Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
368 317 031 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
368 317 031 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

Standard prime lens for Canon EOS SLR cameras

MFR # 0570C002

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

Standard prime lens for Canon EOS SLR cameras

MFR # 0570C002

13 reviews
View this product

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

Ryan from New Hampshire on 6/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great lil lens. This was my first lens from my "package" with EOS Rebel 7. The AF isn't the best but its a great lens. It took some bit to get use to but love it. Though, its plastic its light weight and durable.

Pros: Light weight Durable Great lens quality

Cons: Autofocus isn't the best.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Company / GREAT Lens!

Linda from Southern California on 8/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this lens here at Crutchfield because it was BEST deal By Far! And that was BEFORE it showed up in what seemed to be "hours"!!! And we are in California! I bought this lens because I did HOURS of research and went with several positive reviews by Pros. A lot of "if you only have one lens - get THIS one!" It is awesome for HIGHLIGHTING! Whatever you focus on "pops" and for/back grounds are out of focus but still look great! Great lens. And you DO get what you pay for- NOT a lens to save pennies on! All in all - GREAT Experience! Great little company. Thank You Crutchfield Crew! Linda - Videographer/Photographer

Pros: Image Quality Focus control Overall Look of product

Cons: All my filters are 58mm The lens cap likes to pop off

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

Jeremy from Somerton, AZ on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't know why but mine is defective it's not silent when it focus. Also when recording doesn't Auto focus.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/15/2018
Jeremy, we're sorry you're having issues with your lens. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

sandy from Ceiba, PR on 3/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it...My first real lens after starter lens.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

Crutchfield customer from Livingston, NJ on 1/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This tiny jewel of a lens works with all Canon digital cameras, both APS-C and full-frame. The focus is fast and accurate. Sharpness and color rendition are superb. The f/1.8 maximum aperture allows for excellent depth-of-field control with pleasant bokeh. The low price makes this lens a real bargain and a no-brainer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Your unfair advantage...the Nifty Fifty.

Jeremy from Covington, LA on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Nifty 50! It's a perfect portrait lens, it is great for people who are learning to shoot. If you want to take your photos to a new level from your kit lens, this is great. The STM lends itself perfectly to video with it's smooth autofocus. Couldn't recommend it more, especially from Crutchfield, they make me feel like I have an unfair advantage with their customer support and open-box deals.

Pros: bokeh for days. Perfect for portraits and video

Cons: the 50mm on an APS-C camera(cropped sensor) it's pretty tight and makes you have to stand back from your subjects 10' or so. Can be problematic with video(and mic on top of camera) when you're so far away.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice addition to lens collection

RL from Wyoming on 9/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As mentioned by others here, a great lens for bokeh. Was surprised how far I had to stand from subject to pull it into focus, though. Others mentioned performance at low light, which I found mostly true, but not as great as those reviews suggested. Lens is still new for me, so more time with it is needed to see what it can do. I agree with the reviewer who mentioned the challenge of finding focus in AF. It does seem to take a little longer, but MF is no problem. IS would be a nice feature for those of us with unsteady hands. But the price made it an easy decision to add to the camera bag for certain situations. Thanks, Crutchfield, as always, for making it easy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

Robin from Huntertown, IN on 6/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't used the lens yet, but am well pleased with Crutchfield.

Pros: Great prices.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

Steve from Canonsburg, PA on 5/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is lens is super sharp. I have it on a crop sensor camera and it works great. I love the 1.8, it works really well in low light. Highly recommend this lens as a nice addition to only having a 18-55 kit lens.

Pros: Super sharp Great in low light Price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Lens

Steve S from Virginia on 12/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lens performs great. This lens should be the kit lens for all Canon Rebel cameras. The low light ability of f1.8 cannot be over stressed. The bokeh (background blur) is very nice, pleasant and predictable. A perfect portrait lens at 50mm without distortion or bowing of the image. Found the STM focus to be fast and quiet on the T4i and other Canon cameras

Pros: Fast Glass at F1.9 Price Bokeh

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Lens

Mike from Nevada on 10/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, this is an excellent lens that everyone should buy. It is very sharp wide open, with very shallow depth of field and bokeh that are amazing coming from a much slower kit lens. While sharp, I have noticed some chromatic aberration in high contrast areas such as text while wide open; stopping down a bit to 3.5-5.6 and this goes away completely and image quality becomes even sharper. The AF is fast and accurate, but I would rate it below the Canon 18-55 STM as it does seem to hunt for focus occasionally and is not completely silent like the kit lens. Build quality is excellent. I never owned a 'nifty-fifty', but compared to the kit lens, this is definitely a step up. The metal mount is fantastic and the plastic does not feel cheap at all.

Pros: Very sharp, beautiful bokeh. Excellent build quality. Unbeatable price.

Cons: Some chromatic aberration wide open, but hardly noticeable. AF/MF is a bit noisy, would have been nice to see the STM feature more in line with other Canon lenses. Image stabilization would have been amazing, but probably not feasible at this price. At 50mm and working in low light, you need to have a very steady hand or a tripod.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very sharp with excellent bokeh

Dok from New York on 7/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a very sharp lens with great field of depth (bokeh). For a cheap lens - it does very good. Its not weather sealed so dont put it through a heavy duty use. Its pretty plastic-y. Excellent optics for $125.

Pros: sharp, great bokeh

Cons: No image stabilization. No Macro shot unless you are 1.5 ft away. A Canon 24mm f2.8 pancake lens does excellent job for macro and bokeh. But if you need f1.8 - this is the one to get.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens

Ozz from New York on 7/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Decent lens for the money. Not as quiet when focusing as I'd hoped. My other two STM lenses (18-55mm, 55-250mm) are both far quieter. But, this is really only an issue for video. Takes decent pictures, otherwise. At 1.8, focus is a bit soft, but I guess that's to be expected. Auto focus seems to get a little "lost" at times. Stabilization would have been nice, but would likely have added to the cost. It does improve low light/indoor photos. If I had it to do over, I'd still buy it.

Pros: Small, seems well built, decent low light performance, affordable price point.

Cons: Somewhat noisy compared to certain other STM lenses, Auto-focus can get "lost" at times. A bit soft at wide open aperture, manual focus method makes quite a bit of noise (unless it's just mine) No stabilization.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP