Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
437 228 821 4
Connect ID #
437 228 821 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Revel Performa3 M106

Bookshelf speaker (Piano Black)

MFR # M106BK

Revel Performa3 M106

Revel Performa3 M106

Bookshelf speaker (Piano Black)

MFR # M106BK

20 reviews
View this product

Amazing Value

Robert from Knoxville, TN on 11/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought these to use as surround speakers in a Dolby Atmos setup. I initially set them up to compare them to the front speakers, which are the fantastic Revel Performa f328be. There was no comparison in the deep bass, of course, and the highs were just a bit hotter than the beryllium tweeters in the others, but otherwise, these babies held their own to a fantastic degree. Harman International bases its designs on objective research, and these speakers show that the approach works well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Revel Performa3 M106

Daniel from Huntington, IN on 10/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are working well as surround speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Revel Performa3 M106

Crutchfield customer from Claremore, OK on 10/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very sensitive and work well in a large bedroom with a small Denon AV receiver with only 70 wpc.

Pros: Full range sound, easy to drive.

Cons: The C208 that goes with them is very heavy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality-Price ratio.. Excellent

Kevin from Chapel Hill, NC on 10/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought these for a 2nd system in a small dedicated listening room. I run electrostatic speakers in my primary system .. I hadn't auditioned box speakers in over 22 years...aaah, well..the technology has come a long, long way. To my ears, these speakers are transparent, and non-colored. But that's what I go for. Overall tonality and bass reproduction is quite good..why I bought them. I see no need for a subwoofer at this point in my small room, probably would cause more trouble than good. If the room becomes too bass energized, second to placement, they come with a foam baffle/plug for the rear bass port. I think 70-150 watt, "clean" amplifier is all they need, they are at 87-88 db rated efficiency. Again if you are looking for non-colored sound from a small box speaker at an incredible quality to price ratio. it'd a no brainer, buy these. ( the inside speaker wire terminals are brass, crossover parts are decent, $770 each is a steal). Thank you again Crutchfield for per usual excellent ordering, CS and delivery).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Midlothian

Ryne from Midlothian on 10/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Using them on my desk, replacing Elac Unifi 5.2 Slims. It is a night and day difference. My son and I did a comparison when we switched them using Youn Sun Nah's "My Favorite Things" as a test song. We both said at the same time "you can hear her mouth noise between words." At the current price, I can't imagine you could do better. Amp is a Hegel H60, streaming on Tital.

Pros: Beautiful, perfect for desk or small room, price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Endgame Speaker

craig from OAK CREEK, WI on 9/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good lord, I love these speakers. I saw the Revel M106 speakers on sale, and thought - "It's a great time to replace my Polk LSi15". ...So the Revel M106 went into the Home Theater space, and my two year old Revel M16 went up stairs to replace the Polks. It's kinda like playing Duck-Duck-Goose with speakers... All of the goodness (detail, clarity, mid tones, wide soundstage) I love about the Revel M16 speakers is there - but far more refined. Details and texture have more clarity. The mid tones are fabulous and natural with good texture. This speaker is able to pull more detail and nuance out the sound tracks and music. Best of all, it's not bright, harsh or fatiguing. ...There's a smoothness that just makes this speaker feel like butter. These speakers aren't overly finicky for placement to get a wide soundstage. But they become truly holographic when done right - with a wide deep soundstage with great separation. It's definitely worth the effort. Don't shove these speakers into the corners of your room. Give them room to breathe. The bass on these isn't deep, so I have them paired with a REL HT1003 sub, and sound quality is absolutely exceptional. I get the feeling the point of diminishing returns truly begins with the speaker. The fit and finish on these speakers is solid and gorgeous. These little speakers are heavy. ...I wish they offered them in white or silver, but piano black definitely works for us. These are absolutely rec

Pros: Very refined neutral sound Exceptional detail and clarity Great mid tones Tight bass on it's own gorgeous fit and finish

Cons: Bass isn't deep or extended in larger rooms, so you'll want a sub.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost hard to imagine a better sound

