference in sound that different speaker brands make. I was willing to spend more on speakers but the ones I purchased sounded the best to me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Idea!

Crutchfield customer from Newman Lake, WA on 2/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried these because I was in the market for new speakers, due to covid non of my store locations had any stock for me to listen too. Crutchfield has a good idea here.....but not all the speakers on the web site are eligible to be listened to so you are sorda limited. I was treated very well by the customer service folks and tech. support is also top notch. I did purchase my speakers from them.... And I should note I purchased the open box ones and they arrived in perfect condition.

Pros: Great way to listen before you purchase. You get your rental fee back if you purchase your speakers through them.

Cons: Not all speakers on web site are eligible to listen to using the headphone kit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worthwhile effort

Crutchfield customer from Waban, MA on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

And excellent service to distinguish between high end and not so high end speakers. This and Crutchfields 60 day return policy allowing home trial of the selected speaker make this company the go to company for speakers. It took me a few hours of listening both with the earphone kit and the actual speakers but I am very happy with my choice and the process it took to get there.

Pros: A good first step.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fun kit

Crutchfield customer from West Bloomfield, MI on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a creative way of being able to hear the sound signature off different speakers. It is nowhere near as good as an in person demo, however good luck trying to find that at the moment. You can get an idea of how speakers from one brand sound compared to others, and how bigger speakers sound different to smaller ones from the same family. And that is terrific given today's challenges of trying to find a hifi shop that offers affordable gear that you can demo.

Pros: Best you can get outside of an in person demo

Cons: Not as good as an in person demo

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great help

Crutchfield customer from Frankfort, IL on 2/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great idea for helping to decide which speakers to purchase . You really can hear some subtle differences between some speakers . Especially since you really can't go somewhere to hear the differences between the speakers I wanted to compare! I wish Crutchfield was in my neighborhood!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, PA on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a great way to evaluate speakers during the pandemic. I feel that the speakers that I purchased were fairly represented by the listening kit and lived up to my expectations. I do believe that the associated web pages for comparing speakers could be improved in the following ways (this is why I didn't give the kit 5 stars): * It would be beneficial to be able to compare bookshelf to tower speakers to get a sense of the difference between those speaker types. * The compare section allows you to remove speakers but not add new ones to an existing set. For example if I'm comparing A, B, C, and D and decide I don't like C but want to compare the other three against E, there is no way to just remove C and add E. I have to go back and select A, B, and D all over again. * A blind test option would be great where you picked the speakers to compare but didn't know which was which while listening. Only when you completed the comparison would it tell you which was which. This would help eliminate prejudice involving brand or cost when judging speakers. * It would be helpful if there was an option to pick a musical phrase (a couple of measures) that was automatically played by each of the speakers in turn without the user having to click the play button for each speaker. The music had a variety of loudnesses & pitches thru the pieces and when switching between speakers some of the differences were attributable to the part of the selection that was playing at t

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Highly recommended

Crutchfield customer from Paonia, CO on 1/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fun. I've spent many hours comparing various speakers with this easy to use kit. I especially appreciate being able to listen to my own music. The question still remains as to how my selections would sound in my own house, but this kit has certainly helped me make great progress in narrowing down the field.

Pros: Easy to use Comfortable headphones Can listen to my own music Able to compare a very large selection of speakers

Cons: Totally engrossing (not really a problem, usually)

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Troy, MI on 1/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was cool to listen to the differences of sound in speakers before buying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Methuen, MA on 12/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit arrived quickly. It only took a few minutes to set up. You can compare up to four speakers at a time with clips from various genres or using audio files on your computer. Being able to listen to the various speakers made it much easier to find one I liked. When I was done, I shipped the kit back in the original box with the return label provided. A great idea from Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Falls, SD on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely showed me some different details between speaker sounds so glad I tried it. Showed me the different highs and lows and Definitely the difference in efficiency.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SpeakerCompare-Great!

Crutchfield customer from Coloma, MI on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super great way to test out how speakers will sound if you don't have appropriate headphones

Pros: quick delivery, easy set up

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Lawrence, KS on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Helpful in selecting my new speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Family Friendly

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The listening kit was perfect for my family. It really got them involved in picking the speakers for our home theater. We went with Klipsch after everyone listened which surprised me because I was leaning towards Polk at the beginning. After getting the Klipsch (RP-4000F, RP-450C, R-41M, R-112SW) we are all very happy with the results.

Pros: The kit really let's you hear differences in the speakers.

Cons: No credit for 15 days so if you want a quick purchase you'll need to use the credit for something other than the speakers.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

SpeakerCompare - very useful

Crutchfield customer from Morton, IL on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This speaker compare tool that Crutchfield has allows you to test various brands and models of speakers from your home. I found this system very easy to use and I like that you can use music of your choice. I wish you could test more that four at a time and also have the ability to change out one set while retaining the others would be good also. Currently, when you would like ot change out a set you have to reselect all four speakers. The SpeakerCompare is useful for narrowing down the speakers you like the sound of but the real test is in your home in a real world environment.

Pros: Allows you to narrow down your speaker selection right at your desk in your home.

Cons: Only allows up to four speakers to compare at one time. Ability to change out any number of speakers while keeping ones you like selected would be great to do. Currently you have to select all four each time unless I am missing something.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

cool experience ??

Crutchfield customer from Valparaiso, IN on 6/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome headphone. It allowed me to pick my future speakers. Only con is limits on some speaker samples.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Listening kit.....just okay results

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 6/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The headphones that Crutchfield supplied are great and the rental price is right. But I just didn't find that actually doing various speaker comparisons using those headphones was particularly useful. For me anyway, I found it hard to differentiate all but the most extreme differences between speakers....nothing like an in person listening test in a dedicated listening room. That's just my opinion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Quality Option

Crutchfield customer from Lathrop, CA on 5/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoyed this kit. The rental is a good price. Crutchfield really hit the nail on the head with the sound compare feature, and it takes the guesswork and legwork our of finding stores with the speakers you'd like to demo. Hopefully you guys can do more songs to really get the feel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Midland, MI on 3/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great way to compare product attributes from speaker to speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great idea for the most part

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 3/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very good idea, the dragonfly is a great DAC, but I was not crazy about the headphones. You can compare speakers using this setup to highlight the features that each model or brand has, but it does not relate to how they actually would sound in your room. Maybe it works better for car audio or even headphones. One recommendation I would make is for Crutchfield to add more speakers, in particular floor standing ones like the Klipsch Cornwalls. Best used if listened on same volume to correct for different gains.

Pros: The idea, the DAC, the package and using your own music. Congratulations

Cons: Not crazy about the headphones

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Bel Air, MD on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

headphones were delivered quickly, setup was incredibly easy and listening was excellent, great way to purchase online epeakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Well worth the $ and time

Crutchfield customer from Davidsonville, MD on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a long time without a good system I decided to get back into 2.0 listening that would keep me much happier than the various wireless speaker systems that have proliferated in my house. It's been long enough that my last good system was stolen from my apartment when I was in graduate school a few decades ago--and I had sourced all of my components from Crutchfield catalogs back then. What I realized right away is that I don't know anything about components now, and in particular speakers. Enter this great listening kit rental which is well worth the $ paid, plus you get a credit back. I had heard a lot about external DACs and the black dragonfly and the Sennheiser phones made the sound really clean in using the SpeakerCompare and hearing the different approaches in design. With a busy household the kit was also useful in letting me get immersed in comparisons without distraction. Some things to know - I had to use the family PC after trying to use my old Samsung android phone that just didn't carry the volume. Also, I'm sure it was in the fine print but I did notice afterwards that the tax charged initially for the rental is based on the replacement value (about $300) rather than the rental fee (maybe it'll be squared up after Crutchfield logs my return but maybe it won't). In any event it's well worth the dollars regardless. Also, Crutchfield makes it super easy to return and as always has great service including a followup phone call after I received it.

Pros: Great platform to compare speakers through SpeakerCompare. I also found myself listening to some of my favorite tracks because the dragonfly and headphones work so well together.

Cons: May not work as well through a mobile device or tablet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Compare speakers

Crutchfield customer from Miami Gardens, FL on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very efficient let's you hear your "speakers " through a comparable sound system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SpeakerCompare Listening Kit

Crutchfield customer from Four Oaks, NC on 1/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit is an awesome way to "try before you buy". I was totally surprised at how much the speaker sound varies from the different manufacturers. Definitely made narrowing down a choice a lot easier. Awesome idea Crutchfield, keep up the great work!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Kingston, WA on 1/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounded just like the speakers that I have. Allowed me to pick a set that I liked without actually hearing them.

