Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM

L Series telephoto zoom lens for Canon EOS SLR cameras

MFR # 9524B002

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM

L Series telephoto zoom lens for Canon EOS SLR cameras

MFR # 9524B002

10 reviews
View this product

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, OH on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I find this to be a very good lens. I am still getting used to it, but so far so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great nature lens.

Drew from Charlottesville, VA on 6/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great lens for nature photography, love the zoom ring, very smooth. Crisp, high quality images. I couldn't recommend it highly enough!

Pros: Smooth zoom, great image quality, what's not to love.

Cons: None, other than the price.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Sports Photographer

MaryAne from Brenham, TX on 1/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second 100-400 lens. I absolutely love the new version even more than the previous one I bought about about 15 years ago. This is my go-to lens for sports photography. I can use it sitting in the stands and I always get great shots. Unfortunately when people see my pictures they want me to photograph their kids too. My hobby had become a job without pay during football and baseball season. Love the lens, love the results!

Pros: Sharp Portable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM

Michael w from New Hyde Park New York on 12/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this lens for my Canon 7DMark 2 specifically for shooting birds in flight as well as wildlife from a safe distance. I originally was using the Tamron 150-600 lens however the canon lens is more compact and focuses faster. In addition I plan to purchase a Canon 1.4 teleconverter which according to reviews works very well with this lens. I have used the Canon lens with very good results in practice sessions so far, it focuses faster than the tamron and is easier to carry while affixed to the camera as well as easier to pack in the camera bag when traveling on a plane.

Pros: fairly compact for the distance it covers

Cons: None to report

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent Performing Lens

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 6/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent lens for outdoor sports or wildlife. Super fast focusing and very sharp. I use this primarily for soccer pictures where I set my camera on F5.6, set the ISO and Color Temperature based on quality of daylight, then just adjust shutter speed, as necessary. This was an upgrade from a 70-200 F/4 L IS which worked perfectly until we moved to a full size field and needed more lens reach.

Pros: Fast focus, sharp, great range for a full size sports field when mounted on a crop sensor, and weather sealed.

Cons: Quite a stretch of the hand to be able to reach both zoom and manual focus rings. Can get quite heavy when hand-holding for a long period of time. Most users will want to mount this to a monopod.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Exceptional Lens

John from Northampton, PA on 2/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exceptional lens for wildlife

Pros: High Quality

Cons: Cost

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Outstanding Lens

Noah from Massachusetts on 11/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not an inexpensive lens, but truly worth the cost. It is sharp, focuses fast, and is compact for what it delivers. The image stabilization also seems to be incredible. Although the Canon is not quite as long, I upgraded from the Sigma 150-500mm f/5-6.3, and the Canon shows considerable improvement over the Sigma in image quality.

Pros: Fast and accurate focusing Outstanding image stabilization Compact & lightweight for what it delivers

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Notice the difference!

dpogo from Maryland on 2/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I own the Canon 70D, and rented EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM, the older and cheaper EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM, and this recent upgrade EF 100-400mm F4.5-5.6L IS II USM to compare the differences. This lens hands down is easier to use and produces a much shaper image than its predecessor. The zoom has improvements that make it much easier to use than its predecessor. I have had no trouble with the lens hood window staying closed. After purchasing this lens, I continue to be amazed at the world I was missing. This lens is replacing an EFS 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS. The only draw back is getting use to the weight, but that was expected with this well built lens.

Pros: Shape images!

Cons: Weight

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Super snap to photos

Starphotog from Anniston, AL on 1/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This lens is so much better than the older version! There is really no comparison! The IQ of the photos are so good. There is such a SNAP to the photos that Ive only gotten with a few lenses! Great contrast, color and overall quality! I used it at a bowl game for the first time and it preformed flawlessly! IMHO it is a the best lens, at least for outdoor sports that ive ever used! My EF 70-200 [offsiteUrl] II was never mounted on a body for the game! Now, it is not better that my EF 400 [offsiteUrl] but if you can only have one lens on one body..this is it! (The EF 200-400 would be better but with a $9000 difference....maybe not!) I only have one complaint, the lens hood window would not stay closed! Other than that this is one awesome and very affordable HIGH quality lens!

Pros: GREAT image quality! Pro build, one lens does it all!

Cons: Lens hood window wont stay closed. Hard to zoom!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

sharp sharp sharp

jeffF from New York on 12/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

much sharper than old 100-400, seems to be sharper than the 500 f4 (but I can't believe that--must be owners enthusiasm). focuses fast with 1.4 x multiplier in line (using 7D mark ii). All and all, an amazing achievement. (have owned the series I 100-400 and have used the 500f4 mk ii)

Pros: sharp, fast focusing

Cons: not that I notice yet

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

TOP