Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II

20.1-megapixel digital camera with Wi-Fi®

MFR # 1066C001

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II

20.1-megapixel digital camera with Wi-Fi®

MFR # 1066C001

17 reviews
View this product

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II

Crutchfield customer from Clatskanie, OR on 7/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Will do way more than I can. Well made. Made for US markets so I have canon warranty. Good price not much more than gray market cameras. A lot of money for a point and shoot camera but well worth it. The real test will come on my next cruise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellence Travel camera, guarantee bring home good photos or videos.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very compact and light, high quality photo produced, many functions, auto mode easy to use and made very good photos. I love 60fps video for smooth slow motion when editted in Adobe Premiere Element 2019. Slow wifi connection to PC so i bought extra Canon IFC-600PCU Usb cable for easy and fast transfer photos and videos. Cruthfield did very fast shipping, I am pleased with product from time of order to time of using it.

Pros: Small and very light weight, easy to hold, sharp photos with all zoom range, bright image, true colors.

Cons: High price even after 3 years in market

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Canon Screws

David from San Francisco, CA on 8/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The G7X II takes great pictures for a camera its size. I use bracketing so I am sure to get the exposure correct though most of the time it could get it on auto. My gripe is that after less than 2 years, the 2 screws that hold the display onto the body both fell out while shooting a memorial service in a park. I thought something was odd when the display started to wobble and actually saw the second screw fall out into the grass. No big deal right? I just order some replacements from Canon. That was a BIG N. O. Canon does not stock ANY replacement parts for the G7 series nor did they know what screws would fit. All they told me was that they are metric. To date, I haven't been able to find the screws anywhere. In short, my investment is now junk because Canon did not stand by their product!

Pros: Great pictures with lots of detail

Cons: Construction sucks and Canon doesn't care.

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II

Crutchfield customer from Cherry Hill, NJ on 7/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little camera. The pictures taken inside and outside look really good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 5 found this helpful

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II

Jim from Williamsburg, VA on 6/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great camera. Fast lens. Great pics. Does just about everything anyone could want. One addition feature would be helpful--and would have increased the rating to 5 stars. That would be to add GPS to the camera's features. Why do cameras not have GPS that is as good as my cell phone???

Pros: Fast lens. Great pics.

Cons: No internal GPS.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great Pocket Camera

John from Landenberg, PA on 6/10/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great pocket camera. A wonderful upgrade to a PowerShot 80. It has an Auto feature that makes it effortless to take quality pictures. A set of manual features for those of us that understand the use of Aperture and Shutter controls and want to create the effects we want in our images. As a bonus it has a video mode. I chose this camera because of its f-stop range and better zoom range compared to other cameras in this category. I doubt I will notice the difference, for me, between a 20mp and a 24mp sensor. Regardless, the image quality will be greater than I can get with my phone and almost as convenient. It is a nice convenience to be able lighten the load and still have quality images.

Pros: Convenient, travel friendly and quality images. Auto feature with manual settings makes if very versatile for a knowledgable photographer. Touch screen is very intuitive.

Cons: It will take a little time to understand all of the features of this versitle pocket camera.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II

Jorge Luis from Carolina, PR on 5/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Súper rápido a Puerto Rico son los mejores

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Better than a cheap SLR

William from Clinton, UT on 12/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have not used it much yet only having it about two weeks. The G15 is my old camera. For a few decades I had an SLR 35mm camera and often used the manual controls. This one has all of the manual overrides and they work as well as the G15 which is not as easy to use as a decent SLR. What I don't like is that I have to go to a menu to set ISO numbers where the G15 had a dial. What I like about this camera over the G15 is larger pixel size and a lot more pixels. So I can use digital zoom on top of analog zoom without any real loss of quality. I also like that I can set the ISO to 1000 and take really good existing light photos under Christmas tree light and normal nighttime uneven room lighting, perhaps matching the G15 at ISO 400 stuck at slow shutter speeds. That speed is also good for taking photos in orchestra or gym. I am the regular volunteer photographer for our orchestra. I get much praise for the quality of the pictures I get without flash and with a compact camera. A decent cell phone camera is about worthless in these conditions. Compared to the G15, I use the same extra small belt mounted Cannon PSC-85 case. For the power and features this camera is just a tad smaller and lighter than the G15. Light enough to take on all day hikes. This camera will take much better pictures in all conditions than the heavy and large Canon digital SLR plus two lenses I paid $1500 for around 7 years ago. Much closer to high end professional SLR in photo quality than a $400 camera.

Pros: Takes great existing light pictures of orchestra playing and wearing orchestra black clothing, when you dim the auto with the +,- dial. For its amazing photo quality and what it does, it is the smallest and lightest camera you can get and that is number one, why I bought it! Faster focus and faster from power on to snapping a photo than previous generation Canon. Any time you want, one button instant video filming. Can zoom while filming video. Comes with charger or can charge through USB.

Cons: Things like ISO are now hidden in menus rather than quick access dials and buttons. Does not accept external microphone plug for video. Faces in photos may average slightly washed out at ISO 1000 on auto if you don't use the +,- dial to fix it. Extra batteries are as expensive as ever, even though they are smaller and get less photos and video per charge than batteries for many other cameras. You might need to pay for and carry an extra battery or be more active in keeping the battery charged.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Amazing Camera!