Gordon from Bloomfield Hills, MI on 9/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I played a live recording I'd digitized and suddenly there I was in Austin 25 years ago, at the concert where I bought the cassette: what had seemed terminally muffled became detailed, resonant, "alive." These are such fine, almost clinically neutral speakers that they highlight the flaws as well as the beauties of any recording. I've never heard highs like these: crystalline in clarity yet never brittle or cold. Drum brushes, woodblock taps, or sibilants that get lost or muddied on other speakers blossom on these. Bass could be a weakness: they don't thrum the room like my vintage KLHs. But oh, that midrange: good vocals become entrancing, and while the speakers generate plenty of depth and complexity for salsa, soul, or rock, in many ways they're at their best with solo piano, torch songs, choirs, jazz trios. Though these are only a smidge bigger than the M105s, they do sound better, especially in bass and midrange-for me this was worth the price jump. Both models benefit from a good subwoofer-I used Monitor Audio's Radius 380 in part because it's as visually beautiful as the Revels. This helps them not just seem amazing for their size, but "fill the room" like much larger speakers. I waited a while to get two M106s (and stands) on "scratch & dent" (unblemished to my eye). A week later they went on sale, and Crutchfield cheerfully refunded the difference. It would almost be worth becoming an audiophile just to enjoy their stellar customer service.

Pros: detail, neutrality, highs and midrange, cabinetry

Cons: steep price of admission

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Absolutely sublime and superb

Robert E. from Cambridge, MA on 6/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Without question the best standmount speakers I've ever heard. I've been using a pair of ELAC DBR62s for about 3 years now; was in the mood to try something new. I've really enjoyed the DBR62s, so I was a little skeptical that the Revels would be a significant improvement. All I can say is, WOW, and Yes, they are a dramatic upgrade. Did some A/B testing and it's just no contest. Good as the ELACs are, esp. at their pricepoint, the M106s are on another level. The pristine clarity, the separation of voices, the 3-dimensionality of the soundstage, the fidelity from low bass to high treble - just astounding. The ELACS sound muddy and veiled by comparison. At 8-ohms and 87dB sensitivity, the M106s are easy to drive. I'm using a Rotel 130WPC amp and I can get these LOUD with little exertion and lots of headroom to spare. Yes, they are 3X as expensive as the ELACs, but, given audio's well-known susceptibility to the law of diminishing returns when it comes to cost, it's nice to find an example of 'much more expensive' = 'much improved sound quality.' Enthusiastically recommended.

Pros: Won't repeat the points I made in my review, other than to say, these are extraordinary speakers.

Cons: No deal-breaker but still a bit annoying: I don't love the high-gloss finish. Shows fingerprints like nobody's buisness, so have a microfiber cloth on hand. Still, these are beautiful and beautifully crafted speakers. Just wish Revel offered a matte or deep satin finish.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

beautiful listening experience!

Crutchfield customer from Davis, CA on 11/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow, remarkable speakers! My first high quality speakers, chosen due to ASR review Walnut case for both Purely subjective response, I have no audio analytic equipment. Paired with Monoprice 12" "slim" sub Used for near field due to smallish room HIghly recommend. 1 was new, one was "refurb" / cosmetically damaged. They look identical to me :-)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wonderful Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, MO on 11/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After a few weeks of regular listening, and comparing with my KEF Q350, I've decided to keep these speakers. I find there's less bass and treble distortion at high volumes, and stereo imaging is improved. The Q350 is outstanding for the money, and I've no doubt hit diminishing returns for the M106, but the more I listen the more I like them. These are accurate speakers so you get what the recording has to offer, both the positive and negative. I'm so impressed with Crutchfield's return policy I can't understand why everyone doesn't buy speakers from them. I'm driving these speakers with 60 watts per channel (Ragnarok 2) and though I have the volume level above 3/4 (more like 13/16) to get loud volume in my 16'x21' space, they sound great! I'm curious how a higher power amp would sound with the M106 - I'd say 60 watts is minimum, though I'm no expert. BTW I'm using a subwoofer (at super low levels) but in a small room I don't think it's necessary.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Revel Performa3 M106

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 10/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a second set of speakers for another home. They continue to impress me with their range.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 30 found this helpful

Revel Performa3 M106

Crutchfield customer from Marrero, LA on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is an absolutely beautiful speaker love it love it good job revel

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome speakers for the price

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 4/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

WOW! These speakers were a real surprise, such great sound at this price. Clear, clean, and tight. Obviously bass is not going to kick like a 3-way floor stander but they're great for my small office

Pros: Clear, tight, clean, easy to drive, look great!

Cons: I can't think of any at this price for a bookshelf speaker.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Finally found the speaker I was looking for

Conan from Newton, KS on 3/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I tried the KEF Q350 (great speaker, almost stayed with them, a steal if you get them on sale and an open box), LS50 Meta (hated them, overly bright to my ears), Elac Uni-Fi 2.0 UB52 (narrow sound stage, small box sound), Dynaudio Evoke 20 (very rich laid back tone, but bass was overpowering and not always solid), and the KEF R3 (a bit too much, gave me a headache in minutes, bass limited at the lower end). The Performa3 M106 is what I was looking for. They're balanced with rich solid bass. They sound great with everything I throw at them. Don't feel like they need a subwoofer. I'm using them with a Rogue Sphinx V3 and Schiit Modi 3.

Pros: Balanced Solid bass

Cons: I haven't found any other than maybe they're overly packaged.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

16 of 19 found this helpful

Revel Performa3 M106

Lawrence Univ from OSHKOSH, WI on 3/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful, solid performer, far better value than the F208.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

fragile tweeteres

Guest from Santa Cruz, CA on 2/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you like your music loud I suggest you avoid these, and maybe all Revels. I played them very loud. I love rock. Both tweeters melted. Amazingly the the plastic grid on the front of one of them actually melted. In 50 years of audio I have never seen that. Worse, the tweeters are on back order for what seems forever. So the my investment is worthless for months. I bought a pair of Wharfedales which I am happy with.

Pros: good sound

Cons: tweeters easily blown replacement tweeters not available

Crutchfield response on

6 of 30 found this helpful

Great speakers

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just turned about 100 hours on the Revel 106s. While good out of the box, it takes some time for the Revels to totally open up. From the pluck of a guitar string to the gradual sound decay of a piano key these speakers produce an amazingly accurate and detailed sound. These very well built and handsome piano black Revels are placed on top of a built -in cabinet, toed-in about 45 degrees to my preferred listening position. I might add that sitting in a "sweet spot" is not critical with theses speakers. While not bass heavy, I did detect some bass notes were a bit "boomy" when the speakers were placed about 6 inches from the wall. Moving the speakers another 2 inches out from the wall cured the problem. Speaker stands would not work in my room configuration. As a side note, the shipping cardboard boxes looked like they had gone to war. Both boxes had 2 inch holes punched in their sides. Luckily, the boxes were a bit over-sized and the speakers were fine.

Pros: accurate and detailed sounding speakers beautiful furniture grade cabinets

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Tulsa, OK on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful speakers and very pleased with their sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

first choice, not first choice, second choice.

Crutchfield customer from Whittier, NC on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

i've been wanting these speakers for a while, but when Crutchfield put the kef ls-50's on a great sale i bought a pair, along with an svs sb3000 sub. i was underwhelmed, especially when i upgraded to mcintosh integrated amp and oppo bdp-205. i really wanted to love the sound but it was pretty flat. i bit the bullet and sold the kefs and bought these admittedly twice as expensive speakers. from the start the music seemed to come to life. also bought the stands and i like the way they attach so securely to the speakers. very happy camper here.

Pros: the sound is heavenly and exactly what i'd hoped for.

Cons: they ain't cheap.

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

An Underrated Theater Masterpiece

Matt from Knoxville, TN on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I paired these with a C105 for the center and it sounds beautifully. I auditioned against the entry Bowers and Wilkins 700 series and a similar priced Martin Logan and Elac setup. It was not a hard decision as these speakers are consistent and clear across the board. There is no loud popping or inconsistent tones. Out of the box, they sound like a theater masterpiece. Very ethereal and spacious with great depth. I went between best buy and a local hifi store twice and both times, these beat similar priced competitors hands down. The same Macintosh equipment pushing all speakers that I tested. These things are a jewel, aesthetically pleasing, and the speaker stands mount in a jif complimenting them well. As long as these things are functional, I do not see myself ever purchasing another speaker.

Pros: Classy looking spreadsheets, deep, clear, and concise. No popping high end and covers the full sound spectrum well. Beats similarly priced competitors.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

25 of 26 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound