Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Macro prime lens for Canon EOS SLR cameras

MFR # 3554B002

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Macro prime lens for Canon EOS SLR cameras

MFR # 3554B002

18 reviews
View this product

Terrific lens, no faults

George from Brooklyn, NY on 7/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a superb lens not only for macro work but for general use. It gives you a good working distance with macro objects, and is equally suitable for more distant subjects. Quality holds at all f Stops. When used with my unforgiving Canon DFSr pictures are crystal clear and sharp. Highly recommended.

Pros: Excellent lens good working distance from macro objects; suitable for all purpose use as well

Cons: none really; you may want to use manual focus in some situations for extreme close-ups

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Kevin from Omaha, NE on 10/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing lens. You won't be disappointed. Whether it's portrait, macro or food photography, this is the glass for you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Fructuoso from NYC on 7/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Fantastic Lens

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect macro lens for outdoor use

George from Scotts Valley, CA on 12/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely clear and sharp pictures, weather sealing, built-in image stabilization, solid build... yes, this is definitely high-end L glass from Canon. I've lab-tested this lens against the non-L Canon 100mm macro lens while copying old 35mm slides, and they're both about equal optically in the 1:1 range, but having weather sealing and IS makes this one the better option for working outdoors without a tripod in any weather, and the only sensible choice for working outdoors in bad weather.

Pros: Weather sealing, image stabilization, crystal-clear image quality, excellent build

Cons: It's a bit heavier than the non-L "standard" version of Canon's EF 100mm macro lens, so if you're going to work on a copy stand or tripod indoors, you can save a lot of money by going for the standard version.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Canon Macro Lens

Nathan from oklahoma city, OK on 3/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding sharpness and color rendition. I had always used a 500D Canon adapter lens for macro work but was never satisfied with the lack of 1:1 magnification.

Pros: Excellent sharpness and clarity. Light in weight and quick to auto- focus when you choose the correct setting on the lens based on distance to subject. Of course the manual focus ring is smooth and mostly used with this lens.

Cons: Plastic feel to the lens. Big difference from all the other Canon L series lens that I own.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great lens, very sharp

Rich from charlottesville, VA on 3/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very sharp, great lens.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Lens

John from northampton, PA on 1/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially, I was hesitant to spend this much for a lens but if you are into taking photos of flowers and insects, this is highly recommended. I have a friend who also has this lens and I have seen the remarkable details in photos she has taken of bees, etc. It is worth the investment if you are looking for exceptional clarity in close up photos.

Pros: The ability to capture exceptional details in close up photography.

Cons: Price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Canon Macro

MartinC. from South Carolina on 11/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great lens to add to your bag. Great for macro shots where you can't get too close for scaring your subject.

Pros: Quality that won't break the bank.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

never should have sold first 1

Eric V from New Jersey on 10/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had and sold this lens because I didn't use it as often as I intended, and actually it did collect more dust than not, but, when I decided to get another macro I first tried third party lenses, and knowing what I had at first I couldn't take the lesser quality even for $150 less so I bit the bullet and bought it again and will not part with it forever

Pros: quality, speed, focuc limiter

Cons: focus is a little jumpy but oh well

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Macro 100mmL lens

Jake T. from New York on 7/12/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my second 100mm macro L lens. I gave my original lens to my daughter which she loves. I agree that this is a fantastic addition to my Canon 7D.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Micro IS USM

JonM from Hawaii on 7/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Use it on my 6D. Great macro and portrait lens. IS - is a plus.

Pros: Canon L series

Cons: Should come with a tripod collar.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sharp as a tack!

Starphotog from Alabama on 3/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very nice lens for both macro work as well as portraits! It is sharp and coveys bright and rich colors! IQ is very, very good. As is the case with most macro lens' it is either in focus or not. Choose your focus point and that point will be sharp! Fast focusing, excellent bokeh! Well built and light as well.

Pros: Sharp, light weight, excellent bokeh, well built, fast focusing!

Cons: Not too fond of the lens hood.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 2/22/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This lens is fantastic. I admit I'm a macro noob, but I'm definitely happy with this purchase. The images have been super sharp. I'm currently working on a "100 Days of Macro" project to really dive into this thing head first. I'm constantly looking for new things to capture and it's been fun and challenging so far.

Pros: Tack sharp Image Stabilization Also works great as a portrait lens

Cons: Doesn't come with the tripod mount collar

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM Lens

Superposed1963 from Wyoming on 7/31/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The build quality of Canon "L" lenses is amazing. Some reviewers have criticized Canon for going from metal lens barrels to plastic. While the term "plastic" sounds cheap, Canon's lens barrel is anything but. The plastic is textured, giving it a classy and substantive look. From my reading and research, this ain't Tupperware Plastic . . . the plastic contains polymers and is certified aircraft grade for strength. The focus ring is the perfect size and has just the right amount of drag to feel just right. The auto-focus is very fast and accurate on both my 70D and 6D. The 2.8 aperture allows me to shoot macro in low light . . . and the images shot "wide open" at 2.8 are excellent. This lens is not one-dimensional, it shoots very sharp portraits with great bokeh, and has some use for other general photography as well (although, be prepared for a very shallow focal plane . . . for which you may have to use manual focus). I went back and forth between this "L" 100mm lens and Canon's non-L 100mm macro lens. I decided to get the "L" lens because of the IS, hoping that I could take spontaneous hand-held macro shots. I am pleased to report that Cannon's IS works great, and it is possible to shoot hand-held if you have a steady hand. But keep your tripod close by since tripod shots are preferable to hand-held.. This is my 4th "L" lens, and it's probably the sharpest lens in my camera bag. Canon nailed it with this one!

Pros: - Great build quality - Incredible sharpness - Image Stabilzation - The 100mm allows you to be farther away from the subject (animals & bugs don't scare so easily) - AF works up until you are about 8 inches from the subject, without a lens hood - Great for taking quality pics of your coin or stamp collection to sell on E-Bay! - Versatility - Not just for macro

Cons: Pricey for a limited purpose lens . . . so you have to be really dedicated to macro. But, as with most things in life, you get what you pay for. That is especially true with quality optics.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Love the lens!

Jeannette W from Orange, VA on 5/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm just crazy for this lens. I debated quite some time and did tons of research before I got it because it struck me as quite an indulgence (I'm an amateur so I don't really need it), but I'm so glad I went ahead and bought it. The photos are so rich and clear. It's simply exquisite for tight shots on flowers, especially small wild flowers for which a regular lens really doesn't get close enough.

Pros: Lovely lens for close ups of anything. Also great for portraits.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 2/7/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Macro

Bernie B from Thousand Oaks, California on 12/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great macro and portrait lens. Like the f2.8 plus image stabalization. I would recommend this lens for canon SLR owners that are serious about macro photography and want a premium lens.

Pros: High quality, fast, well built and carys the Canon L series name

Cons: A little pricy but was able to afford by using some of my Crutchfield Awards & e-certificate

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Must have L!!

Crutchfield customer from Guam on 11/4/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This lens is super sharp and quick to focus. For macro the AF is pretty good but I use manual for Macro. The details are remarkable, and coupled with extension tubes, the details of Macro are endless. For portraits this lens shine. Buy this lens you won't regret.

Pros: Sharp Quick

Cons: Should have came with a tripod collar

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

TOP