Kody from Logan, WV on 10/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just got my camera in today. I cannot believe the quality of this thing! The camera has an amazing image quality and superb video quality. I want to thank Crutchfield for the way the camera came shipped. The packaging was wonderful and the camera box is in PERFECT condition (I collect the boxes so I like them to be in the best condition possible). If anyone is thinking about a new Point and Shoot camera to vlog with or just something compact to take on a trip, I would recommend this one with no questions asked.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Love this camera!!

Jeff from Atlanta, GA on 7/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife and I were traveling to Alaska and we wanted to step up from our mid level point and shoot. I did a great deal of research before purchasing this camera. I was very concerned about the Cannon battery life. It was never an issue. The camera takes great pictures. The zoom is more than adequate for most uses. The adjustable screen was great for using the built in timer for self pictures. The camera is solid and feels well made. It traveled with us over 3,000 miles and 600 pictures and it did great. Each summer we travel we create an album on Shutterfly. This years is magnificent with significant improvement in image quality and the clarity and brightness of the colors. Buy this camera . you wont be sorry!

Pros: Well made, takes amazing pictures, easy to use.

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 11/20/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was torn between this camera and the sony DSC-RX100 IV and i ended up deciding to go with this due to the cost. I am new to basically all photography and i cant say enough good about all of the easy to use and understand features of this camera. I am still learning but so far we have gotten some amazing shots! I cant say enough good and would definitely recommend this camera to anyone looking for a high end point and shoot.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II

Crutchfield customer from Ogden, UT on 11/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great vlogging camera. Just wish the record button was easier to get to. Crutchfield has been great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Surprising Quality In A Small Package

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 10/29/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The G7 X II is amazing! I own a great Canon DSLR, but wanted a small back up for a trip to Vancouver Island. There were several times I reached for the G7 X rather than my DSLR. It takes detailed photos and is very easy to use. Most every shot was exposed perfectly and I love that it has an exposure compensation dial right on top. The articulating screen is pretty good even in bright daylight and has touch feature that are intuitive as well as responsive. You can control every part of the image process or let the camera do it all for you; either way you will get some great shots. I was able to adjust aperture, shutter speed, exposure and ISO and then hand it over to my sister who used it as a point and shoot.

Pros: Fantastic image quality Light and compact Quick to be ready and fast in between shots Has an articulating screen Useful image stabilization Easy to use but plenty of features a profession will like

Cons: No viewfinder The movie record button is easy to hit by accident Expensive battery

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Do not hesitate to buy this camera.

Dilenian from Long Beach, CA on 10/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did a great deal of research before settling on the Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II. This camera is great, it has all the features I needed plus some extras. The camera feels great to hold and is small enough to fit in a large pocket or coat. I am not a frequent traveler who like to take pictures, the Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II has exceeded all my expectations for a camera this small. Great image quality.

Pros: Image quality, small size, manual features, flip up rear touchscreen display, ability to charge through a PC or notebook.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Canon PowerShot G7 X Mark II

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 10/5/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

nice camera, quality optics. rear screen is potentially helpful for video and selfies, but would prefer smaller body and gladly give up that rear screen feature.

Pros: high quality images quick set +/-

Cons: pricey delicate

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

No need to lug around a DSLR

JD from Pfafftown, NC on 9/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unless you're a professional photographer, this great little camera is all you need. Requires a little effort to learn how to use all the functions. No need to buy this camera if you plan to always shoot auto, but if you want to experiment and achieve near SLR results, this one is a great choice.

Pros: 24-100mm zoom touch screen - nice reasonably easy menus

Cons: No OVF, but that's not a problem for me. I knew that before I purchased.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Extremely Portable Camera with Excellent Quality

Mark from Gainesville, FL on 8/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent camera that far exceeds smartphone picture quality nearing that of a DSLR. I made this purchase because I was tired of the blurry and grainy pics of my kids taken on my smartphone yet still wanted something portable and less bulky than a DSLR. While you will see improvement in your photos on Auto mode, you will need to learn the modes off of auto to truly take advantage of this cameras power. At the very least, learn and love the AV and TV modes. It's a stretch to call it pocketable, unless you are wearing cargo pants or loose fitting jeans, but I do not find it cumbersome at all to carry around. I also considered the G9X before making the purchase because it seems to be truly a pocket camera. I ultimately chose the G7X Mark II because it wasn't too much larger and I was intrigued by the multi-angle touch panel. After having used the panel for a while now, I don't think I could do without it. It allows you to drop the camera down to the level of kids without laying on the floor or holding it above your head and still ensuring the shot is in the viewfinder. I have never run out of the battery during a day of use but I do strongly recommend that you buy a second battery.

Pros: Photo quality Multi-Angle Panel Excellent manual controls Compact, portable size Far exceeds smart phone quality

Cons: Pocketable, as long as you are wearing cargo pants (I am nervous to put the camera in my pocket without a case)

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

TOP