Pros: Worked as advertised

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Billings, MT on 1/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great idea. It definitely highlights different aspects of the various speakers. It's fairly easy to use. It would be really cool if there was a way that you could use music that you were used to listening to. I don't usually use headphones so I am not sure how that will affect my perceptions. I'm looking forward to choosing some speakers and giving them a try "in the flesh".

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Joseph from Hanover, PA on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Oh My Goodness. Supreme way of sampling speakers. I cannot recommend this more! Of course we all like talking with the great Crutchfield Technicians, but it always boils down to "they don't have my ears"! One can review specs forever, but one has to hear the speakers.......This kit gives the customer the ability to sample speakers, without traveling to Crutchfield HQ in Charlottesville. After using the kit, I was able to find my speakers of choice, and the resemblance to what I heard with the listening kit so accurate it was uncanny. I am purchasing WITH CONFIDENCE the speakers I love, from CRUTCHFIELD!

Pros: Easiest way to sample speakers !

Cons: Although a large amount of speakers are available to sample, not all of the speakers available for sale are available to be listened to.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Vandalia, IL on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great idea..let's you test hundreds of speakers at home. Helped me greatly with my decision making process.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Mckinney, TX on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit takes the guess work out of the speaker comparison. I have never used anything like it before.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Baltimore, MD on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The headphone listening kit was a very effective way to allow me to compare speakers in the privacy of my home and at my convenience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great technology for speaker shopping

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, LA on 8/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The listening kit works great- hardware choice is ideal. The subtleties of sound characteristics are evident when using speaker compare. The efficiency ratings also become noticeable when same power is selected. This is a great advancement in technology for speaker shopping.

Pros: Hardware choices are A++; pr

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful Feature!

Crutchfield customer from Sumter, SC on 8/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Speaker Compare is an excellent idea! I have been able to compare the sonic characteristics of numerous floorstanding speakers and really narrow my search. Fortunately, the speakers I currently own are available on speaker compare, so I can evaluate speakers against the speakers I currently own. What a great idea this is!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, TN on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very useful tool! I was able to hear the subtle differences in treble and bass.

Pros: Able to hear different products

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Buying speakers online? Don't do it without this technology.

Tracy from Cypress, TX on 5/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This technology is simply amazing. I'm in the market for floor standing front speakers, and I was skeptical about how they could realistically reproduce variations between speakers, but it truly works. And surprisingly, many times I found that speakers in the lower price ranges sounded better to my ear than speakers from well-known brands that costs hundreds of dollars more per unit. The ability to virtually sample dozens of models within most of the brands they carry is well worth the $25 rental price because I know that once I make my final decision, I won't be second guessing if I got the speakers that sound best within my budget.

Pros: Ability to sample virtually every speaker that Crutchfield sells.

Cons: Not every speaker is available to sample virtually.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

SpeakerCompare

Crutchfield customer from East Jordan, MI on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have to give this 5 stars for the ingenuity alone. While you are not listening to the actual speakers due to listening through a pair of headphones. You do get to listen and compare by brand, price, speaker construction, style, etc. you will be surprised at how radically different speakers of the same size, construction method and price will sound. Some are clear and bright while others are softer and some even muted. Compare by power or by volume. Listen close and let your ear hear the differences. What I thought I would like based upon brand or reputation I know of was not the speakers of choice for me after doing the speaker compare. If you don't have a stereo shop with a good sound room available this is a most useful tool. I highly recommend it. Besides with the certificate the net cost for buying a set of speakers is zero.

Pros: Compares speakers via volume or efficiency. Gives multiple musical genres for listening.

Cons: The only con is not actually hearing the speakers you are comparing in person. But I don't live close to Charlottesville, VA. So no real con to say.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Listening Kit Works

Colt from Wake Forest, NC on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked nicely. Great to be able to hear the differences before getting the speakers home. Really helps narrow things down.

Pros: Hear First and then buy making an informed decision. Easy rental process.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Essexville, MI on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really just ordered the kit to try out the Dragonfly DAC with my Sennheiser headphones and was very pleased with it. Will be buying one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A 5-Star rating that could be better!

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SpeakerCompare is an excellent idea. In fact as a technological feat it merits five stars. However, as a means of comparing speakers it needs to feature different music for me to make an effective judgment about which speakers I might consider for my home audio system. So, it is not quite a five in terms of getting me to a decision. While I listen to some of the musical genres you provide - some of which I listen to from time to time - the majority of my music is classical orchestral, opera, voice, world music, pops and Broadway. So until those options appear in some future version of SpeakerCompare, I will probably hold off on auditioning/selecting new equipment. However, as a result of using the kit for a couple of weeks, with the earphones you rented to me, I discovered, and bought from you, the Sennheiser HD 280 Pro headphones. While these are definitely "old school" large, noise-canceling phones, they have incredible fidelity, great articulation of instruments, provide me with great privacy, and already have been a source of much pleasure. So, thank you Crutchfield, for your great products and wonderful service. I have spoken with a couple of your staff and also conducted a very informative chat with another. You have really nice people dealing with the public, a great company, and I will call on you again as my audio needs dictate. And don't forget, I want to hear from you once SpeakerCompare adds more music genres.

Pros: Excellent concept! Easy to use! Enjoyable and addictive, especially to speaker fanatics like me! Fabulous customer support and follow-up!

Cons: Not enough music genres to audition!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 3/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I enjoyed sampling the speakers, although I enjoyed the Fire Fly amp the most. It really enhanced the sound of my Beats Studio Wireless headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 3/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Reviewing the many choices for a replacement speakershas been a struggle without having a listening room to compare. But the new "speaker compare" has allowed me to evaluate the differrences. Thank goodness for them, I would be still be frustraed trying to decide.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Crutchfield SpeakerCompare Listening Kit Rental

Henry from Arlington, VA on 3/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a substitute for listening in person, but I got an idea of overall characteristics of different speakers. The headphones are just OK; I like my Sony 7506 better. The real revelation was how awesome the Dragonfly DAC makes the headphones sound. I ordered one after sending the kit back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

One step in the correct direction.

Crutchfield customer from Mason, OH on 3/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great concept! First time that I try the AudioQuest DragonFly Black DAC with my iPhone. The change in sound quality is impressive! There are no audiophile music tracks that are commonly use to test speakers. I was hoping to test Focal Chorus, Revel Performa and Kef R but they are not available. Innovative tool that requires improvements. Thanks Crutchfield for taking the initiative! Keep working on it.

Pros: You can hear differences between speakers that helps you to discard options.

Cons: Music track selection is very limited. Not all the speakers are available.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Nice try

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a fantastic idea, being able to try out speakers without having them in your home. In theory it's supposed to revolutionize the way you can try speakers. In my opinion, it just doesn't work out that way. Yes, you can hear subtle differences between speakers using the kit. But, it just isn't the same thing as listening in your home. The sonics are not the same and it's not much of a help in deciding which speakers to purchase. Nevertheless, thank you Crutchfield for trying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Worth a try -- keep working on it

Michael from Cookeville, TN on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very exciting technology and I hope it can continue to be improved. My had some difficulty detecting differences using the included Sennheiser headphones. I own a pair of Audio-Technica ATH-M40x Professional Studio Monitor headphones and I could easily begin to hear differences. The Sennheiser may be more musical but the Audio-Technica ATH-M40x lent itself for an analytical analysis of the sound. As is this technology is no substitute for live auditioning of speakers as you are not going to hear what the each speaker sounds like but rather you can hear some differences in their overall presentation or balance of the sound e.g., harsh, smooth, bassy, etc. My recommendation would be for Crutchfield to offer an option for the ATH-M40x or other headphones with a good flat response as an option for this kit. I also would love to see Crutchfield continue research and development into this technology as much as possible. The idea of using one speaker to listen to how a different speaker sounds will obviously have limitations but the better the mathematical model of each speaker's response frequency and sound as well as a precise model of the headphones being used can only help advance the effectiveness of this effort. I gave it four stars instead of five primarily because I think different headphones would be better and I would like to see them include the AudioQuest JitterBug in the kit as well.

Pros: Fun and interesting new way to listen for differences. It was good to try an external DAC for the first time.

Cons: I prefer ATH-M40x headphones for this purpose. Include the AudioQuest JitterBug in the kit

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

TOP